Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Fang,

Yah, but again it depends on whether you sign up for old or new pachage cause under the new package, Friday is also considered as weekday. So I am not too sure totoro's Friday is base on old or new package. you got it?

So sorry, was away a while. I will get the pics uploaded n email u all the link soonest, ok?

Hi totoro..

think you got a good deal! I have 30L beer (std lah). No free food tasting though. At the moment.. i have asked for 20 tables. But till then... think I may be able to choke up 25 tables. So will be free food tasting lor.

Elaine also cannot promise me a early check-in. She said she will try. As for photography, she will also let me in free but never mention about room for changing lor. So see how it goes.

I am paying 688 nett for weekend. Dunno about the new rates. Has anybody asked about the parking and driving? Just wondering if there is any nearby car parks. 'cos if now it is $2. I dun need mulitple entry cars. Apparently, they cost $10 each and Rasa is giving only one complimentary rite? So I tot that would be good enough .. just get one for a MPV will do.

Bummer,

Your guests may park their cars at the beach and should there be not enough space, then they can park their car at the parade sqaure whereby the hotel will arrange for shuttle to bring your guests to and fro. BTW when is your big day?

Hi Bummer
I think u can ask for more multiday car passes. They have like 10 slots or ard there. I asked for 3 complimentary from Elaine n she's ok with that. Maybe cos nobody else book my date yet heehee. But complimentary only $10 eac so I dun see a prob for them giving u 1-2 extra.

For the carpark fees, I was told by by co-ordinator that for drive-in cars, on top of the S$ 2, the guests also got to paid add , edpend on the number of people in the car. Eg if there are three people in the car. The charges will be S$2 x 3 + S$ 2 (flat rate). Total= S$ 8.00 . The charges apply even if the guest show invitation card.
'm getting confused

hi joyce,

is that so? i dun think so..it is stated 2 bucks per car. and with invitation should be free. can u check?? i am getting confuse too

just when i think i can forget abt worrying on transport

hmm... geee.. this parking thing is getting weird huh? Think I will ask Elaine as well.

Bobomagic..Elaine was really strict leh.. she said must pay $10 for every additional mulitple complimentary pass. Maybe I will make some noise soon lor... actually I quite lugi hor. My FH dun wanna bargain leh.

I am also doing a setup at the white fence (a.k.a. the lawn). Initially, she said free one. Then later she said.. her mistake, it cost $1000 for setup. What a diff hor. I feel like bargaining away the first year anniversary for something else leh...

hey all..

papers today have a brochure on sentosa.
it states:
per head 2 bucks.
on top of it if ya driving, another 2 bucks per car.

however, i believe admission is free for all our guests. bummer please let confirm with us again after you speak to Elaine.

Thks.

Hi Fang, Totoro, Wedsoon, Jo, Bummer and questions
Just emailed u the link to view my photos.

Bummer, yah...can almost start forum on pics. How come u have to pay addtional$$ for the white fence area. Is it cos u wedding day is different from solemnisation or u just doing a solemnisation. I remember when i asked abt the gazebo at Alkaff Mansion, price also abt $1000 or more..n that's on top of holding a wedding on same day there. Is ur setup very different? Cos she said free one but no chairs will be put up. Only few tables serving peanuts or stuff n waiters with drinks for recep. Maybe if u need additional setup, they will charge?

Huh Bummer

U must check..mine was free i mean for the whitefence.
Did u ask for chairs and set up??

talking about the cocktail..my friend who went for for the reception came back telling me, its unprofessional of the mamanagement.
guess what, they actually serve the cocktail drinks in different galsses, some of them wine glass wine, some of them short galss with the same drink. she warn me to be careful...

on the actual day, must assign a f&b manager to my friend liao.

Hi bobomagic,

i have view the pic...just want to check with you, is the siloso ballroom very dark? cos when i see the pic, the place look very dim.

Hi Totoro,
you mean they provide you white fence for free? is it becos you are having your soleminsation too?

Next, have any one march in thru a long path in siloso ballroom? that mean for the bride and groom, instead of marching in, in the middle, you will march in the middle and turn straight to the other end?

Lastly, any one have sword bearer on your wedding day? How many sword bearer you have? did you take a longer march or shorter march?

