Silhouette the Atelier

pinkapple

Jolly,

think I'm going to b under Minda.

I haven't sign up with them but more or less decided liao. Just that now gotta settle certain things with my parents b4 making the bridal booking.

why leh? what have u got to share?

purlyn

Hi Veil / Pinkapple,

yeh...know what u mean abt wanting something different. when i went, i also got to try 4 gowns only...kinda of troubled me then that there isn't much choice and u dun get to see the whole range.
anyway, if u are going for the MTM, it shouldn't be a prob rite?
Pinkapple, which package are u taking up? when is yr wedding?

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,

I mean MTM or off the rack...it is ala-carte but ultimately, it's only value for $ when u have all the items together.

piglet

Dun worry abt having unique gowns ... I'm sure they'll deliver it well. The purpose of trying the gowns is really to see your preference and also what type of gowns and cutting is suitable for you.

Once you book with them ... they'll arrange for a 1st appt. In between that, they'll ask you to collect pics (from mags) of what you like etc. During the first session, you'll be able to try gowns and also show your selected pics to them and they show you fabrics etc and design yr gown. Once that's confirmed ... 2nd appt is fixed up and that will be for the first fitting and also trial makeup. Then it comes to the 3rd fitting which is just before the photpgraphy. And finally 4th fitting just before your wedding.

Even if a very common cut is selected eg. bustier gown etc ... there are still many ways to give it your unique taste ... it can be done thru diff patterns of embroidery, laces, unique colour fabric etc.

Hope I managed to reassure you gals. :0)

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,
Have u chosen who to be yr photographer? once you've set yr mind on silh and the photographer, u're on yr way!

translucent

hi girls

wanna chk how much is the cheapest package for silhoutte? I heard so many good reviews abt them but a friend said their package starts from ard 4k+? IM on a tight budget! Can anyone tell me?

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,
Why would they be??? Anyway, do u have a design in mind for yr WG? If so, please describe and share. I had a tough time deciding what I wanted...

Translucent, I took up the off e rack WG + MTM EG + Makeup + Flowers + Men's suit which cost me $3380.

pinkapple

Jolly,

yours seems to b a good deal too.

I haven't have a design in mind yet too... can't makkup my mind btw lace n embroidery...I'm not into crystals so...

I'm kinda fussy abt the design n can't seem to find anything that I really like in any bridal magazine.

oh. me think of get a MTM Man's Suit from them for my father.... but then it seems like it'd be cheaper if I just get one made at a tailor outside... what u think huh?

m

Does anyone know if Silhouette has tie-ups with Benny Ang and Kim of Studio d' fia?

Also, what's Barnabas Hong's website? Like to take a look at his works....

Thanks a lot!

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,
i asked abt if i take out the MTM men's suit from my package, how much can they reduce the price but it was only by $400. Since a suit costs abt $500 to tailor make, i decided to stick with it.

inki

Hi Sheepy,

I'm interested to know more about Freddie and his makeup. I've engaged him as well.

During my trial makeup, I just felt that the makeup was not something I could wear. I just didn't feel that it was natural enough. My eyes looked funny.

Is the trial makeup identical to the actual day makeup ? Or was it done more quickly since it's only a rough guide ?If it is, I really want to change the colours.

I heard so much good reviews about Freddie that
I want to believe everything will be just great.

Anyway to contact Freddie and discuss about makeup ?

sheepy

Hi Inki,
Actually, Freddie will tailor your make-up to suit the occasion. For example, he knows I like natural make-up - I told him so during our trail session but for the photoshoot, he had it make it more "drama" 'cos it's for the cameras. You actually can't tell on the photos ! So I will suggest that you tell him what you want or do not want. For example, I didn't like the double eyelid sticker thingy so I told him and he didn't do it on my actual day. I don't think it is appropriate for me to post Freddie's H/P No. here so why don't you give me your email address and I will send it to you. I can also share my wedding photos with you and you can see the all the make-up he did for me. The make-up he did for me was really pretty and natural. Don't worry, I am sure Freddie will be able to do your make-up the way you want to look.

inki

Hi Sheepy,

Thanks a million for your comforting words. You're right, I didn't like the sticker thing I had on my eyebrows, I wonder if he does do eyebrow plucking :p

Could you please email me at [email protected] ?

I'm so glad to hear that he did yours natural and pretty. I just felt that mine wasn't natural at all. That's why I was hoping the trial makeup was just a trial and not what I will get on actual day.

noty

Just wondering if any of you Silh brides had a tiara? If i want one, should it be the makeup artist to provide (since he's doing the hair too)?
Anyway, do u know where i can get one?

pinkapple

Hi Noty,

Minda at Silh put on a tiara for me during my 1st visit to them. think if u wanta rent the accessories from them, they'll have tiaras.

