Silhouette the Atelier

scooby

hi pinkapple

my wedding's in nov this year. designer's miah. i've yet to go for any fittings. so far, i found him to be a very patient and easy going chap. i'm just a bit puzzled as to why he's not as frequently mentioned as minda or amanda...
i'm meeting him end of this week and hope that i can book freddy for my big day!!

pinkapple

hi Flowy,

welcome! my photographer's not on Silh's recommanded list. dun think I saw Memphis west.

scooby.

i didn't ask for a particular makkup artist since I dunno them anyway.

lingz

Hi pinkapple

i was asking amanda for some recommendations on photography..she recommended Memphis West and linn kong which she think i may like it...she just pass me the name card. They hv not gotten any portfolio fm them yet..

which photographer did u chose?

miko

I am with Silhouette too! Scooby, my wedding is also in nov. designer is Minda, make-up artist is freddy and photographer is Chris Ling. I already have my measurements taken and the first fitting will be in Apr.

pinkapple

just wondering abt the makkup artists.

I'm worried abt how comfortable I'll b with my makkup artist... since I'll only see him/her once b4 the photoshoot... i.e. on the fitting day.

how do u girls communicate with ya makkup artist when u've never met him/her b4 the trial makkup>??

experinced Silhouette brides can advise on this?

Would like to ask if any Silh brides was at the boutique on the 15 march at arnd 4.30pm for trial make-up session. The bride's makeup artist was Freddy and the EG was a chiffon turquiose blue. I happened to be there to sign up a pkg with Amanda when I think I saw the groom who was my JC schoolmate. Would like to say hi to the couple and congrats as well.

wy

Hi Mint,

Can you kindly tell me which package did you sign up with Sil? I am oso interested in signing up with them too..but dunno their price range.

Please advise me if possible. Thnx.

Hi Wy,

It wasn't really a standard pkg but it was more like a custom-made pkg that I signed up with them. Here's the following that I got:

MTM WG (rental) and EG (keep)
Kwa for photoshoot
accessories
Groom's suit-jacket and pants(keep)
Vest (rental)
4 sessions of makeup
Flowers and corsages
Photos to be taken by Robin Photography

I didn't get the car deco cos my aunt will be doing that for me.

louie

Wy,

Thought your wedding package sounds really good, its not considered too expensive rite? Heh... think I am not quite good at budgeting! :p But, seriously, whats a resonable budget to set? $6K is sufficent?

Another qn, How much did you pay for the photography? Could you also kindly provide the details whats in your package, coz' I'm also interested in Silh & Robin Photography!

Thanks thanks

shun

Hi mint,
Thanks for the greeting and congrats on your marriage. Understand that you've posted a message and it's possible that I'm the one you're referring too. Have I seen you before?

tigerlily

Went for my first fitting just last week. The gown was FABULOUS!!!! I really really loved it. The embroidery on the train is so beautiful. it's really worth the amount I paid.

Louie -> $6K is way too much to budget, unless you include photography. $4K can get you a gown (with embroidered details), evening gown, men's suit, flowers, hair/makeup. if yours is a normal gown, it would only be $3.6K.

I only took the wedding gown (with embroidered details), men's suit & hair/makeup. cost me $3K. And they will be lending me another gown for photoshoot - (cos my gown too big to walk around in). Just ask them. they also offered to lend me a "kwa" for the photos and for the dinner.

I'm taking my photos with Memphiswest Pictures (6342-2852). I really like their pictures - especially their black & white church ones. and the photographer now does panoramic. Very nice, and very natural. None of that white wash stuff.

tigerlily

Pinkapple -> communication with the make-up artist is the last thing you should worry about if Freddy is doing your hair. He talks non-stop!

The first time I did make-up for my ROM (David Lim.. who turned out to be Freddy's friend), I just asked him one question:"what made you go into this business?" that's it.. it's a talk non-stop. you can try asking that question.

They are normally quite chatty and they make u feel at ease. don't worry ok?

wy

Louie, I am not the one who mentioned abt the bridal package, think you mix up rite? should be mint ar. :p

Hi shun,

No we have not met before but I your fiance was my JC schoolmate. when's your wedding?

Hi Louie,

Robin photography cost $1200 with 24 10"x8" prints in an album. I won't be adding more photos cos he'll be returning all our 3Rs to us. Personally, I think $6K should be sufficient inclusive of photography.

plshelp

I would like to know a little more about the Silh. standard package, and how much it cost. Can anyone to share with me? Heard that it's about $4000 for a basic MTM WG and EG package, how true? very confused.

Also, if I were to choose Robin or imagegarden photography, how much would they charge? Heard they have increased the price?

thank you.

dinosaur

i chanced upon this forum and i happened to be a silhouette bride waaaaay back in 2000. i must say till this day, i look back at my wedding memories most fondly esp my dramatic wedding gown (which is safe and sound at home with me)! silhouette's amanda did a FANTASTIC job. i have not stopped recommending friends to silhouette, most of them end up with either Minda or Amanda.

their fabrics are really good, and Theresa's workmanship is excellent to say the least. Amanda designed my gown with my personality in mind... a halter with pink sequinned flowers on organza lace all over the gown; not a typical "simple" white gown, it was pure dazzling, what every bride should be!

i can't comment on prices becoz my wedding was so long ago. but i had researched almost every bridal boutique in singapore save for the IMM ones. i would say price wise i think they work out to be a little expensive (a bit like in the ted wu or michelle hui min league), but in terms of quality, workmanship, it is worth every cent.

hope that helps.

orchid

Hi plshelp,

I'm a silhouette bride!!

