Shangri-la Hotel

Hi Ladies! tks for the replies!

Zann : Yr friend sent me her pics. Very nice!

Choc Cowgirl and ashie: Ambience is my main criteria. Cos food cant please everyone ma. hehe And I do feel like I am on an 'adventure' kekeke Very new to this.

biba : Raffles looks really nice too. I emailed them and some lady called Jen responded with the full package details. But their wedding fair coming up on April 17th. I am going!
What I love abt Shang, is the the hotel settings. Like an oasis tt is nicely tucked away.

yes titania, that is exactly what I felt when I first visited Shang! An oasis tucked away in busy Orchard Road.
And as my guests walk from the lobby to the pavilion - the longest distance one can walk to a wedding venue in Shang - they will experience the lush beauty of Shang.

hi choc cowgirl,
hmm.. yah i will try as much as i can, but he alr made it clear he's not gonna let me spend a bomb on flowers.. *shrug* cant wait to see yours!

zann,
i was going to ask the same question as you! biba, u decided alr or not?? hehe...

hi titania,
then enjoy ur adventure..
btw when's your wedding?

weiwei zann & ashie,

hahaha.. really going to pay deposit soon for Tower Ballrm but my HB need to see more of others as he's very cautious type.

Me alr closed eyes after viewing wat I wanted to see so far, FS & Raffles. Dun think I'm keen on any other. jus wait for HB to give the green lite to sign on the dotted line!!
to me, I've decided on Tower lar...

Btw, zann,ashie & shang's btb,
if we get Shang's LCD projector, do we need to get DVD player from them too? Or our VG/PG will rent us theirs(or they will use laptop?) for express highlite/montage?

zann, i've gotten ur email & been to the thread. But it's more for projector rental. I'll get this from shang but how abt DVD player? Think shang chg for CD player rental.

How?How?

wei biba,

hmm, as far as i know, hotel's don't usually provide the laptop even if u rent the projector from them. You have to get yr own source. So reckon that applies to DVD player? Is there anyone who know of something different?

Thats the purpose of forwarding u the link mah cos is for projector rental. Actually you can call them up to enquire cos i ever called one such number before and his projector rental includes DVD player and the switch/cables needed and also setting up the LCD projector at the venue for u.

zann

ya dvd player. oh my god, still need to source for this. tot get projector will do(*very naive hor*),sigh..jus called one of the VG/PG, he said get from hotel since they hv to set it up..hahaha..but dun think they throw in complimentary at all.

actually PG/VG can use laptop but according to him, it poorer picture quality & possible hard-disk crash.

Thks ya, i shd call up the lead u gave me for dvd rental( or bring mine!!!hahaha...)save cost!

ashie dear, lucky for me my FH feels that more flowers more impressive, so even though at first I was reluctant to spend more on the flowers, he is already more insistent on more flowers!

biba - since you know that you want Shang, then for your next few banquet venues, book some lousy ones for appt so that he will find shang so much better!
dirty trick!

weiwei choc cowgirl,

hehe..use dirty trick! gd idea!!! me go ask him see 3 venues on each sat & sun, let him feel very tiring,til he give up oki?haha..no lar, if he wans to hv more grounds,then i follow suit lor. or next time anything went wrong, he put all blame on me..sob sob.

wow..ur FH oso like flowery deco!!! unlike some dun like flora stuff. mine, I hvn't ask him abt anything but will definitely come up wif something diff & memorable!!(hopefully lar!!)

wow.. i didnt even think abt the issue on dvd player.. think will prob bring our own too. no point renting when we have it.

choc cowgirl,
wow.. u so blessed huh.. hehe. i'll def try to get as much as i can. now im still wondering how the flower stands along the aisle can be such that his swordbearers can march in and form the "swords arch"... dunno if you know wat im talking abt.. well, watever. when the time comes then i'll think abt it

hi count,
sorry i dont know of any up-coming show in shang. but you can always give the coordinators a call to discuss the package and view the ballrooms.

hi count, no idea of any up-coming show. Most of us here already booked with Shang so I don't think that we will be looking out to attend their bridal show?
Can always call shang up.

biba, I remember seeing 3 venues one after another on sat afternoons - after that only want to collapse and sleep! :P

ashie, maybe you can ask your coordinator or florist? I'm sure they will have handled sword ceremonies before. I'm sure it will be beautiful!

dvd player or laptop - maybe should ask shang and also the videographer. If they don't provide then bring your own lor. Just go there early enough to make sure that it actually works!

