Shangri-la Hotel

Hi pishako... thanks for sharing.I'm the only child so my parents, esp my mom has very high expectations. Now.. we just need to try to cut corners cos we are very scared of financial debt and committment. Parents won't want to bankrupt their children... I agree.. but holding a wedding costing less than $50k won't bankrupt us... it's just that we may have to take a bigger housing loan and not sure if we will be happy working and paying off interest to the bank... don't know if you understand..

Since wedding is a once in a lifetime event, might as well make it more unforgettable. I guess everybody has diff expectations. For some anintimate affair will be good enuff, for others perhaps a grand wedding is better. I prefer the latter cos it's not everyday we get to wear a wedding gown. It's been a while since any of my relatives held a wedding so my family wanted a grand wedding. The last tiem anyone in my clan got married was my cousin and that was 12 years back and she didn't hold a wedding dinner here. She married a French and flew there for the wedding. Now, other than my immediate family members, my relatives are also looking fwd to my wedding. They've giving me lotsa suggestions. Think they are more excited than I am. However, our parents are very understanding. They leave all the planning to us. The least I can do is to accomodate to their guest list.

By the way, what package did you gals choose? And how much are you gals setting aside for the wedding, incl, all photography, honeymoon, banquets, etc?

Cactus, have you got a place? I think it's not wise to take a big housing loan cos the interest is gonna kill you. The interest rates are moving up and looks like it'll continue the upward trend. Though the US Fed mentioned at the FOMC yesterday that they might stop the rate hikes, I think it'll prob. raise for another 25 to 50bps.And when that happens, it'll affect the interest rates in Spore too. I only paid 1.6% interest for my previous house. For my new place, the interest is 3.6%. It has gone up 2% over 2 years.

cactus, i know there're debts to pay.. but i guess i m super optimistic type one.. as long as we r young and able, can work, i guess i dun mind the bills & loans.

and I am also open to the possibilities of downgrading should we decide tt we are sick of the house loan.

faith, tink i m on the same frequency as you.

Our parents also left the planning to us, let us do what we like and they don't have strong suggestions so far.. yay!

BS + Photography + Videography (confirmed): 10K
Banquet: ermm.. budget loss of 10-15K

aniwei, about home loans, think can look at maybank.. their rates usually quite attractive. too bad we cant switch.. stuck w UOB..

Pishako, which package did you go for? I'm not sure how much my loss will work out to be cos my paternal relatives are quite stingy. So far, all my friends lost $ for their wedding. But I've one friend who make money. He held the dinner at a restaurant and it costs abt $400 per table. I think most people will give between $80 to $100 no matter where the banquet venue is.

Cactus,
Don't worry so much abt $. I used to worry abt it but have come to realise tt we shdn't sweat the small things. Since we've committed to holding a banquet, we shd try our best to make it work and keep our fingers crossed tt the loss won't be too big

My FH is a lawyer but thankfully he's not argumentative. In fact i think i'm the assertive one! He usually obliges and gives in to me hehehe, though of course i don't bully him too much and try to be sweet to him in return

Actually, if u wanna save, perhaps u could relook other parts of the wedding expenses. For e.g., we agreed to do away with certain "extras" such as a real wedding cake, customade wedding bands, VG to reduce costs. And also staying in before the house arrives in order to save more $... Quite impt to work things out with ur FH and decide how to approach the issue of budgeting for wedding expenses and spending.

Have u gotten a house yet? Perhaps look at a new or resale HDB flat to reduce the instalments payable

Actually we always wanted a small wedding. Getting married in Bali and honeymoon after tt was our idea of a dream wedding. Alas, it has to be a big affair. But we tell ourselves tt when we renew our vows, it'll be the way we want it! Guess it's an obligation thing in our Asian society, to have the banquet and all. Though of course i'd much rather a small intimate affair with loved ones who i'm close to and who would be truly happy to come for our wedding!

Yes, i think the market rate for APs is abt $80-100 and this includes the church. So prob have to be prudent and budget for losses...

We're prob getting the silver package, if we manage to convince the parents tt upgrading will cost a lot! Going to set aside abt $70+K for everything, hopefully can recover some of it thru AP. But mostly non-recoverable expenses cos we paid quite a bit for our PG and honeymoon...

