Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

audrey, thanks for the pics
...the bridal suite likes normal leh...doubt i'll take PS there

whitediamond...you're very detailed
thanks....my friend attended 1 of the wedding, she took some pics for me too...will let you gals know once i get it....think cheena theme will match the pavilion very well too....

hey gals..
was at Sentosa yesterday..
wah yesterday's weather was really gd for a nice sunset wedding!!!
geee.. me burned out!!
but had a great weekend there!!!

hi shern..
sorri was away on biz trip, just got back..
yes i am using rasa's invites, but haven't got the time to pick em up and check on the printing..

anyone can help? cost n is it at dragont?

shern, if not, when i pick them up i will find out n let u know..

morning!!!

racherlle, so PS will be at sentosa also?
yours will be solemnization by the white fence?

bebe, hi hi, rasa's coordinator recommended Jasvy, can call 62992263. heard negative reviews about dragont in other thread leh....

hi shern!
thanks for your pics!

shern ah..
i'm still planning.. hehe.. coz i'm tinking of doing it at the beachfront shown by Cathy to me...
coz i tink Sentosa gave them the right to use the beach..

hi shern, thanks for the pic... got it...

this couple hung stars from the ceiling isit ah... nice right?? the flower stands looks better than the potted ones wif the white cloth wrapped ard the pot leh...

audrey, resent...

racherlle, beachfront will be nice, so long as it's not rainy season

sweatcorn, it's star balloons...quite pretty but still find there's too little flowers, think the floral arch can put tealight candles...

hi shern, stars balloon ah... i thot its juz those plastic stars leh...

Flowers if we wan extra we will hv to bring in ourselves leh cos i think the contract got put how many flower stands n etc... hmmm... i still find the stage empty... *sigh*...

hopefully the new deco will be better...

I will be having my dinner @ Rasa too for this yr dec. kinda excited.. hehehe.. I went last sat as well, purposly went down with my hubby to peek at the wedding @ pavillion.. ermm.. honestly i don find it nice with the star ballons hanging around lei.. i mean it will look nicer if there's without the ceiling plank.. which look funny lor.. thats my thought only lah. don be offended yah..

btw shern, can i trouble u to send me the photos that u took for the bridal suite as well?

lookng forward to hear from you all soon..

Thanks Shern I recieved the email already.... Ask u all hoh the stars ballon is by Rasa deco huh?? Or is the couples plan??? Look very plain leh...aiyo...

I'm having my AD at Siloso ballroom in Dec. Need some advice! (Feel like running short of time)

1) When do I start talking to coordinator abt the invitation card, coach arrangments and sitting?
2) When to discuss flowers and setup?
3) Food tasting?
4) What else to discuss/prepare?

We found the ballroom really bare. Will there be new deco for Siloso ballroom as well?

Hi Racherlle,

Wow..u r abit de fast huh on the planning!! hee..but it's ok to start screening thr' ur ideal hotels, BS etc...For me, hv no regrets confirming w rasa, coz I always prefer somethg different, rather than the usual city hotels...

So hv u decided on ur BS yet?

Hey gals, can I share your pics...thankss...

hi shern,
received the email - THANKS!!! wow seein the set up again at rasa make me excited about my AD... its been a long time since I went down, after contract never go down, only talk /email...

Hi Metta, my wedding is this oct, and I havent really done all that you've asked about. Basically the rasa coordinator will call you up about 2 months b4 to arrange... They will oso send your cards to the shangrila for u to collect..

hi merchelle, congrats, wedding this year? when? i was beginning to think the rest of the gals here only have weddings later, 2005-06... cool, i chose the pavillion cuz of the view, their set up is rather simple i agree..

shern, yes gowns all settled... PS done.. still running thru photos for the album & stuff...

well, many pple say during 7mth cant do much.. but i oso busy with getting new place ready...

shern, will there will be hiccups now n then, but generally we just take each step as it comes. Lucky for us, we not very particular and not very traditional... from small families...

how about you? very tired too? r u doing your place?

Hi gals, Wow... me no time login for 2 weeks and it seem like there's quite a numbers of new rasa bride-to-be in this thread.. good good

Shern, so far, the flowers are ok.. still look quite fresh to me... but the roses the florist provide is not very big.. true that roses are still nicer..

