Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi tssr,
where will you like to hold your lunch. I suppose will be in the pavilion or siloso ballroom right? as it's quite hot to have it outdoor during noon time. Maybe can think of the crowd u have in mind... eg, if got lots of older relatives, then difficult to make them go take buffet. But if u have lots of young, and prefer a casual style, then buffet sounds fun.

Wow, long time never log in and seems like there're many more Rasa brides! Congrats all!

Anyway, haven't been doing any sourcing or preparation for my wedding. Just wanna check, any ex-Rasa brides here who had their dinner at Pavilion and solemnisation at the lawn? Did you all request for special decor? From hotel florist or outside parties? Anyone met up with the hotel florist? Can share your experience and pics? Thanks much!

Dear Girls, I'm a RASA bride too! hehe, my AD will be on 27-Jan-2008 too!

Noreen, Lil_olive, we all share the same date!

hmm.. but i do have a puzzle thought though.. My FH and I have just confirmed our booking with RASA and will be receiving the agreement from our co-ordinator tomorrow. We'll be taking the Buffet Dinner at Siloso Ballroom. hmm... however, actually during our visit to RASA on 14-Apr, we do have an intention to take lunch at Pavilion. But we were being informed that the Pavilion area might be affected by some renovation works due to IR development during our AD period, so he did not want us to confirm the booking then.

Then in the middle of last week, we got a reply from our co-ordinator that the renovation period will be from around Oct this year until Apr next year... Therefore, we had no choice but to change ours to dinner at Siloso Ballroom instead.

Thus, I'm wondering if anyone here is affected by this renovation thingy? It seems that quite a number of BTBs here will be having weddings at Pavilion during this period too... Noreen, Lil_olive, did both of you receive this info from your co-ordinator too?

I find it abit strange, and indeed worrying too..

Hi Luna0611, Thanks for the info. I am shocked to hear about the reno works. When I signed for Pavilion in Jan07, I did ask my coordinator is there will be any reno works but I was not told abt the IR development (tink Rasa also just know it themselves recently). After seeing your post, I called up Rasa. They told me that things are not firm yet. But it seems from your coordinator that it is more or less sure. So I asked them how can they not be consistent in the release of the news. They told me they will have a tentage built at the beach in case pavilion cannot be used. I was so 'angry'. Signed tthe contract cos of the pavilion. Now that it cant be used, we got to use some tentage. Even if use tentage, it will not be as nice as the pavilion and cant imagine staying in the bridal suit with the noise disruption or having the outdoor reception area with the noise, not forgeting the dust from the renovation. ahhh... Then he say they will only confirm that there will be reno, 3 to 4 mths before the reno. Wah.. that only leave us with not much time to search for a good alternative hotel and most hotel will be fully booked by now for the mth of Dec. Told him that Rasa got to make good arrangements like compensation etc to the couples affected and let us know asap. Brides who are having wedding at the pavillion, we got to make appeal!

21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther - Pavilion

Sorry Girls, just understand from my co-ordinator that the renovation is still not confirmed yet, it could be in Year 2008 or 2009 or 2010..

Sorry if I have gave all of us here a shock.

Hi Lunabride,

Thanks for the clarification. But something I do not understand is... if it is going to be so late in 2008/2009/2010, why your coordinator does not allow you to book Pavilion and make representation to you that the renovation period is bet Oct07 to Apr08? Again, since its not confirmed.. it may be 2007 too... they should give us confirmation that the weddings in this period will not be affected... Cant stand this uncertainty...

Hi Rasa Brides...
Just got a re-assurance from my coordinator that everything is in control.. it shouldn't affect our AD. hopefully all will turns out well!!

hmm.. at this point of time, i think they should be working out something.. Something which has the least impact on everyone.

Looking back, I think since pavilion has already been blocked by Noreen and Lil_olive, and we've came after the bridal show, we have to accept that and take Siloso ballroom.
My co-ordinator mentioned that it will be very comfortable too.

