Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

sun

Bit more relieved after hearing your advice
Thank you KPO. We plan to have it indoors, at the pavilion, IF we are having it. Good thing the buffet dinner offered by Rasa is pretty impressive. They offer real food, not finger foods, with proper tables and chairs (juz like a normal wedding diiner), they even provide cushion covers at no extra charge, so it's pretty tempting!
The hotel will provide for 2-way traffic so there won't be a human jam.
As for the program, have you (or anyone else)ever attended a church solemnisation cum dinner? Is it really boring for most of the guests to sit through the solemnisation (exchange of vows, rings, unity candles, signing and watever else there is)? Anybody has had the experience? Poll the audience

ck

Hi sun,
I am having mine dinner in the Pavillion too, but it will be a Chinese Dinner .. i love the idea of a buffet cos it's less formal & allows you to talk to your guests more but I guess our parents would rather have the usual 9 course thing.

I have attended a solemisation before the dinner, not during. But I think solemnisation shouldn't be a boring thing but is very meaningful, especially for loved ones witnessing the entire ceremony (be it before or during the dinner).. Those people who finds it boring are probably the ones not that close to you & if so, you don't have to worry soo much about them lah.

sun

Hi CK,

You having it in the Pavilion? Can you imagine how gorgeous the view would be at nite from the Pavilion? When's yours? You're making me feel excited. Do you know that I totally agree with you on the reasons for a buffet instead of a Chinese dinner? I intend to have fun and tok and tok to guests, not juz a display piece. So you've gotta have fun by moving around a lot too

I'm thinking that Rasa's package is actually pretty cheap, cos for the price they quote, they throw in practically everything huh? From cake and gifts to guests, to the cushion covers, transport,and if you want 2 places for the whole process, they'll do it for you at no extra charge. Elaine suggested this: Solemnisation at the lawn, dinner at the Pavilion. Tho' it's kinda far, it sounds good hor? But the guests will probably grumble

Anyway, we have a week to decide before confirming if we are interested or not.

ck

Hi sun,
Ya! It's pretty exciting having learn someone is sharing the same experience as you!
I also think Rasa's package is very reasonable with the things they throw in! Furthermore, you get to spend your 1st night as a wedded couple in a suite facing the sea! Quickly sign up! Don't hesitate already!!
Elaine is my coordinator too.. actually it was another girl call Janet but she left (i was a bit upset about this initially). Haven't met Elaine yet but going to soon .. how is she so far?? Janet was really nice & patient....

I am having my solemnisation in our own church but like you, will be making use of 2 venues. Cocktails in the lawn & dinner at the Pavillion. Ya .. think guests may mind walking a little but i really like the idea of sunset at the lawn lah.
I think it will be very romantic to have your solemnisation at the lawn .. do go with Elaine's idea . In fact, i was debating whether or not to do solemnisation there instead of church initially but after much discussion & changing of my mind every 2 seconds, decided to have it in our church lah.. more meaningful cos we met each other there etc. So when's your wedding?

sam

I think many people have the perception that by having buffet, you can mingle more with you r guest...

but my expereince (having attended a couple) is that if you don't provide tables and chairs... most likely your guest will be uncomfortable (imagine having to stand with food in one hand for 2-2.5hrs). not too pleasant...

if you have the formal tables... then people will tend to mingle with people of the same tables... what's worst is your guest still gotta walk in and out to get the food... so in the end...you do not acheive the aims of having the guest mingle around and feeling more relax..

One last thing... people always have the perception that buffet is cheaper but it wasn;t so... so you must be prepared to suffer some loses...

just my 2 cents worth...

sun

Hi Sam,

There's probably no need to announce to the world that it'll be a buffet dinner. I think those buffets in which no chairs and tables are provided are called receptions. Ususally (from wat I've heard) buffet dinners are similar to Chinese sit-down dinners, you get to sit at proper tables and chairs with seat covers, waiters to serve you drinks,the only difference is that you get more variety of foods (and not just finger foods), get to eat more, get to walk around if you like without worrying that you'll miss the next dish. However, the need to queue remains a fact, do you think guests would mind this a lot?

