Silhouette the Atelier

summerIce
if u have not signed up, u got the BS checklist? i posted on the weddin show thread. or u can PM me. it's v useful for me to ask all the qns b4 i sign. if not both sides unhapi if there's any misunderstandin

blurBTB
u can try lavender at stamford house (er right building?) near city hall the row of boutiques. abt $300+ for bridesmaids dress. nice material simple design.

wat's wax flowers? is centre pink roses x? i shall (try to) ask for tat too. =)

btw, do u all gals have 2 pairs of heels? 1 for PS and AD, the other one for roughin it out outdoor shoot? i wanted to wear red sports shoes for fun durin outdoor, if the photos show it i tot it would look cute... but my photographer says he would let me know if i need to wear my heels, n think it look nicer in photos also. but i would b goin lallang area n mayb beach, dun wanna spoil my $139 heels...but a cheapo $30 white heels just doesn't cut it. =p

hapict i dont have the check list. can sent me? my email [email protected]

I have not buy any shoes yet. Mayb u can change to your shoe just b4 he take the pic. wear something else first, then when found the right spot ask HB or those who go along to help u to change shoes. A little troublesome but want to be nice no choice lor.

If u are not going to take pic showing your shoes i think it is o.k to not wear heels.

Ya lavender at stanford house....very nice ROM or bridemaids dress. That day i went in after going to SIL and found the dresses all very nice.

hi hapict,
wax flowers r the little flowers florist used as 'supporting actress' to the main flower of ur bouquet...see the purple little flowers below?

402996.jpg

center pink roses shouldn't be too ex...i think u can ask ur florist about it. its getting popular as bridal bloom

as for heels, i did wear a more comfy pair for outdoor shoot...u can actually buy a cheap and comfy pair of white or silver PVC ones for walking/climbing outdoors. the material will not appear obvious in pics, juz the style shld look appropriate is enuf. any minor discrepencies can be touched up using photoshop

if u going to beach, dun need shoes..juz go barefoot. if u go lallang field, wear or dun wear also can't see under the tall grasses anyway. so no worries man..

Anyone take OTR gown?

I notice that some OTR gown their embellishment got loose or fallen off. Will the BS check the gown and sew it back b4 the lent it to u on your AD? Or is it no one will care about this small detail? Me a bit fussy leh.

hi summerice,

its quite normal for the beads to drop off after the gown is sent for dry cleaning. juz highlight it to ur designer and she'll get the seamstress to sew them back on. mine also beads drop off after return the WG for cleaning after my PS. miah got the seamstress to sew them back...but 2nd time round after returning the WG for cleaning after AD, miah had already left Sil, so nobody took care of tat 4 me liao..when i bought back the WG, found some beads missing
but nvrm lah, the gown is for keepsake only, no chance to wear again and the beadings is not the main attraction on my WG anyway..

summerIce
u shld check n insist! when i was tryin on gowns at sophia, some of the beads either scratched my butt (it really left a mark duno wat things they put on the gown) or dropped off on the floor.

thanks! your bouquets really nice. but after readin on some thread tat a bride was so upset her actual bouqet turned out so different fm the one she stipulated (and shown them pic), in the end got $300 compensation fm the BS's florist for the mental trauma caused etc, i think i shan't put too much hope on the flowers...
saw a bride's outdoor heels in a photo album, it's really high n gorgeous, but not shiny (ie no beadings unlike my AD's one). think i can buy a beige one? argh i beta ask my AD gown is off white or ?

hi hapict,

u shld check with ur BS which florist they tie-up with...hopefully not the cheapo one like the WL bride u mentioned. u'll be paying a couple of hundred bucks in ur pkg for flowers..do not let them get away juz like tat. tok to ur florist and understand wat range of flowers r included in ur pkg, if its nicer imported flowers u like (like the WL bride's sample pics) and can afford to top up, juz top up a bit so u dun suffer any traumas..i tot u got a checklist to ask ur BS all kinds of qns b4 sign up? how come din ask about their florist? how about MUAs? u know who r they?

the color of ur heels will NOT be obvious on the photos..juz buy closer color will do. anyway can do touch up one, dun worry.

midas u buy back ur gown how much? u want to call Miah. i can give u the no to their orchard outlet.

hapict wha then u never complain their gown cut u? I try can can b4 some will poke me also, i am thinking if i am to wear this for so long hours how to tahan. Will keep on scratching.

As for can can right, will they give u new one? Or those that looks more white and standing? coz when i try on the gown most of the time their can can look old, especially SIL one. or they purposely make it soft?