I also certainly don't want to "fight" the venue with Noreen and Lil_olive since weddings are supposed to be happy events, each and everyone of us is hoping to get the best of everything too..

Think is all a miscommunication, I'm sure RASA is also trying very hard not to alarm all of us, and to make things as smooth going as possible, despite the renovation works..

Hi LuNa, i suppose all is a miscommunication. Let's all be happy Rasa BTB. I am sure if there is anything, Rasa will try their best to inform us as early or have prepare a better backup plan for us..

hi gals.. i jus saw a thread about reno works. er.. my coordinator didn't even tell me anything abt it. my wedding is in Nov 07. Will it be affected? (shld i call the hotel to ask?) i definitely can't afford to change venue now

hello gals..

i remembered asking my co-ordinator the first question that i met her up early last month.. is will there be any reno work around the hotel area.

at that time she mentioned that all reno work has almost completed and only left the area near the swimming pool.. which is very far off to both ballroom...

guess.. we dun have to be alarm until they really call us and confirm that there might be some reno going on..

Hi Purplebride,
I got my invitation card from RASA yesterday, still the old design, which is the white card with Wedding by the Sea on the cover. My coordinator told me the new design still yet to be out. Think the later batch of brides would get the new card look.. hey gals, u all so blessed, hehe...
And here, i would like to give compliment to RASA service. As we intended to go down RASA personally this weekend to get the cards. But Shirlene offer us a better service. She engaged a despatch to send the cards to my office, within 3 hours after i have spoken to her. Wow, i was so impressed of their good service. And we can indeed save a trip going down to Sentosa this weekend, hehe...

Pris, I agree that Shirlene is very good! After she came back, I sent her a long list of email of questions and etc, she was really very nice to answer all my questions.. hee hee

gals, I have arranged for food tasting next week and to settle the layout and etc, very excited.
Hope to have lesser tables so that I can have the march in that I want...
Now that I have abt a mth to my AD, getting really panicky abt everything..

Hi Faith and all BTB!

Wat's happening here? I was not on this thread for sometime and nw saw the reno issue. Wat happen??? Can anyone share more details?

My co-ordinator till today den send me the agreement since the wedding show... abit disappointed leh.... hai....

Pls keep me posted of any news pls...

Dear all...

I have checked with James tat the Pavilon will not undergo any reno lah... is just a false alarm... not to worry... hee...

Hi Pris,
I guess i grew to like the cream coloured seashell card already, though at first it didn't look that outstanding.... moreover, have a lot of space to print all the info u want.

Hi Clueless,
Wow, I'm excited for you.

Just joined this forum and I'm also a rasa BTB

Did anyone do or going to do their solomization before dinner? How did it go and was there a wet weather plan?

I'm hoping to do solomization either at the garden lawn or beach but scared of rain

Hi DON,
I will be having my solomization before dinner at the lawn area too. Rasa will prepare a special room if it's raining on the day itself. No worries no their arrangment.

Yup don.. they will check with weather forecast every 3 hrs... Infact on my wedding.. its one of the worst hit rain season.. but we still manage to have it at the lawn with beautiful weather...

Dear all rasa brides...
why not we create a Rasa bride friendster account so that all of us can be gathered in it.
If you wan, I think i can go and create.. jus PM me your email addie and i shall invite u once it is ready

Hi Don,

when's ur AD? my solemnisation @ the lawn on 16th dec 06. It was just one day b4 the non-stop rainy days till jan. SO keep your fingers cross & Pray!! :D Having said that, Rasa do have wet weather plan for u, so not to worry. ;)

Hi Pris, breekz and superbee!

thanks for the reply. i'm so worried abt the rain >.< glad to hear that everyone had nice weather and all. praying hard i get good weather too =)

my ad still pending cos mummy hasn't agreed to the date FH &amp; i wanted. but we already booked rasa cos we love the resort feel.

just in case anyone wans to know, i was told that they will renovating parts of the hotels interior next year.