HI CK!!! Why haven't you met up with Elaine yet? I mean, when's your wedding? We only met her last Sat as she asked us to go down and let her show us around, she seems pretty nice, and flexible. She's quite experienced (I think), said she's been in the line for 4 years, and she's the sort who seems to really enjoy her job (lucky huh?) Try to negotiate for 2 nite's stay in the suite, she sort of hinted that it might be okay (if your number of tables aren't too few) when we asked her if we can swop some of the things offered in the package

Planning ours for July next year, but nothing finalised yet. You know, I have dozens of things to ask you, but like not very suitable here, eg. church wedding, solemnisation... Let me go ask around whether it's safe to post my work email address here (whether the authorities can trace me or not :p)
So exciting!!

ck

Hi sun,
if your wedding is next year, how come you need to give her the answer so soon? Ya .. if you can, try to bargain with Elaine a bit .. the last time I tried with Janet, a bit tough cos we signed up during the Bridal show & quite a few extras were thrown in already & we are not very good 'bargainers'..sigh .. regret.. should have hagger more! ya .. let's chat more on this subject .. you can email me on [email protected]!!

sun

Hi CK,
The reason is we only placed a tentative booking with her (no deposit , nothing at all). If some else should be interested and wants to confirm a booking on the same date, then oops. Anyway, she told us that should that happen, she'll give us a call first. But she can only KIV our tentative booking for 1-2 weeks.
I'll email you

ck

Hi sun,
Rasa is usually not very heavily booked like the hotels in town. A tip for you : i think you are quite safe to take more time to consider if need to.
yap! waiting for your email so we can talk more! So nice to find someone who is holding a christian solemnisation, dinner at Rasa etc ..almost the same as mine!
Email me so we can chat more!!

bleuz

hi ck and sun,

are you both having dinner and christian solemnisation at rasa or only the dinner a rasa? i've booked with rasa as well for my wedding that's in sept 2002.

have been thinking of holding our solemisation there but am sooo afraid that it'll rain and that will really ruin everything...

it's great to find fellow "rasa" brides here :eek:)

by the way, when will both your weddings be held? i used to be served by janet as well but have been liasing with the catering director since she left...

hope to hear from you soon

ck

hi bleuz,
ya .. i was afraid of the weather condition thus hesitated on having the solemnisation at the lawn. Think it's safer to have it in church - besides more meaningful to get married in the church that we are both attending, don't you think so? No doubt of course the backdrop of having it at Rasa is very appealing!
So i am only going to have dinner there, wat about you?
Mine wedding is mid next year have not confirmed yet exact.

bleuz

hi ck,

yep agreed... even though the scenery is breath taking but i'd still prefer getting married in church... i just feel it holds a special meaning to have a church ceremony... i'd be having my wedding in sept. 2002... pre-dinner cocktail will be at the lawn area and dinner at the ballroom...

are you considering the siloso room or the ballroom downstairs? just out of curiousity, have you started looking around for your bridal package yet?

ck

Hi bleuz,
think i have sent you a reply already but how come its not here? puzzling ...
anyway, i agree with you on having the wedding in church. I struggled with this a lot but in the end decided to be 'more meaningful'than 'romantic'.
I am having the cocktail at the lawn & then the dinner at the Pavillion (upstairs). thought it has a better view with the glass panels. What bout you?

Hi sun, have you decided to take up Rasa's package?

bleuz

hi ck,

i was thinking of having my dinner at the pavilion too after seeing the beautiful view during the bridal show some mths back...
erm.. however, when i went back in the evening a week later with my future in-laws, i realise that when the lights are turned on in the pavilion, i can see only the reflections in the ballroom and not the beautiful view outside, tat's why i decided on the siloso ballroom for dinner...

when is ur wedding? and how are preparations getting along?

sun

Hi CK,

Just sent you an email. Will take up Rasa's package, juz can't confirm the date.
Bleuz, saw your msg, never thot about the reflections before. Now that you mentioned it, hhmmm... does it look like the room is surrounded by mirrors, cos it might look nice as it gives the illusion that the room is bigger that it is, but then again, it might not. CK, wat do you think?

