Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

wed_in_2006

May i check if anyone tried the weekend menu A 'Golden roast china town duck with vegatable crackers'?

What dessert did you all choose? I notice only white snow fungus with lotus seeds & lily bulbs or sweetebed red bean cream & lotus seeds. Doesn't look appealing to me... Hee.

adeletes

hi wed_in_2006,

Had the duck thingy it during my wedding in dec 2005, (golden roast china town with veg crakers) it was good as comment by my guests (as most ppl would expect roast chicken for that dish). For the dessert I wanted some other desserts for my dinner but was rejected, ended with white snow fungus with lotus seeds.

storm8345

hi all rasa brides...

may i noe how is the food tasting carried out? are we presented with the food on both menus or we choose one menu then we jux try that menu?

Thanks ^_^

vincass

Hi Macademia,
we have the same AD, on 19th Nov. Which room have you booked? Mine will be at the Pavilion, soleminization follow by high-tea reception...

ellie

hi storm, u will be presented with the dishes from the menu u've chosen during food tasting only. u can interchange certain dishes from the menus, so can check with your co-ord.

ellie

no prob

muddy_mudpie

Hi guys...

Learnt that shangri-la rasa sentosa is holding their annual wedding show in march 06. Does anyone know their wedding show perks and cost per table for 2007 weekend wedding?

Appreciate your comments!

ellie

hi muddy mudpie, during wedding show, u may get more perks, like $20-$30 off per table, free wine, free barrel of beer, etc.

macadamia

Hi vincass,

Pavillion is the one upstairs right? what time will ur solemnizatn be? mine will be evening... hmmm wonder what time we can deco the place then...

vincass

Hi Macademia,
Pavilion on 5th floor, the one with full height windows & views of out-door. Is it the same as yours?
Mine's a high-tea reception and I'm supposed to finish the reception by 4.30pm - don't worry lah, there should be enough time to do up the place.

shan_shan

did anybody rent the projector from rasa? do u noe how much it cost? if we were to rent the projector from outside, does it mean dat we hv to set up the projector ourselves? wil rasa stil help us wif the setting up and when playing the montage or video tingy?

shan_shan

did anybody rent the projector from rasa? how much it cost? if we were to rent from outside, does it mean dat we hv to set up ourselves? or rasa wil stil help wif setting up and when playing the montage or video tingy?

pastillies

i'm looking at Rasa Sentosa for my wedding dinner which is next year. Anyone roughly know what is the norm that Rasa will incresae their wedding dinner prices by for last quarter of next year ?? for weekends.

2. Anyone has photos of the ballroom to share? I saw the website, seems abit plain...will there be more deco provided?

3. How's the food? is there food testing/tasting avaliable & provided too??

thanks!!!

muddy_mudpie

Hi Ellie,

Thanks for your reply...

I was just thinking that this thread is quiet nowadays... but then again, it's always useful to us thanks to ex-brides like you who always offer valuable tips!

Hi shan shan,

So far, they're quite firm on not renting the projector. Bcos of high maintenance fee, blah blah... you might want to check on your co-ordinator on the set-up arrangements...

Hi pastilles,

Last time I heard from my co-ordinator, James, they're going to increase by around $40.
It's true the deco it's a bit plain... not too sure we've to top up for more deco...

I've tried their food at a friend's wedding and it's really great... it's one of the reasons why I considered them... their package normally includes food tasting session.

macadamia

HI vincass,

Oh ok. is yours a holy matrimony as well? so you will have it outside then proceed into the pavillion for the high tea? high tea shd be buffet right.

mine will high tea too. have u signed up already? we were negotiating bout the package but coord informed us there'll be a fair on 19 mar, hence we'll prob book on that day as it will be a better deal. how much is your high tea? we're looking forward to it..

hi shan shan, i need a projector too. if i rem correctly gotta pay a few hundred more for it. when i get mine i'll let you know k.

pastillies

can I just check, for the projector, is it the one that jus plug to a laptop or comptuer then will be shown on the screen issit?

cos I tink my office has...mmm dunno if can borrow or not...mm..haha save some cost..

shan_shan

Hi macadamia,

thanx..
...actuali a few hundred seems abit exp hor...mayb u can try renting it outside but i tink there r different types of projector...according to my videographer, some may hv better resolution than others...so hv to double-check wif rasa on wat they r using....

