Silhouette the Atelier

hi CG,

me too...

Hi CG,

thanks for the pics! =) you look quite good and have very nice cheekbones =) will you wearing the lacy bolero together with your bustier gown? cos i think it makes you look more busty! heehee

wow, when amy did your hair, you look as tho you have long hair... was totally tricked by the hairdo.. =P

Hi Blur
Thanks for the compliment.
Acutally the bolero was added on as my finacee is quite conservative and bao shou so dont like bustier la.. Also he is afriad our priest is conservative too. haha
I am stil thinking whether to have it on or off
. Thanks for yr comments .

hi CG,

thks for the pics...u looked very elegant in tat Monique Lhuillier/Vera Wang inspired WG

my suggestion is dun waste the two looks, wear bolero during church (with hair bun up) and bustier with hair half let down at dinner..definitely must do both at PS.

i had tiara for my WG look too..did u put on fake lashes during trial makeup?

Hi CG thanks for the pics. I agree with midas the Monique Lhuillier look. Are you going to have details on the gown? Coz i think for now the bolero looks o.k with this plain gown, and like what blurBTB say make u look busty. If you cant decide take both like what midas say have differnt look.
But i find the sash at the waist a bit too thick. I also thought u have long hair until i saw the last part when ur hair is down.

I feel that makeup should be a little more color expecially the lips so that when taking pic will not look light.
Sorry i commented so much, just my 2 cents.

Thanks so much for your comments and suggestions.
Actually , I agree both looks are nice too. No I am not going to have any details on the gown. Acutally it was made to be plain on its own with no Bolero + Sash. I simply loved the Vera Wang feel with its long train. ;)

Yea I agree my lips were abit too light so on that day will ask Amy to add more colour. Midas, my sis said the same thing as you. Wear the bolero at church and go wihtout it after that
. I had no fake lashes during Trial , probably have them for PS.

Thougth the makeup artist was very clever with my hair do as well. Never thought with my length i could have it bun up . :p

hi CG, mind sharing ur pics w me too?? [email protected]

sigh..im only at the desinging stage...fitting n trial make up etc seems so far away for me...haha.

ohh! anybody goin down to SIL tmw? i hv my next session tmw afternoon! =)

Hi Midas,
Thanks for your email and pointing me to the trunk show page.
I've signed up and will wait for their reply.

Hi CG,
Can you share your pics with me too? I'm also a fan of Vera Wang and the long train. Its just stunning!
Can you email me your pics too?
My add: [email protected]
thanks lots!

hi summerice, yes the show over liao. hehe...
well i haven't sign up yet. but quite likely lah. wat about u? have u signed up with them?

Hi Minibb,
you went for the show on sunday?
I was there too...
All the gown gowns were simply gorgeous.
I think they can do a great job for my gown.
Think most likely i want to sign up with them.

Hi Summerice, you already have a Bridal shop ah?
then why are you here???

Hi SO_lost,
Haha... so you were at the show too huh. Yes, all the gowns so pretty. But thought the show abit short, was hoping to see more gowns. Let me know when u have signed up ya. We can compare notes and designs

Hi Summerice,
Which BS you signed up with?

Hi S0 lost

Initially SIL is one of the BS i consider but eventually i sign up with another one. If SIL brides dont welcome me then i wont be here lor.

minibb i sign with AL

Hi summerice, i'm sorry.
I dun mean anything..
juz wonder why tat all..
sorry.

Wat AL stand for?

Hi minibb, i also think the show is abit short, or maybe we enjoy it so much tat why it kinda short.
haha
so which one you like?
Btw, who your designer?

hi so_lost,

juz to kpo...
AL stands for Amanda Lee weddings, Amanda used to be one of Sil's designers.

so which designer wld u be signing with?

Hi Midas,

i only meet up with Caroline and i'm comfort with her.
so if i'm signing up, think it would be her.
Dun think there a need to try all designer then book rite?

hi so_lost,

As long as you can click with the designer, that's most impt. my designer is Minda. I'm very comfortable with her too. Wil u be going otr or mtm?

