Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

jonic

Hi Joey,
I suppose there's sharkfin inside the soup cos the name of the dish is "Shark’s Fin Soup “Capital†Style". Haven't discuss the theme yet....she said will discuss in Oct leh. How abt u?

Hi PP,
I wun be going for the show too. Think we have to count on May for pics. :p

bizibee

Hi Jonic:

I will be meeting up with michele next week to discuss. I not going to the wedding show also. Advise us whether the shark fin soup taste good after your food tasting.

mzlt7879

Hi gals...hopefully I can capture some nice photos to share w u all....

Jonic..ya remember to share e feedback on e food w us after ur food tasting..me so excited..1 week after urs...

nee

May, remember to share with me oso tho my AD is over liao... but love to see nice pix

firefly_leslie

Hi Jonic

My food tasting is 1 day before yours on Friday 14 Sept and my AD is 18 Oct (Thurs). My food tasting list quite similar to yours except I chose PiPa duck, my capital sharksfin I requested no duck. Was thinking to try the COD fish too but choose the Garoupa as we think more pple can accept this dish. some pple say must "have head have tail"

I havent decide my ballroom theme so quite keen to pop by to see the wedding show to have a better feel. Maybe will gatecrash if dont wanna pay the fee. haha.

I have yet to print my cards. Could I have your printing template for reference?

My email : [email protected]

mzlt7879

Hi Firefly,

Hey ur AD 4 days after mine... wow but ur food tasting is earlier than me..im slow lao..haha... must remember to update..thankszz..

Btw I got my cards back fr focal ads last sat & im pleased w it.. they hv available templates if u r keen & they aso happen to hv sheraton logo in case u need

pekkle

I just did my site-visit today. Ballroom 1 & 2 has got really high ceiling, but the decor of ballroom and stage quite 'obit' though. Hehe.. But the co-ordinator jane is nice and friendly. I feel that overall the hotel is quite old-looking. Heard from jane that they will set up a black and a white theme on the wedding show, have read thru the thread that the set-up is not very nice, I'm very concerned about the ballroom set-up, the aisle stands, centrepiece and the stage back-drop. Could anybody share their AD wedding ballrm setups pics with me? [email protected]

jonic

Hi Firefly,
Sent u my printing template. I think u can get the template from AWT too. I didn't get from AWT and just provide my printer with ST's address. Ya...heard some pple say must "have head have tail" but we not superstitous and our parents are ok with codfish. Must give us ur feedback after ur food tasting.

Hi May,
I collected my cards from them last wed. Didn't know they have sheraton logo too...haha

mzlt7879

Hi Jonic...so happened that I asked for it and they happen to hv e Sheraton logo..tink was fr previous couple so I used that...

Has Michele gotten back to u on e venue/time for ur food tasting?

jonic

Hi May,
Hehe..ic...I didn't use e sheraton logo...used a cartoon icon instead.:p She got back to me already...at Li Bai 7pm.

littlepanda81

Hi May, thanks ya. looking forward to your pics..
Hi jojo, are u going to the wedding show? Maybe u should..then u are able to see the full setup...

email1706

Need some advice urgently, I'm torn between Orchard Hotel & Sheraton Tower. Any comments Orchard's foods & bridal suite? ST provide a wider range of foods but their bridal suite didn't impress us, while OH provide irresistible wedding perks if we book during their wedding show.

firefly_leslie

Hi Stevis,

We chose Sheraton because it gives us a WOW feeling when u step into the hotel. Love the grand staircase that leads to the level 2 ballroom. Though the hotel looks a bit old from the outside, the ballroom, cocktail area and washrooms has been renovated. As for the bridal suite, we agree that its pretty small but we rather our guest enjoy the place and have better memories ...Just my 2 cts of opinion lah.

Perhaps u can pop down to their wedding show this Sunday to have a better feel? In terms of flexibilty in perks, they are one of the most flexi ones.

bbp,

i love ur hair.... simpple nice n chic....oh.... i want!!!

u look so pretty... i also want... haha...

btw, u have the same outdoor gown as me..... haha

do they provide every1 the same outdoor ps dress ?

janjanblues

mine's a 10 pax food tasting on 6 Oct...& nelson is rushing me for the menu liaoz...didnt know must inform them the food so early...

jonic

Hi Angela,
Mine is 7pm at Li Bai. We might bump into each other later...hehe...so u attending the show tomolo?

Hi stevis,
My food tasting is for 10pax...think initially it's for 6pax too...we bargained for 10pax.

