Silhouette the Atelier

hi blurBTB,

i used my own accessories coz tat time when Miah showed me their accessories, i find them quite miserable...but not sure whether they hv bought new accessories after my AD anot. i did see some nice ones on their trunk show pix...duno if its their's or borrowed one. its better tat u find out from ur designer.

Does anyone know if we can borrow a Kwa from Sil?
Will they lend it to us for free? Forgot to ask about this before I sign-up.

hi minibb,

u shld be able to borrow the kua from Sil...they shld hv written tat together with the free accessories rental in ur invoice..mine had it, but i din use it coz i dun like to wear kua.

Oh i see. Ok thanks Midas. Will check with Minda next week when I meet her. Always look forward to my appointment with her. Starting to design my evening gown now. So exciting!

Minibb, how many design sessions in total do you have with Minda? Another bridal studio told me two 1.5 hour sessions for both WG and EG.

I'm probably going to sign up with SIL in the next few days. But before I do, just want to know what are the main complaints about SIL. Would appreciate comments from any SIL brides.

hi stephanie,

my designer was Miah...he left Sil in May. But i know both Minda n Caroline n even Kenji too, they r all very friendly pple. different designers specialises in different style, if u dun hv a particular preference in styles u can work with any one of them. which designer attended to u during ur visit?

Hi Midas,
Caroline attended to me. She's very friendly but seems a little laid back. Not sure what style she specialises in though.

Hi Stephanie,
I've had 2 sessions with Minda so far. Started discussions & designing my EG first. U going for MTM or OTR? Personally, i think 2 sessions might not be enough if u are going for MTM.

hi stephanie,

to find out wat style belong to which designer, u'll hv to try out the gowns n narrow down to the style tat u like n then make decision on whether to switch designers or not...i think for Sil its ok to pick ur preferred designer..they r not allocated like HDB flats anyway.

i agree with minibb tat 2 design sessions is not enuf unless u r 100% sure of wat design n color n material for both gowns n the overall design is not complicated at all...or its juz a simple copycat of existing designs. for me, i already know wat designs i wanted n quite sure of the color n material of my gowns liao but i still went for about 5 sessions(2hrs each) with my designer to confirm everything.

Hi minibb & midas,
thanks for the comments and advice.
I agree that just 2 sessions would not be enuff. Hm...I will let you know the decision I make eventually. =p

Hi again, minibb & midas,

I went to SIL this evening and signed up with Caroline!! =)

I'm so happy cos I've finally made this important decision...it's a load off my mind. Now it's the designing stage...have research to do.

Everytime I see the gowns at SIL, I'm blown away by how beautiful they look. And as for the design sessions, Caroline said there's no limit...as long as it takes to make the bride happy. What great service!

can someone please email me the packages offered by SIL? I wish to have a look at some of the WG and EG as well if you guys don't mind sending it to my. =) I'm only starting to look now and there are like 10,000 BS to choose from! So confusing!!!
Thanks guys!

SIL gave me 2 options for make-up artist: Amy or Gin

What's the difference between the 2? I have no clue how to choose.

Hi missy54,

It's best that you go to their studio at Stamford House to take a look. They have lovely gowns!!Packages can be customised to your needs.
A friend of mine went with SIL for her wedding and the gown turned out really well...that's one of the main reasons I also signed up. By just looking at the gowns and trying them on, you can tell that workmanship is alot better than alot of bridal studios.

hi stephanie,

i used Gin...she's very gd. i can send u the link to my pix if u like to view her 'works'
juz leave me ur email addy..

Hi Ladies, was wondering, anyone has any advice or thoughts on whether SIL or Amanda Lee Weddings is better? Think that both have beautiful gowns and am lost....Thanks!

hi skl,

hv u gone down to both BS to try their gowns n talk with the designers? u shld pick the one tat u feel most comfy with

Hi Stephanie,
Welcome to the SIL club!! When's your AD?
Yes people are SIL are really helpful. For me, i was abit fickle initially and cldn't make up my mind. But the staff there are very patient with me. Have finally selected my EG design and Minda is starting to produce it. As for WG, am going OTR but with embellishments added on. Sooo looking forward to my 1st fitting date.. hehe

Hi Sil Brides,
I have some questions for you... perhaps those who've gone thru the entire designing process... or are in the midst can help.