Faith,
We paid abt $2K for Ray's package which included a collage album. Not sure if his prices have increased. As for whether the combined package using PS and AD is cheaper, u may have to check with the PG himself cos i did everything a la carte so not v sure

faith, i also opted for silver.

Ray's package got 3 types.. 2480 and 2680

actually i got his package px in my email..

count, when u planning to go honeymoon? right after banquet?

I'm opting for the gold menu. Is the silver one better? Do you think I should change it? Think I'm gonna loose a lot for the wedding if the std AP is 80 to 100. If everybody gives 80, I'll have to loose abt $12k plus the 10 tables my hubby is giving my parents, that will be another 13k. My parents aren't asking for dowry though. Did your parents ask for dowry or tables? Which is the norm, either or or both?

Hi Pishako,

Why are you up so early on a Sat morning. I've got no choice cos I've got a seminar to attend today else I msot prob will be in bed till noon. Just finished my seminar and back in the office now. Wasted my weekend.
By the way, can senf me Ray's quotation to [email protected]. Thanks.

hi faith, i am an early waker. emailed ya aldy.. n i m taking the silver package cos it's cheaper. your guests wont even know that u are spending more on a more exp menu, besides, as mentioned earlier.. ppl dun usually gi a lot more.. they jus assume tt 100 is for 5 stars anyway.

and my parents are not asking for tables or dowry. Pretty nice of them.. the most is my mom will use part of the pin jin to pay for necessary stuffs for the wedding and return the balance.

besides, i am and still will be giving them mthly allowance..

Hi Pishako,

Thanks. I've received it.
Will discuss with my hubby if he wanna change to silver package. Thinks it makes more economical sense. I've already spend a bomb on my house so it might be a good idea to cut down on the wedding since it might not make much diff. Your mom's real nice not to take any tables and to spend the pin jin on your wedding.

faith, think the savings for a silver package will translate to more budget for a great honeymoon..
how much did you spend on your house?

Hi faith!

Hmm personally i'm going for the silver menu too. Honestly, the guests wouldn't know that you have spent so much on the food and it'll be very hard to cut down on the losses.
My parents are not taking any tables or dowry either. They understand that we are paying for the wedding ourselves hence we'll be very poor after the whole thing. Hee

Lucky for me, our house will be ready only in 2009. Hence we've enough time to save up all over again. Staying with ILs in the meantime..

Hi Pishako & kyrie,

It's really nice both your parents aren't taking tables or dowry. I wanted to tell my mom too but my hubby asked me not to. He don't want my parents to feel oblige not to take the tables. He said they will offer if they want to. Did your parents offer themselves or did you gals speak to them? I've showed my hubby the silver package yesterday, he's not very incline to change. Did you gals make any changes to the menu, like swopping dishs between the 2 menus? Thinks he's too absorb in the world cup right now, will try to wash his brains again.

Pishako,think you are right to spend the $ on honeymoon instead. Cos we get to enjoy it whereas we don't really get to enjoy the food on our wedding. We spent about $90k on renovation and another $40k to $50k on furnishing.

Kyrie, which floor are you staying in Pinnacle? My frd bought a unit there too on the 44th floor. It's good that you get along well with your ILs. My ILs are really nice think it's a diff thing if we stay together.

Hi faith,

My mum and dad knew right from the beginning that we are paying for the wedding ourselves so when i asked my mum about the tables and all, she told me that she and dad didn't want any.
Am really thankful for that. My parents are not those traditional kind cos they don't know much about those chinese wedding customs and stuff.

Hee your hubby's too caught up with World Cup? Yah guess you should talk to him again after that. It's probably all he can think about now. You still have quite some time to your AD so can discuss properly after the matches are over.

I'm staying on the 40th floor.
Yup i agree with the ILs part.. got to keep my fingers crossed and of course.. got to give and take.