bleuz

hi sun and ck,

when i saw the reflections, i didn't think about the fact that it might make the room look bigger... but it might...

i kinda only noticed that i cldn't see the view as clearly as i thot it i cld... was disappointed actually coz the view is simply breath taking...

i think u shld make a trip down to rasa just to see for yourself how it actually looks like...

i'm thinking of going down soon too to take a proper look at the siloso ballroom's layout and colour...

so sun, roughly when are you planning to have your wedding?

adeline

Hi CK, Caira and Lynn,

I am planning to book from them too in June 2002. We will be holding in the outdoor area by the lawn. But was informed that they will also reserve the pavilion room for us in case the weather turns bad.

But would like to know from you gals who have confirmed with them on the package details provided. What are the good benefits being offered? How much is the package rate for Buffet style?

sun

Hi Bleuz,
We have a tentative booking for Jul 2001. It could be rather disappointing not to see the view clearly as the view is the only reason for most of us liking the Pavilion. Damn....

Hi Adeline,
Buffet dinner is $70 nett per head. Half price for kids below 12. (Almost everything is covered, from seat covers to nite's stay in Bridal Suite, invitation cards. They would allow you to make changes to the menu. Thot their package is pretty comprehensive. If you're interested in having yours buffet style, take a look at "Anything under the sun". There's a thread on Buffet Dinner vs Chinese dinners

adeline

Hi Sun,

Thanks for your reply. I will check it out on this.

So, u will be taking up the Lawn or Pavilion?

sun

Herros Adeline,

Actually posted you a msg yesterday morning, but think the system hung or something, today see again, msg disappear liao.
We had a tentative booking for solemnisation at the lawn and dinner at the Pavilion, but now thinking it won't work. Why? Because of the unity candles. We can't have them outdoors becos you'd see 2 fools there in the wind at the lawn, trying to prevent the candles from being blown out, or maybe relighting them again and again thru'out the whole solemnisation

But Pavilion too small to have both the dinner and solemnisation, might have to move everything to the ballrm. Haven't decided, and we're supposed to give Elaine a confirmation today. Don't feel like working leh, think I'd make some calls in the office instead
Yap, call her to negotiate for a longer time to "ponder".
Wat about u, Adeline, wat's your plan like?

ck

hey all,
ya .. think u cannot see the view clearly at night in the Pavillion cos its all dark outside .. but that's ok for us cos it's actually pretty nice to see the flickering lights outside as well!

My BF does not like the idea of having 4 walls & said tat since we r doing it in Sentosa already, might as well have a more unique setting (like the pavillion). otherwise it will be just the same as any otehr hotel .. tend to agree with him on this.
just my personal thots ...

caira

Hi CK, Sun, Bleuz et al,

nice to know there are so many Rasa brides here too! I;ve booked the Pavilion for Sept 2002 and have been dealing with catering director Syafie since my coordinator, Patricia, left. It sounds like there was an exodus from Rasa! I wonder what's going on ..

Anyway i'm pretty happy with the deal I've got so far, signed up at a bridal show too so they threw in a lot of freebies such as two nites stay (instead of one), free corkage for both wines and hard liquor and an extra 20litre barrel of beer (on top of a 30 litre barrel). Not sure if you guys can bargain for the same things but just fyi ..

So whose wedding will be the earliest among us, girls?

usagi

Hi Caira, you mean if you sign up for the bridal show they would throw in more freebies?? How many tables did you book may i ask? Thanks...

bleuz

hi caira,

mine will be in sept next yr too :eek:) 7th september to be exact... how about urs? and r u holding it in the pavilion or siloso ballroom?

am thinking of going down when there's a wedding to take a good look at the set up and then decide on the colour theme for the wedding... have any of you guys decided on that yet?

how about bridal boutiques? which one have you all booked with?