Hi pastillies,

im not sure bou dat...but is there a type dat can plug to dvd/vcd player?

vincass

Hi Macademia,
Yours is high-tea inside Pavilion too? That's strange cos I have already booked Pavilion for 19/11.....
I will be doing everything inside Pavilion. Half the room will be set-up for Solemnization and the other half for sit-down high-tea buffet.

shan_shan

check wif u all, anybody insert the map of sentosa inside the invites? wil rasa provide the map or we hv to do it ourselves? n do u all use the map of sentosa or u wil simplify it?

sotongbride

We would like to share our recent wedding experience at Rasa Sentosa. It was a beautiful and memorable one for us.

We had our solemnisation at Jade Site 1, followed by our wedding dinner at Siloso Ballroom.

We would like to thank the following people for making our wedding such a success:

Shirlene - For all your thoughtfulness and eyes for all the little details, we really appreciate it.

Ricky, Affende - For your flexibility and smooth operation during the dinner.

Azali - For ensuring all the microphones and sound systems work perfectly well for the solemnisation and dinner.

We are glad to have chosen Rasa Sentosa as our wedding venue, and will highly recommend this to all our friends. You guys are the best.

sotongbride

My photos still not ready. Need at least another 2 weeks. I didn't bring my own florist. Shirlene arranged for the pillars of flowers in the ballroom to be shifted out to the beach for my solemnisation. I wanted to add my own balloons but Shirlene advise me not to...think it's really not necessary. For the soleminsation at the beach, the beautiful sunset is going to get all the attention. For the Siloso grand ballroom, the deco is simple but elegant. So far the feedback I got was all positive. They commented that it's very grand

bizz

I've confirmed my reservations with Rasa. My AD is on the 20th Jan 2007 and will be holding it in Siloso. I spoke to Emily and Perry and they gave me the package that they are giving during the bridal show which is gonna be held on the 19th Mar. Mine is a weekend, the original price was $758nett. But with the bridal package, per table is only $738nett. On top of that I get 16 bottles of red wine for free and an additional 20 litres of beer free. There's also an additional nite stay and you can upgrade to the Executive Panaromic View room if you pay by UOB card. As for the projectors, i think they are free. I've checked with Emily, she said there's no additional charges for using that. Hope these info are useful to all of you.

PS: Sotongbride, can you share your photo with me as well once they are done? Thanks..

pastillies

hi bizz,

can jus check with u, for the additional nite, it's for the wedding couple, i.e additional nite in the bridal suite or?

if dun upgrade wat is the room that we'll be getting?

bizz

hi pastillies,

i think u can either use it for yourself or for your helpers or relatives. But the additional nite stay is not bridal suite..instead it's the normal seaview room if i didnt remember wrongly..

trixter

hi bizznow,

do you mind i ask you when u signed up with Rasa?You're so lucky to get a date in Jan.. I couldnt get the date i need in Jan so need to push wedding to March/April/May. Envy envy you.. Your coodinator is Emily..me too you know!!

I just visited their place last Friday, quite like that so we'll be signing up on the show!

But I must say that the lightings at the "reception area" was not very good, so brides-to-be, you gotta take note. Last Friday when I was there, there was an actual wedding going on and half the lightings were not on cos Rasa was abt to change them.

Another down side is that there is a open cafe downstairs doing BBQ food so the smell at the reception area was really "quite oily and smoky".. but I guess we couldnt ask them to close shop or "dont serve BBQ food" right..humm, ok who cares..

Hey sotongbride, so did u pay additional $1500 to do the set up for solemmisation at the lawn? I find it abit exp, so am still considering. Do you know whether we can just "borrow" the lawn for one hour with a table and sound system to do the solemmisation? No need for deco or chairs... can we dun add $1500??

Humm...should I coordinate with Shirlene or emily now!! I;ve not met Emily personally cos she was not free on Friday and had arrange for James to meet me instead...I saw this Shirlene attending to another couple, and I must say she is the kind of person I'll feel comfortable with.... headache headache....

bizz

hi pastillies,

i think so lah...should be the normal seaview...i cant really remember...paisay ah...hehehee...

hi trixter,

i signed up with them about a mth ago...i must admit i was a bit kiasu..hehehe...i actually called a couple of other places n most of them are tentatively book liao..so must act fast...i think i went n view the place a week after valentine's day..once i viewed the place i immediately confirmed the place...me n my bf lazy to source other places..my bro had his wedding there last time..so i was quite familiar with the place..hehehe..