Hi faith, i didn't ask my mom but i was discussing with my younger sis if my mom hinted e # of tables she want (cos she spends more time w my mom) and my sis said tt my mom had mentioned tt she didn't want. So i asked her 'officially' the no. of tables she wanted.. and she gave me an official reply.

woah.. you spent 90K on renov?? Your house must be darn big! how much did you spend on your house?

about the menu, u can easily swop bet the 2 menus and i upgraded 1 of my dishes (to smth in the gold menu) for free.

kyrie.. tt's nice.. your unit is so high!

kyrie, 40th floor! The view must be very nice. You must have got a very good ballot no.
Agree with you on giving and taking. Stayed over at my hubby's then bf's place, when we renovate our previous house. Couldn't really accomodate to their living patterns and no freedom. My MIL kept knocking on our bedroom door to ask us to eat bf early in the morning when all i wanted was to sleep late on weekends. I know she's concern that we skip bf but then again it's not my habit. Think i'm more fussy cos my hubby get along perfectly well with my family. He don't complain at all when he stayed with my parents.

I only managed to wake my stoopid hubby up at 2pm. Shortly after, he's back for a nap. Thank goodness, it's only once in 4 years. Don't really understand this worldcup craze?! I guess i can only discuss with him again after the world cup.

Pishako, your sis real nice to sound your mom out for you. I didn't think of that and both my hubby and i went straight to ask our parents how many tables and dowry they need. Maybe i'll ask my sis to hint my mom to reduce the tables. Hee..... hee........... Think my sis will most prob bribe me for her "service".

Yup, 90k, the area is about 2500 sqft incl. pes. Initially, we budgeted abt 60k but it just kept increasing.We spent quite a fair bit on hacking and redoing things that's already done cos we weren't satisfied. And we add on more works during the process. I think i shd have spend more on furnishings instead cos these are the things we can bring with us when we shift nxt time.

When my hubby and i were dating, we bought a condo together. It was about 1528 sqft, incl. the pes. After living there for a yr, i felt very constrained. I wanted a bigger place. Thought it will be better if we are thinking of setting up a family, the kids will have more room to run abt. But kinda regret it now cos it may be another few yrs b4 we have kids and by then we might want to shift again. I still prefer my previous place cos it's very near to orchard where i work. Thomson is further away.

hi littlebabysmurf,

Welcome! When's your big day? My wedding coordinator's Melanie and she's really nice.I didn't really get alot of freebies but managed to get a 2nd night on our wedding. If i didn't remember wrongly, the 2nd night was suppose to be an anniversary night stay. I also got corkage waived for 24 bottles of wine.

By the way gals, did you managed to get a day room for helpers? Is it for a full day or from 2pm to 8pm?

Morn girls!

It's youth day today so it's a holiday for me! Yipee! Hahaha

Pishako, hee the view isn't too bad but it's the travelling up and down the lift that i'm kinda worried about. My ear tends to get blocked when i go up high levels.

Faith, yup our balloting number was kinda too good to be true. We have actually thought of giving up the Pinnacle cos we thought the wait is too long, but then the results came on that very day and we were appalled by the queue no. we got. Hee it was almost like striking lottery..so we decided to go ahead.
My FH used to be very much into the World Cup 4 years back, but he doesn't seem quite keen this time. Thank God! Hahah
My ILs are very nice people but somehow, staying together isn't the same. Got to prep myself mentally and emotionally for that.

hi faith, how much did you spend on the house in thomson? 1528sf sounds very big to me aldy.. are u doing the cleaning?

anyway, 90K for such a big area sounds ok.. pretty reasonable..
it must look veri nice

Hi all, thanks for the reminder not to take up too large a housing loan. Straits Times had an article today about housing loans eating into retirement funds.. very scary. FH and I are planning to buy a 3room resale HDB.hopefully dun need to take up housing loan... we're both very very scared of financial commitment...

Hi morning gals,

Kyrie, are u a teacher? I'm so envious you get to rest today. It's Monday blues for me.Like you mentioned earlier, staying with the ILs require lots of give & take. But don't worry, I'm sure it will work out well for you. The husband is usually on the wife's side, trust me.

littlebabysmurf, or can i just type smurf nxt time? The username's a bit long.
My AD is on 29 Sep 07. Still a long way to go. Don't worry abt the preparation, I'm sure you'll get lotsa tips and help here. I've learnt a lot from this tread. Who's your wedding coordinator?

