Silhouette the Atelier

aleixis

Hi Rainne,

No, sorry...I thought there were only 3 designers there? Minda, Miah & Heath. Maybe Cynthia was just the one who took the call. There should be a designer who will be sitting with you and talking through your requirements, the pricing, etc. etc. If Cynthia is not a designer, then you should be meeting someone else on the actual day.

When is your appointment?

Hi alexis,

yeah, cynthia was the one who answered the call, but then she also told me that she will be the one to entertain me though, thats why i am surprised how come it's not one of the designers there. It's my first visit and is this suppose to be like this?

aleixis

Hi Rainne,

Hmmm...maybe she is one of the new designers....although never heard that they had a new designer. If you want to speak to a designer, suggest that you call up Silhouette and ask whether you can speak to one when you meet up with them during your first appointment? Because, i met up with Heath right from the first time ....when i was talking about their package, trying out their gowns, etc. etc.

I think that it is important because you need to see if you can get along with the designer. It will definitely help in your decision. Good Luck!! I am sure that you will enjoy your experience there!!

cutepigs

Hi Rainne

Why not you give them a call to find out who is Cynthia. If she is not one of the designers there, you can request to meet with one of the designers instead.

Better than guessing and being disappointed for nothing.

aleixis

Hi Rainne,

Dont be disappointed and dont let this affect your decision. I find that the atmosphere in SiL very relaxed, warm and friendly. I am sure that you will enjoy yourself there. Why dont you just give them a call? Maybe you can request for either Minda/Miah or Heath to meet up with you instead? Have heard and read so many good things about all 3 designers....

I have gone to quite a number of BS and SIL has really impressed me not only because they are so nice and friendly but with their gowns as well. Make sure that you take a good look and also try on their gowns. The details and designs are all gorgeous and each gown is different (whether lace or embroidery).

When is your AD?

Hi cutepigs and aleixis,

cynthia sound really nice over the phone you see, then she asked me what type of gowns I like blah blah, so that she can prepare before hand.

I think I shall see what happens on sat, must try the gowns as well and then If I really like them, I shall request for the designers, how abt it?

Sil would be my last 3rd stop, another 2 more BS and I think I would make my decision which BS to choose.

My Ad is in feb 06..

aleixis

Hi Rainne,

Do what you feel most comfortable with. Just dont make any decision without meeting the designer that you may be working with.
Have Fun!

cutepigs

Just like to post a comment on our (me and fiancee) 1st fitting yesterday.

Basically, I only have 1 word to say of Minda's creation for my fiancee's wedding gown and evening gown - "WOW"!

It is simply gorgeous. If a guy can tell, confirm can't be wrong. Though the gowns still have further improvement, they are already very stunning cos when she wore them, she is soooooooo WOW!. Definitely worth every single cent.

Btw they do have a new designer in the house, Cynthia.

Hi cutepigs,

thanks for clearing that up. So I know who is this cynthia, new designer. She sound very nice over the phone.

ash_

cutepigs,
wow.. that's nice to hear! im with minda too and i agree that she is SO good.. even those i tried on my first apptmt were 'wow' alr! hehe.. now im further assured.. tks tks

rainne,
enjoy ur 1st apptment!

hi aleixis,
congrats n welcome!!

cutepigs

rainee

just a guess
cos she looks like she is learning from keith yesterday

weddingprep05
err... don't really know how to describe...
it is more like I let Minda has the complete freehand at designing the gown and be receptive to her ideas. After all she is the expert, not me. My fiancee did show her a picture of a gown that she liked during the initial designing stage though.

aleixis

Hi cutepigs

From the way you described your fiancee's gown......i bet it must be stunning!! Did you all take any photos? Heard that some BTB will take some digital photos during their fittings.

Hi Rainne,

Enjoy your appt tomorrow and do update us about your experience!! Have fun!

