Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

happyblossom

Thx almonddust,

but any idea how we can do our march in? seems alot of my gfs dun encourage me to march in separately n some feedback its not nice if all ur guests cant c e whole ballroom.

Im really interested to sign up ST but feel sad of all e feedback i hv.

almonddust

Hi BloSSom,
I would suggest that you speak to the coordinator and get her feedback on other possible ways of marching in. It's better that you can check with her whether you can visit one or two wedding banquet layout to see if that is what you like. Ultimately, it is your happy occasion and it should be something that you and your hubby will remember.

Hi PP,
Your preparation for ROM finish 7-7-8-8? Normally what are the things you need to prepare for ROM? My BS is Santiago.

littlepanda81

Hi Blossom, I heard the guest will be able to see the march in if u take the shorter march in... maybe u can check with the co-ordinator.
If not, do a live feed if u want the long march in.

Hi Almonddust, ya, 7788 already. Here and there to touch up. Oh, for my ROM, as I did it in my HTB's condo function room, so we need to cater a lot of things, e.g. the deco. So depending what you are looking for. Some ROM at the same day as AD. Some went to ROM at fort canning.. when are u planning yrs? My BS is Z wedding. Sister company of Sanitago right.. hehe.

almonddust

Hi PP,
My ROM and AD on same day.

Morning will do the usual groom-come-fetch-the-bride event and then we will proceed to the hotel for tea ceremony.

After that we will start the ROM & followed by lunch.

Something simple is what we really like.

In fact, I told my BS that I dun want the evening gown as I would like to wear the wedding gown for the whole event.

However I will wear the kua back to my mum's house after the lunch banquet. Maybe I might change into kua half-way during lunch. Haven't decide yet :p

just wondering ... has any of u seen the bridal suite?

whenever i asked michelle if i can view the bridal suite... she always said it is taken up or subject to availability for viewing ...

have asked her twice or 3x already.... just 1 2 c how big is it as i might do my tea ceremony in the bridal suite...

littlepanda81

Hi Almonddust, yes, a lot of people is doing that currently. Most impt, is both of your preference. Must be comfortable and happy.
For us, we think AD got a lot of things to do..and quite tiring..so got it a separate day instead. More breathing space

If u do not want to have evening gown, is the package cheaper? I saw one shop in Tanjong pagar which tailor made gowns. Quite cheap.. below 800 and the quality is not bad. My friend kind of regret coz hers is DIY package and she got it more expensive in another shop.

Hi Angela, yr AD is coming soon. How come they never show u the suite before? The previous co-ordinator show us one of it. Not as spacious as we thought. U should demand to see it as it was written that there are 17 suites to choose from. The problem is, for wedding couples, they are not giving us the priority on that day. It really depends on availability of the room. This point, I really feel odd about it. We spend so much money on the banquet..

Maybe u should call her to ask her when is a better time during weekday so that u can go down to have a look...

missy_miao

Anyone had their wedding at sheraton already? Can advise me whether to take the long/short march-in?

Not sure which to take, for all the guests to be able to see us during the march-in.

jonic

Hi May, Firefly & Angela,

Ur AD is coming real soon...excited? Have you all confirmed ur details already? Care to share what decor theme & wedding favours have u all selected?

mzlt7879

Hey jonic...yes veri excited & busy now..confirmed my theme already. Will be using e black theme w red roses... hopefully its gd... and wedding favors i taking the keepsake box only.

But now I am still finalising my guests list and sadly enough, its increasing so much that Im worried I cant do e long march in... realli would like to do e long march in...

mzlt7879

Hi keh, both parents saw e actual setup and was ok w it...haha..luckily..but now my prob is with e march in. Anyone took e long march in and wats e max no of tables u all had?

