Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

megan

Thanks for the info, Elaine. Hmmm not sure if we are talking abt the same location. The one I saw is near Shakeys' pub with a white fence separating the beach and lawn. Located a bit further away from the hotel. Is yours near Shakey's Pub? My no. of guests also abt 40...may I know how much your buffet dinner per head cost?

Thanks...wishing all rasa brides all the best for their wedding preparation..

elaine

Hi icemaiden,

Thanks...ok, you can ask me when your time comes...but I'm not sure if I'm still here or if I still can remember
Just take note of my email address...u can email me directly. (click onto my nick for my email)

It depends on how many guest you have...I'd 40 including me & my hubby and we spend about close to 4K on everything...so I guess less than 10K is possible. However I save quite some money on things...eg:

My wedding gown was bought from a 2nd-hand sales, photography was from my classmate, videography was from an old friend...

You can book them as early as now, coz it's 1st come 1st serve basis...however you can only block off date for tat venue, but I think the price wise might differ as years pass.

I guess hot seasons are the best months...like june, july...dun book during dec or months with monsoon changes. Hot months do rain but the skys usually clear by evening time...tat's provided you hold during evening time. Afternoon is too dangerous & even if it doesn't rain, it's too hot

But not to worry, even if it does rains, they have a back-up plan but it's inside a small ballroom & the buffet will be a standing affair...no seats to seat down.

Hope this is clear for the time being

elaine

Hi Megan,

Yup, if you're refering to the White Fence near the Shakeys' pub then we're talking the same one.

The Lawn is not inside the White Fence, The Lawn is next to the White Fence... The Lawn is The Lawn, White Fence is White Fence...they are 2 different place / 2 different names but next to each other. Not sure if you notice quite a big piece of grass land outside/beside the white fence on the right...tat's 'The Lawn'.

White fence can only hold max 60 guest for buffet dinner, coz they have 6 round tables with 10 chairs each, a spread of buffet (food), the solemnisation table with 5 chairs, a recep table for the waiter/waiteress to clear plates & pour drinks & a the DJ's music 'thing'...tat's crowded liao...then not enough space to move about.

Maybe if you're talking why white fence can hold more guest...maybe because there is only solemnisation...no makan, so just all chairs facing the couples & no tables.

My buffet dinner for solemnisation was $55+++ per head. But that was last year's pricing...now I'm not sure.

meagan

Hey Elaine, thanks for the info. Ok I get it...yeah, I've been to both The Lawn and White Fence. When I went to Rasa, the couple had their reception at White Fence, but they put a small table at the Lawn for the solemnisation. The setting is so nice! But it's during daytime so it's slightly warm

Elaine, did you take any pictures? Do you mind if you can forward them to me? My email address is [email protected]. Thanks!

tanyp

Hi Meagan,

I had my solemnization ceremony at Rasa about 1 month ago. We had a high-tea reception and I got about 35 guests. I was quite lucky because the weather was quite o.k on that day. It very much depends on the guests you are inviting. I didn't invite many relatives but generally our guests felt that it was quite special.

elaine

<FONT COLOR="666699"> Megan</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="825EA2"> Bubbletea</FONT>,
You both are most welcome
I only upload my rom/solemnization of rasa...as for my banquet there, the isn't any pics on it. Click here to view my pics.
View the quicktime video clip for the settings of the place. The pics not so much of it.

<FONT COLOR="93ABB3"> tanyp</FONT>,
Congrats to your solemnization
You are veri luckly tat the weather turn out great.

oct pooh

Hi rasa brides

MIA for a long long time...was bz preparing my exams early June and my PC crashed agn....

Totoro,

Many congrats to u.....hope ebiting turned out smoothly for ya on yr BIG DAY! Soz for my late blessings.....hope to hear from u when u r bk on yr honeymoon =)

Took a long time to read the thread...seems like ang bao is the HOT topic ;p

Realli keen to meet up RASA brides like our advisor fang, leng, totoro n many more.....shall we organise a kopi session one of these days???

foxy

Hi everyone, I am new on this forum. I am also a Rasa bride and was really glad to read stuff by the various pp .. had the same concerns re transportation but it seems like it is not as insurmountable as I originally thot... ..esp after hearing from Fang... am glad that i chose rasa too.. .

my coordinator is syafie.. . have heard so many praises of ethel.. how's syafie? good or not?

amerline

hi Foxy

when ur big day? where u having ur dinner, Pavillion or Siloso Ballroom?

hi oct pooh

agree we shd have some kopi session one of these days. i am sure alot of us would have lots in common from the fact that we chose the same place to hold the dinner...similar tastes...

hi fang &amp; elaine,

can i check with you if the floral decoration is sufficient? i have some feedback that is kind of bare. if so, i may want to find another florist to do up the place.

elaine

Amerline - My banquet floral deco was just nice (a rite balance), not too much &amp; not too bare too. Are you holding a banquet for an outdoor buffet dinner?