Hi Ashie,

Thanks!! I am very happy too!! Have you gone for your first fitting yet?

cutepigs

Hi Aleixis

Yeah... her gowns are really stunning on her. Makes her soooooooooooooooooooooo wow! haha. And it is not even the final version yet.

Anyway, yes we did get to take photos during the fittings. In fact if you don't have a camera, Minda will help you take photos with her camera.

Hi Alexis and cutepig,

I am blown away with the gowns and the friendliness and warmth of Silhouette! They make me feel as if I am already their client! Miah is so funny, so warm and has lots of fantastic ideas to share and he makes me very at ease, even giving me allow me to try on different type of gowns to see what exactly suits me. He has also sketch an idea of what my WG would be like.

I would love to be part of silhouette family, but it's the pricing that is wee bit off my budget and Fh is very concern abt it. are all of you taking MTM gowns? Can share which photographer are you guys taking up?

cutepigs

Hi Rainne

My fiancee's gowns are MTM. I don't like her to wear OTR gowns cos after all, OTR gowns are worn at least once i think (could be wrong). Anyway another reason is that MTM means that Minda can create a new and unique gown for her.

Of course the price is a bit high. But once you seen the gown and the suits, definitely worth every single cent I paid. Plus, there is no worries that there will be unforseen problems with the BS cos till now, I have zero problems with Silhouette.

Hi cutepigs,

yeah, understand it's very worth it, but I dun want to give my FH the pressure u see. So will have to discuss about it, as we have expenses for wedding dinner, renovation etc and it's quite a huge sum. Nonetheless, I highly recommend silhouette.

joy_cie

hi steph!

just wondering if you can share with me on the flowers that you will be receiving from your package. does this include any corsages??

Hi Alexis,

can you share with me how is your package like? I didn't ask how much was the MTM men's suit. It seems like it is $600 from what I have read.

aleixis

Hi Rainne,

Really glad that you had a great time at SIL today!!

For my package, because i signed up directly with O Studio for my photography, and i am going to use my own MUA and flowers, i only signed up for the MTM WG, MTM EG and MTM groom's suit. I think i recall the men's suit was about $600. But...not very sure.

I can understand what you are saying about budget and all. Most importantly, both you and your FH must first work out your own budget, because just like all couples getting married, there are definitely quite alot of stuff that we all have to consider. Once you come out with the budget, then you will know what sort of range you are comfortable with for your BS package.

Most importantly, both of you must enjoy this entire experience....this is a once in a lifetime affair....so make sure that both of you are happy and comfortable with whatever decisions you both make.
All the Best!!!

HI Alexis,

It is much much cheaper to take MUA and flowers outside? Flowers as in studio/Ad bouquets, and car decor?

In that case, how much is your budget? What is the price you paid to sign with O studio directly, it is much better? I have also shortlisted O studio and would very much appreciate if you can share with me more, is that possible?

aleixis

Hi Rainne,

I was in this panicky and confused state about 1 month plus ago because i couldnt decide on the BS and was analysing all the different packages. For me, i limited myself to about 5 BS and in the end was just a matter of deciding between 2 BS.

No, it is not cheaper to take MUA and flowers outside. In fact, if you ask them to 'take' out those items, the amounts that are deducted are less than what i have to pay outside. The reason why i removed both MUA and flowers is because i have my own hair stylist whom i have been going to for a long time who also does make-up and i am very comfortable with him. And, for flowers, it is because i am trying to use a deposit that i very stupidly placed at another BS (in the initial stages of searching for a BS).

When i was shopping around, i originally budgeted an amount of $5K (for the whole package incld photography, etc). Upped that to about $6K after i went round to TedWu and SiL. But, realised that additional photos (if we do select them) for the wedding album will add another layer of costs. So, we are sort of prepared for the additional costs for the photos....but not sure how much we will pay for them. We will see when the time comes. :p If you dont increase the no. of photos, you should be able to limit your costs. Some people manage to do so by being very disciplined.