Pishako, 1528 sqft incl. the pes. The build-in area is abt 1100 sqft. My hubby & i like to stay on the ground floor with a pes cos we hold a lot of bbq parties. I like bigger space cos we always have guests ard, prefer it to be more spacious. My place in Thomson cost close to $1m. Kinda regret it cos we paid a premium for the reno done by the prevoius owner but then I hacked it all. How much did you pay for yours & what's the area? Think De Royale is a nice place, the location is good, near to town.

I won't be doing the cleaning. We engaged a part-time maid that comes once or twice a week. I only do the laundry.

Though I spend $90k, it doesn't look $90k. A lot of the $ was spent on the hacking & redoing. Feel quite sad cos we spend a lot but it doesn't look that way. I spent most on my master bedrm, kitchen and toilets. Once I'm done, i'll take some pics and email u.

What style will you be adopting for your house? I'm more towards the european style but somehow it looks like a mix between european & resort style after the reno.

Did you do any reno for your place? If it's new, then you need not do too much, think $30k to $40k shd be sufficient. That's what I spent on my previous house. You'll save a lot if you are not changing the flooring and cabinets.

Hi Catcus,

I read the article too. Wise choice. You can always buy another one nxt time. I think Holland V is a nice area to look at.

Hi faith,

you can email me @ [email protected]
for us, the style will prb be contemporary classic. Looking to engage Haier Living cos they are very good w homestyling but i m worried abt their quality (there's a thread on their workmanship.. mostly wetworks which is NA for us).

we won't be hacking anything.. cos looking to sell in a few yrs' time and also, they are all brand new! it wld be a waste of $$.. it is 1055sf, we paid abt 6-700K.. cos it's on 24th floor, unblocked view.. tho his parents had wanted us to get a condo in bukit timah so tt we stay near them n they even offered to top-up! imagine 800++K for smth abt the same size and darn near the road.. but they were veri nice to accept our choice

what's your job? are u a doc-to-be too?

hi faith,

thanks for the support. Some of our relatives and friends cannot understand why we would be looking at resale 3-room HDB flats.. anyways.... we went house viewing on Sat afternoon. Prepared to place deposit after our parents viewed the place, so made appointment for Sunday evening cos FH worked on Sunday morning & we had marriage prep course on Sunday afternoon... but too late... another buyer placed deposit for that unit on Sunday morning.... luckily customary wedding only in mid-late 07. Still have some time to look around.

Hi cactus, why won't your relatives and friends understand?

btw, where are u taking your marriage prep course? is it indi or grp? useful?

what does your FH do? how come need to work on sun morn.. haha.. did he watch world cup the prev nite?

Hi pishako,

I'll email you prob. towards the end of the mth when it's fully furnished. If everything's new, then there's really no pt hacking and redoing it, moreover you are planning to sell it in a couple of yrs. Is the bkt timah place you are referring to shaped like a ship? 6-700k for 1055 is pretty reasonable considering it's so near town. Is it f/h or leasehold? Your ILs are real nice to top up for your place, wished my ILs offered that.

Do take some pics of your place and email me when it's ready.

I'm not a doc-to-be. Cactus perhaps. I'm in banking. What abt u?

Pishako, cactus's FH is a doc to be. Think you r all mixed up.

Cactus, I totally understand how it's like to have f'cial commitments since I'm in banking. Think you might want to bring your parents for every viewing so you can place deposit on the spot. Else you might loose it to someone else again. Or perhaps you can take pics when you go viewing and show them instead. Which area do you prefer?

hi faith, shaped like a ship? hmm.. blue windows.. i can't rem if got distinct shape. My place will prob only be ready like in oct or smth.. key collection in Aug.

yah.. think i m all mixed up! can be a tad confusing.. n shuffling in n out of forum while doing work. I am in marketing & IT for a Jap MNC. What do you do for your bank? can PM me.. haha.. mabbe nt time can run mkting promo w ur bank.

what does your hubby do then? mine is now working for family business.. tho he studied engineering last time. pretty unrelated. haha

Hi Pishako, I'm in law, FH is doc training to be specialist. FH works overnight sometimes and works half days on weekends sometimes. Relatives & friends can't understand cos our combined income can let us take loan for condo, but we don't have much cash savings as we've only started working for 3 years +.Dun want to be at the mercy of bank interest rates (sorry faith!). We're attending a marriage prep course organised by Touch Communities. The course is very enlightening and very useful. I personally thought I had discussed major issues with FH including financial stuff, parental control, housing, no. of kids in future and religion and choice of school for kids, etc. But after attending just the 1st class, we realise there is so much we have learnt for application into our lives together.

