Shangri-la Hotel

hey choco,
Hv emailed u.

Well, no raised platform done for the show & tower. I've not seen except on the mag(mentioned in my emails)

haha..i almost missed it as we both at so lazy lying ard coz raining & cold. We oni decided at the 11th hr & we r even late for reg.! but still managed to go into the ballrm tho the show juz started. I've seen the invitation cards for spring's set up, its very unique..it has a oriental(CS) button as closed up. cute! but the bears not so nice, i had 'em as freebies durin PanPac show on sunday, they had same bears..(favours co. the same i guess)

Ya.me no regrets in goin lar. tasted some goodies too.

wah....got customized wedding invites also? Was that part of the dream package? *green with envy* wonder if shang's 'old' brides like me ( old package but AD not here yet) will get those.

I don't like bears.

Hi choc & biba,

After reading all the posting....it reallu make me regret not attending. Is the theme only apply to new Shang brides? Which mag did u see the raised platform? I have seen one of the Shang bride who did a raised platform for her wedding...l find it nice & unique. What is the favors offered by Shang now?

choco,

The cards r placed on each themed tables lor. Each theme comes wif a matching card..(or u wanna consider Dream package & u'll get exclusive deco & theme wedding!!haha)

think shd be no prob lar.I think the card shdn't be restricted to oni the theme. they shd be flexible, afterall juz cards!!

germ,

The theme i saw is for their Dream collection. I guess if u wan to hv it oso no prob but coz we are having their Grand collection, we hv to top up aside from the standard package lor. Rite Choco??haha..

I saw the platform when i read herworld bride's march-may 04: evelyn & darren issue. Pg 164, if u hv. dat's the oni time i came across but not seeing it imperson.

Favors wise, oni managed to see on the theme tables like oriental bears...etc. til u meet ur co-ordinator, ask her more ya..

Germ,
u signed up BS or PG/VG?when AD? I forgot?

zann,

who did ur PS? Where did u go? Saw the chapel-like place & greenery...very nice!!!sorry ah..tdy managed to see clearly ur photos..
u r very lovely...

wow, so many new thgs tt i dont know of..?? hehe..

so biba, u gonna sign up for the Dream package? since u havent signed yet so still can decide too..

choc cowgirl,
yah i agree.. it sounds like a show we shdnt have missed!! but then again im sure if i'd gone tt i'd have been tempted to add all those thgs into my package.. then my bf will *faint* hahaha...

Oh no, ashie..
The Dream Collection starts from $82K(I bet its based for wkday 30tables!!) i dun think i wld do that, i'm fine wif wat i'm currently offered. The package is very comprehensive that i do not need oso since I hv my gowns already. unless i'm rich in anytime now.

No need to be sad even if u didn't attend coz u can still get to add on if u wan lar. But i dun think i will....

biba,

did u say 82k?!? *faint* so we shd be thankful we booked before they launched this thing huh.. else to have a wedding in shang will need 82k min in the future??

ashie,

yup. dat's alot more comprehensive than our grand's. & it incl. vera wang WG & stuff, dat's y exclusive & ex.
Min 82k if u wanna hv Dream collection.

hi biba,

Thanks! My PS done by my BS.
We went to Fullerton, Changi & Sentosa.
Those landmarks you mentioned are at sentosa.
U having PS soon?

My PS in sept. Thot of Robin tie up wif Divine.
Urs is which PG?
The sentosa very nice, i din know ant the chapel looking building..where is it.near which part? Is it very secluded?

ashie, maybe can strike toto! Then can afford the dream package! *just kidding* I don't gamble.
Though I think if we want stuff that isn't already in OUR package - we can top-up (hate this word!) if they cannot give it to us free.

Hi biba,

Since we hve alrdy signed up with Shang long ago...are we entitled to choose from the four theme ( summer, spring,autumn & winter )? Do u know which florist did the decor?

My AD in Oct.I signed up with Ted Wu. My PG is Yew Kuang & VG is Fabian.

think our package is standard flora deco. if u wan the theme can top up lor. Dat's wat i think lar. I dunno as I did not ask anyone from shang abt this as when i saw thw package oredi faint!

Like choco said, u can but need to top up(sigh..nothing is free...if we wan more..)

Are TW ex? U must hv come up wif the design liao rite? So ur PS photographer is? Oh heard fabian is gd, many gals engaged him.

germ dear, sebastian did the decor. If you also want that, be prepared to top-up quite a bit for flowers on top of the standard. Since we didn't see the decor on sat, maybe we won't lust for it.

envious you got fabian.
He was booked 2 years in advance for my AD. But be prepared, he a bit 'buaya'
, will spend quite a bit of time chitchatting to the jiemeis, that's what happened at my 2 weddings of my 2 girl friends. His work is good though!

biba, sign with divine already...now want ted wu ah?

Hi biba & Choc,

The top up is abt the price of a BS package rite? Then that's abit ex....cuz juz for a nite but then again its once in a lifetime...hard to decide.

I signed up the package w/o photography for 3700. No, l hve juz went for my 1st appt. My PS is with Chris Ling.

Is he really that 'buaya'? Must warn my jiemeis 1st....

biba, divine is gd...very sexy low back gown.

haha germ, he spent quite a bit of time chatting with the jiemeis around the tea ceremony time. But he of cos manages to take enough for the video. Also at the end, when the couple does the goodbyes and shake hands after the banquet, he just sets up the tripod to capture the video and dunno where he went??

My friend realized after getting the dvd that there was an editing fault that caused one segment of the video to be repeated and he of cos amended the video for her.