I tot if engage the service of a videographer and the package includes the morning highlights....the videographer will provide the necessary laptop or any players he require rite? Me gettin confused here....

biba,

if u want to save cost then sound strange to me liao cos is cheaper to source outside then rent the projector from hotel. somemore dvd player is cheaper/more common and much easier to source among frens than an lcd projector..

germ,

no leh they only provide the DVD/CD for your highlights/montage don't provide the equipment.
They will only be present together with the person who set up the player/projector to test out yr highlights/montage before the wedding, they don't provide player..unless yr videographer different from others..those i asked before last time all don't include projector/player. Some can loan u the dvd/projector at a charge.

choc cowgirl,
*fingers crossed* just hope they dont topple the flower stands over!! then i'll literally have flowers "all over the ballroom"

germ,
zann's right.. morning highlights usually means providing you with the DVD of it, not the player.. better check.

weiwei germ,

initially i tot too that the VG/PG will provide but he says only laptop if we want. But he advise to get a player instead as in case laptop hard-disk crash,no more...sob sob.
Looks like they only bring disc to do testing while u provide the equipment.

It's best to clarify with all parties.

zann,
U r rite that getting projector from hotel is costly. But guess it comes with the player as well.I'll find out more ya.

biba,

Did they tell you that player is not included?
I have called before last time and the fee the guy quoted me for the rental of projector
includes player as well. And also cables, switches, set up/testing. Which means still they are cheaper :P
He even told me he will bring a spare projector in case the 1st one is faulty.
On yr wedding day, they bring the projectors/player/cables etc set it up
for you, test together with yr videographer. At the end of your banquet, they collect it back.

biba, actually what you can do since you haven't booked your venue is to try to ask the hotel if they provide projector? Usually laptop or dvd player even if hotel and videographer don't provide can source from your friends or family. If you book shang should be no problem including the projector in the package - in fact I negotiated 2 projectors.

chocolate cowgirl ah chocolate cowgirl,

actually....most hotels can lend u projectors...just that at a cost so not really a problem which hotel biba going
but if want to save cost then sourcing outside for projector is a better choice. so issue not really abt where
to hold the dinner then you get projector leh..

Hi ashee, we're looking at smtime in 2007. Worst scenario is 2008. Depending on our finances.
we're planning early so we can budget out everything. Found this post cos I am planning my cousin's wedding.
Plan mine while I am at it!

Hi Chocolate cowgirl,
Rite, I'll check with shang for this. U gotten 2 projectors from them shd come with dvd players & set up lar. What did u neg. or exchange with?

Zann zann,
Ya, hotel will rent u at a cost if they did not throw in free. It'll be more costly,so getting from outside will be better!!
U r oso rite,i won't give up my ideal venue even if they can't provide me with projector/dvd player foc!! Not a problem at all...hahaha...

btw, do u know if I can custom make a real wedding cake wif shang? Previously i read in mag that per KG is ard $65? Is there a min KG to order? (top secret: I'm thinkin of hving a big birthday cake for my HB!!sh.h...)btw, hotel allow outside food to be brought in esp. if we order cake from outside?

biba,

hmm i am not sure is $65 per kg for wedding cake is consider ex or cheap :P
but i saw b4 in some btb mentioned before in some thread that making a real wedding cake with tiers will cost a bomb.

Actually, since you are holding yr wedding at that hotel, don’t think they will mind you bringing a cake in rite? Why not check with the coordinator and see if she could help? Who knows, she might even throw in cake for you? hahaha…even if she don’t….i am sure she can help u in some way abt the cake for yr hubby

biba,

wei~ anything u need help abt yr wedding or questions can also always ask the coordinator at shang leh...don't need to worry cos they nice and helpful~. If they can, they will help u

biba,

does the package you looking at in Shang includes a one tier real cake for you to bring home after the wedding?

zann,

yes,there's a genuine tier given to us.

