Silhouette the Atelier

marthastewart

hi guys, been so busy last 2 wks no time to log in...and this thread's moved so fast already! Hey bubbles, HOW CAN THE DIAMOND DROP OUT! so scary, i thought only Diamond Industries' diamond jewellery could do that....i have this fear that my tiffany diamond would drop out so i just keep convincing myself that their quality is much much better and that it's in platinum! hahah!

Oh, your jars of honey sound fab, i wanted to give honey or jam, but it's so ex. Then, I thought of getting my mum to make jam but now that my guest list is hitting 400+ it's jus NO WAY! my mum will make until angry!!! so gotta source other stuff...

my friend knows THE MAN's Brother, i wonder if she can get discount!

i just went sil for designing again, so fun. Heath say cannot get extra guy's shirt cos i wanna customise my EG and cheongsam nice nice...*sigh* can't wait to go there again!!! He says I have a lot of time as I don't need to go into sewing until May. However, the weeks pass so fast and I have already been there 4 times so sometimes it really freaks me out...slowly but surely, my wedding date will arrive!!! =O

winterwhite

Hi Ashie..

*wave* recieved you emails, thx alot!!

eejean

Hi Martha,

yups..anyways, at first they told me they will get it fixed in a week, then now, it has become a month...ostensibly bcos they have to "source" for the diamond. its those small small type- in a row ya know? its me mum's ring, so i dun see how difficult that can be..sigh.

sure that your tiffany won't drop out, anyways, apparently you gotta check it once in a while, if it seems bit loose, take corrective action!!!

superbunny

Hi hi!!!

Bubbles, Tintin - bad news.. can't meet u girls tonight. got some drama going on at home. What is it with weddings and parents and parents-in-laws?? sigh, i spend the whole weekend grouching to FH about such relations... have to spend tonight with in-laws..

very paiseh!! unless u girls can meet on wed?

steph

ccteott

Hi Steph,

Its ok... I totally understand... I think all of us in the same boat. I may have an overseas friend popping into town on Wed. Have to do a raincheck on meeting up on Wed.

Btw... I will be away for a month... you want to replace me in my kickboxing class since its being paid for already? You can go for the lessons till 18 April which is the Mon before your big day

eejean

wednesday is fine..;)...yah leh steph, replace tintin!! then we can suffer together ..hahaa...

gude luck with the in-laws..eeeekks...;p...my dad is in a gude mood only 'cos he won some trophy at his golf tournament..haha.

hi tintin,
see ya later...;)

ccteott

Hi bubbles,

I've mailed you the contract. The prices of reprints are as at the new pricelist coz our suppliers have raised prices...

jaye_w

Hi Sil brides,
Am new to Silhoutte... went down to the shop today and am completely impressed by 2 evening gowns that I saw... =P
Any one here familiar with the Charmuse range?
I was quoted 800 and 1200 for two pieces...is that on the expensive side since it's OTR??

Ladies, please advice.

ash_

hi jaye,

have i seen you in some other thread before..? ur name looks familiar. anyways, my experience is tt OTR and MTM EG dont vary a lot in terms of cost. not sure abt sil but when i visited ted wu and commented tt one of the EGs was very nice, the lady told me tt i can choose from their OTR range but it wld still be charged the MTM price as they are still specially designed and requires a lot of time to make. it made sense to me so i didnt question much. think it shd be the same for Sil as the OTR range is also designed and made by the designers..

another thing to consider is also the amount of work involved (intricate beading, embriodery etc) and material used. i believe Sil uses good (read: expensive) material for their gowns, hence causing the price to be relatively higher. hope this lil info helps

marthastewart

hi steph, yeah, weddings and parents/parents in law don't go. It's like it's MY WEDDING but they are using it as an event to show-off or something...my future FIL just gave me some shit about making sure I have enough wine because his relatives REALLY KNOW HOW TO DRINK. crap man, more likely they just want to get high...and he wouldn't entrust me to source for the wines myself and keep insisting I check with his cousin's supplier. IRRITATING.