I must emphasize that HIS WORK IS VERY GOOD though and he is also very nice to deal with. Despite all...he was still my first choice VG.

hi biba,
yep went for the show but was kinda late so seated near the back. =P

Zann,
sentosa has a chapel?? heh.. where ah? kinda curious cos' also thinking of sentosa as possible PS place.

jaye,

so did u manage to get someone to usher u into the ballrm? Well, too bad i did not take any pics otherwise can share it wif the gals.

Did u take pics? How abt goin to Tower for the set up that day?

When is ur AD?U bk wif 'em?

biba,

how to tell u?
hmm u saw my pics with the pond and white strip swing?? All these and the chapel are next to each other...

chocolate cowgirl / germ,

Fabian was also booked when i tried to get him for AD back then.

Jaye,

err...i can't rem which direction we turn etc to get there liao heehee
but do you know where the pond with koi is?? is all around that area..and a shop there for ppl to buy food to feed the koi in the pond??

biba,

depend on what type of scenery/effect u like??
another place couples like to go is labrador park...sometimes u see those wooden bridge scene...
some others like to go fort canning (if you like the greens)..but i think u go there to feed mosquitoes heehee

ya, my colleague's PS was at Labrador park, the big rocks,splashes from the waves...but will the WG be soaked wif salt & turned color?

I prefer greens & nature, must bring along my adidas to cover myself but gass make feet itchy...??

Hi Choc / zann,

Ya, he is very ncie to deal with...easygoing guy. As long as he can provide gd video...buaya abit also nve mind.

I count myself lucky to be able to book him.

biba,

thats why my BS got different sets of WG for indoor and outdoor..
if worried abt WG become dirty then cannot even go sentosa liao :P
yr WG MTM?

chocolate,

yaya...i brought insect repellent during my PS but didnt get to use it...~
wei so u had yr PS liao?? got photo to share boh

zann,
Yup, mine is MTM package. I dun think BS will give OTR gown for PS,heard fm gals that we wear our own gown. aiyo, maybe i'll check wif BS when i go for 1st appt.

Think bring repellent oso no use. gown so heavy how to apply unless i apply b4 putting on WG. maybe bring mosq. coil!!!hahaha...

ya germ, I think you are very lucky too!

zann, no lah, haven't photoshoot yet, mine in aug & sep, went to lab park for pak tor, mossies attack me, made me unhappy, cos I buay tahan itchiness! I'm the type that attracts mossies, even if there are many pple in the room, I'm sure to get bitten!

hi gals.. me considering shang for AD.. just want to find out whether there have been any comments about the food there? i've been in touch with jessica from shang.. she's really really nice.. make me want to sign up immediately.. :P

biba, I'd rather be more 'girly sweet' than 'mosquito sweet'! Have a good lunch girls~!

cote_p, most of the comments I have heard about the food have been good for shang. It is a high-end hotel with good reputation for its food. You can ask zann who had her wedding at shang recently only. I think the menu was created by the chefs at Shang Palace - well known restaurant too. Consider well before signing up ok? Negotiate well too! *wink*

welcome cote p,

Jessica,wow she must be very gd that u r tempted to sign up stat.(i haven't heard her name, been wif Wendy all along.)

The food are nice & service r 2-thumbs up!!legs oso up!!haha..really, they rendered excellent svc so far. The Tower ballroom has juz renovated while island soon. Now they come up wif new packages. Guess Jessica has shown u.
The premier suite has large bathroom (at least compare wif other hotels),room ok but not as gd as valley's!!

When's ur AD?

hi choco cowgirl,
hahaha.. yah me dont gamble too, so guess that option is out for us

welcome cote!
agree with choc cowgirl.. consider well before signing up cos it's abt the biggest "settlement" uve to make for ur wedding.. tho i'd tell u that u wont regret it!!

food-wise, i wont say it's the best.. ive heard good and bad comments over the past few years but mostly good - cant pls everyone rite?

all the best n let us know ur your final decision!

ya i also dunno who is Jessica...my coordinator is Wendy too

cote p,

our wedding experience at Shang is wonderful! Guests had good feedback at their service and food. i think i repeat this a few times already maybe the other gals already sian liao haha

cote p,

Both my hubby and i think we made the right choice choosing Shangrila. Also, our friends/relatives commented that the wedding was grand and beautiful.

zann,
er...koi pond at sentosa? not sure where either... any more clues?? heh!

biba,
yar got ushered in but cos' the show had already started so we just sat at the first empty table!

Hi Chocolate Cowgirl,

can I ask about your experience with Sebastian? What did he propose for you, and have you done any follow up?
I'm roughly at the same stage as you I think (I've also met up with him and have sort of decided on him). Many thanks!

hey audia, he had some ideas in accordance to what I wanted, but he told me to get back to him with regards to my budget before he can get down to planning it. My FH and I are still considering.

jaye,
guess we need to go sentosa to look out for those spot that zann mentioned haha..me dun usually go to 'quite' places..?!!hehehe..
So hv u decided on the venue yet? Hv u viewed others so far?

Jaye,

no clue liao leh..

biba,

is not really remote area..but i guess is not so much as visited as those beaches in sentosa..
wei yrself leh? decided on venue yet? :P

Hiya Chocolate Cowgirl,

my AD is in mid june, so am in the thick of preparations! we're still thinking about what we want tho! have u picked a color scheme?

Not really audia, I'm thinking of a 'theme' wedding since I still have 7+ months to plan. Maybe you should pick a colour scheme that compliments your EG?

Hi 'same day as me' jaye, have you decided on the venue yet?

halo morning gals!!

zann,
not remote ah..oki next time ask Hb to go c c..
Me ah!! Yez spoken to HB, he said 'OK'
with Shangrila!!yippee...so we will go ahead with the contract. He'll take charge to sign it hahaha...
So I dun hv to think abt venue....

Now i'll wan to cfm my VG/PG..