Hi S0_lost

midas already ans for me. Thanks midas.
If u feel comfortable with caroline and dont want to go through the trouble of thinking which designer is better then no need to try all their designers. Plus it depends on if u are taking OTR or MTM gown. If OTR gown it doesnt matter which designer.

hi so_lost,

ya..if u r comfortable with caroline n dun hv specific preference for a style tat is unique to a particular designer then no need to try all of them

hi minibb,

u confirm signing up with minda already? MTM or OTR for u?

Hi Midas,
Yes, quite confirm that i'll sign up with minda. Quite tired of looking around also.. hehe. Am thinking of going for OTR first to see if can find anything suitable. If not, upgrade to MTM later.
You went for mtm right?

Hi Summerice,
AL's gowns are nice too. Can i take a look at your pics?
My email: [email protected]

hi minibb,

ya...i went for MTM, me fussy cannot find anything i like in spore, hv to copy designs from overseas

since u like their latest collection so much, might as well take one of the WGs as OTR..

hahaha..well every bride wants to look their best on the wedding day. So its our privilege to be fussy lah.
For MTM, i've friends telling me horror stories of how the gown didn't appear as expected, so advising me to go OTR. What do u think huh??

Hi minibb i dont have pics yet....will show u when i go for my fitting.
It depends on you if u mind OTR. As or MTM, what you imagine might be different from what the designer imagine. so u have to work very very closely with the designer, plus sometimes we tends to imagine it to be better/prettier. Especially material n color makes a different.

For me i dont really have a particular design of WG. So i just choose the pc that i really like OTR. Save me time n i dont have to worry what design or how it will turn out. Lazy method.

hi summerice, thanks for the tip!
Yah, agree what we visualise might be very different from the designer. For me, i dun mind OTR as long as i can find something I really like.
For OTR, how many times do they allow u to try their gowns? What if u change your mind after you have selected? Do they allow u to retry again?

minbb what u mean how many times they allow u to try the gown? You've been to BS which limit u to the no of try?
The last time i went to try as many times as i wish they didnt show black face, provided i fix an appointment with them.
1st time i went SIL i try a range of gowns to know roughly which one i may pick. when i went back again i only try that selected few (from the previous range) those that i like most, about 2 or 3 gowns.

It also depends on how many different types of gown u want to try. If everytime u go try different gowns then it makes ur decision more difficult also. For OTR gown its best that u know more or less what kind of style u like. With long train or not, lace or without, a few things the designer will ask u so that he/she can pick out gowns which is to your preference for u to try.

hehe i never ask about changing gowns. Usually they will quote u after u try the 1st time, base on which material n style u like. They will tell u if u choose a full lace gown or if u want to add more embro or lace applique to the gowns the price will be higher. so if later on when u change ur mind from a normal material to a full lace one then u will have to top up the price for a lace gown.

hope that i have ans ur quarries.

hi summerice, thanks for sharing your experience. Yes, I've been told by another BS that I am only allowed 3 trips to choose my gown. If i still can't decide after 3 times, then I will have to go for MTM.

Am more relieved now that this is flexible. Well, i roughly noe what the style I want, but dunno if look nice on me till i try it on. So just want to make sure that there's flexibility for me, if I change my mind.

So what about you? When will u be going down for the fitting? Did u add on any embellishments or take it wholesale? You must be getting more excited huh...

minibb wow what BS is that? I went SIL 3x and AL 2x they didnt tell me i must make decision coz both BS know i am taking the OTR. U havent sign have u? Ya sometimes things that u never thought will look nice will turn out good. So u have to try a few style to choose what u like best.

Best is dont change once u select, coz the gown u selected they will keep it for u. if half way u want to change ur mind the other gown might be taken.

