Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

madden

elis,

you sound like you have been forced to go, those bopian type. u meant the FH of totoro used to sit behind u during lectures? that's it?

totoro

wow the whole world seems to know me wor!!!

huh

so surprising.

hi mad, just out of fun, whats ur purpose of coming to this thread? :eek:)

mad

totoro,

i was dragged into this forum by this upcoming bride and i'm in the planning stage of my matrimony ceremony which is scheduled to be held in 2005

i am a good buddy of amerline for your info

well, maybe one day, we can meet up and have kopi someday

madden

I think pple still don't get the pt.

The help rendered by the sis n bro is un-measurable.

there can be no market rate for it. angbao is just a genuine gesture of appreciation. anything less would just demeaningfy the priceless relationship btw the bride n groom with their bro n sis.

if there is one, I rather not have any sis n bro on that day. I don't think that they are true bro n sis anyway.

brandy

sorry to say this,
but i will never give more than $60 for a wedding at rasa, not becos i'm cheapskate or stingy, but becos i feel that $60 is just right for the kind of resort status. nothing more.

totoro

ya sure...heehee..we shld have one session for the rasa bride ya..heehee,that will be fun..

recently rasa is so packed with pple and i am really concerned abt the parking. Whew...everywhere is full and the lobby is just so noisy....urggg..i hope this will not happen on my wedding day .

mad

now with the coming school holidays and major events stagged by STPB in promoting singapore, the car park near siloso beach should be full by the time your guests arrive, you may want to talk to your wedding planner about ample parking lots in the hotel for your guests. anyway, the next car park is quite a relative distance away from rasa

initial-elis

totoro - i am the elis who did 1 posting yest. cos i realised that i am attending a wedding on fri. happens to be at rasa. your hubby's guest. this is the 1st time i am coming into this forum today and realised that someone else is using my nick for such a strange load of rubbish postings!!!!

GOODNESS!!!! the other elis, if you have nothing better to do, go buy some vcds to watch at home. dun come in here type rubbish!

totoro - i TOTALLY AGREE with you on how much you want to give as ang boas to your helpers. cos it really is not the amount of money that matters! its the thought and the appreciation! if your helpers is expecting alot, than ask them go work part-time as banquet staff in the hotel during your reception better. hotel can pay them $5/hr.

kawayibabe

hi totoro,

do i know you??

i wasn't been invited to RASA for wedding dinner so i doubt we knw each other.. but maybe we can meet up one day for a drink.. hehehe.. u can impart all your knowledge and experiences on ur wedding to me!!

you getting married sometime this week rite.. guessed the comments on this thread seems to be getting too personal.. dun get upset by all these..

ignore them and get prepared for ur big day!!

we have booked our package with RASA as well.. getting married end of this yr
tht's why quite active in this thread nowadayz.. came to knw this site through a close friend!!

we havn't decide how much to gv to the helpers.. probably almost the same range like wht you're gving.. S$68-S$88.. think tht'z a reasonable amt ba.

initial-elis

and as for how much guests should give to wedding couples, i think guests should gage it by how much hotel is charging the couples. we dun want our good friends to lose out money in weddings also right?

i presume rasa is charging you guys a rate of about 800/per?? so, guests should at least give &80 for the wedding couples to break even! i know its not a matter of how much. but, i think its courtesy and consideration.

totoro

initial-elis ,

ooh, someone trying to be funny here ya.
hmmm..weird.

not to worry , and thanks, is a relief, was just telling my hubby abt it and we had a good laugh over the person sitting behind him during lectures.

Whatever it is, lets have fun ya on friday...

to the other elis, duuno whats ur hidden agenda but u must be one of the guests since u know the exact wording of the card, whoever u are, i still wish u well..

to the rest of u,
not to worry, usually i do not take this forumn too personally..just telling my FH, the thread seems funny today,rather peronal .

To us, we believe in the goodwill of friendship...how much we received or give is definitely out of the appreciation to our friends.

quote from madden:
The help rendered by the sis n bro is un-measurable.

there can be no market rate for it. angbao is just a genuine gesture of appreciation. anything less would just demeaningfy the priceless relationship btw the bride n groom with their bro n sis.

it just my thoughts.....

kawayibabe

totoro..

tink they have upset you enuf today!! dun take them too hard.. sometimes comments on forum can get too personal and subjective!!

cheer up!!

amerline

hi mad,

just curious, who are you, pls drop me an sms! since u say u my frd. heehee thanks!

totoro

hi kawayibabe ,
me not upset lah

will not be be swayed by these pple. jut being curious thats all.
thanks anyway.