1) How much of your gown was completed on your first fitting? In particular, was all the embroidery done... and it was like the almost final product? I was actually expecting to see at most the structure of the gown first... then get like the embroidery designs on tracing paper or something... confirm that i like the design to be embroidered... give the go ahead before they go ahead on the embroidery. But Minda says it will be all done by my first fitting. i'm pretty uncomfortable... cos i'm afraid that the embroidery isn't what i expected. and there's no way you can undo the embroidery. How did you gals go about it?

2) my sister was telling me that when she did her gown some years back with another bridal studio, they actually made a mock up first before the actual thing... think that's pretty good cos you can still modify stuff like the length of the train when they make the actual gown. but it seems like for silhouette, the first fitting is almost close to the final product. what if i'd like a longer train? hmm... feeling pretty iffy about this.

3) Did you do your first fitting & trial make up on the same day that your fiance did his first fitting as well? Think Minda is planning to start work on my fiance's suit much later... hmm... but i thought it'd make sense that our first fittings n the trial make up are all on the same day.

4) how long did it take you gals to confirm your designs on the wedding and evening gowns? i'm still pretty unsure. I went overseas for one year... prior to that, met up with minda to discuss both the wedding and evening gowns. but nothing was final. just came back, and met her again yesterday. we discussed the wedding and evening gowns again... and there were some changes to the designs (from what was discussed one year back). and she was actually expecting me to confirm the designs so she can buy material and start work on the gowns. help! i'm still undecided. so i told her to give me time to think about it.

this whole gown designing thing is stressing me out a bit. just afraid of making decisions cos i'm still undecided.

hi ling,

wah...very long post leh hehehe.

i'm the one tat had been thru the 'whole process'...can advise u on the embroidery part as i hv it on my WG(on skirt only) too

yes, i did the tracing paper part with my then designer Miah. basically is the seamstress will cut out n sew only the skirt first, then i wrap the skirt around me while the designer pin up several cut pcs of tracing paper (wif the patterns) on the skirt. during the session i'm free to adjust the position of the patterns and number of the patterns on the WG. as for the pattern designs, i had a separate session with Miah to confirm the design b4 the tracing paper pinning session.

on my first fitting, the gown is 80% sewn wif all the embro done already...other detailings like embellishments eg. beads, crytals or lace appliques will be up only on 2nd fitting. if u wld like a longer train, u shld hightlight tat to ur designer during ur designing stage...coz the length can be shorten but can't be lengthen on ur first fitting..although the seamstress will always make the skirt/train longer n cut to the right length later when u confirm the actual length wearing ur actual wedding shoes, its still juz slightly longer only.

it shouldn't be a problem for u if u prefer to do ur gown fitting n man suit fitting together...i did my fittings together wif my hubby
but his designing session is after mine (when the seamstress already started working on my gowns). i only did my trial makeup during my 2nd fitting though..

as for hw long is needed to confirm the designs of the gowns...it greatly depends on the bride herself leh..do u already hv a very firm idea of wat u wanted? like wat style/cut/type of neckline, wat materials to use, wat color u want, wat embellishments to use etc. etc. if u r more or less firm on wat u wanted then maybe 2-3 sessions for each gown will surfice(like me). if u r not, then it will take many sessions..many many many sessions if u r fickle minded
at Sil, u can go thru as many sessions as u want to confirm ur designs(provided u hv enuf time tat is) so u shouldn't be too stress about it..do talk to minda about ur concerns n clear all doubts during ur sessions ya.

