Silhouette the Atelier

Midas,
your makeup is nice
not drama. hope mine'll be ok. my face is difficult to make up, coz single eyelids. poor MUA will have a hard time.

jac, i dun know Jasmine surname, maybe you ask Caroline?

mei, sorry dunno y i thot your wedding in sep. ya, you in Nov, coz saw your name in the Nov thread

monkeymuffin,
if u r taking Gin, she can give u double eyelids with stickers...get her to show u during the trial MU. not sure if other MUA provide tat though...i mean for free.

midas,
yup my MUA is Gin. btw, was your hubby's suit from Silhouette? it's a tux right? and your bouquet is very nice, too. was made by Caroline?

i'm going down to Poppy tmr, to discuss hand bouquet and possibly church venue decor.

Hi monkeymuffin,
I intended to go to the florists to take a look too but will it be too early?
The florist my friend recommended is Buds and Buddies florist. Its the florist at SMU.
Can you give some info on Poppy after your trip there?

Midas,
have you heard any comments from other Sil brides who took Jasmine?

monkeymuffin,
yes my hubby's suit is from Sil, a mandarin collar suit...not sure tux anot leh..

my PS bouquet is made by Miah(left Sil liao)...AD bouquet made by Caroline(according to Minda)

Jac,
nope...nobody i know uses jasmine.

jac,
yup...i din use Redbox at all..
all bouquets n corsages done by designers n my car decor was done by the seamstress
they were very gd

my designer Miah has always been doing bouquets for his brides...when i enquired about their florist he say he can do bouquets for me n showed me some of his works..they r gd, plus he can understands my requirements very well, so i left it to him n wasn't disappointed at all
caroline only came into the picture when Miah started working part-time n he sorta asked her to help tie the bouquet..the designing part i discussed n agreed with him de.

Sorry ladies,
just to let you all know tt i did not manage to meet with Poppy yesterday. the florist was sick

btw, i read in another thread that some brides recommended Love Droplets. Anyone heard of this florist?

Monkeymuffin,
I haven't heard of Love Droplets...which thread did you read abt them?

Tonya,
Congrats!! When was your wedding? Can you share any pics with us? So from Poppy, the standard flowers are orchids? Btw, who was your MUA?

Hi Tonya,

Just like to check with you, is Tinydots with Silhouette?
Also, did you do your pre wedding shoots with them as well? Coz I'm considering Tinydots as well, but would like to hear reviews about it...

Btw, your highlights are fabulous!

Tonya,
Thanks for sharing your pics! Your PG captured the moments very well.
I like your cake! Its so pretty, where is it from?
Did you make both CS at Sil? I like the blue one, very sweet and pretty.
Btw, who's your make-up artist?

Thanks, ladies.... I don't think there's a tie up with Silhouette though. I approached Tinydots separately, after signing up with Silhouette. And we didn't do pre-wedding shoots. Yu Hsin's strength is in capturing the moments, photojournalistic style...

The cake came with the package that we paid for too. We gave a pic of this cake got over the internet and they did a great job copying it's design. The chocolate fudge cake is one of the best cakes I've tasted too.

And yes, Caroline did the blue cheongsam... the green one was tailor made and used for my tea ceremony. It was just easier for me to dance in it because the blue cheongsam had capped sleeve.

MUA : Kenneth Lee (not tied up with Silhouette)

Hi pynk,

thx for sharing your pics and experience. I would say your bouquets do look sweet, but you are right, the pink ribbon you added makes the bouquet more outstanding. Your bridesmaids' bouquets are sweet, too, but $35 each! Man, that's costly indeed

pynk,
Thanks for sharing the pics. I must agree with you, I wasn't impressed by the flowers too.
Any more photos to share, esp your gown from Sil?

Monkeymuffin,
what do you think of Love Droplets? I've checked with them...not sure if the price is on the steep side cos I dunno the market rate...

Anyone who knows what's the approximate cost of 2 bridal bouquets (mainly roses), 6 corsages and bridal car decor?

hi jac, My guesstimate :-

1 bridal bouquet (depending on size) $100 - 150

Corsage - if the bouquet is roses, most likely you will use roses? $8-12 per corsage

Bridal Car deco - probably anywhere between $50 to $120 , depending on whether you use fresh flowers or fake flowers.

For mine, it cost $268 for 1 very dense bridal bouquet, 10 corsages and flowers for my hair.

Would recommend that you ask a few florists before you decide... I did mine at the last minute and accepted whatever redbox quoted to me... but I wasn't disappointed! :o)

Oh yeah. my girlfriend is liasing with Love droplets and she says that it is a little on the high side, but she thinks that the Jac(I think that's her name) will do a good job cos she seems to have more ideas...

tonya,
I'm liasing with Love Droplets too. Like you friend, I think that Love Droplet's ideas are very good but price does seem to be on the high side.
I was quoted around $400 for the 2 bouquets, 6 corsages and bridal car decor.

Midas,
Thanks for the link. Red box seems alright. This time round, Gin's makeup seems heavier.

Hi Jac, how about trying to ask other florists too? You can speak with Redbox over the phone. Can't really gauge if $400 is costly unless you know what you're getting. Esp for car decor - some people like it more elaborate, some simple... did she give you a breakdown? and are you getting fresh or fake flowers for your car deco?

thanks for the info and advices...yep, I'll go down to various florists after CNY.

Tonya,
Nope, Love Droplets didn't give me a breakdown. I think in my email I asked abt fresh flowers for car deco but personally, it doesn't really matter if the flowers for car deco are fresh are fake.