There're 2 basic packages. The 'normal' gown package is $3600. The 'more special' gown package is $3900 - those with embroidery, lots of beadings, laces etc.

The package includes the bridal gown, evening gown, men's suit, flowers, hair/makeup. They're also very willing to lend you the kwa, an extra suit, even an extra dress for photo shoot - at no charge. And, you can also cut items from the package. For me, i'm only taking the bridal gown, men's suit and hair/makeup - $3000 cos my gown has embroidery & some beadings.

Silhouette is made up of 3 designers - Miah, Amanda & Minda. They are all VERY NICE PEOPLE. Their designs are really good, the quality of the workmanship is excellent!

My designer is Miah (a guy). I went to several places before trying Silhouette. I tried on several gowns there, and I actually looked so good in them. and after the trial of different necklines, skirt types, and saying what i liked and don't like about them, he drew out a tentative sketch of what might look good on me. That was it, i brought my fiance there the next time, and we signed up.

I had my trial hair/makeup 2 wks ago. It was just awesome. The gown is fabulous!! and I look like a bride! Absolutely NO REGRETS.

fish

I'm also a silhouette bride. Mine's with Amanda. I signed up partly becos the place makes me feel really comfortable. The gowns I tried on were beautiful.

After reading all the messages in this thread, I believe Silhouette can do a gd job but at a more expensive price though. Hiak, hiak..

Orchid,

can i know who's ur make-up artist? btw, I just signed up and lotsa things not firmed up.

orchid

Hi fish,
Freddie's my make-up artist. He's really good, and very entertaining! hehe... told me all kinds of stories abt the 'stars' he did hair/makeup for.

pinkapple

I'm a silh bride too.

had a trial makkup session with Freddie. didn't like his style... or perharps it's because he was in rush that day so didn't really do a good job.

Then I had a trial with Iris. She's really nice... very personal. Gave lotsa advice too.

when ya wedding, fish? sorry I forgot.

pinkapple

Hi Plshelp,

forgot to comment on the fotographers.

Mine's Imagegarden. They're really nice pp. but they don't tie up with Silhouette. It's not prob though. u can still choose them. Their package is more X than Robin's.

Robin do tie up with Silhouette and I was quoted $1200 some 1/2 year ago.

for Imagegarden it was $1800.

I'm not sure if the prices have gone up.

have u visited Imagegarden's website?

fish

Hi pinkapple,

Mine's in december. Ha, ha, kinda late eh? I'm having freddy too. Hope he does a good job.

Did u gals see the DBS commercial which showed a wedding couple? Don't u find the lady gorgeous? Ilove the way she did her way, simple and elegant.
Too bad, my hair is like wire!!!!

pinkapple

Hi fish,

my wedding's in dec too. think should b later than yours.

I didn't notice the girl in the commercial. but I think my bf like her hair too.

I'm artiste's not freddy.

so have u gone for any fitting yet>?

plshelp

hi pinkapple and Orchid,

thanks a lot for speedy reply. all your infor. helps.

seen imagegarden's portfolio already -- quite pleased.

o.k, will "bother" you girls when i come across silly questions and tough decision makings.

plshelp

must thank dinosaur and fish for all your info. too.

so sweet of you all to reply me ...

fish

Hi pinkapple,

Guess what, my FH likes the lady's hair in the commercial too!! Looks like all guys like that type of girls..hee..hee..

Care to share with me the design of your gowns? I'm not sure whether to get a bustier> I've yet to design my gown yet..

pinkapple

Hi fish,

haven't got to see the lady leh...

went to watch Star Wars today. really like the bare-back Amidala was wearing when Anakin and her were in the garden.

eh. my gown ah. u can check out my fitting fotos at this website: photos.yahoo.com/apinkapple
but don't laugh at me leh.

I thot I wanted to get a bustier cos I heard spaghetti straps leaves marks on the shoulders when the gown's heavy. but then Minda says spaghetti straps suits me better. think I agree too. cos my shoulders are v striaight so bustiers make my shoulders look extra broad.

ooo... u just sign up rite? so did Amanda let u try some gowns the 1st time u were there?

fish

Hi pinkapple

Saw your pics already..your WG looks simple and elegant and your train is reeally long.u having a church wedding too? Your make-up looks natural, I like!

The colour of your EG is nice. So u getting your gowns separately eh??

