Silhouette the Atelier

auds

Hi Spring Bride,

You can get more information on trips to Tahiti from the following websites:

www.tahiti-vacations.com
www.islandsinthesun.com

These are some of the numerous agencies tt specialise in Tahiti holidays. We booked with Tahiti Vacations. My husband did the booking as he was in the US then. Not sure how much he paid in total tho'.

Something worth considering wld be vacationing in Tahiti by cruise. It's pretty good based on what we heard from some couples we met at Tahiti. It was very cheaper too ... The cost was sthg like US$2,000.

But u won't get to stay in the overwater bungalows tt are so pretty in Tahiti. U can feed the fishes directly from the living rm. The coffee table opens and u can drop bread into the sea below. Very pretty.

You can view some of my photos at:

http://sg.photos.yahoo.com/serene_yl

Hope u enjoy looking at them.

piglet

Hi Auds

Your honeymoon pics were nice! Esp the view from the plane.

When was your wedding date again? i was at Ritz on Aug 11. Maybe I got the dates mixed up.
I happened to be there having dinner so thot I'll pop by to congratulate you but realised something was not right when I saw security guards standing around the lift (at the entrance of the ballroom). Anyway, realised later that the couple getting married was my ex-classmate n her hubby was the one who got kidnapped from his home. Not sure if you heard abt the news coz you might have been on your honeymoon.

auds

Hi Piglet,

My wedding was indeed on 11 Aug. But we had the dinner on Monday. The bride was from my church ... still saw her at the hotel on Monday when I was gonna hv my wedding dinner. Very shocking news when I read abt what happened to Samantha.

spring bride

Hi Auds!

Thanks for the info and fotos you shared! Gee... those fotos really look like postcards!
Yeah, I'm simply charmed by those overwater bungalows...

And in the current climate, it might be safer to head down south.. instead of heading towards Carribean.. Actually, not even quite sure if we should be committing to any honeymoon plans given all the prevailing uncertainties! :p

piglet

Hi Auds!

So that certainly explains the puzzle that has been troubling me for some time. Was quite sure you weren't sam! So were you there at her dinner?

When I read abt the news, really felt very sympathetic towards her and her hubby. As if the wedding itself is not stressful enough!! ... What's more ... you're not sure if your hubby can return back to you on time. So traumatic!! If it was me ... bet I would have been freaking out! But the family sure kept it hush hush coz the guests at the dinner didn't know what happened.

So are you worshipping in Faith Methodist? Heard her in-laws worship there. I'm from Toa Payoh Methodist.

piglet

Hi again Auds!

Do you have your actual wedding day pics to share with us? If I remember correctly, Kim was your photographer?

auds

Hi Piglet,

My actual day photographer wasn't anyone famous. He was my dad's friend. But I don't hv a scanner so a bit difficult to share it.

My husband's church is Wesley Methodist. And that's where we got married too.

Just curious, are you from MGS? Let u know first that I'm not.

pigelt

Hi Auds

Yep... I'm from MGS. Why? Sam was my classmate in Sec 3 & 4.

piglet

Let's see... there's chris ling, andrew choi, picture box, benny ang, robin, potrait gallery. I think there's a few more but can't remember. Which photographer are you looking at?

bluz

wondering if there's any recent Silh brides...will like to enq who's the make up artist that's tied with them? or those who were silh, which make up artist did u chose? forget to ask during my appt with Silh

I have visted them & my appt was with Amanda, one of the designer. She's professional....i like their services n gowns too. She even drew sketches of how my WG n EG is like & matched what i wld like.

ignor

What's the price range like for Silh's packages? and what does it include?

sheepy

I was a recent Silhouette bride - my wedding was in October. I didn't choose my make-up artiste. Amanda made all the neccessary arrangements and I had Freddie for my trial make-up session. Freddie is GOOD. He did all my make-up during my photo-shoot, actual day and night. He enhanced and brought out all my features, made up for what I lack yet the overall look is very natural. My photos turned out great. I couldn't ask for a better make-up artiste. I also engaged Freddie to do the make-up for my mom and all my "sisters" and they are still raving about how good he is. He does not have a "standard" template, in fact, he studies your face/features then does your make-up according to what suits you.