I realli love e long march in....

claire_ch3

Hi Keh and May,
Brought both side parents to see the black theme too , but they still prefer the traditional one. my hubby quite like the black theme leh, hard to convince parents though.

i just met michelle.... ok let me slowly type.. hee

theme: vip - red with the gold transparent cover
normal table - matte white

love the black but my husband said no no no no no... so sad... i want the black!!!! my flower deco will be rose....

food: chose sea whelp as 1 of the dishes but pil does not like it so waiting for her reply to substitute sea whelp with other ingredients but she has agreed to change the fried glutinous rice to ee-fu noodles....

solemnization: holding @ the waterfall area but michelle said the hotel next door (asia hotel) is tearing down so heard there are debris that flew over. she mentioned this to other couples but they still insisted in holding at the waterfall area.... we too....

anyway she said she will prepare a function room for us for back up....

bridal suite: finally get to see... but 1 suite only... the bridal suite is actually their executive suite... a bit small... she showed me the venice suite.... when i said i wanted this room for my suite... she said she will try but no gurantee...

wedding favors: 50% mini jewellery case 50% heart shape salt pepper shaker

throughout the whole discussion, michelle like so robotic lor.... sigh... no sign of warmth...

also i requested for a few things:
1) 1 day room for helper - she say not confirm, subject to availability, but i mention to her long time liao

2) request for a specific banquet manager cos he was present during my food tasting n he was helpful... but she also said not confirm depend on their roster... this i understand.

3) requested for the venice bridal suite, this also not confirmed... no gurantee

4) early check in but she said she cant confirm yet..

i know somethings cant be helped but so many things not confirm.. maybe is just me being paranoid cos is only 4 things.. but i just dont feel good lor...

but i appreciate that she will help to prepare the tea n the tea set for my tea ceremony which is held in the hotel... after my solemnization...

as for my feeling, i like no feeling leh haha... maybe cos my reno is goin on now and many things happen prior to my wedding... so is like all my feelins drained liao hee...

maybe nearer to date i will start to feel excited....

agkwan

Hi May..you are sooo..lucky .I also prefer the long march in..

Hi Claire ..try your best to convince both side parents ya. My side , both my parents & PIL not even see the theme already rejected when I mentioned (just to test the water)..sob

mzlt7879

hey agkwan, sadly enough...my tables increased to about 41-42..haii tink my dream of long march in is gone....

Did any1 tried to nego for long march in even w 42 tabless??

so stresszz nw..

agkwan

waa...you have alot of guests to invite wor..hmm..Maybe you can check with the coordinator..shldn't be problem to do the long march in..

jonic

Hi May,
Wow...u really have alot of guests. Think abit diff to have long march in since you have so many tables. Maybe u can ask michele whether she can arrange for a long march in for u. But so tables might not be able to see ur march in till u r near the stage right if u opt for long march in?

Hi angela,
I'm going to meet michele to finalise my details tomolo.
Did she provide any pics when u select ur theme?
I will be having my solemnisation at the waterfall too. But urs is a sunday....the tearing down will still continue on a sunday?
Debris should be still ok...I'm more worried abt the noise.
Is ur day room for helpers stated in ur contract?
So will u be having a long or short march in?
Sorry for asking so many questions...hehe

My HTB just attended a dinner at ST yesterday. He said the service is ok....quite alot of malay waiters. The only complain he had was the food portion was not enough for 11 of them in a table. The sharkfin also abit only.

Hi Jonic,
with regards to your ques:

Did she provide any pics when u select ur theme?
- she provided the pictures and even brought us to c the actual wedding which were held yesterday... they couple used the beige table cloth with the gold transparent 'cover'..

I will be having my solemnisation at the waterfall too. But urs is a sunday....the tearing down will still continue on a sunday?
- Michelle said they do the construction on a sunday too... but i believe they will provide mike.. so should be ok

Is ur day room for helpers stated in ur contract?
- is stated in the contract but also stated subject to availability... but i informed her i need 1 day room b4 signing the contract liao

So will u be having a long or short march in?
- i am having max 22 tables... so she showed me 2 march in...
for the long march (L shaped), they wont be able to arrange for the lighted back drop... but for the short march they can cos of the angle of the stage... this 1 i also buay song, cos i wanted short march n the lighted stage but she say cant...sigh... may need to give and take....

do let me know the outcome of your discussion

jonic

Hi angela,

Thanks for ur reply!
Ya...they will provide mike for solemnisation but this is wat Sun Sun told me.
I tot if the day room is stated in the contract....they should provide it. Oh no....I'm supposed to have a day room too.
You mean u want the long march in but there wun be lighted stage? How come like this leh? Aiyo...she really not flexible leh.
Sure....will let u know abt my discussion.

claire_ch3

Hi Keh, I didn't tell our parents it's the black theme until they went to see it.. haa..

hi jonic and angela, can i ask u how long beforehand do u have to fix the appt with michele?

i've gone for my food tasting already. have u all done so?

