Silhouette the Atelier

Hi Jac,

oops .. barged into here ... Anyway .. you can bring your wedding shoe or a similiar height heel that u will be wearing on yr wedding day so u can see how the bottom of the gown falls/flows on the floor.

If even with the shoe the gown drags maybe the tailor would suggest altering the gown ... but rememember some gowns have to wear the Can Can inside ...

Oh also bring a rubber band to tie up yr hair .. so u can view the gown back n front w/o the hinderance of yr hair. Also let u see how the gown would look like with all yr hair up ... = p

When yr 1st fitting ?

jac,
i tot ur AD still far away...so fast go fitting liao? when's ur PS?

best to bring along shoes if u hv bought it already...r u doing trial MU? if doing MU then wear a front-button blouse or any top tat dun need to go over ur head when changing coz MUA will do MU & hair first b4 u change into ur gowns..

oh ya...bring camera n take pix

Hi Justina,
Thanks for the tips. Nice to see you here!

Hi midas,
Not sure if the correct term will be first fitting. Cos while I have confirmed the bottom of the gown, I have yet to confirm the bodice. So anyway, think my designer said its the first fitting. Think probably to take height measurement and alter the tulle first. There's gonna be 7 layers of tulle, so probably why the 'first fitting' is rather early.

We're thinking of having PS in June/ July...since weather might be more sunny during that period...but then HTB having braces on....dun know if by then the braces can be taken off.

I think not doing the trial MU yet. It'll be really early for that.

Midas,
When should I choose the MUA? Are they also professionals rather than in-house MUA?

Oh and no, I haven't gotten my shoes for AD yet.

jac,
i see...then no need to rush to buy shoes..unless u wanna take advantage of the CNY sales

braces can use photoshop to touch up..no worries.

for MUA think u can start researching who u prefer liao..once got a shortlist can book now coz Dec is a popular month for weddings...shld book ur preferred MUA asap...all Sil's MUAs r prof.

Midas,
So any idea where I can start my research for MUAs? Is it the threads on the MUA in Sgbrides? All of them do tie-ups with Sil?
If I rem correctly, your MUA is Gin?

hi jac,

saw you at the O Studio thread, too. have u found your AD photographer yet? i'm with One Eye Click. they shot my sister's AD, seem like nice folks to work with. (btw, your gown is MTM or OTR? 7 layers of tulle?! gosh, is it one of the gowns from the "Beautiful" series?)

Hey midas,
your AD package $499, is it shot by Jaki himself? coz today i went down to talk to him and he said if he shoots on AD, it will be $2800. If it's one of his other photographers, it will be $800-plus.

Hi monkeymuffin,
nice to see you here

My AD photographer is Daniel Beh. Now we both have one less thing to do.
My gown is OTR but am not sure abt the bodice yet...so might change it...yesh, 7 layers of tulle!! I didn't expect to have a tulle gown. When I first started planning, I thought of having a satin gown. But I couldn't resist those Beautiful range gowns...

Is your designer is Caroline? I'm going down to meet her tmr afternoon

Those "Beautiful" range gowns looks like it's out of the movie Enchanted. very cute. but how much did you have to top up for the OTR package?

As for studio PS, i'm still undecided!! ah, so muddled-up. Bernard (ave 8) or Jaki (o studio) or Ray (photolanguage)???

jac,
u gotta ask caroline for a list of MUAs Sil ties up with...then ask ard in the forum..some MUA got dedicated threads, some dun, so hv to go other BS thread to ask BTB who r using the same MUA for reviews..n ya my MUA was Gin

monkeymuffin,
my AD PG was one of the freelancer tie up with O-studio...not jaki coz he too ex liao..

Hi monkeymuffin,
Yes my designer is Caroline. So how was you meeting with her?

Did you watch Enchanted? Its quite nice a movie eh? Sweet, romantic and heartwarming...

Yes the gowns from Beautiful are so princessy...

As I'm not having EG, $600 was deducted but cos my tulle have some 'special effects' so will have to top up $300 for that. And to change the bodice, will have to top-up $150. But its FOC just to add mopre sequins to the bodice. So, what I like abt Sil is that I was told the costs upfront. No hidden costs.

Regarding PG, have you been to the studios? maybe it will help in your decision.