BTW, Amanda was my designer and she is very nice, friendly and provides excellent service. The gowns are all MTM and workmanship is excellent. I made a total of 4 gowns and am extremely satisfied with the service provided. Also, Amanda, will go out of her way to make sure that you have what you want and your BIG day is smooth sailing.

jul

Dear Auds,
Your pictures are beautiful! I know you must have heard this many times, but to an avid photographer like me, they are awesome and I just have to give you my praises!

Thanks for sharing!

Could I ask how much you paid for your whole photography and gown package?

starbright

Wow, Sleepy, you had 4 gowns .... care to share the price of your pkg ? I was thinking of making another EG but was afraid that it will bomb the budget that I'd set aside for bridal pkg.

I have just signed up with Silhouette and I must say Amanda is superb. While all the designers whom I have approached during my visit were friendly and professional, but she is the one that make me feel most comfortable to talk to and also, she is very accomodating to my request. Every piece of the WG that I tried on was so beautiful. She also provide feedback and suggestions on what looks good on you. There was no restriction on the no. of gowns that you can try on during the first visit and I almost spent the whole afternoon trying on gowns after gowns until I finally found a look that I like.

My pkg includes a MTM WG, MTM EG, MTM man's suit, bridal bouquet & corsages, makeup for trial, photoshoot, actual day & night, accessories. Silhouette uses in-house makeup artist (there are around 3-4 of them), with the exception of Freddy who is a free-lancer.

Hope my info helps.

cldc75

Hi Starbright & Sheepy,

Care to tell me how much your package cost? And which photographer did you signed up with? Thnx

sheepy

Hi Starbright and cldc75,

In total, I spent S$5280, for :
1 x WG
2 x EG
1 x Tea Dress

As my hubby already has his own suits, we substituted the men suits for more gowns. All MTM and all for me to keep.

This is not the standard package. I think the standard package is 1 WG, 1 EG and 2 men suits. EG and men suits are for keeps.

The cost also includes the following :
* Make-up (1 x trial, 1 x photoshoot and 2 x actual day)
* Flowers for photoshoot and actual day
* Corsages for actual day
* Car decoration
* Accessories such as veil, jewellery

Amanda is SUPERB !

What I really like about Silhouette is that you do *not* need to sign-up with them before you can try gowns, talk to the designers and discuss about designs.

They will only talk about package at the end of the session. There is absolutely no hard-sell tactics. You also do not have to decide on the spot. You can go home and think think then decide. They don't pressure you at all !

I engaged Andrew Choi for my studio pictures and Barnabas Hong as my actual day photographer. All the photos turned out great and worth every cent spent !

FYI, my hubby only proposed in June and we set the date for October so can you imagine - all my vendors (Silhouette and Andrew Choi), all manage to deliver before my BIG day !

I do not know about their in-house make-up artistes but Freddie is GREAT. That's all I can say

Let me know if you need more information !

ebot

Hi Starbright and Sheepy,
I was at Silh looking at gowns this afternoon. Tried some of their gowns which were lovely but wondering how the evening gowns are?
BTW, how did you decide on Amanda or Minda? Any difference in their style and packages?

bluz

Hi Sheepy n Starbright

U have indeed assured me that my choice to engage Amanda is a correct one! Opps, actually i havn't sign up with them but i have already set my mind on Silh! Now sourcing for my banquet which is a priorty now..

I have been to a few bridal boutiques but i spent the most time with Silh....ard 2 - 3 hours (with the exception of 1 unhappy experience with another bridal shop who was hard selling to me) I tried on both WG n EG...can assure EboT that Amanda will sure to design an EG up to your satisfaction...there's no obligations at all. Was surprise by the sketches she drew in that short while for both my WG n EG which i like v. much.