Fang - How about yours? izit ok?

Foxy - Welcome to rasa's thread

amerline

hi elaine,

mine is solemnization at WF lawn and dinner at Pavillion. got old folks, so buffet is out of the question.

anyway i prefer sit down dinners, better crowd control. hee hee

meagan

Hi tanyp, thanks for sharing. Did you had your solemnization near Shakey's Pub also? Was a bit worried about the number of guests cos the website say min 80..but guess I need not worry any more. =) I have about 45 guests comprising of close frens and immediate family. Can you let me know how much you have paid per pax for the buffet?

Hey Elaine, got your email. Thanks!

Hi Amerline, your idea sounds good too, but the distance from WF lawn and Pavilion seems quite far right? How do you manage to direct your guests to the Pavilion?

foxy

mine is in Dec 2004 (yes yes... i belong to the kiasu race.. *wink*.. wanted to make sure that i got the day that i wanted)..

booked the siloso ballroom . . i like the beach ambience.. and honestly, it's not a pricey as the city hotels.. ..

have heard some comments that food at rasa not fantastic.. but from what i am hearing from this thread seems fine leh.. i think someone remarked abt the chinese wine chicken and the succulent prawns.. yummy.. yummy..

can only say that i am glad that the mrt is up and running..

hey i have a fren who recently attended a rasa wedding at the lawn (white fence side) .. said it was really nice and he said transportation is ok.. all he had to do was to park at parade sq and take the shuttle.. he said it was no hassle at all... ... he found it really pleasant..

anyway, i will be attending a wedding dinner next mth so should have a better idea on the venue... anything you guys want me to look out for and check out for you? it's a saturday dinner..

amerline

hi meagan

my wedding not over yet, but i will be having ushers all the way from WF to Pavillion. Lots of help required. and of coz directional signs at strategic points.

no choice, i didn't dare to risk having a total outdoor event in case the weather plays me out hehehehe....

foxy

oh yes, my fren who attended the beach front wedding did comment that the food was terribly cold by the time they started to dig in.. also mentioned something about poor lighting and could barely see what he was eating.. of course, that may be an exaggeration on his part.. but point here is that for those having the beach front dinner.. may wnat to get coordinator to ensure proper lighting and warm food.. =)

fang

Hi Amberline and Elaine,

I find my flora deco sufficient too.
I used blue and cream and it really live up the entire place...as I said before, no need to be too rosy as you are the STAR of the night. but of course not too bare also. I find the ballrooom one ok. maybe at the reception area, it can be a little bare. but with so many ppl around it is not so visible.

droopy eyes

Hi gals, my brother will be having his wedding on 26th tis month at Rasa. Is it true that they charge $25 corkage per bottle of wine?!

elaine

Amberline - I agree with fang...as for the banquet ballroom, the floral decos are sufficient. Maybe it's the solemnisation part at the white fence when they put rows of chairs... Why dun you check with your co-ordinator 1st ask them how they intend to set it up &amp; how much floral are they using...I think I ever seen tat setting &amp; do feel tat the floral deco are not as much as those you see in the magazines... I guess rasa can also liase with florist on tat but maybe it comes with a higher budget.

droopy eyes - Congrats to your brother. Yup, rasa charge $25 per bottle of wine for corkage. btw, your brother's wedding is on my rom anniversay...I also had my rom there

amerline

hi fang and elaine

thanks! think its time for me to make an appt with my co-ordinator to check out some details so that i can plan my budget and stuff....

pocahontas

m new to this thread. considering rasa as a possible venue =)

so far nobody seem to mention a set-up fee for usage of waterfront lawn for solemnisation?( dinner at pavilion on same night)

amerline, were u charged a few hundred dollars for doing solemnisation at waterfront lawn? (think coz its some kind of charge for holding up xtra venue in case it rains??)

amerline

hi pocahontas

i paid $1k for the WF lawn, includes chairs, seat covers, lighting, music, light deco etc etc....i didn't book another room for wet weather, i chose to use the Pavillion for solemnization if the weather is really bad.

foxy

hey droopy eyes,

i think it may be more worthwhile for your bro to just buy wine from rasa itself.. their house wine is about S$27 (no additional corkage charges).. seems more worthwhile...

i have been working closely with syafie and he is v nice and has been giving sound advices to me and FH.. . maybe your bro shld check out with his coordinator to see what makes more sense lah..

tanyp

Hi Meagan,

I paid $35 per pax. The advantages of taking the $45 per pax package (min 80pax) are that the food variety will be slightly more, you will get complimentary room, guest book, a bottle of champagne, floral arch etc. So for me, I just paid for my seaview room and Rasa will also give you special rates for your guests as well. On a whole, it's really quite special to have the solemnization ceremony there and I never regret having mine there. It was $$ well spent.

wedsoon

I have been MIA for a long time. I see that there are some new faces in this forum. WELCOME ALL.