AL is using redbox florist or something like that right? Are they good? My ROM flowers was nice. i got them from a shop in marine parade. Flowers are fresh n they make until very nice.

hi summerice,

i bought back my WG at $600, can't bear to return it to Sil
no, i'm not calling him at his office...dun wanna disturb him during working hrs. i dun hv important things to talk about anyway.

i think the BS will gv u a clean can-can but i dun think it will be brand new lor. for me, i dun like to wear can-can, so i purposely design my WG in a style tat is slim and doesn't need to wear the bulky can-can. imagine how u go toilet with the big big skirt...

Both Sil & AL uses Redbox, i think they r not bad ba. din get a chance to use them coz miah is gd enuf for me hehehe..

http://redbox.sg/

yeap i cant stand can can.

summerIce
i quickly got out of the shop. sorry it shld b Milan not sophia. do u know they actually let me try on a new MTM WG that a BTB had ordered???? they said her AD 6 days earlier than mine, can make alterations to fit me durin tat 6 days if i like it n takin that gown. i refused as too risky. after tat i asked ard and apparently most BS dont do tat ie let potential customers try on MTM gowns other brides ordered. not ethical... ;|

yea loh i got the checklist. religiously studied it n asked them more qns b4 i signed up. but now bit worried. cos i trust them so i din ask so much. but i m requestin to do my trial make up already, n i told her bluntly if the MUA no gd at least i still have time source for a better time. she got nothing to say to tat! heh

who was the one who requested/emailed me for the BS checklist?? alamak i cant rem..

wah midas, the flowers in the pics are so nice!!! I think u really did lotsa research for your wedding! And so nice of u to continue sharing with other BTBs abt what u know after your wedding!

Btw, who is this "Miah" that u gals have been talking abt huh??

hi mintee,

ya, i think 90% of my time is spent on researching and only about 10% is the actual execution. i think a well thought out plan is easy to execute and hv less nasty surprises...now i'm married and not so busy with the preps anymore, i can start to kpo other BTB's wedding mah..

Miah was my designer. he used to work in Sil but hv since left and joined Amanda Lee weddings 4months ago.

hapict,

ya, shld ask about MUA already. makeup is very important coz it determines whether u get to hv compliments from ur guests on ur big day or not..but if u r already very pretty then it doesn't make a great difference lah. for ordinary looking pple like me really needs a gd MUA to pull it off hehehe.

hapict the previous time i went to JA also the same. She let me try on gown which is MTM n sell off already. Although its good for me to try n c how it look on me but i feel that they should not allowed this mah. Customer will want to try anything if they dont stop them right?

They even allowed me to take pic of that gown (wearing), thats why i didnt post it. Worried that the owner see her gown on me will be jumping.

ya should confirm MUA fast in case the one u want got booking already. So i better decide n check fast which hotel got place for the date i want. Book liao can call BS n confirm the MUA also.

Haiz now dont know should i sign with AL or not leh. cannot make up my mind.

wah...if its for me, i wun wan any other woman wear my MTM gown leh. tats why i told Miah tat i will buy the gown when i return it for cleaning, so they'll keep it behind and no other BTBs will see it and want to wear it.

Summerice,

i tot u decided already? i kinda remember seeing a satin Aline gown with red color embro at AL. coz i told the sales gal i like color embro and she took it out to show me...was wondering whether u hv chosen tat piece

wow sounds nice the gown u described. AL was featured in the Urban supplement a few weeks ago right? my colleague even brought it for me to show me! on coloured WGs... but champagne WGs doesnt look nice on me.

summerIce
what's JA? they let u take pic? i have never dared bring out my camera tho i brough it to all my fittings...

goin ask FH take photos of my fittings and trial make up, mayb i would look horrendous in the photos and ok in actual person? as advised by some brides, better take pic see how.. or was it someone here in this thread? =) ok i will see how it goes n let u all know if i need rec for MUA. hee

hi hapict,

asking friends or hubby to take pics of the WGs is not a foolproof way to make sure the WG will look nice on u, coz u guys r not professional PG. like me, i took photos of my WG during fittings and the gown juz looked plain on photos although it looked fantastic on me in the mirror...turns out my PG skills is bad coz the pics taken at O-studio turned out really well hehehe..

as for the lilac lace WG i tried in AL, its actually tis piece...