Yes, AManda let me tried different gowns on my first visit. Something strange abt AManda is that she keeps quiet when u make some comments or propose sthg. She likes to keep her thoughts to herself. In other words, she's not very candid. But all in all, Silhouette is much better than other boutiques I went too!!!!

twiggy

must you wear a corset when you wear a bustier? apparently, it's recommended by the designers in silhoutte coz it adds more security when you walk ard.. but when i tried on the gowns at other bridal studios, they just have padding inside the gowns and they say corset is not necessary. personnally, i don't really fancy wearing a corset.. i find it really uncomfortable. so, did all of you who got a bustier gown with Silhouette wear a corset?

pinkapple

Hi Twiggy,

I think corset is good. really more sercure loh. esp with all the beads, embrod and all... makes the gown heavy...

I'm not sure if all silh's bustier gowns come with corsets. so far I only tried one or two and as far as I can remember, do come w corset.

my saghetti strap one no corset though.

pinkapple

Hi fish,

yah. me having church wedding. u too? where? have u got ya florist for church deco?

the makkup in the foto was done by freddie.

and yes, my gowns are from different places. cos I find the evening gowns in Silhouette too glam for my dinner setting....

Mayb Amanda's thinking?

so ya gowns all MTM?

orchid

Hi Twiggy,

I'm wearing a corset for mine as well. It actually defines the tummy & waist area and supports the chest. And if you get the right size & fit, it's not that uncomfortable. My gown is a bustier with a scoop neck, and a big gown.

My evening gown (from another place) only has padding - no support for the tummy area - need to sit properly so that my tummy don't show. hehe..

Same like pinkapple, I didn't think I need such glam gowns for the dinner since I'm having a much bigger church wedding than the dinner.

pinkapple

Orchid,

thot I'm the only one who will get my gowns from diff places.

do u find it troublesome?

where did u get ya EG from?

ev

I'm interested to tailor my EG at Silhouette. Any idea how are their charges like?

piglet

Hi EV

Think evening gown prices start from $800 but better call and check.

Hi Twiggy

Depending on your figure, posture etc ... they may not ask you to wear a corset for all your gowns. Think they usually ask you to wear for your wedding gown to ensure the gown holds well under the weight and it maintains your posture. Your nickname gives me the impression that you're really slim so your evening gowns prob no need. I wore for my wedding gown and 2 evening gowns. Wasn't too happy with it at first coz it's really cuubersome to wear and someone needs to help you with it but I realise later that it's good coz you dun have to worry abt how you're standing and if your gown is dropping esp if it's a bustier coz it holds up on its own and your posture is maintained.

orchid

EV,
They cut off $600 from my package price when I said I didn't want gown.

Pinkapple,
No, it wasn't very inconvenient. I actually got my gown from the Designer Wedding Gown Sale at 4 Seasons Hotel earlier this year (organised by my-marriage.com). the gown was from San Mike's - they were one of the vendors there. i had it altered a little and they added some crystals. So it turned out not bad. saved quite a bit!

My flowers are from Amanda's Florist & Gifts - 62358101.

pinkapple

Hi Orchid,

When's ya wedding?

I'm thinking of getting far east flora to do my church deco... so far been to a few florist. only far east and steffi seemed experienced enuff.

the church deco's v costly.

plshelp

it's me again. would like to know what's the price if i were to get OTR WG package instead of the MTM package. Any ideas?

wow, you all are getting so ready; i've not done much prep. yet.worrying now.

ev

Hi Orchid & Piglet,

Thanks so much. Shall call Silhouette for appt.

orchid

Hi pinkapple,

My wedding is in Sep this year.

You might want to check with your church if they provide flowers. Mine does, we just need to let them know what colors we want. then each bride pays $150.

You can give my florist a call. She did my friend's church wedding and was pretty reasonable. it depends on the type of church decor you want. she can advice based on the types of decor needed. she's also not stingy with her flowers.

Plshelp,
Not sure how much is the OTR tho... why don't you call and ask them?
When's your wedding? you'll be quite safe if you're more than 6 mths away.

pinkapple

Hi Orchid,

usually my church ladies do flowers for wedding... but my date I think they're not doing. then again... dun think $150 is enuff even if the church ladies are doing cos my church's really big.

Thanx for ya help though.

pinkapple

plshelp,

yah. think it's good if u just make a apptment w Silhouette and tell them what u need. or let them quote u for both MTM and OTR. They're not pushy at all. so no worry. just go n visit.

I wanted a MTM gown initially... but after my 1st visit there... my friend who accompanied me and Minda, my designer, thot since I can fit into most gowns might as well save $$ and get OTR.

fish

HI pinkapple,

sorry for the late reply.

No, mine is not a church wedding. And yes all my gowns are MTM and from Silhouette.

Haven't really decided what to get for my EG and WG. Wanted something different since already pay so much but scared end up look like "obiang"!! Ha, ha, cheapskate mentality kicking in again.

Ok lah, so far Amanda quite good. She tried to accomodate my ideas and give advise when necessary. Heard of some places that probe and probe for unnecessary info.

plshelp,

I think you may like Silhouette. I was at one stage really lost and sick of going to all the bridal boutiques, trying the gowns and hearing the same thing again and again. I chose Silhouette partly becos of its service and it has a sophisticated feel to it when u go inside the shop. U know, I'm a sucker for service!!