Anyway, i find that it has been very difficult to contact michele as she is always not at her desk when i call her. not too happy abt it...

agkwan

Hi Claire , think all coordinators are like that. My coordinator is Nelson and I previously also have a hard time looking for him.

jonic

Hi Claire,

I had gone for my food tasting last mth and abt 1 wk after my food tasting, michele emailed me to meet up with her to finalise my details.
So how's ur food tasting?
I never call her...I will just send her an email everytime and wait for her to reply.

mzlt7879

Hey all..ya my guest list increased 11 tables more..faint.. but aniwae more or less fixed already. Now down to 39Tables including 2 VIPs..

Michele told me max 35tables for long march in..sob sob..i realli wan e long march in & im nt worried about e other side nt able to see mi bcos we arranged for e live-feed w my videographer. If cant do e long march, then defeat e purpose of a live-feed! How to push for tat..someone teach me..haii..

Jonic: U mean w many tables, short march in is better cos every1 can see? But far end in ballrm 3-4 cant see right..

Angela: Rubbing my eyes hard, u mean e lighted backdrop is determined by either e long or short march in...??? Im confused...hw cum I was nt told man..my wedding 8 days time...so which march in k hv lighted backdrop? I wan long march + lighted..

i used to call her.. even left message in her phone mail but she rarely calls back... in the end i give up...

email her and wait for her reply...i give her the most 1 week to reply and she does lor..... sometimes b4 1 week...

my hubby is th e1 who emailed her... think he emailed her 1 week before the appointment...

hi may,

that is what she told me... she show me the different arrangements for the table and march in... for the short march... which is diagonally
across the ball room... that is the short march and the stage will be placed at the end of the march (diagonally), an angle which enable the lighted stage...

as the long march which is the L shape for me, the stage is placed like straight in front... that has no lighted back drop... hope u are not confused... hee... sorry english not good....

actually i also dissappointed that i cant have the lighted backdrop if having the long march....

think u better confirm with her regarding ur march in....

jonic

Hi angela,

Finalised my details with michele already. Feel tat she's less robotic....and will laugh with us...haha

The details I have finalised are:
Theme - Black linen with Red roses (same as May)

Wedding Favors - 50% ceramic keepsake box 50% heart shape salt pepper shaker (same as u....actually tot of getting 3 different favours but seems like we can only choose 2)

Solemnisation - Same as u....we told her we would still like to hold it at e waterfall.

Bridal suite - Saw some photos of the suites...and they look similar...so we just leave it to her to give us wat's available...haha

Day room - She didn't mention subject to availability. Just said tat will let us know the room no. on the actual day.

March in - Will be taking the long march in as I will be having max 27 tables....asked her abt the lighted backdrop...she said it's standard will confirm have regardless long or short march in. Hmm...just to check u will be having all the ballrooms for ur lunch? Maybe u have lesser tables tats why they will shift the position of the stage and can't have the lighted backdrop?

Hi May,

So how's ur discussion today?

ahping

just want to understand that if we took the long march in there will not be the lighted backdrop?

Cos michelle does not mentioned about this? she told us that the backdrop will be the default one with the lights..

mzlt7879

Hey Jonic.... failure to get the long march in cos my table nos 39 + 2 ...I wanted to do away with the 2 spare tables but hubb say risky.. veri sad but hubby says its ok..most impt is ballrm can fit all...wat to do..no choice.

070707anlinna

Hi hi gers. I really run out of time and have no time to drop by this forum... Anyway you guys can check out my webby for more info... anlinna.multiply.com .if you wanna see all my stuff you have to add me wor.

yc_mw

Hi Ah Ping,

Tink the default lights that Michelle meant is the 'Christmas Lights' liao. This is the Default for all backdrops oredi.

Hi May,

Wah! Urs is tis coming Sunday ler!!! Muz be so excited! So, how's ur preparations liao?

janjanblues

Just went for my food tasting last Sat..the experience was good! However, found that most of the dishes were quite salty..i will also be changing some food items..

can anyone tell me which dessert is good? we tried the mango pudding with fresh strawberries..but very milky and the old folks dun like it..

haven collected cards to send for printing...very stress! hmm...any cheap printer for recommendation?

mzlt7879

hey piglet..now super excited..jus couple of days more to go..hopefully its fun..