Hmm..r u saying that I can exchange this for dat? Yupe,agree that ppl @shang will help/advise if there's qs. but alittle paiseh to keep on sending emails once qs arise! aiyo they may not hv the time to entertain my floods of queries!!!hoho...

biba,

exchange what for what? hmm they giving u real cake...and u need a real cake...why still need to exchange? :P
u can accumulate yr questions and ask at one shot or call them lor

Hi zann,ashie,biba,

I really tot it will be provided. Lucky ting is l have all of u ard to provide me with info. If not, l will not be able to play anyting on my AD.

hey biba, I enquired about Shang about the real cake cos I was seriously considering having a real wedding cake to serve to my guests. You have to order from Shang and cannot bring in your own. It is $80-100 per kg. As a guide they said that 1kg feeds about 10 guests. It will be quite expensive. The one-tier cake that they provide you is only 1kg. I shelved the idea for a real cake in the end cos my banquet is on a sunday night - I think a lot of my guests will start making a move before the cake is served so waste my cake!

BTW there IS a wedding show at Shang on sat I was told. Hhmm. Do you think we can see anything if we head down?

Real wedding cakes always look so pretty in magazines... that's absolutely dreamy! =P

Btw, think the wedding show with The Lnk is by invite and rsvp only..maybe you can ask your coordinator to put you on the list. I am sure she wil then can see everything! =)

Hi zann,
Yupe they give me a real tier but wat i'm getting is a 3D birthday cake lar. wanna hv a surprise celebration(if i can get a gd coordinator) during my dinner as part of the programm...hehehe..aiya suppose to be a secret, hopt he dun come by & read this.

Choco-cowgirl,
wow,they've increased the price again ah. phew,i'm not gonna cater to evryone as i thot not everyone will wan share birthday cake(got frienz pandan to eat another's BD cake!!) watsmore like u say, guests eager to leave so no pt wasting the cake, I'll make a reasonable size for colleagues/frienz.
But u mean they dun allow us to bring in real cake ah? why? is it their F&B control?In case food poisoning will affect hotel reputation!!

Yea. there's bridal show-new arrival vera wang series by The Link in conjunction wif the Hotel. But there'll be no package promo lar. It's by invitation only but if u wld like, can let coordinator knows u keen to attend. No harm. Hope there's set up to see else see gown not gd enuf lei. maybe can 'steal' their design for EG..hahaha..

There will be setup actually - I was talking to florist sebastian yday and he said that he would be at Shang these few days preparing for the show.
biba, most hotels do not allow you to bring your own cake - they obviously want to maintain their standards as well as earn a bit more from you!
Shang has its own 'cakeshop' mah. Anyway, even if a hotel allows you to bring in your own cake - there will usually be a 'slicing fee' imposed also!

My FH and I have decided to choose a cake that we both love and pig out in the suite!!!

wei choco_cowgirl,

haha..u use the word 'pig out' meaning both must be very hungry after dinner coz no time to eat during event.
Oh, so there'll be set up, think it's not a small event lor as its their launching for The Perfect Wedding.

Btw, anyone going? Choco, r u goin?

Hmm..abt the cake, i oso thot they will impose chg like 'cockage' if u bring it in. anyway, it'll be a hassle to see thru', i'll think abt it later on, no hurry.Long way to go...

hi titania,
oh i see.. well, good to plan early.. ive learnt that from the many good deals i missed cos i started just a wee bit too late

wow.. this thread is moving fast.. with all the talk abt CAKES?!? *faint*

germ,

no problem leh~ we are here to share info mah :P

Titania,

my AD photographer is Benjamin Loo of foto-you.com
Replace "you" with "u"

zann,

he knows that I'm always into forum but he may not know which one i goes to! haha..hopefully, he not smart lar...

cake is not a problem, can solve later lor...

not sure if I will go on sat, probably not cos I think I will be too lazy at home. Anyway I have an appt with Shang on sunday - go 2 days in a row, a bit sian. Depends on my FH lah - he is the one driving.

I think cake is a good idea, 4 of my galfriends who got married recently had real wedding cake - so it is also getting a little bit common to have cake served at wedding. Nice but the guests must eat lah, otherwise waste my cake and money.
Decided not to have already, reluctantly.....

