Shangri-la Hotel

hi snoop,

hey i think that's a very nice combi! just curious, "pot of tea" really comes with a pot is it? at least tt's the impression i got from choco cowgirl..

Hi ashie,

the pot is those kinda container that u put hand-made stars in.. but much smaller. i will be getting the tube one...
so have u finalise on the bridal salon?

hi snoop,

wah! so small.. cant really imagine.. heh. but sounds cute.
no, havent got my bridal studio yet.. keep thinking there's still a lot of time. hmm, ask u ah.. if my AD in dec, PS in mid oct, its not too late to sign up in march/april right? or is there such a thing as if the BS has too many clients who book early they will actually turn me away?
oh another query.. divine specialises in ruffles & super low backs right? errr.. so if i dont want ruffles nor too low backs is it silly to still go to them? cos i do like their dreamy kind of gowns i see in mags.. (dunno if u know wat i mean)
hehe.. this' been on my mind for some time.. then realised i can act just ask u cos ure a divine bride!

hi choco cowgirl,
hmm.. chicken of essence bottle.. *trying hard to imagine*.. *gives up*.. hehe.. but at least u gave me an idea of the size

yah.. wonder how's our dear zann.. maybe on honeymoon alr.. =)

Hi ashie,
dec is a busy month for BS, so it's prob betta to book a bit earlier. in that way u have more time interval b/w ur fittings.
yap that's their specialty. i know wat u mean, i like that dreamy feel too. actually some divine brides dun have ruffles or low back too. Most of them have organza all round the bottom to create that dreamy feel.
Go wif ur feel... for me, the moment i step into divine n see their gowns, i know that is wat i wan. n of course u must feel comfortable wif the designers. mayb u can visit ur shortlisted BS n try on their gowns so u know wat kind suits u betta.

I also havent got my BS yet, but I'm interested in low backs! I'm also wondering if it is ok. What do you girls think? Am concentrating on AD photographers and videographers.
On some threads, some of the girls have like settled almost everything 12 months before the wedding....read also stress man.

hey snoop,

I think the teddy is cute, but am getting my favours in bangkok next week, hope i can bring down the price to less than a dollar each.

hey snap...you used to be audrey?

I was just in bangkok, I chanced upon quite a few shops chopsticks in Chatuchak...they were only 5 baht per chopstick or per pair....quite presentable ones - the dark wood kind. Although you probably need to buy some prettier packaging to beautify it a bit more.

Are you still going to get the favours from Shang too?

Hi choc, yep that's me,
234824.gif
seasons greetings to all...
kekeke... feeling snappy today, so tot of changing it... how was your trip? i am searching for something vintage looking, hope i can find good stuff in bangkok, otherwise i would have to DIY, maybe something with lace or beads. thanks for your ideas too. I like the wooden chopsticks, bought quite alot the last time i was there to give away as christmas pressie.

I might not be getting favours from Shang

Bangkok is getting less 'cheap' and getting more upmarket and more 'lifestyle', if you know what I mean. I bought quite a bit of house decor stuff - like bedside lamps and elaborate candlelight holders etc in balinese style...not exactly cheap but beautiful and slightly lower prices I guess. Chatuchak even getting more upmarket. Apparently a friend suggested Suan Lom night market, but I didn't have enuff time to go there (even tho I was there for 6 days!), it does not have the extreme crowds like Chatuchak, slightly upmarket and slightly higher prices.

As for sightseeing...a day trip to Ayuthaya (looks like Angkor Wat) is worth it - I can pass you the contacts if you want - also the Jim Thompson house is also interesting.
Also have contacts of 2 excellent thai restaurants that are a bit pricey in baht, but in SGD abt $30 per person...the best thai food I ever had~!
if you are interested, let me know, pass you the location.

Bangkok is always hectic...so be prepared.

DIY sounds time-consuming and tiring...must make your FH help you.

Hi choc,
Thanks for the pointers.. it's always like that, when there is demand, the prices will go up. But compare to other countries, i still think that BKK is still the best place to source for reasonable handicraft stuff. I always love thai food, it would be nice if you can pass me some contacts, my FH is a food lover.
234831.gif

I will head down to Chatuchak once i arrive in BKK on sunday. Din managed to finish browsing the last time when i was there, almost 3 hours.. I will be visiting Suan Lom too, hope i can find nice things there.
I will only be there for 4 days, so sightseeing might not be my piority, but i love Jim Thomson stuff, nice to pop by to see their range.

I might do some Thai massage there, heard it's cheap and good.

I love to DIY stuff, that's my hobby, so i don't mind doing it, yeah, my FH would rather sleep than work with his fingers, hehe.