Hi fang &amp; elaine,
Did you all serve wine during your dinner? I am thinking about it but is worried about the cost and the quality of their wine.

Hi amerline,
When is your wedding? Who is your co-ordinator? Mine is Ethel.

Hi poncahontas,
My cocktail will be at the waterfront lawn and they are not charing me for extra charges as I will not be placing anything there. Just let the guests mingle around and enjoy the scenery.

amerline

hi wedsoon.

my wedding on 4 oct and my co-ordinator is Elaine. i oso dunno if i shd serve wine or just go with beer. afraid that guests will just drink themselves silly.

elaine

Hi wedsoon,

Yup, we served wine during our banquet. We bought the wine from rasa coz it appears cheaper instead of bringing in yourself &amp; also easier. We opened 8 white &amp; 22 red. Total no. of tables, 28.

Why dun you order 2 glasses of 1 red &amp; the other white during your food tasting. We tasted the wine 1st before deciding to use rasa's house wine.

Rasa's house wine appears to be nice

meagan

Hi tanyp, thanks for the info. Wow you mean can negotiate till $35 per pax? That's good news cos I feel that $45 per pax is a bit ex. Dun mind not having the guest book and free room. You mentioned you had a high tea reception. Can share with me what is your program like that day?

Also, can let me know if there are any extra costs? Amerline and pochahontas, think you guys mentioned abt rental charges for the lawn..is the rental applicable only when u are having dinner at Pavilion and rom separately at the lawn?

amerline

hi meagan

yuppz....if its a separate event, u have to pay rental. u can eith hold it at the lawn or siloso beach itself. if its just cocktail reception, i think its free but not worth the hassle as the distance may be not worth it loh....

totoro

Hi gals, I am back,,been really busy recently,

Well, the wedding went on very well..My buddies and mcees did a fanastic job. hahaha..my guests enjoyed the dinner and solemnzation a lot!

but quite unhappy with the Rasa service. I think its due to the recent Rasa promotion, they are just so many guests in the hotel.

Those guests, my jiemei and brothers, only managed to book in their room at 5pm ..after much shouting...sigh...caused some unpleasantness. according to my guests, the room service , housekeeping, all very bad..too many pple.

and fang, think u are the luckiest here, our beer ran out and we had to open another 2litres which cost us more than $500. and we have no surprise like what u said! u are so lucky.

reagardless of all this minor issues, the important thing we felt our wedding was really great. filled with love and friendship..

deco wise, my jiemei did a great job. i have yet to do out the actual day thingy, once i am done can share with u all, how we did our deco for reception.

thats all

amerline

hi totoro,

welcome back! glad that ur wedding went on fine. btw who ur co-ordinator?

2 litres for 500?? i think u mean 2 barrels right? that much beer ah? ur friends must be good drinkers than.

ya...post some pics online for us to reference alittle.

so who the next one on the thread getting married at rasa????

totoro

hi amerline,

heehee..paisey. yap i meant 2 barrels, i am not a drinker la. Yap, those friends of my hubby drank A LOT!! we had 50 litres ???sthg like this for 21 tables and its not enough. the banquet manager was quite surprise too. hmm...

my coordinator is quite good. its elaine.

feel free to ask if u glas need help

amerline

hi totoro

wah....1 barrel is 30L, u ordered another 2 barrels, that means its total of 90L of beer!! ur hubby's frds sure can drink! oh no, i got 30+ tables and alcoholic frds
i better prepare to standby more than. hmmmmm shd i have red wine than?

yuppz...agree that elaine is good. i went to her after reading a write-up on her in one of the magazines hehehhe good review.

bubbletea

Elaine,
Thanks for sending your website. WHo did u get to do your photos? Very nice! =)

Totoro,
Welcome back! May I ask how was the parking and transport situation? I thot the hotel does the decor? How come your jiemei did it? How was it?

fang

hi totoro,

welcome back!!!!
glad to hear that your wedding went well. see i told you not to worry abt transport etc..bet it wasn;t on your mind that special night. hehee..

abt the extra liquor, its worth every bit as long as everyone is happy. so cheer up.

look fwd to your replies on wat went on that day...hope you have a great time with your honeymoon.

bubbletea

Elaine,
You are also very good at web design. Well done!
Din take whitelink cos their studio is very far and Ulu. Din know their photos are quite nice leh...

oct pooh

Hi Totoro,

Welcome bk!! happy for ya dat yr wedding went on smoothly =) Waiting to see ur mei mei pictures +)

Mayb we can meet up say next week, on friday evening @ a centralised place?? Are u gals available???