Hi Totoro
Maybe u try again. Shouldn't have problem. Let me know if u still can't get in.

Hi questions
Paiseh...they haven't turned on the lights yet so look so dark. Actually we went in to take a peek at another couple's wedding at abt 5-6pm so they just finished setting up the tables i guess.

Hi questions

I am also having solemnization..but not church type just the normal ROM style, with free 20 chairs.*bargain alot for it*

yap its free..heh u must get it for free..ridiculous they charge u..

bobomagic, cannot access..how??
u got email? i give u another work email addy but confidental..

Hi beanie
Just sent the link over. Happy viewing!!

BTW ladies, Any of u took a package with Bridal Zone? Still haven't decided which bridal to choose yet...hmmm

read the thread..
i think its not so good leh..according to the thread.
well, will be going down to jazreel low,dang, emanuel.. update u after this friday

Hi Totoro
read the thread on BZ but there r so many postings only managed to read halfway...heehee. The comments weren't so good initially but seem to improve later on. but i guess a lot of them r old friend so there was more chatting.. yah do share share ur experience after fri. I guess i'll still be shopping around. BTW u have any problem with the link? Didn't hear from u.

Hi Tipper
Sent over link liao! Enjoy the pics! But do pardon the bad photography

Hope those who requested to view the pics i took of Rasa got them. Do let me know if i have left anybody out. Sometimes quite blur lah.

Hi bobomagic,

I have viewed the pics liao. Thank you for sharing.

Hi totoro,

Can share your package with me? I had 25 tables on Sunday but was given only 30l beer and no free food tasting leh.. sob sob...

Hi Beanie
I also having mine on Sun!! What date u having urs? Mine's 21 Dec. But mine's 30 tables so complimentary beer 20L + 20L and food tasting. Is urs under the old pkg. Cos read from the thread, there were a few ver. for pkgs, so not too sure.

Hi bobomagic,

Mine is on 29 June 02. Is yours this year dec? If so then is very near the date liao.

My package is calling $618 nett per table. I assume is the old package. How about yours?

Hi Beanie
Yah, we have the same package..tables above 30 or 35 will be $598nett/table rite? Nah, mine's next year, later than urs...have u choosen ur bridal yet? Whoa! Urs is just 6 mths away then....countdown liao!!

Hi Angelebella
thanks! Ur nick also very sweet...make me think of angels, bells and clouds. Sent u the link liao. HAve u decided on ur venue yet?

Hi beanie...

eh? how come huh???
u shld ask for the free beer, u did not izzit? mine is 30 + 20..and free food tasting.
u must go ask for it..

what i did was that i print out this whole thread, did some compilation..thanks to our seniors before hand like catz
, then went for the battle.

try asking for it.

if not not worth it.

Hi Totora,

Is your package the new one? For your 20 table, you are paying $638nett or $658nett?

Yah lor, I also feel a bit lugi for not getting the beer, that's why I have not sign with them leh. sob sob....

Hi bobomagic,

I have signed with Kai Bridal. How about you? How's your preparation?

I m new here but my wedding is very very near leh. I was very busy with hse and my new job, so much so that I just realised that my big day is 1 month away. I have yet to print my card n gather my guestlist.

So far the hotel has not called me after I signed the contract with them in May. Sort of getting worry abt their services. Have yet to discuss the detail n the dishes with Ethel.

Also, I will be having my solemnisation at the waterfront around 5.30-6pm, follow by cocktail and dinner in the ballroom. Have not discuss with Ethel yet. I have abt 20 tables, possiblity of 25 tables.

For solemnisation, I will expect the whitefence, table with dressing, some chairs with white covers. Also, some flowers on the table as decoration. Probably flower arch to be put there. Free right? What else do I need? I think music n mic have to pay, right?

Also, I m thinking of buying some fruit cheese n crackers for the guests to take during the cocktail. Only peanuts a bit boring rite?Do u think it is possible?

I have looked through the menu A & B, suddenly realised the selection a bit cheapo. Any suggestion? From the forum, I realised that there are a few complaints that the food is terrible or very little, I m getting a bit worry...Any good suggestion, what can I bargain for?