and my parents have all these crap about dowry and traditions and all that...when I told them I was the one paying for the wedding so dowry or no dowry it's all my money anyway.

arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh....sooooooooooooooooo irritating. Next thing I know they are gonna take offence with my Non-red/pink invitation card.

jaye_w

hi ashie..
yep think we 'met' in the Shang thread...
thanks for your input...are u with Sil too? =)
yar...I was impressed with the beading on one of the gowns...whole gown! wow... =P

ash_

hi jaye,

oh... so that's where i saw you

no probs. yes im with Sil too.. wow, you mean u saw a fully-beaded WG?? ive seen a fully beaded EG, but not WG! *trying hard to imagine* so you signed up yet?

superbunny

hullo hullo!

martha - thanks for all the support..
these days, i just take a deep breath and hold it while they continue talking ..hehe.. just let them vent lah! i am already quite lucky, they didn't complain about my "not-red" cards!

anyway, me went for my second fitting last friday! it was great! i tell u.. wow! really really love my wedding gown.
must say, sil is really good! so for all the soon-to-be sil brides, you are in good hands!

now that it is like 1 month before the big day, i have dedicated the month to rest and relax! it is going to be pampering me time! spa, massage, scrubs..here i come!

ash_

hi jaye,
that's great! then we can both be shang/sil brides
errr, sorry you might have told me before but when's ur wedding? which designer did u go to at sil?

hi steph,
wow, ur AD is fast approaching! must be so excited.. yes yes.. definitely must relax so u can look ur best on ur big day and enjoy your last days of singlehood!! hehe...

man_tou_bear

U guys are really great to have a fan club! I m currently sourcing for BS. Kinda stumbled upon SIL. Can anybody tell me the package details?

I want to sign a package that includes ROM dress too. Is that wise? cos my ROM is less than 6 mths away but my AD is end 06. Please advise if Sil is gd.. thanks!

superbunny

hullo!

Bear - your name is so so cute! the best way to find out about their offerings is to make an appt and see them. Dun worry, there is no obligations. Am not sure if SIL includes ROM dress cos i only took their WG and EGs. In terms of workmanship and design, from my experience, i think that SIL can come out with some very different and interesting designs

Go visit them!

inpreps

Hey Steph, so great that you love your gown!!! When is your next fitting? Maybe I can pretend and come down to kpo a bit...hehe

wow you are exactly a month away from your AD! Relax and prime yourself up to be a beautiful bride! =p

carelinwen

I finally met up with Minda already, must say that she is really nice. Thought I would not be able to fit into any OTR gowns because I am a bit plump but I managed to fit into some gowns very nicely. Minda even asked me to consider taking OTR as one of them was really nice.

Now I am seriously considering taking up Sil but the only thing holding me back is the budget as car and tea dresses/kuas are not provided and no extra gowns for photoshoot. If I were to get these myself, it could be $600 - $1K more.

Do you gals have any good contacts for car rental? Thanks

eejean

Hi carelinwen,
from what i know, those that take the package can borrow their kua FOC. check with them?

hi steph,
eh, any picture to show or not? when's your next fitting..me major kpo now!;)

jaye_w

hi ashie,
AD is in Nov this year. =)
Minda selected gowns for me...
She is encouraging me to get a OTR gown but I find it alil too simple. hmmm...

superbunny

hullo and good morning!

aiyah! no picture.. cos that day forgot to bring camera! hehe.. my next fitting is on 9 April..that's also my trial makeup and hair day. its at 11am so feel free to pop by!

Carelinwen - yes i think they do give FOC kua one..
sorry, can't help with car rental but am sure u can find some good contacts on the wedding directory?

man_tou_bear

Hi Gd morning to u all!