Hi faith,
We're looking at any area with 3-room HDB flats which are less than 30 years old, within walking distance to food and mrt as we don't intend to buy a car in the near future. It's not easy bringing parents to every viewing cos our parents work and it's tough as we try to arrange for multiple viewings on a single weekend once every 2 weeks. Our parents have their social events.... not easy. We've taken photos of the surroundings of the estates that we like though and have shown them to our parents. My parents have said we can go ahead to place deposit without letting them view. Dun know about FH's parents.. .but FH's sister bought a HDB flat with her ROM but not AD husband 3 years ago without telling FH's parents first... so guess it's okay to just phone to inform we are placing deposit but no time to bring them down to view incase lose out to other people. Our parents had already been informed that we had lost out that unit to another couple..

just got back from lunch. Gotta go off early today cos something crops up with my reno. The designer just called me. Headache......... I'm afraid it'll be delayed.

Pishako, my hubby is into business. What's PM? Is it email? I happen to pass by a condo that looks like a ship along upper bkt timah rd so i tot that's the one u were referring to.

Cactus, if you want sth closer to town, yu can try Holland V, Farrer Rd or Boon Keng. But I'm not really sure how old the flats are. I think parents nowadays tend to be very understanding so I'm sure your ILs and your parents will be okie with your choice. By the way, if you buy a HDB, it's better to take loan from them, it's fixed at 2.6% p.a. so you won't be affected by the fluctuating interest rate.

Do you have more details o the marriage prep course, perhaps my hubby & i shd attend it too. We've been staying together for a while so i wonder if it's necessary. Just wanna know more on what's covered.

faith, pm is private message. try not to kill your designer.. hehe.. hope it's nothing big.

cactus, gd luck w house hunting! I think holland v sounds like a nicer environment than farrer n boon keng..

Hi faith, we can't take a HDB loan cos our combined income exceeds the cap requirement if we were to take up a HDB loan... and also, neither can we apply for the $30k/$40k housing grant from HDB cos our combined income exceeds. Friends who don't understand tell us we can buy condo with our salary, but we don't have much cash savings cos only started working 3 years plus. So no choice but to buy resale 3 room HDB flat.

FH and I are attending a 5-session course conducted by Touch Community Services (no religious affiliation). These weekly 2.5 hr sessions are conducted in groups of between 4 to 6 couples in the homes of the instructors. The instructors are married couples. My group has 8 couples, therefore a couple instructor and a couple facilitator. It costs $200 with $70 rebate from MCYS if we attain 100% attendence. It also includes a 1-on-1 private session for each couple with the couple instructor to go through individual personality profiling. This is not a compatibility assessment, but rather to see how the couple can make it work together. The 5 topics covered in this course is (1) Structure of marriage (2) Roles of husband and wife (3) financial planning (4) communication and (5) sexual intimacy. There are other courses organised and approved by MCYS. You may wish to contact MCYS to find out more. This course that I'm attending is open to married couples too. Half the number of couples in my class are already married (ROM or ROM and AD already). 2 couples are ROMing next year. Touch Communities run 2 classes each year. Once in July, once in January.

Hi pishako,

how do i pm you then? Actually I also like holland v! Hee... Heee.. We think alike!

Hi Cactus,

Sorry, I've never bought a HDB, didn't know abt the restrictions. What's the income ceiling to buy a HDB? And whats' the income ceiling for grant and housing loan? Tot everybody can buy HDB, so why's there a ceiling cap? You mean you can't stay in HDB if you are rich? Don't make sense to me leh.