Sweatcorn, ya.. the florist only use a white cloth and wrapped it over the flower stand pot... not nicely done at all.. I have feedback to my coordiator and she say she will take note... dun know if it'll still be the same on my AD. Sigh...
It would be nice to put seashells on the tables but must make sure you put just nice numbers of seashells in order not to make the tables look messy..

Gals, for those taking Pavilion, do go for lighter colour for your wedding theme. Try not to take red roses as the ballroom lights will be quite dim at night and the red roses won't stand out... and rasa florist provide only 6 flower stands, 1 flower arch, table centerpiece for normal tables and two round tables along the pathway to pavilion ballroom (either a flower floating on a bowl of water or a candle floating on a bowl of water), centrepiece for VIP table consist of flowers plus candle, a flower display at reception table, .. that's all rasa florist provide...

Shern, can email me the pics too? [email protected]

Audrey, balloons are not provided by rasa.. I'm planning to use balloon too.. so thinking of ideas...

From you gals' feedback.. seem like the balloon deco is not very nicely done up...

Metta, deco for both siloso and pavilion will be the same since it is done up by the same florist.

Metta, if you also find the ballroom quite bare and want to have more deco.. you have either have to talk to rasa florist and pay for extra deco items ot get out-source florist.. but normally it is pretty expensive to get out-source florist to add in ore deco. Another alternative is to think of the deco yourself (get ideas from magazines or internet) and get your ah yee to help you to put up the deco on your AD... you still have sufficient time now.. so dun worry...

Metta, if you also find the ballroom quite bare and want to have more deco.. you can either talk to rasa florist and pay for extra deco items or get out-source florist but normally it is pretty expensive to get out-source florist to enhance the deco. Another alternative is to think of the deco yourself (get ideas from magazines or internet) and get your ah yee to help you to put up the deco on your AD... you still have sufficient time now.. so dun worry...

hi bride,

thanks for the advice, i'll take note of it...

usually table quite crowded wif cutlery n the food already... so wondering if it will be too much to put shells here n there... mabbe put them in a bowl wif sand/water as the table centre piece instead of flowers... hmmm gotta discuss wif elaine c how it can be done...

so u got any ideas for your deco yet??

Hi BeBe,
Mine will be this yr 18 Dec.. kinda excited already.. 4 more mths to go woh.. damn scare sia..preparation donnoe where to start for dinner.. but BS and PS all settled liao.. taking the PS next fri.. hehe..
when's your AD then? this yr too?

Metta,
I'm a ex-Rasa bride. I also had my dinner at Siloso ballroom. Lucky for me, all went smoothly.
For your questions:
1. Food tasting will be done ard 2 mths b4 the dinner. On that day, you will get ur invites, car passes, stickers...etc.
2. Flowers setup, march-in, coach arrangement, signing book, etc. will be discussed later, like 1 mth b4 AD.
Dun worry, ur co-ordinator will arrange to meet up with u to discuss all these. She will also give u time to think over.
Just relax and be a pretty bride!

smilez_bride,
thanks, Elaine did tell me that I can get my own florist to do up the place better but since we are already paying for the place, wonder why they can't do better? We are thinking of using balloons too, cos' it's Christmas Eve on our wedding, but it doesn't seem like popular idea.

btb04, thanks for the info! Did you have photo montage? I'm thinking of skipping that cos' we have to rent our own projectors (extra costs).. Do u think the walls will be bare without it?

As for the invites & car passes, what if I can't confirm the number of guests coming since food tasting is still 2 mths away from dinner? Does that mean I have to start sounding out my guests?

One more question, how did you do the march-in? Siloso is crescent-shaped. Sorry for so many questions! Feel like freaking out!

audrey, sorry, think i missed thst posting.....think should be from rasa...gotta check with the coordinators leh....

hi merchelle,

yep
AD is this year... 30 OCT 2004!

hopefully me not too laid back... think mine AD is really nearing :P

Enjoy your PS!! share pix ya!