I juz returned from my Bintan photoshoot.....boy it was tired....2 days under the big sun.....chao tah liao....got some 'souvenirs' from Bintan.....Suntan, sand fly bites &amp; mosquito bites =(

Oops...looks like i'm gona burn a BIG hole in my pocket liao....my hubby and my frens are drinkers....summore it's on a saturday n i dun tink they will control....cham lar

pocahontas

thks amerline for your reply. prob goin down sentosa this weekend clarify everything if possible =)

elaine yr photos r bery well taken indeed. was considering whitelink but fiance didnt like photos taken by them. shd show him ur photos moibe will change his mind ;)

totoro

Hi bubbletea and all gals,

yap the deco is done by the hotel but it is pretty plain... for the A3 paper, the hotel only print ur names and some wording in a beige plain paper. So one of my jiemei did some artwork for me. the reception side is quite plain lor..so they used seashells and candles and some pic to deco for me..very very nice. :eek:)

my actual day pic not ready yet. will post it out maybe 2 weeks time..heehee..busy lah...

amerline

hi pocahontas

i am also going down this weekend to clarify some stuff and finalise some details. better get things done earlier so that at least if anything gets held up i still got lots of time to spare

hi oct pooh

good suggestion, i am okie with any place central. lets see the response than. wow, bintan PS ah, shd be quite nice. i think its worth all the "souvenirs"...

hi totoro

waiting to see ur pics!

bubbletea

I would be happy to meet. so exciting. Let's see the response from the others. =)

Any of u did yr own website other than Elaine? Elaine, what software did you use?

elaine

Pocahontas - Actually, some of the photos style was requested by me, eg just the jumping one, the pull tie one. I think most of the bridal shops taken 'safe' pics just incase couples dun like the style.

Bubbletea - I used html &amp; flash to do the website. btw...how u know tat it was done by me?

oct pooh

Hi Amerline n Bubbletea,

Yup....hope the response will be good....mayb we can meet ard Orchard area for kopi....tink it'll be central for all ba, i assume +)

Totoro,

Lucky u got helpful n creative jiemeis ard.....did they prepare all the barangs barangs in advance? If dat's the case....guess i muz get such tingy prepared in advance first

Bubbletea n Elaine,

I like e website done by you too!!! Tink i last saw it in one of the earlier thread. U got "cai2 hua2" leh......*Appaulse * Appaulse

tanyp

Hi Meagan,

Sorry was very busy so didn't reply you earlier. I didn't negotiate lah. If you take up the $35/pax package, you would not have the floral arch and 6 flower stands which can cost about $800+++. It can actually make a lot of difference in the overall setting.

My program is as follow :

10.30 am - Makeup at bridal studio
12.15 pm - Check-in at Rasa Sentosa
12.30 pm - Brief helpers
1.30 pm - Arrival of guests
2.00 pm - Start of ceremony
2.15 pm - Signing of documents + Photo-taking
2.30 pm - Proceed for tea reception
4.30 pm - Pack up &amp; get changed for party

I hope it helps.

vio

hi oct pooh n amerline,

so glad u gals initiated meet up session, it'll be nice to share info as we can only make our event (Big day) happen once.

i'm fine next wk, let's fix a date n see if the rest of rasa brides to-b can join us!

bubbletea

Meet somewhere in town, perhaps city hall one weekday evening?

Elaine, I saw yr website sometime back. Din know u r the same Elaine. Think u wrote somewhere that u r the designer. Well done! I wish I can do one too. sigh...

meagan

Hi tanyp, thanks for the info. How's the tea reception? From the website, the menu doesn't look very appertising, but i think it depends on the quality as well. Did you upload your pictures, can let me take a look? My email is [email protected].

Hi Elaine, finally got to see your wedding video. You look better in the video than in the pictures. =) Thanks for sharing your website with us, it's really very nicely done up. Was it dark by the time the ceremony is finished? Looks dark towards the end, but your videographer quite pro, still can capture the look quite well.

amerline

how abt meeting up this fri at cityhall or suntec for dinner and some chit chat session.

Venue : City Hall Area
Time : 6.30 pm
Agenda : Anything under the Sun