Sheepy, is Barnabas Hong one of their tied up photographer as well? Didn't see his portfolio there.

starbright

Hi cldc75, my pkg contains :
* 1 MTM WG on rental
* 1 MTM EG to keep
* 2 men suits to keep
* Make-up (1 x trial, 1 x photoshoot and 2 x actual day)
* Flowers for photoshoot and actual day
* Corsages for actual day
* Accessories such as veil, jewellery
In total, I paid $4950. As photography is a separate cost from the bridal pkg and I opt for Chris Ling, I have to paid $2000 extra.

Sleepy, u mean you get to keep yr WG. Did Amanda tell u how much does an additional EG cost? Also, is Andrew Choi one of the tied-up photographer, didn't remember seeing his works at the boutique ?

Ebot, I chose Amanda because she is highly recommended by one of my friends. Most importantly after my first visit, my instincts tell me that the search is finally over and she is the one that I would like most to do up my gowns.

Well, Bluz u r so rite. Amanda was so quick in sketching out the designs for me and I cld visualise how the dress will look like. She is also very open to suggestions.

cldc75

thnx Starbright & sheepy for your info.

Starbright, is your package a standard one? why are there 2 men suits? tot usually one will be enuf?

have a nice christmas!

delany

A friend of mine owns her own flower shop & deals with Mina (sp ??) regularly for weddings, she comes highly recommended. Mina is also with silhoutette. Has anyone every worked with her ? Also, do you know how long Silhoutte takes to do a MT gown ? My wedding is in July, but no photoshoot though.

Thanks & Merry Christmas !

cldc75

Hi Auds,

Your indoor studio & outdoor photographs are very nice, you look very pretty.

Can you tell me which photographer you use for these photos?

starbright

Hi cldc75, mine is not a standard pkg. I am not sure what is their standard pkg 'cos I told Amanda what I want and she quoted me a price. I think the price varies according to the requirements.

I (or rather my hubby) wanted 2 suits because 1 is to be wore for the church wedding in the day and the other one is for the dinner at nite.

ebot

Hi Starbright,

I'm considering the off the rack WG now as i dun want to splurge so much on the bridal package....hehe recession prob....

Anyway, realised that the 3 designers don't collate their off the rack gowns together so the choice is rather limited....real headache.....

bluz

hi there...

Hope u guyz have enjoyed ur X'mas!
Will be visiting Silh n sign up with them soon..hence will like your recommendatations on the photographer i shd used...thinking of choosing Benny but heard that his studio photos are not as good as his actual day photography...

Chris Ling seems abit ex for me leh...any recommendations???

pinkapple

Just wondering....

Silh only do the gowns....so did u girls have prob looking for the bridal car, actual day fotos, etc...

One other thing. the makkup for the foto shot. if u get the makkup artist as recommanded by Silh, do they only do the styling once? i mean like, if u have 4 gowns for the foto shoot, but izzit that u'll only have one makkup n hairdo for the entire foto shot?

Hear that the foto session indoor n outdoor are on the same day. won't u b tired out?? n don' tlook so good?

ebot

Hi Starbright,

Thanks for your advice. Are there any add-on costs that I should take note before signing on the package? Thanks!

piglet

Hi Pinkapple

Was with Silhouette and also had Freddy as my makeup artist. Dun worry ... if you have 4 gowns for photoshoot, you'll have prob 4 different hairstyles and makeup touch up with a change of lipstick colour. of course if he feels that a change of face colour is needed etc, I'm sure he'll do it.

Didn't use Robin but he is quite strongly recommended by Silhouette and his prices are reasonable. I've got a friend who have signed up with Silhouette and will be engaging Robin's services.

starbright

Hi Ebot,

Amanda was rather detailed when she explained to me on the cost breakdown of my package and since my pkg is simple, didn't probe for any hidden cost. However, because I selected Chris Ling as my photographer, she did mentioned that he charges an extra of $50 per photo for special effects. Also, they charge an additional $10 per time for dry cleaning the gown. One thing that I did not check with her is the cost of changing the makeup artist after the 1st trial. So maybe u can check with her on this and also on the photography.

bluz

Thanks Pinkapple...

hmmm will consider Robin...

seems like Freddy is the highly recommended makeup artist fm Silh...