Metta, my friend who did her wedding in Feb, did 2 kinds of march in... one simple short one from the middle door... the traditional kind... then a very modern song, where they both came if from seperate ends, walking the long way... meeting in the centre..
my friend was quite modern modern kind...

sweatcorn how bout placing it under the glass- turner thingy?

btb04, thanks for sharing

merchelle, my AD on 17, jus a day earlier
is yours pavilion? jus did my PS , have loads of fun, practice your smile whenever free

Hi Metta,
Well, you can discuss wif ur co-ordinator on the car pass, didn't u confirm it earlier? For mine, i negotiated at the wedding fair, anyway it's just estimation, i dun think all my passes were used. For the coach, i confirm mine like 1 mth b4 AD.
For the march-in, i requested a longer one, so she arranged it like a zig-zag fm the 1st ballroom entrance then towards the centre, the only minus point here is that the guests at the other side of the ballroom can't really see us, guess u can't hve the best of everything!
Photo-montage - i had mine together with video highlights. Why not try to look around and borrow projector fm friends...that's what i did, so can save on costs. I think if u not hving that, u may have to think of some other programs to keep the guests entertained.
Dun freak out! i was quite stressed then also, but just remember 1 thing, u got to enjoy the whole day event, u got to let ur helpers handle those unforseen things. The couple got to look their best....keep smiling

Hi Bebe,
WOW! urs are much nearer sia!! must be fully prepared now liao yah..
Have to relax more yah.. and become pretty pretty bride!

Hi Shern,
hehehe.. initially mine was 17 Dec, then chg to 18 Dec, which my FH and I felt due to some reason. Hehe..Yup, mine will be @ pavillion. think thats the most nice view compare to the rest. Did u had ur PS there as well? just wondering if we r able to take shots in the hotel lei.. esp the bridal suite, any idea?

BTW ladies, i had a friend of mine whom attending last week's wedding @ Rasa. Was told that car parking was a damn headache!! Sercuity gaurds refused to allow them to park their vehicles near the hotel even though there's parking lots! in the end, then have to park @ 'Gateway' and take the bus to the hotel!?! which causes very inconvience to them lor. I was just wondering if the car passes that we will be receiving, is that only for the entrance part to Sentosa and not the parking part? Jia Lat lah.. my dad and relatives going to scream their heads on me liao.. if this really going to happen...

merchelle,hehehe i asked about 18 but it was booked...so you're the bride
din do my PS there, find the bridal suite quite plain and my photographer was asking are we gonna do 'san ji' style
good idea actually , think it's a nice place for PS but hb and me were too tired that day. our studio ended at 5+ and we went 3 outdoor locations fortunately all near studio and could go back there to change to casual shots...

the carpark for guests is at the gateway, tot the cuples will inform their guests...quite a hassle if there are many weddings going on but the shutle service is very frequent. for bridal car no problem, you can try negotiating for a few lots at the hotel carpark itself....

i'll be staying for 2 nites...maybe go kaypo kay po

metta, my carpark passes was for 50% of the guests...came up to 150 passes. it's more than enough i think. any coaches? 1 coach can swop for 40 passes i think... sorry gotta check...

bebe,btb04,
for the march-in, hubby & I were also considering walking in from separate entrances, then meet in the middle. Maybe ask my dad to walk in with me, then hand me to hubby.but tat means,each side can only see 1 of us at the beginning. What u think?

shern, btb04,
I've not discussed car passes with Elaine yet. Cos' I am unsure how many of the relatives will be taking coach. Maybe I should take more car passes than coach. Will the coordinator take the intiative to call us? I've not seen her since Feb.

btb04, does the normal projectors project big enough at the ballroom? I can ask to borrow from office.

So many Dec brides!!

metta, the coordinator will call bout 1 month beforehand. but i told mine that i want to settle most of the stuff 2 months beforehand instead...not so rush...think normal projectors are sufficient....dunno whether my office will loan or not....

Hi Shern,
hehehe.. wat a hapi conicidence sia! ;) actually 18th dec was my 9yr 'pa-tou' relationship anniversary with my FH. thus, choosing that day was one of the reason. hehehe

Oh no! the carpark was @ Gateway? i'm not awared till now sia! die liao lah..

Yeah man.. come come.. and c c lah..hehehe.. since u will be staying 4 2nites.. do u need to pay for the second nite? i was thinking to 'trade in' the nite stay for the after 1yr anniversary.. hehehehe..