Hi back to Steph. Glad u like my nick! Can i have the addy and telly for SIL? What is the average price like? Cos my ROM is 6 mths away... only booked the venue at the zoo... that's all i have done... kinda lost as to wat to do next..

Thanks.. and sorry for asking so much...

carelinwen

Hi bubbles and Steph,

Really about the kua?? That's good news! Cos Sil was only the second boutique that I went to, so a lot of things I didn't know to ask and clarify.

superbunny

Bear - SIL's address is 39, Stamford Road, #03-19, Stamford house.. tel is 67337197
do call them.. err, not sure what is the average price but for me it was one MTM WG (to rent), one MTM EG (to keep), plus makeup & hair, plus flowers.. it was $3380. I think the price depends on how elaborate your gowns are and what other things you want. Best to discuss with them .. there are three of them: Miah, Minda and Heath and they are all very good.

Have you booked your JP yet? cos 6 months away is not that much time. i first started my wedding preps only last Oct! and so it is like 6 months to prepare for a wedding..haha..

Carelinwen - its okie
i have gone through that stage.. info overload and even now, am learning new things. why dun u call minda and ask her?

man_tou_bear

Ok thanks a lot Steph. will call them and fix an apptment soon. Does the price u quoted me just now include photos and men suit?

The zoo has it contacts for JP so i don't have to worry. they will take care of it for me...

Do u guys think it is wise to get a bridal package now as my AD is end next yr? was thinking of getting a package that includes the ROM dress...

superbunny

No problem at all! the price that i quoted does not include photos and men suit.
sil's package does not come with photos, but they will give u a few contacts that are good. they concentrate more on the outfits.

As for the bridal package thing.. well, i can understand that it is prob more cost efficent to get a package that perhaps comes with a ROM dress, then later design your gowns. But u might be rushed into choosing one now. If u more or less already know what time of WG and EG u like then it would make things easier
Well, sil has some OTR dresses that are quite nice and suitable for ROM, so its worth a try. Like bubbles has this really nice CS!

man_tou_bear

Ok, so its rather ex right? without the photos?? sorry me mountain tortoise so the prices seems ex lor.. so plus photos can reach up to 5K?? How much do the photog charge for photos on ave???

Sorry sorry so many questions...

eejean

Hi Steph,
heehee..mebbe i will drop by then! Hope you are getting along well with your glass-painting ...hahaa..thanks for the compliment about the CS..;)..hope i can fit in it! ARGH!

hi bear,
men suit is $600. does not include shirts. they will MTM shirts at around $80-100 per piece. All to keep.
they tie up with external photographers so you can ask Sil about the them..Yes, if you add the photography studio prices it will probably hit 5k..

price will depend on the number and size of photos, the number of locations/number of hours and whether you want the negatives back..

man_tou_bear

Thanks Bubbles... will go down and ask lor. cos i don't think i need to keep any of the MTM stuff. no point.. still need to maintain it...

But think it is a rather novel concept.Just for doing the gowns...

superbunny

yo yo!!
It's after lunch.. talking about my glasses.. just sent off another batch to my friend for baking.. keeping fingers cross.. now only left like 60 pieces! yeah!

U can fit in lah! just breathe in deeply and hold.. and of cos u are invited to join in my session.. hehe.. just don't laugh at me okie? i think sometimes i can be a bit cartoon one

inpreps

hehe....I've seen your cartoon self so it's okie! =p (no la, you cartoon meh??)

Hmm....since your next fitting is on a Sat, I'm very tempted to come and kpo leh.....I won't laugh at you, cos I'll probably be busy saying WOW!!!!

weddingprep05

Hi Sil brides,
Have signed up with Silhouette and is now in the design stage.

Can anyone share with me your WG n EG design?
I like embroidery as well as lace. At the same time, I'm also torn between a full duchess satin skirt and an organza skirt. so headache.