The corkage for red/white wine, they said 1 to 1. It is very hard for us to buy bcos how do I know how much to stock up. Can I ask for a fix number n any more than the number, I will buy from the hotel. Like e.g. 1 dozen. Alot of my friends r great drinker, so I estimate 2 dozen of wines to be opened. Any chance?

The invitation card also super ulgy, my goodness!!! But I m running out of time, so have to take it, no choice.

Welcome suggestions. Thanks

Hi Leng,

So we share the same coordinator. Did you get more beer than as given in the package? Have you gone down for your food tasting and is it free? Well, I am only given 30 litre barrel and no free food tasting. Like Totoro has told me, is not worth if others are getting it and I am not.

You have to start gathering your guestlist and print your cards now. As for the flower arch, why don't you chack with Ethel to see if is free. But she don't sound very accomodating though. I thought she should have call you by now??? Is she never call you, why not give her a ring?

I personally feel there is no need to get fruits, crackers etc for the pre-dinner cocktail cause is only for 45 minutes and dinner will follow soon. Who know, your guests may be too busy chatting. What do you ladies feel?

I was told you are able to swop dishes for menu A & B. If you find the dishes too cheapo, why not suggest to Ethel for other dishes and top up the difference. I know some hotels allow such change, but will it be too late now? Got to act fast liaoz.

I think the hotel is supper stingy on corkage for wine. Why not getting it from the hotel which I feel is nore worth.

As for the card, I have no comment cause Ethel is saying that they are thinking of changing the design next year. FYI, my wedding is next year. But I guess you have no choice but to stick with it. Why not put in some inserts to make the card look more interesting? Just my 2 cents worth of advise.

Look on the brighter side and things will turn out to be fine. Smile

Hi Leng

Sent u the link liao. Thot eh piped in music for white fence area is free one...cos i asked Elaine she said ok leh...cos they have system at the bar/restaurant just above the white fence.

Elaine also assured me that the food is def. more than enough cos they serve v. big portions. Even food tasting can call more than 10 persons...maybe 12 also enough food to go around...heehee but dun know izit becos small eaters lah.

Hi everyone...

looks like Elaine is still on MC. I have made enquires to the hotel and hopefully, they will give a reply soon re: the entrance to sentosa for cars.

BTW..totoro.. I think you were really brave!! Well done. Think I may need to use your tactics too!! heehee!

Hi Rasa brides,

It's been a long time since I last logon to this thread. My wedding is in Jan 11 and my wedding card inserts still not done yet. Hopefully I can finalise by this week. I still cannot decide my pickup points. What do u gals suggest?? I'm afraid the parking lots in Sentosa is not enough for my guests as I believe on my actual day, there are 1 or 2 couples getting married too.

Bobomagic, can i take a look at your pixs too? Pls email me at [email protected] Thks!!

Leng, I also in the same situation as u, so many things not done. :P Bz with new work too. I also agree that the wedding cards are not nice. I'm having my church solemnisation at the Waterfront Lawn then dinner in The Pavilion.

I also couldn't contact Elaine as she is on medical leave. Hopefully she will be back by nxt week.
I have lots to catch up in this thread. hehehe...

I have breadkfast with my mum & we went down to the printing shop this morning. I knew I m really running short of time liao. This lady showed me the card sample from Rasa and I was about discussed the detail with her. My mum told me off that she cant accept the beach color card, she insisted that this is a chinese sit down dinner and si means red , the card color is too out for her, she can almost accept pink.

I was trying to explained to her that I have no time to be so particular. I was thinking of buying my own card at lst when I collected the card, but it is too rush n costly for me.

I have no choice so called up Ethel, she wasnt around, spoke to another lady. She told me that the hotel does not have many red cards left, only the beach color, the new design is only avail next year Feb onward.

My mum saw the red/gold roses rasa card with the gold envelop, she wanted it. I called the hotel again, I remembered Ethel told me I have two choices n I can decide later. Luckily, there is still 200 cards left, heng!!! Solve my problem, I really need to settle this real fast. I have collected my card same day.

Honestly, the red/gold roses card is in anyway better quality than the A4 size beach color card. Quite happy abt it though it was quite terrible initially, didnt know my mum can b so pang teng abt such thing.

hi totoro

How many tables u have? when? sat or sun? how much you pay per table?