Thanks again gals...u make my selection easier!

ebot

Hi Starbright,

Thanks for yr advice. Hmm...looks like there are other costs that i din consider. I do wonder how on many photos do brides usually request for special effects? Actually $10 is quite cheap for dry cleaning. Do u know if after the studio shoot, do u get to keep the gown till the actual wedding day or do they keep the gown in the meantime?

pinkapple

Hi piglet,

so the makkup artist will follow u on the day of fotoshoot?

Bluz,

no prob at all.

hmm...now got this crazy idea of going to London to do my fotoshoot... n rent a off-the-rack gown from Silh. cos my friend's on a biz trip to London... so will have free accomdation.

but the foto will b taken by non-professional lah. then i'll save on engaging a fotographer...ha!

fran

Does anyone out there know if Silh is planning a bridal show in the coming months? I'm just wondering when they normally have promotions.

auds

Hello Jul (Wyverns) & cldc75,

Just to ans the few questions u hv ...

I can't quite rem the cost of the Silh package I took cos it was settled in Dec 2000. But I think we paid S$4000 plus.

As for the photos, it was taken by Chris Ling. We paid abt S$2k initially but we paid another S$1k plus for extra photos, touch-ups and a portrait.

piglet

Hi pinkapple

You'll usually go out in your wedding gown for the outdoor photoshoot. Makeup artist won't follow but makeup should be able to last thru. Anyway, there's still the photographer's assistant whom I'm sure will know how to do touchups.

Hmm... how come your drycleaning so cheap leh? I paid $50 but maybe coz my gown was really really dirty lor.

Hi Fran

Think Silhouette's a little too busy currently. The last time I asked ... they were too busy with all their customers to do that even though they do have the intention to do a fashion show.

sheepy

Hi bluz,

No, Barnabas Hong is not tied up with Silhouette but came highly recommended from Andrew Choi. My actual day photos turned out really great so all in all, I am happy with all my wedding photos

sheepy

Hi Starbright,
Yes, I got to keep my WG as I had to use it for my wedding in the US. An additional EG is usually between S$600-800, depending on the "details" or if you EG design is very elaborate and intricate.

Yes, Andrew Choi is tied-up with Silhouette. You may want to ask Amanda to show you his albums the next time you are there.

Hi pinkapple,

Ya lor, how come your drycleaning so cheap? I emailed Amanda and she told me that it was $50 leh.

starbright

Hi Piglet, if I am wrong, I am the one who mentioned abt the cost of dry-cleaning. U're rite, the cost is $50. Sorry for the mistake ....

starbright

Hi Piglet, (opps another typo error), if I am rite, I were the one who mentioned abt the cost of dry-cleaning. U're rite, the cost is $50. Sorry for the mistake ....

veil

Hi..
I just visited Sil too and was impressed with Amanda.. she is good, my only concern is I tried 4 gowns and the first is the best looking.. Amanda thks so too.. se says i drown in gowns that are too sweet.. however.. i am a b it hesistant.. you know when we try gown.. you gals will have to share with me.. did your try a 1-piece bustier top and A line bottom gown?Is that the common one for Sil?

I am a stickler for uniquneness and while i was ther, 2 other gals were also trying the same one.. and i am just wondering if there are other designs by Sil? I did tell amanda that i want something simple, but i am paranoid about the same recommendation they might give to all..
any thoughts?

pinkapple

Hi Veil,

I think u shouldn't worry. I didn't try any gowns that are A-line.

I believe ya gowns are going to b MTM?

I think they're just tryin to see what kinda gown silhouette/cutting suits u. so that it'll b easier to work on. oso to let u see the effect of various gowns on u. if u like any particular kinda gowns, u can ask if they have something like that n they'll let u try.

Most of the time, they'll pick those that they think suit u most for u to try.

so what other bridals u visited liao huh?

pinkapple