Hi Janice,
Think we must info them at least 2 wks b4 food tasting...ur coordinator should let u know. U going for the show tomolo?

hi jonic,

mine was in opal room .... the 1 with 2 tables..... me not attending the show tomo.

but i went to peek at the prep for tomo.. when i went they are still preparing... I LOVE the BLACK theme.... i really love it... is black and gold... but my fh says my mum will die of heart attack whe she sees so many black table cloth on my wedding day hahaha... but i really love it...

the other theme is the usual white theme, nice n normal but i find it boring lor.....

hope i can have the black theme... pray pray...

jonic

Hi Angela,

Ya...I know u were in opal room...hehe...saw ur name on the monitor outside e room...did u see me walking pass ur room? Seems like alot of couple having their food tasting today. Went to peek at the ballroom too after my food tasting too. The black theme seems not bad...very classy. Sounded my FMIL out...she's ok with the black theme too...hehe

So how u find ur food? Wat are the dishes u selected? Have to make some changes to my dishes...duno whether can have 2nd round of food tasting or not? Ur coordinator is michele too rite? Did she show her face during ur food tasting?

almonddust

I'm new here... Am planning to go down to the wedding show that ST is having on Sun 15Sept. Me and FHTB met up with Irene on Sat, and find her quite pleasant and friendly.

We visited the grand ballroom and the toilet! Ha... Quite grand and new and we like the high ceiling and pillarless. We managed to see the actual layout as one couple was having their wedding lunch. Was pretty impressed!

Hopefully their perks at the wedding show will be equally impressive too!

almonddust

I need advise.... Did you all have a 7 course menu or 9 course menu for your banquet? This is because i'm planning to have a lunch banquet but was given 7 course.

Am planning to confirm by this week. I like the ballroom but worried that i'm getting a bad deal?

I've attached their package here:
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

Sheraton Lunch Package_word format.doc (40.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

firefly_leslie

Hi almonddust,

Usually lunch is 1 course less than dinner menu. I think you package quite standard. Usually they have better deals during wedding show. Did u go to the wedding show today?

I have signed up during the 2006 wedding show and so far my experience with them has been good. My coordinator is Nelson. Are you liasing with him? I just had my food tasting and all the elderlys commented good except the fish a bit salty.

firefly_leslie

Hi Jonic &amp; May

Just had my food tasting on Friday 14 Sep &amp; all the food ok except the sharks fin and the fish :

1) Deluxe Traditional Hors d’ Oeuvre
(Combination of Suckling Pig, Roast Duck, Vegetarian Goose and Drunken Chicken, garnished with Jellyfish) - Like the drunken chicken and the vege goose

2) Shark’s Fin Soup “Capital†Style
(Dried Scallops, Fish Maw and Mushrooms) - I have taken out the duck , my uncle commented his bowl dun hv fins but my mum's bowl got a lot. some must hightlight to banquet mgr on the portioning.

3) Sliced Abalone with Sea Cucumber and Hong Kong Seasonal Vegetables - Good

4) Steamed or Pan-fried Canadian Cod with Garlic and Spring Onion Sauce - I tried steamed cod-fish, as its cantonese style so a bit salty.

5) Roast Pi Pa Duck - great taste, big portion too. everyone got 3 to 4 pcs.

6) Braised Seasonal Vegetables with Chinese Mushrooms, topped with Crabmeat Sauce - Quite ordinary but Good

7) Fish Noodles with Prawns “Japanese Styleâ€
- Unique as this is one of their signature dishes

8) Sweetened Water Chestnut Cream with Egg,served hot - Like the freshness of the chestnut. Hightlighted that on actual dinner, we want less sweet

Jonic,

Btw , may i know how much u paid for your pkg and when u sign up ? I noted you have 9 courses and your fish noodles is with lobster instead of mine is with prawn. Did u try the Cod fish in pan-fried or steam ?I wonder can i get them to upgrade for me as well?

Pls advise.

jonic

Hi Firefly,

PM u! My fish noodles is supposed to be with lobster as stated in my contract but I was given prawn instead too. Will feedback to michele.
My cod fish was also steamed...think pan-fried should taste better...I forget to indicate pan-fried so was given steamed one too. But will be changing this dish to garoupa.
Abt the shark's fin soup, I saw fins in my bowl but forget to ask e rest whether they had fins or not :p
I tried the Marinated Chicken smoked with Jasmine Tea Leaves but will be changing to Roast Crispy Chicken with Garlic Sauce cos think some pple cannot accpet this dish.
My veg dish is e same as urs...I find it quite gd but FMIL &amp; FSIL said the mushroom quality is not gd...so might be changing e mushrooms to something else.
My dessert is Sweetened Sago Cream with Mango...it's refreshing and not too sweet.

littlepanda81

Hi Gals, anybody took photos in the wedding show today? Hee... interested to see the black theme and the gold.. I thot they are going the "DIY" kind of concept?

yc_mw

Hi PP,

Here are some pictures that I've taken today.. But, as forgot to bring my camera, thus using only my hp, the resolution is abit poor.. Hope tat those who got go today can share some more pictures ba.

534665.jpg

Hydrangea &amp; Eustoma

534666.jpg

Close up of Table setting

534667.jpg

Another theme.

mzlt7879

yo all...i mus say i'm impressed w their bridal show tis round. Good..want to share some photos w u all..let mi see hw to do it..