Hi faith, you can't buy a new 3-room HDB flat if your combined income exceeds $3k. You can't buy a new HDB flat (excluding 3-room HDB and Exec. Condo) if your combined income exceeds $8k. You can't buy a new Executive Condo if your combined income exceeds $10k. In relation to resale HDB flats (all sizes), you can apply for a $30k grant (HDB gives you money to buy the resale HDB flat through your CPF account) if your combined income does not exceed $8k. If you or your spouse stay near parents,you can apply for a $40k grant if your combined income does not exceed $8k. People who exceed income cap can only buy resale HDB flat without taking up any grant....also, combined income does not mean that the couple is rich... depends on what you define as rich - cash rich, asset rich... but FH and I don't fall in either category. We are being penalized for our future earning power... rather irritating.

hi gals!

Wow - great to see the thread moving so fast!

Plus the issue of the day is close to my heart, having just viewed flats over the weekend.

Saw one 5 rm (1313 sq feet or 122 sq m) we liked (same here, fiance and I are trying not to over-commit on housing) 4 minutes away from the mrt station - whee!

Will be bringing our parents to view it soon. We hope to spend max $20-30k on reno...

Cactus,
are you looking at a 3rm resale in the east? we could be neighbours!

Hi twinkle,
so far we've looked at 3room resale at Outram/chinatown area and lavender/kallang area. Which location area you looking at?

Hi smurf, will email you tonight. U work for local or foreign bank? For all you know, we might know each other.

Hi cactus, thanks for the info. I didn't know abt all these regulations. My hubby and i was still toying with the idea of buying a hdb and rent it out. Tot sure make $$.

<font color="aa00aa">hi cactus!

My dream flats were the SERS ones at Eunos. but they were all balloted out. Still gaze at them wistfully when my mrt train zips past... :P the full length hall windows are quite nice.

So now looking around Simei, since it's a small quiet neighbourhood but with all the necessary amenities. and the older flats are much more spacious than the newer SERS ones... plus, it takes me 20 mins to get to city hall.

hi faith, recent change in CPF ruling caps use of CPF monies to buy second property. I think it's something like you cannot use CPF monies to buy second property unless you have minimum sum.. need to check CPF website.. Also, there are HDB regulations on renting out HDB flats wholly. I think it's okay to rent out one room but not the whole unit if regulations are not met. Basically, can only rent out whole unit if have already stayed in HDB for at least 5 years and if no outstanding loan. If got outstanding loan, can only rent out after having stayed there for 10 years...

hi twinkle,
Yup!!I've seen those flats at Eunos. Very very nice and so near the train station and the food!Hope you find the nest of your dreams.

Cactus,
Who's ur PMC instructors? We went for the course in March too, very enriching and enjoyable course. Much more enlightening than the one conducted by my church

All the talk abt flats and housing! Wow! Went to check out the condo opposite Pinnacle yesterday and it was almost sold out. Now i know why it's diff to find a suitable home. The amt involved is so huge u wanna think it over but the gd units get snapped up so fast!

Twinkle,
122 sq m is very spacious for a 5 room. Mine is only 103 sq m

Kyrie,
Looks like construction progress on Pinnacle is quite fast. Hopefully will be able to collect the keys fast! Hmmm... Still have cold feet abt shifting in with ILs. Sigh...

Hi count, I'm presently attending the course conducted by Edmund and Mun Lan. Were they your coordinators? I find them very obliging and nice.

just got back home after meeting my designer. Think i'm gonna kill my condo mgt commitee. So inflexible &amp; demanding. Force me to remove the tiling i did for my pes. Said i can't do it w/o seeking prior approval. My goodness me, i've a reno permit but they said certain works are subject to approval. Com'on it's my place, y can't i reno the way i like? The previous condo i stayed aren't so unresonable. Anyway, my hubby refused to remove it cos we paid for the tiles and the labor. If we were to remove it, we'll incur xtra cost. Moreover, the walls look so plain w/o the tiles.

Hi cactus &amp; pishako, thanks for all the info. I really got no clue abt all these regulations. Heard a bit from my frds but didn't know the details. I really learnt alot from u gals.

Hi twinkle, wat's sers? If you want do reno, u might wanna consider my designer. She's very patient and her workmanship is good.