Hi midas,
Will ask Caroline abt the MUAs. And then will come back to badger people abt the MUAs...:p

Monkeymuffin,
Ya, the AD done by Jaki is so ex...I was tempted to take him for AD when I saw the AD albums done by him

i have been to Ave 8 and O studio and photolanguage. altho Ave 8 and O studio tie up with Silhouette, but after paying all the top up to become a magazine style, almost same price as photolanguage (ala carte price). and i like the magazine style finish, dun like the basic package with the line in the centre, so surely must top up for tat

yes, i watched Enchanted. my FH is a movie buff, watches almost all the movies. I jokingly said must cut down on movies to save money for wedding. but that ultra disappointed look on his face tells me tat's out of the question!

sorry, just to clarify, is your total top up for the Beautiful gown is $600+$300+$150 = $1150?
or it is just $300+$150 = $450?

i have been to Ave 8 and O studio and photolanguage. altho Ave 8 and O studio tie up with Silhouette, but after paying all the top up to become a magazine style, almost same price as photolanguage (ala carte price). and i like the magazine style finish, dun like the basic package with the line in the centre, so surely must top up for tat

yes, i watched Enchanted. my FH is a movie buff, watches almost all the movies. I jokingly said must cut down on movies to save money for wedding. but that ultra disappointed look on his face tells me tat's out of the question!

sorry, just to clarify, is your total top up for the Beautiful gown is $600+$300+$150 = $1050?
or it is just $300+$150 = $450?

monkeymuffin,
its $300+$150. But of cos this is offset by the $600 which is deducted from the package.

So the ala carte price from photolanguage is just for photographer? Or have you already counted in the pics?

I have decided not to take any studio photography. My FH and i dun really enjoy photography that much. After my church wedding, my AD photographer will bring us out to take some outdoor shots. tat's sufficient for us

That also means, my FH will not be looking at me in my gown until the moment when I walk down the aisle at the church

As with some early birds (hee), I've also chosen my gown with Silhouette already, just haven chosen MUA.

Monkeymuffin,
Who's your MUA? Any idea what are the choices of MUA from Sil?
Is your designer Caroline too? What's your gown like? From Beautiful collection? Share share....

Your FH didn't see the gown you chose? It must be exciting for both you and him....the anticipation for him to see you in your gown...

So have you gotten your AD PG yet?

Sorry for bombarding you with questions....

Hi Jac,
Only heard of Gin, who is recommended by many brides, and also by my sister who used her when she got married in 06.
Some comments are tt Gin is good at "drama makeup" which will look great with EG i think. But i dun have banquet, only church wedding. dun want to look "drama", hee. want to look natural. will ask Caroline (yes, my designer is her, too!)for recommendation. let you know when i have more info.

Not from Beautiful. I cant really walk around in my church with tulle. (my church venue quite small, not the grand kind) my gown's got ruching at the chest, and ruching at the train.

yeah, purposely want to forbid him from seeing my gown before the wedding, so as to make him wonder a bit, hee...

AD PG is One Eye Click

No worries abt the questions, really fun for all the Silhouette brides to get together and share. wish i could see you in your Beautiful gown!!!

Hi monkeymuffin,
Yeah, I only heard of Gin too. Hopefully there will be more choices.
I'm going to Sil on Friday...will ask Caroline too.
know what...I used to think I will want natural makeup but when I flip through the bridal magazines, I realise that having heavier makeup (not the super drama kind though) looks quite nice too. Something like, more blusher, more eyeliner etc.

Some suspense will be fun.....

To be honest, I'm so excited about my gown!!! Gosh, I can't stand myself sometimes...keep thinking abt the poses and the types of shots that I want. I'll post up pics and multiply then u can take a look too.
Actually I like ruching too...I wanted to get a gown with ruching too till I saw the Beautiful gown.

Midas,
If you are still around, wanna check with you, how long did it take for O studio to come up with the photo album after the PS?

hi jac,
my albums(x2) took only 3.5weeks coz i took my PS only 1 month b4 my AD...vivian promised to rush them out for me. typical timelines shld be 3-4months after photo selection bah..

u got Multiply account ah? can add me? i wanna kpo ur gowns too
my ID is 'midas400'

jac,
I'll be adding on some beading and a bit of lace to my gown.
Not expecting much for first meeting, except for Caroline to take my measurements.
She also recommended Jacqueline or Jasmine for makeup if i dun wan too "drama", aiyo, i really dunno who to take????