Hi jonic,

chose the following 7 dishes as mineis lunch:

Appetizer (every1 said nice)
- Mini Octopus
- Suckling Pig
- Drunken Chicken
- Layered Beancurd Roll
Shark’s Fin Soup with Dried Scallop, Sea Cucumber, Fish Maw and Shredded Abalone (every1 said nice)
Roast Pi Pa Duck (every1 said nice)
Sauteed Scallops with Se Whelk and Hong Kong Seasonal Vegetables (my FIL doesnt like the se whelk but I like it, have highligted to michelle whether can replace the sea whelk with other seafood.... waiting for her reply)
Steamed Canadian Cod with Mushrooms and Seasonal Vegetables (every1 said nice)
Fried Glutinous Rice with Preserved Meat and Sausages (the rice like not very fragrant, tot should taste better with the sausage n preserved meat... FSIL suggest changing to ee-fu noodles cos have tried the noodles n every1 like it)
Hundred years Togetherness (taste sour, tot suppose to be sweet or at least not sour)
(Lily Bud, Dried Longan, Red Dates, Gingko Nuts and Lotus Seed in Syrup, served hot)

is their japanese style prawn noodles really nice??? if really nice then might change to that...

ya michelle is my co-ord.... she showed up a while asking me how's the food ....

did she ask u?

i love the black theme... the white theme is like so normal.... like normal wedding ... haha.... i 1 the abnormal weding haha

jonic

Hi Angela,

Ya...I feel tat their jap style prawn noodles is nice and unique. She didn't even show her face to me at all. I wonder how long will she take to get back to us. I like the black theme too...think most probably will have the black theme if there's no better ones. :p

almonddust

Hi Firefly,
Thanks for your advise.
My coordinator is Irene. Does anyone has any experience with her? If don't mind, can pm me your experience?

Hi Piglet,
Thanks for sharing the pics here. I was really hoping to go for the wedding show but HTB last minute had to rush back to work, no choice.
Nevertheless, i'm glad that you and May went.

How was the perks? Can share?

Can i ask did they show you all the so-called "intelligent lighting" from the ceiling lights?

mzlt7879

Oh my god..sori cant upload, tink file nt compatible..maybe u all k view at my multiply: destinee7879.. i loaded all the photos my hubby taken today..

bizibee

Hi jonic:

Thank for your reply.

Hi May:

Saw your photos taken at the wedding show. Do we need to top up any amount for the floral arrangement? I getting quite confused, not sure which themes to choose from. Any btbs had already decide which themes for your banquent? Personnelly, i still prefer the previous wedding show decor, based on the floral as seen, ST is getting more &amp; more stingy on your floral.

Did anyone agreed with me?

pekkle

May, thanks for sharing the pics you have taken. Joey, got to totally agree with you that the floral arrangement sucks big time. The florist really cannot make it, sorry just trying to be frank. I'm utterly dissapointed with the flower settings, I only find that the flower stand is the best looking of all. As for the centrepiece, all look terrible, not impressive at all. I mean I've seen really really nicer ones at other hotels. I'm really worried now, cos can you imagine for a wedding show the standard for the floral is already so lousy, wat about the AD? I'm very particular about floral settings, guess even if top up the standard would also not be there. But the perks offered are pretty good though, guess really got to compromise.

mzlt7879

Hey joey..i believe for the std floral decor ..there is no need to top up..but for more elaborate ones, u hv to. As for the floral deco, actually i would say its better as compared to previously. I tink for e last bridal show, the one tat they showcase is based on top up...usually their guest table floral is quite limited..tat is aso something I cannot stand.. but if u dun mind topping up, I think petals &amp; leaves will be able to come up w someting tat looks more pleasant.

littlepanda81

Thanks Piglet and May for the wonderful photos.
Really appreicate it.. So personally, how do you feel about the deco in your personnally opionion? Are there a lot of sign up on that day?

Agree with Joey that the flora deco is not really fantastic.as compared to other hotels like Oriental.. but we need to compromise.. the perks are good.. I think.. well, my friend always said.. who really cares about the deco if most of your guest are relatives? They are there for good food and they will never know how much we have spent too..

How was the food and the suites?

yc_mw

PP,
The suites are ok la. Not accepatable oso bo bian ma, since oredi inked our name on the contract liao. :p

Food wise, I've not gone for food tasting yet, but ve been to Li Bai for dinner before, so pretty confident with their food. I only went to the setups and took some photos, I din join the actual show.

yc_mw

Juz to bring the list forward..

Sept '07- SF
5 Nov '07 -Joey (Mon - Dinner)
12 Nov '07 - Claire (Mon Dinner)
21 Oct '07 - Angela (Sun - Lunch)
29 Nov '07- Jonic (Thur - Dinner)
3 Dec '07- Janice (Mon - Dinner)
9 Dec '07- Anlinna (Sun - Lunch)
5 Jan '08- Piglet (Sat - Lunch)
13 Mar '08- PP (Thur - Dinner)
02 Jun '08- Josey (Mon - Dinner)
5 Oct '08- Denise (Sun- Dinner)
1 Nov '08- Sassy_girl (Sat - Dinner)
7 Dec '08- nebear (Sun - Lunch)

yc_mw

Hi almondust,

U can check out my multiply account for some photos of the Intelligent lightings. I took some pictures of it some tiome back. It's under Shoot-out of Sheraton.

My multiply Id is elsis.