404163.jpg

it was featured in an article about AL in sgbrides in may, title 'three to tango'

ladies,

did any of u meet up with minda recently? i got a call from her out of the blue...saying tat someone told her the beading on my WG has dropped off after dry cleaning. she has requested tat i bring my WG back to Sil for touching up

midas hahaha mayb she read the thread here. Good for u. Heng i never say bad things here.

hapict ya JustinAgnes, the designer ask me to take pic one. HB take only the train design she say why not take full length (me in the gown).

midas i think i try the lilac lace gown if i remember correctly. The bottom is a ball gown right? Behind quite big with some design?

Fianlly i choose my WG already.
Very happy now.

hi summerice,

ballgown meh? i remembered its an Aline..i din wear can-can leh, the train quite long wif the same lilac lace around it. anyway, congrats to u
finally signed up liao hehe. which one did u choose? if got take pics must email me leh

I booked my OTR wedding gown back in May 06 and will only be doing the fitting( after some minor alterations) with trial makeup in Septemeber 06. Do you think Minda would have rented out the gown to other brides during this period or just parked it aside for me?

Another question- after the wedding, am I expected to dry clean or clean the gown for them before returning or do i simply just return it ?
Pls advise.

Hi CG according to them, once u book the gown they will keep it for u, should be p/k. Some BS that even if it is MTM gown or sold gown they still let ppl try.

i think u just have to return them, they will dry clean on their own

hi CG,

for Sil's gowns, u need to return them for dry cleaning after ur PS. $50 will be charged per gown (eg. $100 for WG&EG). As for AD, u may return juz the WG and not the EG (eg. u settle the dry cleaning urself), u'll not be charge for cleaning after AD.

i had both my gowns cleaned thru Sil...paid $200 for it

Hi Midas

My hubby will only be back 1 wk before the wedding. Becos of the rush, our PS is 2-3 days before our actual wedding day. Do u think MInda will have time to dry clean the gown?

Pls advise. thanks

hi CG,

oh...u hv a serious problem here. dry cleaning usually take at least a week. well unless u r not doing any outdoors PS, then maybe u can dun clean ur gowns...otherwise it'll be dirty after walking outside (if raining even worst) and wun look nice on ur AD..

u taking PS with which PG?

yes I will be doing out door shoot . PG is Robin.
Guess we have to be really careful.. or at most dont go to grassy , muddy areas..
Also doesnt help that my gown is really big and flowy..

CG but when u walk the gown drag on the floor will be black black mah...coz no one mop the floor outside leh.

Mayb u can talk to Minda, see if they can rush for u?

Anyone dont do trial makeup? just actual day n night?

hi CG,

hmm...once u walk out of the studio, it'll be dusty liao.

i hv a suggestion..it might work. ask Robin if he can do outdoor PS on seperate days w/o extra charges. And do ur outdoor on ur AD itself..but ur program for tat day may be very packed. can try planning the outdoor PS venues to be nearby ur church or home or somewhere convenient in betwn.

hi CG,

another way is not to wear ur actual WG for outdoor shoots...juz like wat those one-stop-shop BS does. wear a 2nd hand WG for outdoors so it wun ruin ur actual WG. see if minda can lent u one tat looks similar to ur WG. then talk to Robin and get him to shoot at angles tat doesn't show tat tis stand-in WG is not ur actual WG

thanks so much for your kind advice.

hmm I am not sure if Minda will allow me to wear another gown for outdoor shoot . She told me that becos we are rushing, at most she can squeeze everything for us in 3 hours.
So probably our outdoor is going to be in town or some rustic location. Our church is too far from town as it is in Serangoon.

summerIce
i did my trial makeup (at other BS not sil) but my mascara smudged v badly n i duno whether to ask her to use waterproof mascara for PS and AD.. (or is it my eyelashes cos no matter how x the mascara i bot also smudges) also the trial makeup was quite light i duno how the actual PS makeup will look like cos she said it wil b v heavy...

hi hapict,

ur MUA shld know wat to use if ur makeup smudges mah...how come become ur headache? trial makeup usually is lighter than PS & AD, on PS will be very heavy so the makeup can last for many hrs...also, there's no need to put ampoules. my MUA din use any on me and my makeup stil last til 10pm at nite..ampoules r juz gimmicks. for AD, i requested the makeup to be lighter than PS coz many guests might not recognise me
heng everything turns out well..

Hi again ladies,
Speaking of trial makeup, I dread it if Minda wants to put fake eye lashes on me. I tried them before at a friends wedding and I looked dreadful as I have slity eyes.. :S Would they force me to put them on?

Hi girls...

supposed to have my 1st fitting in Oct. What am i supposed to expect? when does my FH do his suit? and how many more fittings will i need to go for?

do you think i can have my studio/outdoor photo shoot in dec period?

Thanks girls!