As for me i cant make up my mind about which BS to go to, since i like 2WG from different BS. luckily my hb did give some advice n that helps me in making up my mind.

My fitting for WG is end of this yr...there will be lace added onto my WG. so it will be semi MTM in a way.

thanks summerice! What a relieve to know that we don't have to limit ourselves to the number of trips to decide the design we like. Dun worry, have not signed up yet. The BS that told me this is quite a well known one in town. Not very nice to mention the name here lah.

So in your case, did you sign up with the BS only after you have seen and selected a particular design that you really like? Or did u start selection only after you have signed up?

Hmm... i like the idea of a semi MTM. Think i'll go for that too

What abt your EG? Have you also decided the design & colour?

minibb it best u check with them on the changing of gown issue. Since they already limit ur trying gown trips.

Oh i sign after i know which gown i want. 1st time i went to try a few pcs, according to my preference like ball gown, Aline, satin, train. After trying i narrow it down to 2 choices. Then i went back again to try some others (kia su) in case i miss out nice one and also try the one that i like again (from my 1st try). With that i am more or less confirm on the gown that i will pick, but provided u have decided on the BS already.

It best u sign only after u know they have what u want. If after u sign then u select a bit risky most likely will end up MTM.

Oh my EG not even started, will talk about the design soon with my designer. If you want more details i can sent u email. I think i better not post too much here to bored the rest with my selection story

hi summerice, hahaha..... i was also thinking of giving you my email so we can discuss more about this separately. Dunno why, only both of us in this forum. maybe most SIL brides are busy with their preparation.
Thanks for sharing your experience so far. It really helps. For me, I've already tried SIL gowns once. So might go back another time just to make sure. Maybe ask them to show me their EG to see the kind of range they have. Do you have anything in mind for your EG already?
ok here's my email: [email protected]
Talk to u again ya....

i'm back...from 1 week of heat (and clear sky) in Bali

wah..u all talking about OTR. let me gv u some insights about MTM instead hehehe.

i duno about other BSs but at Sil, MTM is an enjoyable process. first the designer will discuss wif u wat style n designs u like..u cut out pix from mags or print out pix from the web to show ur designer n let him/her get an idea wat u mean (they'll also guess the styles u like from this process). and then they'll pick out various pcs of gowns tat matches ur likes n let u try..see the drape of the diff materials n styles on ur body n u both decide after u saw the effects of diff gowns on u. after which u both will discuss about the actual design...the designer will draw sketches on paper so u both r on the same page on wat is going on (no guessing wat each other is thinking). the designer also makes sure u understands their designs by bringing out diff materials (in diff colors) n embellishments (laces n beads etc.) to let u know exactly wat to expect from tat particular design (so no suprises at the end). if in betwn the process, anything u dun like eg. the shade of the color chosen etc. u can ask them qns n change the design slightly to suit ur likings...its really fun to see ur WG transform from a mere pc of cloth into a beautiful pc of artwork exclusive to u

ok..very long post liao. u enjoy urself

Hi midas u r back....fun or not?

Gals i need help in the color selection of my EG. I wont pick the green its out. Red i feel its a common color but its very auspicious. White will it be like i never change gown cos my WG is off white. Black very common color for evening dress, will ppl cannot tell me apart from my guests?
the actual red is brighter, camera phone cannot capture it, the white is also like a white paper.

418199.jpg

hi summerice,

Bali of course fun lah...hehe

as for the EG color issue..i dun like all the colors in ur pics leh. all very common. hw about more unconventional shades like turqoise, mango or some lighter shade of yellow/lime? or ask AL to design ur EG with mixture of several colors (maybe 2 or 3) for a unique contrast? or go for printed fabrics?

mindas got pics to show for bali?