I think u r referring to Pavilion for the bad lightings @ the "reception area".. my bro held his wedding there but i find the ligthings quite ok..a bit romantic kind..hehehe...i'm holding mine in siloso...so the ligthings shld be quite ok i guess...hehehe...keeping my fingers crossed.. since mine is in siloso, hopefully i wont hv the problem of smelling those BBQ food coming from the restaurant below...hehehe...

Me n my bf still deciding whether want to hold the solemnisation @ the lawn area anot cos of the price..it's really exp...but come to think of it...it's once in a life time...n it's like a dream come true for me..so most likely will take dat..hehehe...trying to do some calculations n see if it's really worth it anot...

Have u spoken to emily b4?? she's really nice n friendly...hahaha...both of us can click n i feel like she's more like a fren to me than juz a coordinator..hehehe...everytime we go there..she treats us to the buffet dinner there...hehehe...

sotongbride

What does your solemnisation package include? Mine is just for the rental of the place for the ceremony. There is no food or drinks served. Mine is a few hundred only...

trixter

hey bizz...

wow, thanks for your quick reply!!

yes, i spoke to Emily on the phone many many times, only disappointed that she wasnt able to meet me on Friday and had the other guy to attend to me instead.. she jus called to ask me how I find the entire pkg... ok la, she not bad, will stick to her then!!

Oh, yours is at the silosa...ok then u'll be fine.. hey, if you're taking silosa, do u know that u can use the function room next door for soleminsation?? its FOC cos deco can borrow from your main ballroom first...thats what James told me la...

me interested in doing solem. at the lawn... am trying to see "can borrow the lawn for 1/2 hr" or not...$1500 for the set up of chairs/sound system/table/deco for only 1/2 hr sounds really wasteful to me....

if you dun spending then go ahead...its definitely gonna be so romantic!!

hey, did u manage to get any extra perks?? I'm trying to ask for extra night in suite and the lawn FOC....

Ta!

bizz

hey trixter,

ya...i noe abt the function room..but like wat u say...it's more romantic u noe to hold it @ the lawn area...heheeh...it all depends whether my bf willing to spend the $$ anot lor..of cos i wld 1 2 lah..hehehe

so far i didnt manage to get additional perks cos emily said the perks dat i'm getting are very good liao..i also 1 2 have an additional nite stay @ the bridal suite..it's very big n nice if i didnt remember wrongly.. my bro's room was so nicely done..so romantic with the little candles and rose petals..nice leh..and he managed to get another nite stay...but it seems a bit difficult to negotiate for another nite stay now cos with all the perks...me trying to persuade emily again..hehehe....hope she'll give in..

hi sotongbride,

how come ur solemnisation so cheap?? if i'm not wrong..the $1500 includes chairs, sound system, rental of the place, drinks and serving staffs.. Who did u negotiate ur package wif?? i also want leh..

pastillies

hi Bizz,

really another extra night stay in the bridal room? woh! tt's a very good perk already! is urs weekend or weekday? do u think the perks that they give will differ from weekend n weekday? cos when i look at the package online, i found that for weekend is only 1 20L beer, but weekday is 1 30L beer.

sotongbride

Hi Bizznow,

Mine is diff. Mine is just the rental of the place + center table with 5 chairs (for the witness, couples & JP) + 50 chairs for my guests + sound system...no deco, no food, no drinks, no serving staffs

My coordinator is Shirlene. A very firm but nice lady...U can try talking to her

trixter

hey bizz...
i jus spoke to emily to give me another one night..but i had the same response as you lor..already alot of perks so cannot give. I asked her for additional night in normal room also cannot!! Sad.. She says thats bcos I already had 3 nights there, considering the UOB room and anniversary room. Hard to negotiate man...

besides the room, I think everything else is already quite enough liao la...wavier of hard liqour, free wines and beer.

gosh, she's going to send me the contract now.. so nervous....tryin to think what else more I need!!!