enjoy

Hi ling,

I'm still in the midst of the designing process with minda, so can share with u some of my experience so far. For me, I've signed up a OTR WG + MTM EG package. I'm like u initially, afraid to make decisions and changed my mind twice. Started designing my EG first since I'm going OTR for WG. All along, I've wanted a modern Cheongsam. So during my first mtg with Minda, i indicated that I want a full-lace WG. In my next session, saw some other bridal pics and changed my mind to a chiffon version. Even selected the colour & material. Within a week, i changed my mind again and decided to go back to discuss further. For this round, Kenji (another designer) came along to offer some advice. So after some discussions, decided to revert back to a fully lace gown with total change of colours. All these while, Minda & Kenji were both very very patient with me and guided me along. Gave me lots of time to think through also. Finally I've managed to decide what i really want and feel comfortable with. With this, Minda will then buy the material and start producing it.
Yes agree with Midas that it will be easier if u already have a general idea what u want. If not, then it will be good to have an open mind to let minda design.

Hi Stephanie,
wow, u have lots of time to prepare! Mine's 28 Apr. Only few more mths to go. Let's exchange notes when u have also started designing your gowns ya!

HI SIL brides,

I am interested in SIL.. do they specialise in beadings & embroideries? Can I check with you gals if i fix an appt with them, will the coordinator we have for the first meeting be the one we will have for the whole process? Or we will get to liase with the designer once we sign the contract? Anyone can recommend a gd coordinator pls? thanx!!

hi winterwhite,

at Sil, u talk to the designers directly...zero sales coordinators will be there to hard sell u pkgs. u can communicate ur design requirements to the designers to get an accurate qoutation for the bridal pkg. u r also free to pick n choose any of the 3 designers to take care of ur gowns designs.

hi gals!
I have changed my previous BS to silhouette

Totally agreeable, their gown constructions are so much better!!!!

Anyone making gown soon??

anyone care to share experience with me can add me on msn: [email protected]

hello!
gREat!! loads of bride to bes here!! =)
i'm getting really stressed cos my AD is in 08, not set the date yet, prob june or later. But the worst bit is that I'm planning it from the UK. so i can't make an appointment to go down to the shop itself to have a look.
The people who have alreaedy gone through all the process or have pictures of their dresses to show, can you please email some to me for a look? Their website is not really comprehensive enough i think.
Thank you so much!!

Hi midas,thank you for the infos.

Do they usually charge extra for more beadings & embroidery works? Any SIL brides here have to pay additional? By the way, is Amanada of ALW from SIL? thx

hi missy54,

u got mail...

hi winterwhite,

if u communicated ur requirements for lotsa beadings n embroidery during ur first meeting with the designer, u'll be qouted the right price for it...u wun be charged subsequently unless there is a major change in ur design requirements. i was qouted for the chantilly lace n oversea workmanship for the embroidery on my WG right from the beginning, so i din top up a single cent till the end

and ya, AL used to be a Sil designer...so is Miah(my designer).

Hi midas thx..

how much was your package? In general, are laces usually more ex than beadings/embroideries? I have heard that there are 3 packages at SIL? Since i would need to have lots of intricate details..I guess mine would fall most probably on the most ex category?:p Can we show them pix even on our first appt? thx

hi winterwhite,

my pkg is $4850 w/o photos...incl. MTM WG(rent), MTM EG(keep), MTM Man suit(keep), makeup n flowers for PS n AD. the french chantilly lace i wanted is one of the most ex type of laces around n i wanted a two-toned(pink/ivory) one somemore hehe. the oversea embro also cost me becoz of the shipment charges incurred n the trouble of communicating the accurate requirements to their overseas vendor. otherwise the typical pkg price shld cost a couple of hundreds lesser than mine

Sil doesn't hv any standard pkg...u choose wat u want n they qoute u accordingly. yes, they do encourage u to bring pix to show them so they can qoute as accurate as they could...

hope tat helps

hi secret,

u got mail...

winterwhite,

juz realised my typo for previous post...my pkg is $4580 w/o pix..not $4850 sorry.

hi there, another having their wedding this year and using silhouette?

Care to share information with me, as I am pretty lost :P

Thanks!!!!