Pass me your email addy...the namecards of the restaurants are with my fiance, so can only pass it to you after he finds them.

If you like spas...there is this one I went almost everyday to with my fiance. It is really quite luxurious and for S$60 I had a full spa package that was abt 2 hours (quite a bargain still!) long.....relaxing.... http://www.thesenseofspa.com/
check it out, it is worth it.

thanks so so much..

i love spas, wow $60 for a full spa service, really want to try it, and the price is good for a 2 hours of indulgence isn't it..

Have you gotten your BS yet? Any particular BS you have short listed?

You managed to get corkage down to $15 nett?

Snap, haven't engaged BS yet, but I like silver lining. My fiance and I are going to book videographer and AD photographer first lah.
My corkage is presently $15+++

hi snoop,
hmm.. yah, think that's good advice.. some things just need the feel.. cannot reason.. hehe. will pop by divine one day i guess.. my frens all getting bit worried for me.. no sense of urgency at all.. haha!
merry christmas to u too.. n blessed new year!
btw, ur dinner's gonna be on the same day as ur ROM in feb? =)

choco cowgal,
just curious.. any reason for being interested in silverlining instead of divine? cos ive seen both of them in the brides mag n thot they were similar.. cant really tell the diff, so if u cld enlighten me.. =)

Happy new year to all!

ashie, silverlining and divine are both on my must-visit list of BS. Silverlining is also known for their low-back simple bridal gowns. I haven't really started BS shopping yet. What about you?

hi shang brides,

happy new year to all!! i am so excited!! my big day is this coming sat! pls pray that it will not be a rainy day. i am so worried cos jan is a monsoon season n it has been raining non stop yesterday. : (

hi pleasance,

thanks for the well wishes. since u already had your wedding there, is there anything that i shd look out for during the actual day? did u join in the rehearsal at 5 pm or only your hubby and helpers attended? i thot of skipping it and take a short nap in the room.

hi cin,

nope i din join in the rehearsal at 5pm, i was busy makeup -ing...wahhah i got my ROM ceremony at 6pm in the hotel also.

hmmm...if u r gonna play any video clips in the hotel for the dinner, i suggest u test play the video in advance. if ur florist is Dolly, its good that u remind her 1 day b4 ur wedding, she is too busy with too many orders that she might just slipped urs.

Have plenty sleep and be a beautiful bride >.<
congrates !

Hi cin,

Congrats! Dun worry abt the weather...it will stopt is wkend 1 cuz it rains 2 much over these few days. Which florist did u go with?

hi choc cowgal,

hehe.. nope havent started yet. but evone's telling me better start soon! hmm.. havent heard much abt silverlining.. haf 2 frens with divine who simply lurve the gowns.. n snoop too! she sounds like a happy divine bride

err.. sorry if i asked before, when's ur AD? u thinking of any other BS? visited any yet? hehe.. we can exchange tips..

hi cin,

sure! will pray that God will hold the rain for u this sat.. like wat pleasance said, rest lots.. drink lots of water too.. am sure u'll be a beautiful bride! =)

cin,
all the best for your wedding. I'm sure it will be beautiful. Don't worry about the weather, if it rains then at least your hubby won't feel so hot and sweaty in his tux.
We cannot control the weather anyway, so no point in worrying about what we cannot control.

ashie, I still haven't seen any BS yet. LOL! Ya everyone like telling me that I should have already settled that, to me the BS is not as important as other things which I'm settling first. Though I will be accompanying a fren down to her BS at tanjong pagar at the end of this week...so that will be my first stop. 26 Nov is my AD, when is yours...I also forgot.

Hi Choc cowgirl,

Opps sorry, my addy is a wrong one. it should be
[email protected]. Thanks anyway for the info. Din had much chance to shop around this trip as i spent most days doing the tourist stuff, like rose garden and floating market.
will prob be back next month to eally shop.

Happy New year to all shang bride!

Hi Cin
Congrats!

Hi ashie,
have you shortlisted your BS?

Hi ashie &amp; choc cowgal,

I think there is still enug time to search for BS cuz for me my 1st appt with Ted is mar...so l guess u still hve 1 mth+ to look for 1. Divine is not bad....l had a few friends with them and their gowns look very soft and romantic. Read from other thread that quite a nos of gals go for sil.