this is all so exciting ... to be able to meet so many fellow brides having their wedding at rasa here

sun

Think CK's is first, hor? June, din remember wrongly this time rite? Mine's July, followed by Caira and Bleuz in Sept, rite. Have all of you booked the package from Rasa yet, or still considering? Since there are so many of us, maybe we should all pop down to Rasa together to take a look.... unity in numbers mah... heehee...
And Caira, your deal sounds good.... maybe I should not do any confirmation with them, and wait to sign up at Bridal shows.... the waiver for corkage charge sounds gooodd... I thot the $25 for corkage charge means $25 overall... nearly fainted when I heard it was per bottle.... sorry, quite ignorant about these things...
And CK, my bf said exactly the same thing about the Pavilion, that if we have it at Sentosa, might as well have it at the Pavilion, more unique setting. Seems like we have more and more in common liao, besides the neighbour thing

Adeline, are you still there?

ck

hey sun,
cannot email u cos sthtg seems wrong with the email, cannot reply... Am rushing out for a meeting now so in case u want to call Elaine soon, maybe you can just help ask her 'subtly' :"So wat happens if I book now & few mths down the road confirm tat I don;t need so many (yours is buffet right? so can ask in tat context lor) Is there a penalty for 'reducing the total amount'? "
And then maybe you can add by asking "So is this rule the same for both buffet & Sit down Chinese dinner?"
Hey thanks hor .. come back in the afternoon then reply your interesting email ok?

adeline

Hi Sun,

Sorry to reply so late....

We've made up our mind and will hold the wedding in the lawn. But how the events will go abt has yet to been decided....'must crack our mind liao'.

We've just told Mr Syafie that we decided to take up their wedding package....further details regarding the package has not bargained with him yet...hee hee

I guess you've given an answer to Elaine already..how was it?

sun

Hi Adeline,
You paid the deposit yet?
We've not given Elaine an answer. In fact, we asked for another week to think it over. Can't decide on the date, the venue, how we want the thing, whether we'd have the solemnisation at church or have everything done at Rasa blah blah blah... very troublesome lah... Juz learnt that price for kids betw 4 and 12 is 70% of the nett!! Very expensive.
CK, me wait for your mail.

adeline

Hi Sun,

U are right! Very expensive esp for kids at that age.

Guess there isn't any better choice, unless it can be waive off or better disc...ha ha! (i doubt)

Have thought of holding the solemnisation there too...but in the end prefer to hold it at home.

But heard that once given them the total no of tbls, we are not allowed to reduce, right? This is rather difficult, as we cannot confirm the ttl no of guests yet...i suppose better to provide less than more in that case!

ck

Hi Adeline,
is tat true? once you decide on the no, you cannot reduce? Die .. this is wat i heard also but we really have serious problems meeting the number of tables! We were too ambitious in the beginning so we book 30+ tables immed thinking tat our parents acn easily take half! Now our parents confirm with us tat they actually only need total about 10 (total both sides) & I don;t want to fill up the seats with any Tom , Dick or Harry! must negotiate with Rasa & hope they will relent man ..

Hi sun,
still cannot email you! don;t know why I can reply to other emails but not yours! do you want to try resending tat email to me again (should still be in your sent Box i hope?) & I'll see if I can click reply this time?

sun

CK,
Oops, din save that msg when I sent it out. Nevermind, send when you can. Me trying to call Elaine now. Will ask for you.

sun

Hi CK,

Juz spoke to Elaine. She's very nice!!! She said that she'd normally advice couples to give her the bare minimum that they expect, and gradually increase from there. Say for buffets: the minimum is 150 guests, she'd advice you to give her the very minimum. If need be, increase the no. nearer the date. For cases like yours, seems she has allowed couples to reduce the no. before. She's really the flexible kind. Suggest you call her up and speak to her regarding the problem.

adeline

What a pity....didn't notice that there is bridal show at Rasa and has already booked my bridal boutique with Moments in Life....

happy

i've also just booked with rasa and will be having my dinner at the pavilion. they have recently renovated the place and there is now a mini garden lawn connected to it. have decided that's where i'll be having my cocktail instead of the lawn by the sea cos it's more convenient. thought some of you might want to consider this as well.