Welcome Don!

had my food tasting after Shirleen came back.. =)

We choose the following:-
1. Rasa’s Deluxe Wedding Appetizer Platter
(Prawn with Avocado &amp; Fruit Salad, Golden Seafood Rolls, Shark’s Fin with Scrambled Egg &amp; Crabmeat, Jelly Fish with Coriander and Chinese BBQ Pork)
We all find it okay… portion was good…

2. Braised Shark’s Fin with Shredded Dried Scallops &amp; Crabmeat
We like this dish as well… =)

3. Steamed Chicken with Chinese Herbs in Lotus Leaf
We had mixed feeling abt this dish, personally I like this dish, I think its noce but my parents and in laws think that not too good. So we will probably change it roast chicken with crackers instead.

4. Steamed Fillet of Snow Cod Fish with Black Beans, Garlic and Soya Sauce
We were a little disappointed with this dish, cos it felt too tough… But we will still keep the dish but we’ve asked the chef to keep it in check.

5. Steamed Live Prawns with “Hua Teow†Wine
We like this dish, its nice!

6. Sea Cucumber with Braised Chinese Mushrooms &amp; Broccoli Roses
I dun take Sea cucumber so cannot comment, but the presentation is nice…
However by this dish, we were quite full… hee hee

7. Wok-fried Ee Fu Noodles with Crabmeat &amp; Chives
This dish is okay, after reading purplebride previous post, was tempted to change to “Fragrant Rice with Chicken &amp; Chinese Sausage in Lotus Leaf†but my in laws felt that everyone will be quite full by then, so we kept the noodles…

8. Sweetened Red Bean Cream &amp; Lotus Seeds
This is nice! I usually dun like sweet stuffs, but I think its good! But my parents in law preferred the “Scented Yam Paste with Gingko Nut†cos they had it before and think that its better… =)

Overall, I think the portion is generous and sufficient for some tables of 11. However, we felt the food was not hot enough and is quite worried on how they will handle it on the actual day with so many tables. But as they have handles countess wedding banquet, we decide to leave it on their hands to manage the timing and etc...

how i'm just worried abt the parking cos i have alot of guest driving instead of taking the bus. Was encouraging them to take the bus as there are limited parking in the hotel and weekends are usually quite crowded, some are already complaining abt parking in the beach carpark..

Just hope that everything will be good and pray for no rain that day!

Hi Pris,
I did my printing with Tdragon. Am quite satisfied with overall service and price. Just that they're not very comfortable with English, so the wordings etc take sometime to confirm.

thanks Clueless, for the feedback on food tasting. I'm also quite torn whether to have (3) or change to smtg else as the chicken does not seem to be tender that time i tried.

hello breekz...

thanks for the friendster account! please add me in!

hello gals..

i have been MIA for a long time..

hello purplebride..

can i check with u.. are printing your own cards or just the inserts? i was thinking of getting my own card design as well.. but not sure how much does it cost for one card....

I'm new to this Forum and also a Rasa BTB.
I will be having my solemnization this Aug at the waterfront lawn ^_^
My AD will be next year Dec at the Pavilion.

Did anyone hold their solemnization Lunch outside before? Was it very hot?

I am still deciding whether to do the Lunch outside or in the function room ... ?

hi jasline.. depending on wat time is yr solemnization... mine is evening time..
If yours is a lunch, i suppose it be late morning around noon time which will be v hot...
I think it is better to have lunch in aircon room... infact during evening time, the weather is also quite warm even though no direct sunlight.

Gee, thanks for your advice ^_^
That's what my HTB say as well ...

By the way, is there anything that I need to prepare for? Did you have an emcee and your own selection of march in song?

Hi jasline, as mine is a christian solemnization, i engage my church elder as Solemnizer and the interpreter is the Emcee. As for the March in, I chose Canon in D. For 1st march in of the dinner, 'Angels brought me here' by Guy Sebastian... 2nd March in 'Forever Love' by LeeHom. You can check with Rasa for the songs. I saw that they have a whole book of love songs CD collections.

anyone having outdoor solemnisation in decemeber? i am still wondering if i shd hold my church wedding outdoors .. but decemember is such a rainy season ...

