Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

lovehersummer

hi spacegirl,

i didn't sign up and not sure if they have special perks. they have packages up to 2009 but i'm looking at 2nd half of 2010.

were u there? did u sign up or going for other venues?

sg_sc

Hi all, I'm interested in signing up most prob this week wif ST, but wonder if ST would accede to some of my requests (hope these dun come across as too unreasonable!!):

- wedding invitations cards 90% (instead of 70%)
- Complimentary carpark tkts for 50% (instead of 20%)
- anyone used the waterfall area for solemnisation? Do they provide finger foods + free-flow soft drinks FOC or for a nominal fee?

Any advice pls?

spacegirl

Hi excited BTB

Let me comment on what I know... I am not sure abt the invitation cards, but I don't need so many so I did not ask. As for carpark, it is flex. Need more just ask. Hehe...

I've booked the waterfall area for my ROM. (U can ask for a discount if yr dinner is with them) Apparently no finger food & drinks will be provided. Anyway, I am having buffet lunch at The Dining Room so that it will be more convenient for my guests.

Hope I helped.

spacegirl

Hi Jernelle

I am Spacegirl not Spicegirl... not so spicy! Hehe... Anyway, my package is in hard copy only. Why don't you drop the coordinators an email? They are very prompt in providing details.

Waterfall area is just next to the The Dining Room (the restaurant) not next to pool. I love the ambience, food and esp the service!

Look for Michele. She's very nice and super efficient.

sg_sc

Tks Spacegirl!
We spoke to Irene the last time and she said free-flow of soft drinks can be arranged at $5++ per pax at the waterfall. But Nelson did mention at the recent wedding fair that this can be thrown in FOC.
Maybe we can try to neg FOC for that, very most i bring in my own soft drinks lor...hahaha

sg_sc

BTW, am told that there's gonna be a wedding dinner this 8 Aug, Fri - the only one this month!! So if u r thinking of signing up wif ST, might wanna go down have a look as well..

satinchris

Hi lovely ladies,

Am sharing some of my wedding pics, held at Sheraton grand ballroom in mid-June. There are some pics which showed the stage and bits of the ballroom decor.
http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0ActWbhuzcNWLqw

And these here are those which I took of their various table settings during their Chinoiserie wedding show some months back.
http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0ActWbhuzcNWLso

Hope these pics will help give those planning for their wedding some ideas

jo_vin

Hi gals, just wanna share with you what i know about ST's package ya? Im a Nov bride( more active at the Nov bride thread hehe) Anyway, my package also includes having my ROM at the waterfall, hope can ask for free flow soft drinks then...

Just had my food tasting last weekend(Think im the earliest Nov bride for food tasting as my HTB is leaving for overseas work this month..)

To all of us the food wasnt really fantastic, but at the end we didnt really had much comments on the food except to change one of the dish. Maybe we had a bit much of an expectation cos having heard of so many good reviews about Li Bai.

To make things a little bit worse, me and HTB just attended my brother's food tasting at another 5 star hotel few months ago, so we acually tend to compare. ST service also weren't really fantastic as well and we are actually expecting the chef to come over after our food tasting to ask for opinions, (which the other hotel did, both the sales co-ordinator and chef.) I assume that i can ask the chef for opinion on what dish to replace the chicken after the food tasting, only to learn from the banquet manager that the chef is 'not free' as there's another event downstairs. Was quite disappointed by this but the chef still come up to see us, only after we request. I can understand our co-ordinator not present as i said, it was a weekend evening but that other hotel can have both coordinator and chef present, also on a weekend evening. Maybe we really shouldn't compare as my HTB said we might not get the chef to come over to talk to us if we didnt attend my brother's food tasting.

Just a bit of a review, nothing positive nor negative la. Anything can ask me ya, i'll do my utmost best to help... Cheers!!

spacegirl

I think what service you received really depend largely on the coordinator and of course your own expectation.

Some things are impt to others but not to you... so if there are things that you want, e.g. seeing the chef after the food tasting, do let the coordinator know in advance. I think it is only fair that way as there really might be an event happening somewhere else. Just my 2 cents' worth.

So far, my coordinator Michele has been very very nice. Whatever we requested, if she can, she will provide. Even dates for meeting up, for e.g. signing anything, viewing the waterfall and The Dining Room area, etc. She walked us through the areas and explained very patiently which portion of the restuarant she intends to cordon off for our guests, and so on.

Even though I have not been to the food tasting, coz my AD is next year (ROM this Oct) I think I will give the ST team credit for the services rendered so far.

sg_sc

i guess unless we specifically request for both the chef and coordinator to be ard during food tasting b4hand, then it would really be a bonus if they were present that day. Coz i heard that we would feedback to the coordinator aft the food tasting some days later, and they can then work wif the chef to 'fine-tune' the dishes. Tat's wat i heard not only for ST but other hotels as well..so...ok. Now this is a point for mi to take note in future..
BTW, who are your co-ordinators? Mine's Irene. Wat's ur experience wif her?

