Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

jes407

hi Xinyi,

ya the reno will start next year.. thats the info i got from the coordinator. They will have more info on the schedule at end of april.

chewy_chew

hi jes, thank u for the infor.. i intend to hav it this year's nov.. tat's why so afraid they will start reno early.. u bookin wif rasa?

jes407

@xinyi, from wat i saw is ... theres still some cost apart from the nett price that they quoted for per table. so its quite expensive when u add that all up. 1 most impt to note is ... they dun provid LCD projector... rental is @ 440++

rumi78

LCD projector was loaned to me complimentary by rasa sentosa. I stated upfront in my requirement. Corkage waiver. Free flow of beer. 5 coaches.
I had signed up during 2008 wedding show and min guaranteed 20 tables.

I held my wedding last dec on a Sat at $898 nett/table.

Food was just enough for everyone, and guests commented that the there was quite a lot of real shark fin and food was delicious and service was good too.

Scenery setting is fantastic, something different from Orchard rd ballroom where once u n ur guests are in there. u will just be around the ballroom area with no scenery. Only bad pt is my guests got difficulty finding parking in Rasa even though I had a reserved list as got other events going on at Rasa.

Overall,didn't regret holding my evening solemnisation by the lobby lounge and wedding banquet at the The Pavilion even though i had many relatives n parents initially complaining.

After the wedding, they thought it was something different and relaxing. and find it a beautiful wedding. Many foreign guests were there for a holiday and were very curious about this wedding event and gave compliments to my relatives who had dolled up and also to me.

chewy_chew

hi jes, lcd projector is no issue to me.. can always take from my office.. we hav our own screen also..

xesthir, thank u so much for the infor.. am still deciding between rasa n club chinois.. my rasa coordinator told me for sat it'll be $938 nett now.. 40 bucks more than urs.. which we tot it's quite expensive
u had your solemnisation by the lobby lounge? is pavilion's decor too plain?

rumi78

Yah.. saturday is the most expensive day to hold wedding banquet at rasa sentosa.

A few yrs ago.. rasa sentosa only $800-$820 leh.. cannot compare lah. every yr price goes up.

Yeah, i have a beautiful solemisation with a pink n white rose arch at the lobby lounge. It's sheltered yet still open concept can see scenery. Afraid outdoor will rain, especialyl in dec, dun want to add additional stress.

Pavilion after decoration is quite nice lor, with the roses stand and table roses and arch. If u want more extensive deco, u can opt to engage ur own florist and exchange other stuff from rasa.

Actually most impt is food is good lah. Must fill up their stomach with good food.

Transportation forever an issue at rasa. Other hotels at rasa, i believe also have similar issue. Can try to negotiate for more coaches lo..

Actually my coordinator made some blunder earlier.. made me upset so in then end gave me some more FOC stuff..so i am lucky or unlucky.. ha

jnikkiab

Any soon to be Rasa brides here?
Mine is in May and i'm organizing the food tasting but have ran in some problems

Anyone has problems with their food tasting??

jnikkiab

Hi Raine,

Mine is a buffet dinner but they only allow 4 dishes for tasting out of 16, which I thot was too little...

BTW, when's yr wedding?

raine24

hihi, my wedding is in a little more than a week.

mine's a chinese dinner, so I can't comment on the buffet dinner food tasting.. so sorry..
but wishing u all the best though! do try to get what you want, think the food tasting is def impt.. wonder wat does yr contract say..

rumi78

Cool.. u having it at The Pavilion? Is really a nice place..away from the bustle in town.

me going this dec for my anniversary stay..

chewy_chew

> xesthir, YEAH!! the pavilion.. my htb n i love the scenery which we can view from the ballroom.. it's not the usual boring ballroom.. hehee.. your anniversary stay, is it complimentary? or u jus decided to hav it there to celebrate ur anniversary?

rumi78

yes i did eventually even though i had sourced for outside to print customized cards. but decided in the end to use theirs.

rumi78

hi xinyi, diff pple diff definition of too plain. I find it alright.

U can request from your coordinator to take a look at some couples wedding banquet set up on their wedding day, with default flower arrangement from Rasa. U can better gauge there yourself.

nicxy

Hi can anyone share if they are still having candles and chocolate for favours? My AD is in Sept09.

Xesthir> can share about the parking issue at Rasa? Even with a list of car plates given to them the cars are unable to drive in? What if I have my own ushers at the carpark entrance?

sun_tan

Nicxy,
We are thinking of getting both candles and bottles. Half each. My AD also in Sept 09

What you mean even with car plates given, the cars are unable to drive in? I dont think they would allow u to place ur own ushers there..

rumi78

I gave a list of car plate no. to my coordinator who said she gave the car park ushers/ security at the front, but in the end still blocked by them...for those vip cars which come later, they were told to mark at merlion. my aunt was so pissed that she raised her voice to scold them coz my solemnization was 6pm and it was already late 5+pm .so she just drove in bypassing them.

Oh yah even after telling them that the brides parents are inside the car, going to witness the solemnization, the security still tell her to park merlion. /Faint. u can imagine how hot my aunt was. All the brothers canot come in too at 4pm /faint... i had to call my coordinator to do something abt it.

yah dun think allow ur own ushers.

zj09

Hi, anyone manage to get complimentary parking tickets at the Merlion / Beach carpark? Do they have such tickets?

chewy_chew

>zj09, dun think so.. they wun give complimentary carpark cos they have provided free shuttle service between the carpark n the hotel..

emmatravis

Hi Xesthir, could you also send me the pics of your solemnisation?

Actually have already booked the dinner with rasa, but is still thinking of solemnisation at the beach...

chuar77

I have the following items for sale.
These are bought last month, thus in very new condition.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 9 bottles, $70 each

2) Chivas Regal 12 yrs, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $55 each

Please email to [email protected] or sms to 91106030 for enquiries now!