Dear all Rasa BTB and ex-Brides, I am new here. I am planning to hold my solemnization at Lawn and banquet at Pavilion on 22 Feb 08.

Can i ask if anyone of you managed to get complimentary house wine from Rasa?

For those that got the deal during the bridal show, can you share your package deal with me? I like to noe what am i short change off leh... although i noe i can't possible get the same deal... please.... my email is [email protected]

hi jingzjingz... just go for it and give it a try. It does not rain every single day in dec.
But u must be prepared to give up if it really rains. anyway rasa will give u a backup suite for solemnizaton if it rains. The suite also quite nice.

Just decided to have my solemnization on AD, in bridal suite balcony....
it will be a private affair, just our families and close friend... hopefully in time to watch sunset...

Hi JingzJingz,
i think you should go for it, agreed with Breekz that it may not rain everyday... who knows you might just be the lucky one....

Anyone knows when the new designed invites will be out?

Hi Everyone!

just popping in to see how everyone is doing. my own wedding is very far away but i'm so excited lol.

did anyone here use their own florist instead of the rasa one? i'm thinking of doing up the place differently =)

i'm thinking of doing that too! hee.. thinking of bringing in more flowers! but dunno how this can be done more differently.. think external cheaper than Rasa's cos they using the hotel florist..

any ideas to share?? lol..

i do have an idea of what i want but i do not know if it is feasible lol

i dun wan to use the arches cos the rasa only provide half arches. I wanna have a full arch with either roses or some other nice flowers. for the chairs along the aisle i was thinking of getting small bouquet of pink flowers attached to the side.

for the dinner, i wanna do up the stage area cos a lot of pictures will be taken on the stage. I'm hoping to create a soft romantice backdrop with fabric and flowers.

all these will need a good florist to design and i dun know if rasa's florist can do or not.

how about you gals? thought of anything yet?

I am okay with the arches.

For Dinner, find the table centerpiece very plain and not classy. Wonder what option can I take but I dun wan to spent too much on Florist for banquet leh... agree that the stage not glam enough too... still thinking of how to do it makes it shine with stars :p

I am considering external florist for ROM at the lawn cos Rasa quoted me S$400... Last round at another hotel only got quoted with S$200 for florist arrangement with dropping and curtin. Think that is more worth it.

Hv check with Rasa and they allow our own florist to do up the place at our own cost.

We can share more ideas... I gonna check out their night event in Pavilion before deciding if I need to do up the banquet.

hi jingjing, icecherry, libra, tssr, Don, jasline, clueless &amp; purplebride. Join us at Shangri-La rasa friendster. You can either PM me your friendster email address or add [email protected] (Rasa's friendster account)to your friendster... :p

Anyone thinking or sourcing their own wedding favors instead of choosing RASA's? they only have 2 variety of the candle gel and chocolates..

very limited right?

ya thats one thing that is not so good of rasa.
Limited favours. I ever thot of using my own favours too but its too expensive and additional price to pay

Another problem i face is... I couldnt confirm the number of guests... if i dun get enuff, then some guests will not have the favour. If i get too many, then it will be wasted... Thats why we stick to rasa's favour

Hi CN,

I actually planning to source out my own favor, cos didnt' quite like their gel candle and chocolate. Rasa is in the mid of getting new favor in but I don't think it will be enough time for my wedding in 2 wks time.
One option which my planner suggested is to get cupcakes and let our guest to bring back the cupcake each as the wedding favor.

On top of that I also thinking of getting another favor, like a stirrer or a memo clip.

I'm new here. Congrats to all the BTBs here!

My AD will be on 22 March 2008 and I've booked Siloso Ballrm. Just to check with brides-to-be who will be holding their weddings soon, how long in advance did you discuss with your co-ordinator rgdg ballrm setup, transportation (for eg no of coaches &amp; car passes required) etc?