Hi amerline,
so u dun know this mad ?

hmmm..weird hor?!

initial-elis

tororo :

i have not taken a very close look at the card as yet. only know that i am suppposed to be attending a wedding dinner at rasa coming fri. (hopefully its rasa! thats what my other friends says...hopefully i am not that blur...hahhahaha). hey! you just go ask who is the blur-est gal amongst your hubby's guests and he will know who it is already...the gal who forgot all dates, places, venues, never turn up for gatherings, talks a lot, bo chap over everything...hahahahha

i am sure you are gonna be a beautiful bride that day cos i kinda knows your hubby's taste in woman....he's got quite high taste you know....hahahha

kawayibabe

hmm.. some ppl trying to be funny here!! got nothing better to do!!

anyone got recommendation for a good manicure & pedicure?? tinkin of doing a make over as well..

initial-elis

by the way, coming friday is 20th june hor??? hahahha! thats how blur i am......

initial-elis

tororo - i will go up to you to tell you who i am okie?? of cos give you a huge huge congratulatory hug too

initial-elis

but think cannot lah...your hubby conservative....wait see i hug you, he piangzzzzz....

totoro

sure, will like to know u..
hahahaha..after all these, think its real interesting..makes life more interesting..hahahah..

i mean today is real interesting..now my mind roughly guessing who are these pple trying to pose u and what their motives are...wow..must tell him abt it..

maybe get chin leng to find out ..hahahaha

and lets expose them during the dinner..heehee

initial-elis

totoro - knowing your hubby, after you tell him...he will sure go 'huh? is it?? hahhaha"

yah yah! exposed them! so fun
precisely! i know i am popular, but i din know i am sooooo popular that ppl wanna pose as me...hey! since i am sooo popular, why not i make a peformance during your banquet than ppl pay to see me sing? all the money contribute to your wedding recept. hahahah

i was rudely shocked to see so many of my postings when i came just now when I have not even touched my laptop for the whole day. whole day out meeting mah

how come you still online? me still in office. waiting for my bf...

ann

Just to add one point. Not everyone who gave a small red packet is cheapskate.

One of my close friends is so reluctant to come to my wedding initially cos' she could not afford the market rate as her husband was retrenched and she was expecting. If I did not reassure that it is her presence (and blessing) and not the ang pow, I guess she would be too embarassed to turn up.

In fact, I now regard her as my truest pal as she is willing to reveal her problems to me and is willing to be attend my wedding despite others' ex[ectation of a 'reasonable' ang pow.

Dear all, please bear in mind that the wedding dinner thingy is to share our joy with others, not a showy and profit making event.

stingray

Dear Stingy,

Is having a wedding dinner at a restaurant cheapo? Some restaurants' rate is higher than that of RASA and the food is definitely better.

Don't be too quick to condemn those having dinner at a restaurant. The couples may value the quality of food more than the ambiene.

kawayibabe

tot this thread all abt RASA? how come it became a hot topic on $$.. hehehe

anyway, $$ is not the main concern lah!! it's the thoughts tht count!! but seriously, was both upset & pissed off at my frd's wedding.. over how the family treated us!!.. boils me up most..

anyway.. my deepest apologies to totoro. didn't expect to cause disturbance to you over my casual remarks..

not worth getting upset over the comments here. tht's their motive, isn't it..

best wishes to your wedding.. weather been bad lately.. have you made any special arrangement.. juz in case?

initial-elis

tororo- yes, i confirmed that i am attending a wedding coming fri at rasa (hahhaha, for once i am not so blur)

so, what should I be wearing to your wedding? last nite, I was talking to one of my guy friends who is also attending your wedding. asking him wear what. he says dunno...so, i was warning him not to ching chai wear...i HATE it when ppl dressed over casually for wedding functions. eg : jeans and tshirt..feel that they did not give sufficient respect to the wedding couples
)...ahahaha, meaning i already warned all my friend to better dress UP for my wedding next yr...cos i wanna have a beautiful wedding with beautiful ppl mah :p...ooooppsss! that means you gotta dress well for my wedding too! cos i am surely inviting your hubby and yourself to my wedding!!! hahahhaha....so coincidental! must really give you a huge hug on fri :D

so, i shall wear a nice black dress to your function okie? wondering how my friend (your hubby) will look like on fri
) so, are you excited about your wedding??? last 3 days liao...presume you not working already? better take time off, go pamper yourself.

wedsoon

Have not visited this forum for a long time and so much things had happened ...

Hi totoro,
Congrats on this coming friday
hope that everything goes smoothly..... All the best and enjoy your honeymoon and marriage life.
I am very surprised by the string of messages posted. But don't be affected by it and stay happy and you will be the most beautiful bride that day...