Hi all BTB,
I just like to share my experience with Silhoutte recently. My wedding was over recently and I have mixed feelings about the BS. Firstly its the WG, mine is not a bustier but I opted to alter to a bustier. The alteration was done only a few weeks before the AD( I was on overseas assignment)and in the end, the bustier part was very loose and the designer did tried to fix it but on the AD itself, it was still loose ( everything was like a last minute deal though I tried to arrange a few trips to the shop towards the last 2 months) and my friends all commented that it seemed like the gown was wearing me rather than I'm wearing the gown. I was very upset about it and until now I am still very upset. Maybe I am having too high expection but I see Silhoutte as one of the top notch boutique and I am expecting high value out of the package that I paid for.( I opted for OTR package and I know I paid more for that too from the forum but that's beside the story). However, I am not all negative about their services, they did rendered some extra services to me and the EG was very beautifully done and I received good compliments from many friends and this at least makes me feel much better. I engaged Gin as my MUA and I'm happy with her make-up but she was late for morning and night session, but she did finish within the discussed time frame so I guess it's fine overall. Her make-up was nice and looked good in pictures.
Just my 2 cents worth. I think it doesnt pay to be too nice and got to be demanding at times. But this becomes one of my biggest regrets in my life (the WG) especially I saw one really beautiful WG at TW and decided not to sign up with them just to save a few hundred dollars. Now it costs more because it's a life time memory. One reminder, do not make too much alteration on your WG if you are taking it OTR, you can't trust what you think and the designer may not be able to advise you what is more suitable for you. I do not want to talk about the bouquet because it's a let down too. Maybe mine was an isolated case and I am not trying to venge my anger here but I just want to share my experiences with all BTB!Cheers.

Hi Pepperoni,

I'm not sure what exactly have happened, but you certainly sounds very upset about the whole experience. I'm actually considering between Silhoutte, Ted Wu and The Wedding Present. But cant seems to decide on one.... Any advise?

Thanks Pepperoni for sharing your experience. Will bear that in mind when i do my fitting.

Hi Jac and Monkeymuffin,

I want to see your gowns too! Add me! My multiply ID is soliloquy7. Mine also from the Beautiful collection. I have no pics of my gown. But it appeared in Nov's issue ( i think it's nov issue...just not the latest one) of Her World Brides. It's a bustier with silver embroidery with tulle skirt. Ya, Jac. Do let us know when you put up pictures of your gown!

aiya,
sorry jac and mei,
i quite Sua-gu, dont really know how to use multiply lei
need some figuring out. got gmail, so automatically got multiply?
i'm going for measurements tmr. will take photos of my gown before and after. hee.

wa, looking at you two Beautiful brides, I am but a Silhouette... hee

Hi pepperoni,
So sorry to hear abt your AD experience. Look on the bright side, you got a gorgeous EG! Thanks for sharing your experience with us.
Would like to ask you...did you take pre-wedding photoshoot? Cos am wondering if you did, then how did the bustier fit during the photoshoot (if any)?

I think I read a few comments (previous posts) on Gin being late....was she very late?? Did she notify you abt her being late? For me, I don't like it when things don't go according to plan, even something as minor as being late esp for such an important date. Personally, this kind of little things can stress me up.

Is your florist Poppy flora too?

My WG is OTR cos Caroline says since I can't visualise, then don't take the risk to MTM a gown. But still not satisfied with this gown that I've picked so probably will try to make changes. Hope everything turns out the way I want.

Mei,
will add you into multiply. So you got Beautiful gown too! Are you doing any amendments to the gown? Does yours have the bling bling on the tulle as well? When is your AD?

Hi pepperoni,
sorry to hear tat the once-in-a-lifetime gown of urs din turn out well...i believed u already knew the problem...OTR gowns r not designed to be drastically altered. most pple juz choose one n add bits of embellishments n alter the size to fit n kept the overall design as it is (the design tat they liked in the first place)...if u wanted something really different, u shld hv gone for MTM instead. btw, ur florist is poppy?

hi glamourous,
u shld go with gut feel...which BS has the gowns tat wow u most..n which designer u felt most comfy with. its very important to click with ur designer especially if u r going for MTM...gd luck

monkeymuffin,
I was quite sua-gu too...didn't know how to use multiply. even now, my page is like the template type and only know how to post photos...not sure if gmail automatically gives multiply....
Must show us the pics ok?
Hehe, only the gown beautiful leh...

This is soooo exciting!!

Hopefully after I've shown Caroline my research, can find a bodice that I like...

Hi Jac,

My AD is Nov 16, but doing photoshoot in June. So will start making my EG soon. My tulle skirt has some silvery embroidery at the bottom. minor bling-bling.

Monkeymuffin,

Don't say until like that! I think all the gowns there are BEAUTIFUL! ha ha!
And i think, you have to go to www.multiply.com to join and set up a site. I also very sua gu with this kind of thing. But find multiply easier to use than facebook. Just play around a bit and you'll be able to post pics very soon. My site also very un-sophisticated. ha ha!

Mei,
Is your gown the one whereby the model was posing on a tree and she has red flowers in her hair? If that's the one, the embroidery on the tulle is very nice!
If you don't mind me asking, how much did you pay for your package? Cos I saw the wordings on the page and it says the gown is for 'to buy' only.