Any advice from you gals or any pics to share how yr gowns look like?

cocotte

Ladies I need help... Just went for my trial make-up at sil and it was not nice at all. May I know if its possible to request for a change of make-up artiste? And which one do you use when you take a package from sil?

superbunny

Hullo!!

TSC - i am having jasmine.. who did you get? If you dun like the make-up artise, u should definately feedback to SIL and ask for a change? what was it that you were not happy about??

WeddingPrep05 - Sorry, dun have any pictures to show.. but mine is a duchess satin A-line skirt and a corsette top. Having just a touch of crystals added.. no embroidery. I can't carry that off lah!

inpreps - hahaah.. feel free to drop by!

ash_

hi steph,
ure going for your trial this weekend? so exciting!! rem to come back n tell us how it goes

hi TSC,
i asked that same question before signing up and was told i can change my MUA but i'll have to pay for the trial done by the original MUA, which is fair enough. let your designer know soon so he/she can arrange for a trial by another MUA for you soon.

hi weddingprep05,
wow, i never knew one can be torn btw duchess satin n organza.. they're pretty different!!

you tried the 2 types of skirts? which look you prefer on yourself? if you look good in both, then you've to consider the image u want to portray on ur wedding.. duchess satin is very structured and grand while organza is very soft n romantic.. hope this helps!

ahcapp

Can i double check. The last time when I went down to Sihouette, there was a promo package with uses Robin and Linn photography. It was $4980 including the photography. Can I ask how about now?

My hubby thinks that Minda is a very good designer. For me, frankly speaking, I am just plain lost about which bridal shop to go to. I am currently thinking of choosing Silhouette or Jawn Happy Ever After.

I am just worried if my designer will be easy to work with. Afterall, I will be working closely with her for my gown of a lifetime.

Is Silhouette good only for the grand traditional gown? How about those soft and romantic ones?

superbunny

hullo hullo!

My trial is not last weekend
its on the 9th April.. getting quite excited! as the wedding draws nearer, getting more and more busy with preparations and other stuff as well!

AhCapp - sorry i can't help answer your question cos i didn't take any photo package with Sil. Perhaps i can help answer your other question - i think sil's expertise is in grand gowns but i have also seen some very romantic gowns with lace. I think it all depends on the materials you choose..like organza or chiffon would be very soft. Have you discussed this with Minda? She is really very nice

good luck!

aleixis

Just went down to meet Heath last week. Such a nice, friendly and personable guy.

Have a few questions which i hope someone will be able to help me with:

- Do you know what is included for the flowers in the package? (ie. how many corsages for groom, parents, car decor and accompany cars?)

- Which florists do they work with?

- Are accessories included in the package for both Studio and AD? What kind of accessories would there be?

Thank you!!

ash_

for those who have alr made ur EGs.. can u pls advise how u decided on color/material/design? minda gave me a call recently n told me to start thinking abt wat i want.. thought of leaving it to be discussed during the apptmt itself.. but now doing some homework

few questions hope u can help me with.. wat happens during the designing of the EG? will she ask me to try some EGs so i can get a feel of the different cuttings/colors? do i have to bring mag cut-outs to show her wat i roughly want? thanks thanks..

steph,
enjoy ur fitting on the 9th!!

aleixis,
sorry cant help u on that cos im also quite a newbie here

i've made an appointment with silhouette. Cynthia will be attending to me, have anyone of you were served by her?

aleixis

Hellooo!!

Just want to update that i am now an official Silhouette BTB!!
Very happy and very relieved after the last 2 months of shopping around and being more and more confused!! Really a load off my mind!!

Also, because i will be leaving for a biz trip next week, i have at the same time sat down with Heath to discuss about my WG, also shown him some designs of gowns i liked, etc etc. Will be meeting up with him again when i come back next week from my trip. He said that he will show me more concrete designs then. Supposed to confirm my design by end April/early May since my wedding is in Oct 2005.

Had such a good time discussing with Heath. Such a darling!!