Hi ladies, i've met up with Poppy.

hand bouquet, only roses and leaves in the basic package with Sil. top up needed for baby's breath or other accompanying flowers. top starts from $35 i think. groom's corsage - one rose. parents' corsage - one orchid. to change orchid to rose - top up $8-12.

"standard" amount couples spent with her for church decor is $1600. and when i saw the photos, i think for $1600, what you get is still very ordinary. think i might do with a freelancer or get frens to help DIY.

car decor is another area, Poppy florist says fresh flowers are very hard to maintain and the driver of the bridal got to stick the flowers on himself on the morning of the wedding. the florist will only attach the sponge. also if it rains, all the flowers will die. so she advised me to take a artificial flowers for car decor. (basic package with Sil is artificial flowers.)

I got the breakdown from 2 florists and I'm so surprised that car deco is from $200 onwards!! Wow, I didn't expect car floral deco to cost so much.

Once again, I'm surprised by the higher than normal pricing for stuff related to weddings....

Sil is quoting 4.3k for 1 OTR WG, 1 MTM EG, 2 Men suits, makeup for prewedding shoot n actual day. Is that expensive?

How do you know which collection is your gown from?

pynk,
your ribbons are satin? where did you get them ah? I still don't know what's gonna be my wedding colour...too many choices. can I get the ribbons from you (if you still have them then) if pink is gonna be the colour??
who's gonna be your MUA?
sigh, once vendors start using the phrase 'once in a lifetime', its a lost case ain't it?

Hi chloe,
I told my designer abt the gown i saw in their adverts and she said its the Beautiful range...its stated in the ads too "Beautiful by Silhouette"
How come you are getting 2 men's suits, both to keep? I think the price depends on the gown you'll be choosing as well. There's no trial for the make-up?

hi btbs! I'm also a Nov BTB!

I just went down to sil yesterday for the first time and loved it! Their dresses are gorgeous! Can anyone tell me if kenji is good?all of u seem to have Caroline as your designer. I am so very tempted to sign on already. But think I better look around a bit more. Anything which we can ask for which is not in the package?

i have met up with kenji and i like his character... but currently still undecided between them and Amanda Lee..

any feedback?

I like what I read on this thread and those photos on Sil's website too? Hope you all will be kind enough to help me here cos I am rushing to prepare my ROM cum AD this coming Sept.

1) How did you decide on Sil? Compared Sil to Amanda Lee or Bridal Veil, what is the diff?

2) Is Sil's pricing on the high side? Can we don work with their florist if we not taking a package?

3) I jus wanna get a OTR/ MTM WG cos I am really going for a very simple wedding, no PS, anyone know wat the pricing will be like? Wat's your adivce?

Thanks so much!

I can only comment on 2 and 3. Sil is quite expensive, but it is a designer BS. That also means that they design it to suit you and will embroider as you want it. As it is a designer BS, it does not come with PS.

Hi Carol,
Regarding 2, yes, you can don't work with the florist the Sil ties up with. And yes, pricing is on the high side and in return, I get good service, nice and good quality materials for my gown. No need to worry about hidden costs.

Regarding 3, I think if you are going for just the gown alone, the cost of the gown could be anything from $2k onwards? this depends on the material of the gown and design.

Basically, Sil being a designer boutique, they provide you with the gown only. There will be tie-ups with other professionals such as stusios, MUA, florist....

Hope this helps...and sorry, no pics yet..gotta wait till May? Can try to pm Midas and request for her pics.

Hi Carol, I signed up with Sil in Mid 2007. For $2900, I got the following :-

- OTR Wedding Gown, french lace
- MTM cheongsam, french lace
- 2 sessions make up, 1 trial ($450 deductible I thinkI
- Standard flowers from Poppy ($200 deductible)
- free kwa (optional) rental

so I guess based on that, it would have been $2,250 or thereabouts for my two gowns...

Pics are in the highlights I posted above, if you haven't already seen them. Sil's gowns are really good quality stuff, very good workmanship and beautiful designs...

Bridal Veil and Amanda Lee are definitely not cheap either.

BV specialises in clean cut gowns. similar to Vera Wang style.

Amanda Lee was from Sil, so style quite similar to Sil. she struck me as not-so-frenly last time i went. but different pple have different experiences. you may wan to check her out.

i wun be doing PS coz I've got the "groom-wun-see-me-in-WG-till-AD" concept, hehe..

i think most impt is tt you must have completed your alterations for the WG. do a final fitting with Caroline, den ask her to help you tell the photographer (Jaki right?) the date. try to check weather forecast or somthing to make sure the chosen day is sunny. else you might have to pay for the makeup artist to come again if you do only indoors and it rains for the outdoor shoot.

hi carol,
u got mail...

jac,
u can arrange PS directly with O-studio....they can contact Gin(if u hv chosen her) on ur behalf too..for me, i juz gave a few preferred dates n they arrange it for me. as for weather, since u can't predict it, u shld do a 'plan b'. eg. to prepare 2-3 indoor locations such as Esplanade, Changi T3 etc.

monkeymuffin,
AL is 'not so' frenly during first visits...but will warm up to u after signed up when she gotten to know u more...

Monkeymuffin,
Oh ya, now I rem the plan u have abt not letting groom see u in WG...Regarding the weather, its luck I suppose. Would like to take it in July since its the driest month.

Midas,
Okay, will think of alternate plan. Thanks for the advice. How long in advance did you tell O studio your preferred dates?

jac,
hmm...abt 1 month plus ba..but i know pple who book 6 months ahead..think most important is find a date tat both PG & MUA can make it de..

yeah, i'm sure AL has many positive points. else she wun be so successful. got a new outlet open recently!

jac, July and August are good months to take. I know this from the photographers when i was still deciding whether to take prewedding photography.