Otherwise, u can get from most departmental stores. eg Taka, Isetan.

sheepy

Hi Noty,
Silhouette has tiaras to rent out to their brides. I had the same one for my photoshoot and actual day.

delany

I also paid a visit to Silhouette recently, Amanda's great, but I was not too wild about their fabrics though, but their prices are the most attractive for me. Can anyone email me pics of the WG so that I can see the final product ?

noty

Hi Pinkapple / Sheepy,
Thanks for the tip. Do u know if there is a variety of tiaras to choose from or just 1 design? I'm looking for something simple. Sheepy, can u send me the link for yr wedding pics?

pinkapple

HI Noty,

I think they have a variety of tiaras. Minda told me that they have a set of accessories to go the gown. so I just let her do the matching. I'm not into accessories so I think it's better to let her choose and match for me....although there this range of Israeli accessories that I like.

If u're v concerned abt the tiara, u can ask them to show u some on ya visit to them.

btw, have u visit them?

pinkapple

jolly,

are u still ard? I've chosen my gown liao. In the I decided to got for off-the-rack since it fitted me well n the design is almost what I wanted so...

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,

Hurray! U've chosen yr gown. What was the process like? How many gowns did u try b4 deciding? Describe what it looks like? Embroidery? Crystals? Lace?

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,

Just wondering something? How come u log in at 7am??? Thot if u were around now, we could chat. Just so excited that u've chosen yr gown. Can't wait for u to describe it.

pinkapple

Hi Jolly,

dun think I'll do a good job of describing my gown... I'm not a descriptive person...

my gown ah... has a long train... lace I think. the long can b folded and hung on my waist. spaghetti-straped.

think that's all I can describe...

howz ya prep coming along?

o. just happen that I wakkup earlier so I log on b4 going to work loh

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,
Wow...sounds nice....what's the front of the gown like? Some embroidery or crystals? Silh's gowns are always classic looking.

As for me, i'll be going down next month for my 1st fitting. When's yr next appt?

pinkapple

hi jolly,

front ah... lace flowers.. same material so those on the train.

my next formal appt will b in May. My photo-shot in June mah. but after CNY, will go down for measurement.

when's ya wedding huh?

n who have u got for ya foto?

pinkapple

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,

Wow....lace flowers....my wedding is in sept...have a good holiday and gear up for the new year!

cream

I'm a Silhouette bride too. Would need some advice from you on the make up artist tied with them.

As Freddy would not be available on my day and Amanda would be assigning Jasmine to do my make up. I'm quite worried, as I'm not so sure about her skill. Have anyone have any experience working with her and could you share your experiences??

Please help.

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,

I've booked the wedding dinner venue, but haven't settled the details. Have bought a flat but haven't started the renovations. Have booked a package with Silh but haven't had my first fitting.....u get the picture....

Cream: I think Jasmine has a website but i can't remember where i saw it. Anyone to the rescue?

pinkapple

Jolly.

think I got the picture.

me thinking of getting an OTR evening gown from Silh... but not sure if I have the time to change into an evening gown... or rather.. whether I have time to change my hairdo

Sorry Cream.

me haven't got to the makkup artist stage yet... dun even know whoz going to mine.

purlyn

Hi Pinkapple,

Hmmm...haven't seen many OTR evening gowns at Silh but no harm asking Minda rite?

Changing of hairdo should be pretty fast. One moment your hair is all up, the next moment, remove the hairpins and viola, a new hairdo.

pinkapple

jolly,

just worry that the makkup artist will put something on my hair to keep it in shape. then difficult to change.

minda ask me to but from outside. if can't find then she'll see if there any that fits me in Silhouette.

I'm thinking of asking Kevin Seah to rent one of his gowns to me. I saw this one that really fits my fort canning setting. just dunno what much he'll change me. heard that the one I set my eyes on is his couture range. n it's kinda big so he'll have to alter if I wanta wear it cos I'm v skinny.

*sign*

sorry to ask again. have u gone for ya fitting. who's doing ya fotos?

scooby

hi sheepy
i've recently signed up with silhouette. was most pleased with them.
could u send me your photos pls? my email address is [email protected]. looks like freddy is everyone's make-up artist...

sheepy

Hi scooby, have sent you the links. I think you cannot go wrong with Silhouette
Freddy did my make-up and he's absolutely fanta-bulous !

lingz

hiya!

i'm a silhouette bride too! just sign up recently! Didnt know Freddy happens to be everyone's fav...
should be a good thing i got him as my make up artise.

Now at a loss at which photographer to engage...like Linn Kong & Memphis west Pictures...anybody engage them via Silhouette?