catz

hi happy,
I'll be having my wedding ceremony at the Waterfront lawn and my dinner at the Siloso ballroom on 1st Dec. Hope the weather's good. Didn't know they were planning to renovate the Pavilion. The Pavilion's nice but we wanted a slightly bigger venue just in case the guest list swelled.
So who was the person serving you? Mine's Syafie and he seems quite OK. He even offered to let us use the bridal suite for the photoshoot. Too bad I won't be able to take him up on the offer 'cos my FH just broke his arm yesterday so the photoshoot is off indefinitely! :p
Anyway, it's nice meeting another Rasa bride!

bleuz

hi happy,

welcome aboard

when will your wedding be? rasa has such a beautiful view doesn't it?

hi catz,

have you thought about the transportation aspect for your wedding yet? how will you be arranging the coaches for your guests? any tips to share?

catz

hi bleuz,

we're going to just have all the coaches pick people up from the SPI building (next to WTC), in that way, if they miss the coaches, they can still catch the regular hotel shuttle (every 20mins). they can also drive in after 5pm, just in time for my ceremony!
That said, I hope everything turns out fine and that the weather's good!
*fingers crossed*

So when's your big day??? Care to share your experiences so far?

happy

hi bluez,

my wedding is on the 7 dec 2002,i met with ethal lam, she's quite nice but i don't think i managed to bargain for much, just more beer on top of the package. hopw to pick up some tips from the other rasa brides regarding the tranport for guest. quite worried abt that.

bleuz

Hi Catz,

Wow...ur BIG day is fast approaching, how are you feeling? I'm keeping my fingers crossed for u that the weather will be good too.. it'll be so beautiful then isn't it?
By the way, how's your FH's arm doing?

So which bridal boutique did you go to for your gowns and which studio did you choose? Any photos to show us yet? Where will you be going for your honeymoon? Hehee, so many questions! Hope you don't mind. Do fill us in on how your wedding went and give us advices too, k?

Just to share with the rest of you that i was at Rasa a few weeks back to view the setup of a wedding they had and this was what i noticed (there were 2 weddings on the same day):

- There was a bit of confusion at the SPI building as there were pick up's for 2 different weddings at the same place, the guests were confused as to which bus to go up to. (More signages required & maybe can put a few of our own ushers there.)

- The bus driver for the usual Rasa shuttle told guests who went up the bus to go and look for the wedding shuttle of the couple who invited them. (Should speak to the wedding coordinators from Rasa to rectify this situation, not very nice for our guests to go onboard and be told to go on another bus.)

- Signages at the hotel lobby should also be clear. Some guests might actually venture into the wrong ballroom, which was what I witnessed at the Siloso ballroom. The guests were supposed to go to the Pavilion but they somehow ended up at the Siloso and were told that they were at the wrong place. Quite embarassing.

- Setup for both ballrooms were really beautiful! Floral archs, candle stands, stage and all... really added a romantic touch to the place.

Hope this was helpful. Anything else that we should be taking note off? Anything that will help to make our planning easier and our wedding more beautiful will be appreciated!

catz

Hi bluez,
Yah, keeping eyes crossed also! Hope this monsoon passes soon so that it'll be cool & balmy weather on 1st Dec!

Thanks for telling me about the confusion at SPI. I think maybe we should make really prominent signs with our names. I'll probably be calling the hotel to ask them about this too.
Another thing to note- I think it's better to find out if there's any exhibitions on at WTC / Harbour Pavilion on that day as it will be difficult to find parking at WTC! I'll try to find out where's the events page for WTC.
Also, I find that since there's so many ways for guests to get into Sentosa, I set up a webpage to give all the nitty-gritty details which cannot fit on the hotel card! If you wanna view, go to
www.theknot.com/members/catherinefoo&kwangchienang, password 1dec.
Dunno what flowers to choose for my theme leh... I think they told me nothing too exotic if not need to pay extra.
Your wedding's only in sep 2002 right? Haiyah, got so much time!