Hi Jac,
I did not have any pre-shooting before the wedding.
Hi Midas, actually I didn't have a drastic alteration cos the orginal was with v-neck lace covered with the bustier and this was removed to reveal the bustier so got to find some ways to support the bustier from the back and somehow, the method didnt work out and the button snapped on the AD and my sister and Gin helped to stitch the support lace to the gown. Florist was not from Poppy. Anyway, not all the bad things though, the EG was beautiful and they did offer some added services. I'm not upset but just disappointed about my WG. Sign... Anyway, it's over and I'm not going to brood over it anymore.: )

Hi Jac, Ya, That's the one. I thought the photo didn't do justice to the embroidery. It is actually nicer ... ha ha! i'm so 'shameless'! Praise my gown until like that! :P

And don't mind at all tellin you my package price.
I paid $3300 for the package and it's only for the gown OTR and my boyfriend's suit, MTM and to keep. No EG. 3 Make-up sessions, corsages and hand bouquet. That's about it. Is that roughly what you paid?

Hi pepperoni,
glad to hear you are not brooding over those stuff already. Good for you! a happy Mrs. unlike us, anxious BTBs *sweat*

how come you never went for Poppy? who did you work with then? was it good?

Mei, jac and midas, have added you in multiply. Please authorise.

Hi mei,
You know, when I saw your gown in the magazine before I know it is yours, I thought its a very very nice gown...then when I looked closer, I like the embroidery on the tulle. To be honest, I don't know how to appreciate embroidery, but when I saw the ones on the tulle, I know they are good! I agree with you, I think the photo didn't really do your gown justice.
Are you doing PS? If yes, where are you doing yours at? How come you didn't take EG? I also didn't take EG cos I intend to wear the WG all the way. Are you doing a day event? Cos I see only 3 make-up sessions - which is what I'm having too.

If I were you, I praise that gown to heavens too! And you should!! Ohh, can't wait to see you in that gown.

I think I paid abt the same price..but am not sure what's the exact value cos my package comes with photography.

So your florist is going to be Poppy?

Hi mei,
So what abt your make-up for PS? Who's your MUA? Which studio is doing your PS?

I also want to do PS early...maybe like Jul/early August. Am thinking its better to do it earlier than later and also cos I'm so excited abt it. Was also concerned about the haze, which I def dun want in my photos. Caroline was stunned to hear I want to do PS so early.

I'm thinking of changing florist. A fren is recommending a florist which is slightly cheaper than Poppy but service is good. I was told that for Poppy if want a bigger bouquet or bigger flowers, def have to top up.

Hehe, I was over-enthu...no fitting yesterday. Jus discussing on the details of the gown. Seems like fitting will be in May period. When's your fitting?

Hi jac and mei,
i've confirmed MUA as Gin.
Which florist your fren recommended?
i have the same fear abt the topping up of flowers at Poppy. plus i wonder if i can a cheaper florist, she can do my venue decor together with providing the bouquets, corsages and car decor at a package price.

hi again Jac and monkeymuffin,

i'm with Tri-angles for both pre-wedding and AD. My fitting will probably be in April. Haven't decided on MUA yet. Will do that a bit later.
For the moment i'll stick with Poppy. Hopefully, as more Silhouette brides have their AD over the next few months, they can post their feedback on Poppy.

Hi mei,

better book your MUA quick. coz they get taken up real quickly.

midas,
your WG is super sweet. and the two sashes are flexible for you to tie over neck or off-shoulder, is it? nice.

Hi mei,
I agree with monkeymuffin that you should book your MUA asap...cos even on my date which is in late dec, some MUA are taken already.

Monkeymuffin,
Is you AD on 29th Nov? Cos Caroline was trying to book 2 MUA for that date and both MUAs are taken already. And it is really quite surprising that MUAs are already booked so early. What made you decide on Gin?

yes, that's me on 29 Nov!

so, mei, do hurry coz yours is in Sep, earliest among us, three.

i took Gin coz the other two already taken lor. I'm ok with Gin, too, coz she did my sister's makeup two years ago, and it was ok, too. Just tt maybe the evening one a bit "drama" which was ok for the occasion.

monkeymuffin,
thanks for the compliment...ya my WG is 1 gown multiple looks concept

Gin can do natural style makeup...u notice all my photos not drama rite?

Does anyone have any comments on the MUA Jasmine? I'm taking her cos Caroline says she does soft style. But I'm actually considering diff types of make-up for PS.

So anyone who has used Jasmine before? Any idea what's her surname?