Great pics u have there satinchris, very blissful looking!! :p Thanks for sharing & All the best to u n ur hubby woh..

jo_vin

Hi Excited BTB, my coordinator is Irene too!! She's quite nice la. We signed up with her cos she agreed to most of the things we asked for. Ya, should take note and perhaps maybe inform them beforehand if u want the chef or coordinator to be around during ur food tasting. When's ur wedding date?

sg_sc

Hi Jo_vin, tat's a relief to hear ;) So did u get wine from ST's supplier? Heard that the cheapest wine they have is abt $20 nett. Not intending to get many bottles coz my AD's definitely on a weekday (according to fortune teller, we only have weekdays auspicious...sob sob... - Still looking at a couple of dates though. Tink it's most prob gonna be in June 09 bah. Wat abt U?

satinchris

IMO, actually it isn't really very necessary for the coordinator and chef to be present. But of course, if they are there, even if for just a few mins, it would be very nice.

Just relating my experience here. When I went for my food tasting, I was also somewhat surprised not to see my coordinator and/or the chef around. The only way of feedback was to write down our comments on the feedback card they provided. So we did just that. On my own part, I also feedback to my coordinator via the email. Eventually, when we met up with my coordinator to finalise the details, whatever we feedback about the food tasting was indeed reflected to my coordinator.

So no worries about the chef and coordinator not around during the food tasting.

Overall, both my hubby and I felt that Sheraton had done a very good job. Just wanna say a big thank you to my coordinator, Michelle and the banquet team led by Dickson (if I didn't remember his name wrongly). Everyone had good comments about the food and everything went very well. We were all very pleased. Thanks Sheraton!

jo_vin

Hi Excited BTB, so coincidental! When we went to get our date for this year, the master also say we only have a weekday, which is Thursday that is good for both of us. So no choice, have to take it as we wan to get married this year. Mine is in Nov this year.

Wont be getting any wine from ST as my mum have helped me to get them. My previous boss will also be giving me a few bottles.

I was sharing my experience about my food tasting. In my opinion, i felt it was a courtesy for the chef to be present or to ask us for comments after the food tasting. Afterall, we are spending so much on the banquet isnt it? Perhaps we had just gone to my brother's food tasting in another hotel, which provided excellent service, thats y comparison takes plc.

I am not saying ST is not good, otherwise i also wont sign with them liao. But i felt they could have been betta. This is just my comments la.. And like what i said, just a bit of a review, nothing positive nor negative...

sg_sc

But jo_vin, in that case, is your wine corkage waived? coz i understd that there would be corkage fee at 20++ per bottle for outside wines!! So if u get their hotel wine, corkage be waived.

Weekday not that bad also, cheaper and pple wont drink so much too coz next day need work!! hahah..chop-chop finish...( i was also tinking morn wen doing the tea ceremony n gate crashing etc..at least most pple at work, not so paisei...)

Hi satinchris, just checking wif u if it's 1 to 1 server per table svc? and also would they leave the remaining food onto a smaller plate instead of bringing back to kitchen? or i need to specifically request for this to the banquet mgr on that day?

satinchris

Hi Excited BTB

IIRC, Michelle mentioned it was 2 servers per 3 tables when we were finalising details. But on the actual day, I wasn't too sure if it wasn't really like that. Sorry. But feedback from my guests were generally ok. No negative comments about not enough servers.

The servers will portion out all the food. So no worries. But of coz, it won't hurt to remind your banquet mgr again on that day.

spacegirl

My coordinator is Michele and so far I am very very pleased with her. She is prompt, friendly and easy-going. Very flexible, whatever and whenever she can give, she will.

Thanks for sharing your experience Satinchris!

sg_sc

Tks for the advice ladies. I was just down at ST 2day for a quick glance of the ballroom setup for a wedding tat took place 2day.

Overall, the setup n arrangements looks not bad 2 mi, but i find the black n red theme a little too dull. We spoke to the banquet mgr, n he said that the server is 1 to 1, n Irene had previously informed us the same as well!!! so must confirm this wif her again wen we meet up. Not tat it's a big issue, but y r they saying diff things to diff pple at diff times??!! The short march-in also looks pretty short!! Tink we'll opt for the long one, though we have been advised thatthe seating would be more cramped as a result, as they have to create an aisle across Ballroom 3 n 4 for tis....for those brides who did the short march-in, hw did u find it? Can it last at least a min at slow pace??

jo_vin, i tried 'check new messages', but am prompted that there's no new msg. Am i checking it the wrong way? pls advise!!tks ;p

annisan

anyone... can advise me ST Solemnisation for bout 50pax will be how much ya?

intend to hold at the waterfall area nxt yr sept... :)

sg_sc

Hi jo_vin, it 's the option right at the top of this page, left side (where u can Edit Profile, Log in as different user). But i dun use the 'check new messages' function la...it shows u all the postings frm all diffnt threads, so u can see if there's a new posting ...(tink is like tat, not sure too)but abit troublesome to scroll n search...i rather come in wholly...

sg_sc

Hi DNA, from wat i heard the last time, if u r tinking of 'renting' the waterfall area for solemnisation only, then u need fork out abt $800++ (not sure if this includes free-flow soft drinks).