Hey Sotong...
Thats what I asked for too!! I wanted only chairs & sound system - no need deco or food!! but she says its a standard pkg $1500..gosh.
Do you mind tell me how much you paid? Maybe I can say "My friend had the same thing and its so cheap!!"....hehe...

bizz

hey sotongbride,
dat's practically wat i want as well for the solemnization...how much are thery charging u?? tell us lah...heehe...like wat trixter suggested, we can refer to ur case..hehehe....

hey trixter,
haahaha...excited over the contract right..hehehe..i think besides those things dat they offered..there's nothing much liao...but i'm gonna pester emily again...hehehe...still 1 2 try my luck with the extra bridal nite stay...hehehe...

trixter

hey bizz
u no need to work arh!! keke...i'm always so exicted to ur reply and almost immeidately i always see your reply!!

ok since no chance to set add'l night i will ask for extra room for sis & bro...hehe..

lets wait for sotong's reply....see how much is the set up she paid...hopefully its $500+/-.. tell u what...lets pretend we are very very good friends doing our weddings in rasa and if Emily can give us a good rate then both of us will do it there!! and lets see sotong can "lend us her name or not"..keke...

bizz

hey trixter,
of cos i need to work lah...hehee....but tdy not so busy mah..i'll be offline in the noon cos need to go to customer place..hehehe...

muddy_mudpie

hi bizznow, trixter, i'm also Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa's BTB... having my outdoor solemnisation at the lawn site and banquet at siloso ballroom...

like sotongbride, i paid a few hundred dollars for chairs, sound system, deco and site rental without beverages, or did they just increase their price?

anyway, i think you guys had a pretty good package especially with the extra night's stay. it's not easy to bargain with them bcos they know that we really like that place... i had a difficult time bargaining my package that time... but what to do... their place is just so unique!

hope to have more future discussions here!

muddy_mudpie

hi sotongbride, nice to know that you'd a wonderful wedding experience...

can ask you what colour and kind of flowers you used for the deco? i'm trying to get some ideas on the wedding colour theme... we can choose two colours for the flowers right?

shan_shan

Calista,

Emily told me its bou $400 if u rent from them...but she told me they can give us the contact n we call them direct...it wil b cheaper this way...bou $250

pastillies

can I just clarify a bit on the 1 nite stay.
Is it an extra nite stay @ the bridal suite?

Or is it just another extra nite stay at the normal dexlue seaview room (which will only get if sign with UOB Credit cards)?

Cos I was told my Shirlene that cant get another 1 nite free stay in the bridal suite, but if sign up with UOB Credit Card at the Roadshow this sunday will get an extra 1 nite stay in noraml seaview dexlue room.

trixter

hi muddy mudpie!! thanks for your feedback.. and so envy u're having your solemnisation at the lawn!! I am now trying to cut and save on my bridal pkg selection hoping I can save some $$ so we can afford to "throw" $1500 for 1/2 hr ROM at the lawn!!

Hi pastillies
yes, the UOB freebie is a night at sea view room as far as i know... FYI, a night at the bridal suite is $450nett...thats what Emily told me after I fail to get another complimentry night at the suite... LOL

happy planning to all Shangri La Rasa Sentosa brides to be!!

P/S: doesnt that sounds soooo goooood.... LOL

trixter

think i better say I have "2 friends" who only paid a few hundred for the lawn rental.... hopefully it works.......... kekek...

trixter

dear all

guess what, I just spoke to the coordinator, I told her "my friend did her solemm. at the lawn for a few hundred bucks only" and she told me the "few hundred bucks" was before they change of mgt... no way to waive off or reduce... haiz... super sad.

think I will use dig out part of my 2006 year end bonus la.. hai, how can hold dinner at Rasa Sentosa w/out having the solemnisation by the sea lei!!!

muddy_mudpie

hi trixter, your excitement is infectious... hehe... yup, happy planning to all of us here! it's once in a lifetime!

so the mgt increased price for this year's solemn site rental bcos i signed up last year... hmmm...

i understand how you feel cos i'm on tight budget too... but on the positive side, you'll be getting a good wedding show package with extra perks! hehe... and also, we can already save money by holding rom and wedding on the same day...