Hi kawayibabe,
Nice to know you. When is your wedding date?

kawayibabe

Hi wedsoon,

nice knowing you too

our wedding is on the mid of Dec.. hmmmm... dun tink wana post my date here lah.. in case smone we know wana b funny and post crude remarks on us.. hehehehehe

so.. ur's coming soon??.. noticed ur username is "WedSoon"..

wedsoon

Hi kawayibabe,
Not so soon.... but in Nov 03. I am very surprised that such things will happen in this forum as all the while it is an enjoyable place to share and exchange ideas for wedding at RASA. Fang is one of those few who had got married and still comes to this forum to share with us her experience..

fang

Hi Kawayibabe,

Yes I held my wedding in March this year and I am still reveiwing this site and answer to queries based on my experience.

I have seen many new ppl joining in which is good. Ignore those who try to be funny...most importantantly is to exchange any news or join in the excitement of the brides to be.

bubbletea

Totoro, all the best!

Think those people who posted funny remarks are very rude!
I was a jiemei before, I only got a small angpow. It was tiring but I din mind cos I was so happy for my friend, I also had lot of fun too. Remember to appreciate them well, may be monetary or may be in other ways... Most friends don't look for the amount, they are there to share your joy.

blessed

i'm new here but i've been reading tis forum since the beginning of the year.

i hvn't been giving much thot abt my wedding at Rasa in mid Dec 2003, so, sorry that i've not been able to contribute. But i really appreciate all the advice given by ex-Rasa brides like fang & leng. Thanks for the encouraging advice, fang!

Totoro,
as i've been following tis forum closely, i feel that i'm 'watching' ur wedding preparations from the beginning till ur big day tomorrow... i juz want to say to u, "Have A Blessed Marriage!"

fang

Hi Blessed,

You are most welcome.
Happy to know that my comments can help you guys somehow.

I believe you will contribute more when your wedding is coming soon.

As for now, just sit back and watch what totoro has to say abt her wedding next week.

totoro

hahaha..finish the wedding liao..

It was so beautiful and great..

will share more when i fly back from my honeymoon..

elaine

<FONT COLOR="blue">totoro</FONT> - Congrats to your wedding &amp; welcome to the ex-rasa bride's club

<FONT COLOR="purple">fang</FONT> - Sorrie took so long to reply you...I'm fine, just like before. How about you &amp; your hubby? The other day, I was watching our vcd &amp; I saw your hubby (caught in the act) trying to get my hubby drunk
btw, I've not seen any of your pics, can share with me?

fang

Hi Totoro,

Congrats to you! Glad that all was smooth and pleasant. Look forward to your returning...

Hi Elaine,

haha...ya that;s my man. always trying to "fix" up the groom. i dun mind sharing with you my pics...but how am i gg to proceed? I dun have a scanner

amerline

hi fang &amp; elaine,

i have received some negative feedback with regards to the deco of the banquet hall and reception area. is it really very plain???? really worried about it. And how is the food?

my wedding is Oct'03 and now getting jitters due to all the feedback. hope that i didn't make the wrong decision. i really love the waterfront area for the solemnization.

elaine

Hi Amerline,

I feel it's ok...nice settings inside the banquet hall &amp; reception area. I had my rom/solemnization at the white fence, the overall setting is beautiful.

As for the food, it's great...but I particularly like their desserts.

elaine

Hi bonnie,

I had 2 events there...my rom &amp; my banquet, both a different day. ROM was a buffet dinner &amp; banquet was a chinese dinner.

As for the chinese banquet, I took the red bean cream...it's really thick, grain until veri veri fine &amp; sweet too...yumm yumm..

As for the buffet dinner, it's the cakes &amp; small pastries tat are veri delicious...especially their cakes (the chocolate moose cake)...veri rich, soft &amp; sweet...I think their cook is good at deserts

megan

Hi Elaine, I am new to this thread, quite interested in taking the rom package at Rasa Sentosa. Went to the lawn facing the sea, it's beautiful! But saw from the website that min 80 pax only and i dun have that much guest...can tell me more abt your rom?

elaine

Hi Megan,

ok...my rom was at the white fence, beside/next to the lawn. The portion tat had small little white fence surrounding it. The max for the white fence is only 60 pax. The lawn is bigger but there are bushes blocking the sea view.

I had 40 pax (4 round tables) during my rom. Also had a buffet dinner after my solemnisation.

icemaiden

Hi elaine..saw ur wedding video in another thread..very nice ah!!...i think will need ur advice when my turn comes.coz we are think of rom there also..
but will be in 2005..heehee...so long hor?..no choice leh..got to save $$..i hope still can find you here by then...
for the rom..everything less than 10k rite?...i mean plus gown, phototaking and all?...how many mths in davance must i book from them..?..which mth is the best ah?...mths when it will not rain..coz rain jus spoils everything...keekee