The heat is on but I'm keeping cool. Musn't get stressed if not I'll pig out & get zits! Thanks for asking after FH- he just removed his cast yesterday but the bones are still quite fragile. But thank God he's almost recovered and that it wasn't so serious after all.

Dunno what else I've missed out?!

bleuz

hi catz,

glad to hear that ur FH's better... am sure his recovery will be speedy since he seems like the sporty sort.

i forgot to mention that i saw a couple having their solemnisation at the lawn when i was at rasa the last time... the weather was great and i think the whole do was perfect! that was when i started thinking about having my ceremony there again... we decided against it sometime back as we weren't sure how the weather was going to be like. having our solemnisation there will also mean having 1 guest list for both ceremony and banquet. so still deciding. but it's so dreamy and romantic...right out of a hollywood setting
lucky u!!

do let me know of the event's page for wtc (if there is one).... do also keep me updated on your progress okie?

take care for now and god bless!

catz

Hi bleuz,
WTC doesn't have an events page, unlike Suntec & Singapore Expo but I surfed down to CalendarONE and they've got a pretty comprehensive events calendar there. Maybe I'll get the hotel to call around? But we've decided that we'll station some ushers to be at the SPI Building to avoid confusion. Better safe than sorry and besides, don't want the guests to have a bad experience at our wedding

Er.. yeah, continue praying hard for good weather, if not my hollywood style wedding might not happen..sigh.. I'll let you know how it goes yeah?
So have you settled on your gowns and photographer? Which studio did you book with?
Take care!

bleuz

Hi Catz,

Read in the other threads that u weren't well yesterday, hope u're feeling better now
well.. hopefully the thot that today's friday made u feel better already

And hey!! How did u lose those inches... I need some tips badly..hehehe... trying to lose some kg's but to no avail... sigh...

I think stationing some of your friends at SPI is a good idea, so they can guide the guests up the shuttle bus.

Just wondering about your ceremony, how many seats will you be setting up for your guests? Any idea what's the maximum capacity of the lawn? Coz when I saw the couple having their solemisation there previously, they made used of the space infront of the seafood resturant (can't remember the name of it). They seemed to have not more than 50 seats. The catering people told me that i can seat up to 200 people so just curious as to how many guests you'd be expecting and where is the exact spot where you'd be having the ceremony.

Sorry to bombard you with so many questions yeah.

Yep... will keep you in my prayers and you MUST tell me how it went okie?

I have started the designing process for both my wedding and evening gown. I'm with Irene's Creation. Will be doing my photoshoot in May as my finace will be busy with work after that, and will continue to be right up to the wedding.

Where did you get your gowns from and who's your photographer (both studio and actual)? Where will you be staying after your wedding?

By the way, I forgot to mention that I visited your wedding website and I think it's simply fantastic. Good idea for all that massive info that guests might want to know.

Okie, take care for now and have a fantabulous weekend!!

catz

Hi bleuz,

Getting better slowly. Quite jialat 'cos I had to go on the nebuliser yesterday to open up my airways.. :p But definitely on the mend! Don't worry, k?

Thanks, I really enjoyed doing the website
Lets the guests kinda get to know you better, y'know? It was a fun project to do with FH as well! Plus I figured that since it's more complex for guests to get to our ceremony/dinner at Sentosa, we'd better give them more details.
Wow, you're with Irene's Creation! One of the better boutiques I must say. I made a humongous mistake in choosing my bridal studio- Golden Horse Awards. We just signed up at the bridal fair and have been regretting tremendously...

Anyway, to salvage the situation, I got myself a Ted Wu wedding gown for the ceremony. Don't intend to get married in my GHA gown- too cheena! :p Photographer's in-house, shouldn't be too bad lah.

We're currently in the midst of starting renovations for our new apartment, somewhere near Pasir Ris beach
We'll be putting up at my parents' for about a month after the wedding. Very excited that we're gonna have our own place soon!
Are you getting your own place too?