I paid $1800 for O Studio by signing up with them directly. The only reason why i think it is better is because you get to negotiate with them for the no. of photos, type of albums, etc. etc. O Studio is definitely not cheap but i love their work. So, you need to explore your options. I was actually considering between O Studio or Utopia.

I hope this helps. Let me know if i can help any further. I understand, in fact i am sure we all understand what you are going through; as we have all gone through it.

Hi aleixis

thanks for your advice and sharing. Yeah, I think I am the same state as you now. had initially budget 0nly $5K for whole pkg with photos, but after visiting sil, there goes. Basic with photo is already $5580, not forgetting to get more photos from O studio etc? it's gonna hit at least $6K.

are you able to share how much does O studio charges for 1 addn 15R size photo? Does it include collages or they price it differently? Gee, at $1800, another $400 more to pay if u sign up with sil, what does it include? Are you able to share?

birmingham

Hi Superbunny,
Saw your compliment of Silhouette. I m interested in signing the wedding pkg with Silhouette. Care to share what wedding pkg Silhouette offer.

aleixis

Hi Ryes,

Sorry, currently at the airport....boarding soon to go for my biz trip. Cant really remember the exact details of my package. Will try to revert to you when i am back? Sorrie!

If you really like O Studio, u should make an appt with them and see Jaki (the boss & photographer) personally. Then, you can see if both your FH and yourself can get along with him and whether you like his style. Then, you can clarify with them on their package details directly. Vivian...the person that i spoke to, is very nice!! Though....have to speak to both Jaki and her in Chinese as they are both Taiwanese.

See you!

Hi Aleixis,

thanks for posting in the midst of your flight up to the sky man. Really appreciate it.

Yes am definitely arranging to meet up with O studio Jaki himself, Utopia to meet up. Aiyah, SIL doesn't tie with Montage though...

Hi Emily,
For SIL basic package like MTM WG, EG, MEn's suit, flowers, car decor, makeup & hairdo is $4180. If you dun need certain items, they will deduct from there. Note that this price does not include photography. Photography would range abt $1200 and above.

You must make an appointment to get undivided attention and full one to one consultation with the designers there. Fab.

joy_cie

Hi Emily,

i went down to silhouette last sat. I was offered a package of 3380 which includes a MTM wedding gown (to rent), MTM evening gown (to keep), flowers, car deco and make up & hairdo. This price does not include photography.

joycec

share with me, how come your package is so much cheaper compared to mine? Yours dont include MTM men's suit?

how is your MTM wedding gown gonna be like?

joy_cie

Hi ryes,

It does not include MTM man's suit. By the way, i am still contemplating whether to take up the package.

Can you share with me on the flowers and car deco part that they are going to cover. For instance, the number of corsages...car deco...

Sorry for asking so many questions, cos now i have to decide whether i am going with Silhouette or another studio.

Hi joycec,

do you have msn online? perhaps it may be better.

the flowers we get to choose any kind of flowers provided they are in season and subject to availability. I didn't ask which florist they tie up with though.

As for car deco, is silk flowers, main bridal car with 2 following cars

there will be 6 corsages provided.

Which photographers did you enquire?

I want to sign up with sil, am now trying to coax FH...

joy_cie

Hi ryes,

msn...not possible, we are not able to log in here at work. Why not you give me your email first so that i can add you on my list??

i am not taking any studio shots, i am more into actual day happenings, in such, i do not mind spending more on photography or even videography. Esp. for the moment when my fiance is coming to pick me up in the morning...cos i will miss most of the action.

if not would you like to drop me an email??

ash_

hi aleixis,
sorry! didnt check this thread till now.. to answer ur question looooong time ago, nope havent gone for my first fitting yet. first apptmt only next month cos my wedding's long way to go in december

now im in the stage of trying to do homework for designing my gown.. but most likely i'll go down n see what minda has to say then decide. you? when's ur wedding? first fitting anytime soon?

hi rainne,
agree with aleixis.. think u shd work within ur budget.. unless u n fiance willing to compromise sth somewhere.. actually if u dont mind, taking otr is also an option cos the gowns avail in Sil are alr so lovely!! if u can find one u love, that'll give u a Sil gown yet keep within ur budget (i think..) can try.. all the best!!