Janic, i was there on sat as well & seems super packed w 2 weddings & 3 food tasting ah.. was e quality of food compromised?

Hmmmm I like the mango sago dessert...taking tat for my upcoming sun wedding..

As for ur cards, u k pm me..

agunesu

I'm new here! Just found this link yesterday and was keen to join in the discussion too!

Signed up with ST during the recent wedding show. My date is 13 Sep 08! Same day as Keh! But mine is the lunch package.

Do add me in. Thx! :)

Dear all, below is michelle's reply to my email regarding the march in & lighted backdrop... hope it helps...

5) Would like to clarify the following: as per our discussion on last Thursday, you stated that for the L - shaped march in, the stage backdrop will not be lighted. But for the short diagonal march in, the stage backdrop will be lighted. Pls clarify as I thought the lighted backdrop is the default backdrop for all table arrangements.

M: Its our default for the angled stage. (short march in) as we do not and will not sell Ballroom 1 & 2 exclusively therefore for most and in future all wedding its only the angled stage that will be used.

janjanblues

Hi May,

Congrats for ya coming wedding....yeah, last sat was super packed! but i had my food tasting at the li bai restaurant itself, so service was good & food quality was good too!! my aunts had praises for the pan-fried cod fish & it's definitely my fav as i took 2 big pieces...=)

anyway, cant pm u as it doesnt seem to work..u may email me at [email protected]

thanks!!

yc_mw

14 Oct '07 - May (Sun-Dinner)
18 Oct '07 - Firefly (Thurs- Dinner)
05 Nov '07 - Joey (Mon - Dinner)
12 Nov '07 - Claire (Mon Dinner)
21 Oct '07 - Angela (Sun - Lunch)
29 Nov '07 - Jonic (Thur - Dinner)
03 Dec '07 - Janice (Mon - Dinner)
09 Dec '07 - Anlinna (Sun - Lunch)
05 Jan '08- Piglet (Sat - Lunch)
08 Mar '08- almonddust (Sat- Lunch)
13 Mar '08- PP (Thur - Dinner)
02 Jun '08- Josey (Mon - Dinner)
13 Sep '08- agunesu (Sat- Lunch)
13 Sep '08- Keh (Sat- Dinner)
05 Oct '08- Denise (Sun- Dinner)
01 Nov '08- Sassy_girl (Sat - Dinner)
07 Dec '08- nebear (Sun - Lunch)
08 Dec '08- min10 (Mon- Dinner)

agkwan

My friends just attended the wedding dinner at ST on Monday. They mentioned the food is good, slight salty but the food serving too little and endup still feel hungrey after the dinner end. Think I need to speak to the coordinator when I meet him as I dun want that to happen on my wedding day

jonic

Ya...think recently alot of complains abt food portion too little....so gals having their lunch/dinner soon...rem to feedback!

agunesu

Hi Angela,

Re the reply from your coordinator, Michelle, does she mean that most upcoming weddings would only be able to do the short march in?

I just met up with my coordinator earlier,Irene. And I asked her again about the long march in and she said not a problem as the ballrm can take up to 45 tables or so.

Thx piglet for updating the list! :p

sassy_girl

Has anyone checked with ST if they do provide the necessary equipment (eg. projector and long cable) for live feed?

Mentioned to my VG today that i needed live feed and he's charging me $100 for the long cable.

agunesu

Hi Sassy_girl,

I've kinda mentioned this to my coordinator and she said that it should be provided by our own VG. LCD projector can be provided by the hotel though..depends whether you have asked for it to be included in your contract terms ba...

yc_mw

May,

CONGRATS!

Wishing u & Hb a harmonious & blissful couple life ahead!

*P/s: got photos try to update us, okies!*

claire_ch3

Hi Jonic,
My foodtasting was generally ok, but fell below my expectations given that i had high expectations of the Li Bai restaurant. The duck was too tough, but parents liked that cos it's special, thus reflected to the chef. They felt that the jap noodles and cod fish was special too. But cod fish was not as good as Mariott's one.

jonic

Hey May,
Hope I'm not too late...I guess u must be enjoying ur bridal suite now...Wish u have a blissful marriage!

Hi Claire,
I see...so will u be having e cod fish for ur dinner? Actually, I had high expectations of the food too but find it ok after the food tasting. But some of the dishes are quite unique. Have u finalise ur details?