Have a good weekend!

bleuz

Hi Catz,

Good that you're getting better, hoped the wkend brightened you up a little

Lucky Girl, you! You've got yourself 2 wedding gowns! Envious, hehehe! Have always wanted a Ted Wu gown too, but I was really very happy with the service I received at Irene's so decided to go with it. The designer happened to design the gowns for my friend's wedding too.

Pasir Ris beach, that's nice. Close to both your workplace too rite? Can go there for romantic strolls after a hard day's work.
I used to stay at Pasir Ris too. Is your apartment opposite NTUC's chalets?

We've collected the keys to our apartment last November, so we'd be staying on our own after the wedding.

Can I just find out how many seats you will be putting up for the ceremony at Rasa? Any idea what's the maximum seating capacity?

catz

Heyhey bleuz!
Had another tiring weekend tying up all the loose ends for the wedding.. seems like a never-ending blur of things to do!
But it's fun running around with my boy!

Erm, 2 wedding gowns ain't nothing much to shout about, especially since 1 is not very nice at all. :p I really love my Ted Wu one though and Ted is a lovely guy!

Yah, my apartment is next to NTUC Pasir Ris Resort Downtown East.. very convenient - don't need to cook! Hehe..

So where's your apartment going to be? HDB or private?

As for no. of tables, I think we're going to have only 25 tables. We made a conscious effort in trimming the guest list as we didn't want a big 'do'.. we wanted to have the time to mingle with our guests
No point inviting people who don't really know you or even care about you, right? Since we're having the entire Siloso ballroom, it can accomodate 50 tables. I think the Pavilion is max 25 tables.. not too sure. Which ballroom have you booked?

bleuz

Hi Catz,

I can imagine how tiring it can be running around doing all those last minute bits for the wedding.. but good that you're enjoying it. Afterall, it's once in a lifetime rite?

So I gather that you purchased your gown from Ted Wu? Mind telling me how much it costs? What's the design like? Will you be keeping the gowns from Golden Horse as well?

WE got an EC in Sengkang. Did the reno and stuffs earlier so won't be caught juggling with so many things closer to the wedding date.

Erm, actually I was wondering about your solemnisation ceremony at the lawn. How many seats will you be having there? Did they mention what's the maximum seating capacity for the lawn area?

We've booked the siloso ballroom.

catz

Hi bleuz,
Yeah, it is *our* once in a lifetime experience and I am enjoying it so much! My honey is the sweetest! Glad we're not experiencing massive fights/blow-ups like some other couples.

Yeah I got an off-the-rack from Ted Wu. It costs about $1000 to rent and another $300-$400 to buy it. Very nice.. I like!
It's a plain duchess satin gown and there's a fine organza 'dress' that goes on top with sweet embroidery. Can't describe lah...

Wow, an EC in Sengkang? That's nice! Is it the one with the shopping mall below or something like that?? You are so sorted!! My reno is starting this month only.

For my solemnisation, the max seating capacity is about 150 people (comfortably).. I think you can even have up to 200 people! I think there'll only be about 100 people (+ or -) attending.. didn't want it to be too crowded. The ceremony will be small and meaningful.

Anyway, if it rains, we've got the siloso ballroom loh... That seats 50 tables comfortably so at least I know that my guests won't be cramped.

Hope that answers your questions for now. So how's everything going for you?

bleuz

Hi Catz,

wow... Your Ted Wu gown sounds really nice... so did you buy the gown or will you be keeping any of your other gowns?

Nope, it's not the one with the shopping mall. It top-ed last year so that gives us lots of time for reno works. How's it going with ur house? Must be so exciting with the new house and wedding so close now.

I was just wondering where is the exact location for your solemisation. Is it at the waterfront lawn or the area infront of the shakey's resturant? Still contemplating if we should have our solemnisation there. Sigh.....

Will it be alright with your FH and yourself if my finace and I drop by on your wedding day to see the setup for the solemnisation? Do let me noe yah? Thanx

I'm still taking things slow for now, haven't found a makeup artiste so still looking around. Any recommendations? Will be going for my 1st fitting in 2 wks so pretty excited. That's all from me for now, hear from you soon.