Thereafter, Buffet lunch at THE DINING ROOM will cost abt $33++ per pax...

annisan

Excited BTB(sg_sc)>> Wow... Thanks for your info!!! Guess i have to make a trip down in order for me to get more details.. :) quite alot of good comment on ST.. might wanna have my banquet wedd dinner there too if per table price is reasonable... :) BTW.. wen's ur AD?

sg_sc

Hi DNA, Yeah...if u have yr dinner banquet there, then they would throw in the waterfall area for ur use FOC (of coz subjt to availability). Pricing considered reasonable for a 5 star hotel too...guess becoz it's located out of CBD area.
My AD's in June09. U?

annisan

hi Excited BTB,
oh..Congarts to you oh! :) my AD is in yr2010..haha =D
im kiang chiong spider wanna get info first...hees.. =P ROM nxt yr Sept most likely at ST le.. its jus the Banquet im worry of as got budget, bout $800per table the most and food must be nice... hees
heard alot of good comment on Tung Lok.. considering it.. any advise or recommendation? :)

satinchris

Hi Excited BTB and all brides considering the short march-in,

I had the short march-in and personally find that it's indeed a little too short. If you want to bask in that special moment a little longer, the long march-in is a better choice. But of coz, table arrangement will be a little cramp.

sg_sc

Hi DNA, Tks! Whoa, looking ard for banquet so soon??? For 2009 pricing, im afraid it's oredi at least $868++ for weekdays dinner. For 2010, u say lei...my guess is it's gonna be more exp...dunno if u can book tis yr for 2010 banquets (at 2008's prices) though. U might wanna check n quickly book if u have decided on ST. Good Luck n Happy Searching!

Thanks for the advice Satinchris. Me n HTB have decided aft seeing the layout tat nite that we would be doing the long march-in aft all...even though some guests might not be able to see us (we can use live-feed), but its our wedding nite n u r right! we wanna bask in the attention as long as we can!!

annisan

Hi Excited BTB...
indeed ur right... yr2010 package will be double up le... i haven even pick the date for our AD yet cos now reali still early... haa~ For now jus read thru and get advice and oso look out for hotel with Good Food with Good Service and reasonable price.. hees...oh ya... once u got yah photo.. can share wif me the ST ballroom pic... hees.. i still love ST.. haha.. thanks thanks... :)

sg_sc

Hi DNA< u may refer to Satinchris's AD pics for a feel of the ST Ballroom &amp; settings (which she has very kindly shared above)..or just go down ST have a quick overview. The staff there would be able 2 assist u...hope this helps.

jo_vin

Hi DnA, u may add me on Multiply to view different themes of Sheraton's ballroom. I took them when i was doing my research the other time. Pls enable ur PM, i will send u my id. Hehe..

annisan

Hi Excited BTB...
Thanks for your help.. i will go and have a look.. :)

Hi Jo_vin,
Thaks so much... i've enable my PM..:)

oh ya... my AD is only gonna be in yr2010...
im kiasu spider lah...
Aniwae thanks All BTB for yah help... :)
Happy Marriage wor.. Cheers! =P

tyme

Hi All!
Me thinks I'm going to hold my banquet at AD too! I just confirmed my date and she says she's going to draft out a contract for me.. Is there anything I should look out for?? Any requests I need to ask??
Thanks for your help!!

dash80

Hi Edwin,

I think you have to pay once you sign.

For me, I've paid the deposit before signing the contract.

This is so that the date is secured.

Me and my WTB simply loves the ambience and the Ballroom, esp the view towards the lounge downstairs.

Btw, who is your co-ordinator ?

tyme

okie... i expected as much.. haha..
My coordinator is Benedicte Liew.. She met me when i was there the other time.. going down again tomoro night to take a look again with my wife.. we ROM already.. if not the waterfall would have been a very nice place..

annisan

hi Edwin,
Mind sharing your ROM pics???
As im intending to hold my ROM at ST (waterfall area) nxt year... hees.. thanks!

DnA

sg_sc

Hi All, just wondering if u guys are conscious of the 'cooking/food' smell that floats up from The Dining Room up to the Ballroom section?

I was there the week b4 its wedding fair and i noticed hw foul smelling the entire 2 levels was!! So wen i went there during the fair, there was no such smell!! They must have done somehting prior..Wonder if we can request for them to ensure that air fresheners or something be done during the day so that all our guests n us dun end up smelling oily!!

Just my tots here...does it sound like an unreasonable request??

tyme

Just back from ST.. went with my wife to look at the place.. think I'll probably confirm it!
now thinking of taking the chionsiere package or the normal one.. probably the normal one.. Don't think my old folks will fall for black.. :p