HI ashie,

when they told me abt the MTm gowns, I asked how much is OTR< then the designer said, is less abt $600 but come up to abt the same if u want to add details to is. So in a way, it seems of course they prefer us to have MTM lor.

carelinwen

Hi Ryes,

$5580 is a lot! Did you indicate that you wanted very glam gowns (eg. full lace or full beadings), thus need to top up, or your package is with those top photographers? I thought below $5K can get full MTM package with Robin already.

Hi carelinwen,

yes lor, $5580 is alot leh abit heart pain. the price they quoted me is for the gowns that I tried on, with lots of organza, lots of embrodiary on tulle/organza, so I think bulk of the price goes to the details into the wedding gown....It's like those ballgowns. No need to top up anymore, it's that price they quoted which I will pay. (I had better reconfirm dun want any hidden costs)

As for photographers, the price is abt $1400 for O studio.

Tt's why I am in a big dilemma coz I am taking full pkg, so it is more ex...

carelinwen

Hi Ryes,

Well, you have to decide whether you are willing to pay for the best (elaborate MTM gowns) or whether you can accept OTR or MTM not so elaborate gowns...

I've been to other designer shops, some tell me if full french lace also have to top up quite a bit too. So if you think extra $600 divided by 2 gowns (WG and EG) also not that ex.

Hi carlinwen,

have you decided on your BS?

sorry i dun get the part abt $600 divided by 2 gowns... I definitely wont be getting full french lace for my dress.

Today made a call dwn, they are very sincere to have me sign on, said wanted to arrange a 2nd meeting and see what can be done. Addn men's suit is $500 like that. Where else have suits that are much cheaper?

ccteott

Wow... wow... Hi Ladies! esp

One month away and there are so many new comers

I know this is a litte late but...

Welcome to this tread, oh behalf of the members of <font color="0000ff"> The Silhouette Fan Club</font> we would like to extend our warmest welcome and hope that your wedding preparations will be a blissful and enjoyable experience for you and your future husband *HUGZ*

Would you all like to let me know the following details so that I can update the Silhouette Table?

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dinner venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church / Solemnization</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Designer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></td></tr></table>

ccteott

Silhouette Member’s Details as at 19 April 2005

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dinner venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church / Solemnization</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Designer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Sweetpea</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15 Jan 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Edge</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Edge</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Steph Ho</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23 Apr 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Bedok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jeanz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30 Jul 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Barkar Road Methodist </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">MarilynTeo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sheraton Towers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sharaton Towers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Simei</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cutepigs</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Mary's of the Angels</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Minda</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Utopia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Kalydescope</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Bukit Batok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">J Tan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Four Seasons</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Four Seasons</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photolanguage</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Katong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">JS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">01 Oct 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Burkhill Hall</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Burkhill Hall</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Clementi </font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Martha</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">02 Oct 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Copthorne</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Copthorne</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Novena</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Bubbles</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">08 Oct 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Choa Chu Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">JimmyGo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">06 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Four Seasons</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Four Seasons</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Ignatius</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chris Ling</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Benny Ang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bishan</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Inpreps</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19&amp;20 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles the Plaza</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holy Family</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Minda</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Utopia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Old Airport Road</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Trolly Dolly</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles the Plaza</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jubilee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Blangah</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ashie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-La</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Toa Payoh Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Minda</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Busybee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hurricadia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Tintin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09&amp;30 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriott &amp; Holland Park</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Heath</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends of The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends of The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland</font></td></tr></table>