Chocolate cowgirl,
Oh u goin to Shang on sunday ah? Wow, seems alot of meeting up b4 preparation. So i reckon u met sebastian oso. ur AD is in dec rite?

wow, a little kan-cheong liao. me not yet settle venue,still waitin 4 green-lite but u hv already been meeting wif them for prep!!hoho...

y dun u meet them on sat, then u can pop by the show? haha...

Can't meet them on saturday cos everyone is busy with the wedding show lah biba. I'm meeting sebastian on sunday lah. My AD is in nov, but due to certain issues, I have to settle my planning earlier and my FH and I are also fussy pple. haha.

No need to kancheong, when is your AD?

Chocolate_cowgirl,

How's the meet up wif sebastian? Hope its fruitful!! Me went to the show on sat, it rained so both of us kept ponder if we shd go anot.Lazin @ home,so cosy..but made up our mind last min & went for the event. Wow..the show very posh, so much better stage than All that Glitters on sunday! Of course vera wang is there for her gowns on sat!!

They launch their dream package! gosh so high-end priced! From 82k+++! aiya, we juz see see their theme set up, quite nice tho.

I oso went to see tower's set up that day, as there's a wedding that nite. Tho not completely set, but overall is already elegant!

Btw, I'm so excited as I've signed up wif Divine last sun during PanPac show!! Beautiful gowns made me drool....

My AD late Dec, as there r 2 dates so once confirm the venue,shd be able to tell.Now is 'green-lite' issue!!hahaha...

hi biba, sebastian was friendly and nice, and creative. If you want a very impressive setup, I guess he is your guy, but must be prepared for quite a substantial top-up *hint* it could cost more than a BS package alone! We are still considering....
So envious that you saw sat wedding show, you could just walk in? Vera wang the designer was there too?? what is 'all that glitters'?

Sebastian is from which florist? He done up my reception 2yrs back(but I dunno where he's from coz we do not need to liaise wif him on floral stuff, it's all done up for us). Very nice posy..
Think most brides go for dolly from JM? Wow..so costly ah, hmm...my HB will be very naggy then!so it'll cost more than my BS package ah..phew..sweating liao.

No lar, I din walked in. Wendy reg. for me when I asked her abt the show lor. I kpo mah, oso i wanted to see any set up for tower so go lor.It was held at Island,aiyo island is so much grander..the chandeliers..drool...
I heard the host did mentioned her name while pointing to the back, guess she must be present! A very nice event..

'All that glitters' is the wedding show at PanPac with Divine Couture on Sun. Abt 500 couples went. I'd love their gowns all along & since I intend to sign up, I went for the show for more perks/promo & it does! so excited now.

oh biba, I wish I was at the show too, rather than lazing in bed all Sat afternoon (it was nice and cool cos of the rain)!

divine gowns are beautiful, I'm sure you will look fabulous!

Did you take any photos? Can describe the ballroom?

Sebastian works with See Sing Soon. I was thinking of checking out dolly and stefii's too, but my FH wants to top-up for sebastian's creation.*faint*

I'm glad that I went too. Nice experience.

U referring to Island ballroom for the show? or tower ballroom for set up?

I did not take pictures. oni took wif my HB's camera HP but wasn;t clear at all!!

For the show,island ballroom has got 4theme set up at each corners. Namely spring,summer,autumn,winter themes. Spring-oriental,summer-pink floral/ribbons,autumn-black red flowers,withered trees,candles,very exotic!,winter-ice stands wif champagne/florals(bluish).I personally like autumn theme. They goes wif the Dream Package menu.

As for Tower set up, the couple had pink roses with candle in a big 'jar' vase as table centre-piece. creamy & pink color theme wif landscaping plants at the stage. They oso engaged a live band! think the aisle not completely done up as i dun see anything except on tables.

Will u be having 'raise platform' aisle?

Wow,ur FH wanna top up? usually guys dun bother abt dressing up the ballrm...u r lucky. Care to share how much u need to top up & theme/flowers?

hey biba, hhmm did the setup on Saturday have the raised aisle?
I told my FH about what you saw at the wedding show, he also regrets being lazy and not making the trip down. haha. You lucky girl!