I wont go for printed cos i will have embro on the EG, as for color i think will be from the embro so the basic EG color i think best will be plain. So far this 4 colors look better on my skin. hehe i have a hard time selecting also.

summerice,

like tat har...then i suggest u go for black with bright color embro (maybe 2-3 colors thread). hopefully ur parents not pandang about the black though..

as for Bali, i still trying very hard to compile my pics...too many pics liao. now still in process of uploading. will inform u when they r ready

i'm new to this forum and have been reading ur postings for the past 15 mins.. interesting read

i went to SIL 2 weeks ago and had a chat with Caroline on the package after seeing their gowns and i'm glad that Caroline knows what i am looking for.
As i wanted a very customised package, i found that the price quoted is not much diff from their norm package which includes photography , etc.
Anyway, I will be meeting her again to discuss on the quote.

But before i meet her, i hope i can find some useful info from you.

Has anyone got their SIL package customised into this?
<inclusion>
GOWN: MTM full-length lace
Makeup: Trial + Day + Night
Bouquet: Wedding Day
Accessories (e.g corsages, hair accessories, eye lashes)
Car Deco

<exclusion>
Makeup: excluding Studio
Bouquet: excluding studio
Evening Gown: excluded
Groom Suit: excluded
Photography Studio: excluded

Thanks and hope to hear from u soon.

Hi Summerice,
okie got yr msn a/c. As for the EG colours, well i guess it depends on your skin tone and colour of the embro. If you are fair, i think the red or black will look nice on you, with embro in contrasting colours. Altho red is common, you will definitely stand out from the rest. Personally, I like black coz find it very classic yet elegant. Also, not many brides wear black coz most parents will complain pandang. To differentiate you from other guests wearing black, you can always have unique embellishments or design. You might also need to consider the room setting. Eg if your tablecloths are red, then you shldn't wear a similar colour. Hehe.. ok just my 2cents worth.

Hi Donut,
I am also going for customised package, except that mine is OTR WG + MTM EG &amp; Groom suit. For the items that you have listed, I think it will be about $3K+? Just my guesstimate. How much did they quote you?

Hello minibb

Great to hear from you. The quote i got was 3.6k which i think can be further discuss with SIL since i am not getting quite a number of their package items. Do you think this is possible?

Would you be able to share with me your experience with SIL? Stuffs like,
1) their makeup artiste (which one is good?)
2) their customer service (e.g attitude towards customer after sign up)
3) and any other things which u think is useful for my evaluation of BS. But in fact, SIL is the only BS i went to and i will most probably sign up with them. I have been doing a lot of surfing and was still attracted to SIL's classic design using pretty french lace.

yap...that's all and will be waiting for your juicy reply ;)

hi donut,

ur pkg with full french lace is quite a steal already as quality french laces Sil uses r not cheap. if u check with any reputable BS, they'll qoute u $3k to rent or $4k to buy juz for the WG alone.

some of my experience to share:

1. MUA, i used Gin. she's good, quite a number of ex-Sil brides used her too. fake lashes is included in both trial and actual makeup. no top up needed.
2. Cust service...impeccable. u wun get crap like those one-stop-shop type BS. if Caroline qouted u $3.6k for full french lace, then u wun get nasty surprises like need to top up for tis type or tat type of lace etc.
3. other things to consider would be whether u can click with ur designer (which i think is no problem for u n caroline..)

Hi donut,
Sorry, can't really share much experience, coz i've yet to sign up with them. Most probably going down these few days to take another look and confirm the package details. However, what I can share is my BS hunting experience so far. Besides Sil, I've also shortlisted and visited BV, AL &amp; TWP. Finally selected Sil coz Minda seems so friendly and full of ideas. Also liked some of the OTR gowns I've seen so far.

Well I think will be good if you have time to visit a couple of other BS to get a better feel of what u like/dislike. Since you like french lace gowns, do try it on to see if it suits u also. You never know, sometimes what u like might/might not look good on you. For lacey gowns, you can also visit Margaret's Brides. They are quite good with it. Although tiring at times, gown shopping can be fun coz u get to try on different types of gowns. Have fun!