I have only 20L of beer n no food tasting. I have abt 20 tables, $638 per table. Sunday package.

Anyone know if my tables happened to increase to 25, will my per table charge automatically change to $618 ?? or do I have to ask for it?

I m fine 20L of beer, I prefer to bargain more for free corkage for wine. My friends r mostly siao wine.

hi flyn

Hey urs is very close to mine. I m thinking of going down to discuss the detail with Ethel, the timing is such that I can take a look at the real wedding going on.

hi beanie

how many tables u have? sunday? 30L better than me, 20L only. Any free corkage for wine?

Is Ethel so far fine for u? Is she helpful n accomodating? Flexible? Creative? I have 3 friends/colleauges getting married next year too, they like the idea of holding wedding in sentosa, they count on me to give comments. I intend to ask them along when I go down to discuss with Ethel but then change my mind, not very convenient to bargin with my guest around.

Fruite cheese n cracker, hmmmm I m think my solemnization begins at 5.30 & dinner at 7.30, quite long a time, so if can have something to bite will be good. C how lah, anyway have not ask Ethel if ok or not.

Menu A & B can swap, if both not good then have to suggest liao loh. I have very tight budget, my hse the bridal package have over spent quite a bit ,cant afford to 'upgrade'. If dinner 'loss' alot of money, honeymoon oso chop chop.... sob sob. I will going through the other hotels menu, find the same range one and ask Ethel can change or not...... hope for the best.

hi rasa brides

Just wonder if Rasa consider 5 stars hotel? Will it be the same range as the one in orange grove or Marriott or Hyatt?

Hi Flyn
Sent u the link liao. Wishing u and Leng well for ur upcoming preparations!

Hi Dora
Dun know if Rasa considered 5 star but Rasa is more of a resort than hotel so pricing also different from Main one. Main one is much steeper. Menu's definitely different too. So depends on wat u looking for. As for Mariott n Hyatt, menu wise dun think that much different from Rasa, pricing wise can't quite comment as Rasa takes Sun as weekday(following most resorts) so it depends on whcih day u holding ur wedding. Plus Rasa's pricing is nett, some hotels pricing u have to inlude that +++. U can check out more from the singaporebrides index page on banquet as well. Hope it helps.

hi catz

I remembered seeing you put ur website, cant find it now..... can provide or not?

Who is this Chin Huat? Freelance photographer? Anyone has his contact? how much is he charging? How good is he?

I would love to have videograhpy, but FH think it is expensive to hire from shop, around 850-900. None of my friends have video cam, if not can just ask a friend to take.....any suggestion?

Also, Syafie , look like he has a lot of good comments, is he a F&B manager? Can he help or not?

hi bobomagic

Thanks, I m abit stress up with work, hopefully I wont look so terrible during my big day, no chance to take leave, also have to work over weekend near year end my god!

Hi leng...

wow..u also very last minute leh..go the wedding card thread maybe can see look a bit.

dun forget abt the guest presents and ur music for grand entrance at ur dinner..

after ur wedding must let us know..

also if u are having sit down dinner not s bad..the comments given when food not enough is the buffet. thats why i change my mind..to sit down dinner.ask them to serve the food hot. \

beanie..
u must work at it..

Hi Leng,

If I remembered correctly, if your total table hits 25, they will automatically charge you 618nett. But is always good you hear it from her personally to make sure there is no unpleasant surprise.

I am having 25 tables. I don't think you can bargain with her on corkage charge. She is quite strict on that and that's why I suggest for you to take the hotel's wine. Anyone have any idea of their wine standard?

How do you feel about Ethel? Like I mentioned earlier, sometime she is not very accommodating. Do you actually have difficulty contacting her in the office? I always cannot get her. I ever come across a very nice banquet manager from HIPV and she actually gave me her mobile number. Very nice and considerating of her, but my FH dun like the hotel and that's why we are not having our dinner there. She is really good.

Hope you manage to get the menu you want and do keep me in the loop.

Also, now that I know your solemnisation is aT 5.30pm, I think having some snack would be good, but again, remember to check with Ethel.

So how's your PS? I will be having mine only in March next year.