Happy BS shopping.

hi choc cowgal,
me too! BS also one of the last thg on my list.. haha. my AD's close to yours.. 10 Dec. think ive said this before.. we can do preps tog!! hehe..
btw, which BS is it tt u'll be visiting?

hi snap,
kind of.. thinking of TW, Sil, divine.. btw, u signed with any BS yet..? n when's ur AD? sorry.. bit blur cos more btbs coming into this thread.. only rem snoop's in feb, germ's in oct..

hi germ,
thanks so much for the info &amp; advice.. stms reading all the posts in the forum reali scares me cos ev1's prepared so early. tks gal *hugz* anyway, am just thinking tt u'd look reali lovely.. cos TW's gowns are just WOW!! i reali love his gowns.. must share pics with me when ur gown's done! hmm, ur 1st appt pretty soon.. excited?!

Hi ashie,

Ya l know wat u mean...me 2 got scared by those posts. U know l actually hve a friend who have done most of the tings incl songs to play for the nite...l was totally tongue tight.

Gown nice but the person wearing not nice...abit wasted rite? Not so much of excitment maybe more scare cuz dun know wat to expect on 1st appt.

i am back! Happy New Year!!

Everything went on well. Err, i think hor i was too nervous that night and didnt
even notice the decor! haha!!

Everything went on well. I havent managed to speak to friends and colleagues abt the banquet cos just back from honeymoon but hubby's friends said that things are good, good service and good food and we including our friends enjoyed ourselves.

welcome back zann! So where did you go for your honeymoon? I'm sure you had a memorable wedding! What decor did you choose in the end? Any other tips for us brides to be?

ashie, of cos we can do preps together, we can also give each other support!

Hi cin,

here's wishing u a blissful marriage..
Relax n enjoy ur special day!

Hi zann,
welcome back! any AD pics to share?

Hi ashie,
me not having dinner... only lunch on AD.
hehe it's like that, pple ard u start to get worried but we take it slow n steady. Guess there's nothing much for u to settle at the moment except for bs. Everything else will start to come in abt 2 to 3 months b4 AD.
Me waiting for the card printing to complete next week then i will have my Guo Da Li n send out the invites. starting to get excited :p

Choc cowgirl,
silverlining was one of my shortlisted bs as well. n yes, it's bcos of the low back design. But at the time when i visited them, they were moving. So they dun have a lot of gowns for viewing n the unit was very cramp...
prob u will get a betta experience wif them now that they have settled at the new place.

hi germ,
oh come on! am sure you'll be beautiful!! u sound like a very nice gal.. n personally, i think it's the personality of one tt eventually shines through! plus every bride glows on her big day.. AND for you, uve a great designer!! sure turn out wow on big day one.. no worries gal!

keep us posted on how ur 1st apptmt went ok? heard TW's a very nice guy.. so u can relax!

hi zann!!
ure back!! hey must share more on how it went ok? n yes, where'd u go for honeymoon? congrats on becoming a missus.. happy for you! *hugz*

hi snoop,
you're right.. just need to settle bs for now. hey! am sure ure excited! it's next month right?? erm, sorry.. forgot the actual date.. when's it? oh yah, just rem u'd be using the waterfall terrace.. so pretty.. plsssss share pics with me when ure done! ive nev been to a wedding there b4, but heard SO much abt it!

Hi zann,

Welcome back...must show us ur pretty pics ok.

Hi ashie,

So sweet of u...u sure make me feel much better. Ya, l juz hope that evrythingwill turn out well on my AD. Did heard that TW is a nice guy...actually did hve a glance of him when l went down to sign the contract...l must say a cute &amp; funny guy.

Hi cin,

2 more days 2 go...relax gal.

gals,

thanks for the well wishes. i am now having sore throat, think i am too heaty.

how i wish my wedding is next week then. so many things havent do. gals, pls listen to me. do your rsvp earlier! i have given my coordinator so much problem. so paiseh!! keep calling her to change table no. haven even pack my luggage to shang this weekend.

and guess what, i forgotten to go to rom to collect my cert for soleminsation that i have to go there n "beg" them. nearly cannot get married this sat.

lesson learnt, its never too late to plan early.

pleasance n zann, did u all made many blunders like me? funny thing is i dun feel excited yet, more like stress. btw, did both of u made any speech after your husbands? i am thinking of doing so but i am scared i will cry on stage cos i am a very emotional person and when i cry, i will have hiccups!! yeeks!! imagine the whole ballroom can hear my hiccups!

hi chocolate cowgirl,

thanks! i went europe.
my decor was using yam roses as main. Tips, hmm maybe u got any questions in mind cos offhand can't think of anything yet?

hi Pleasance,

ok, will share when my AD pics ready. wei, yr AD pics ready liao boh?

hi snoop,

thanks! my AD pics not yet ready..

ashie,

The general impression and feeling of that night was everything went well.
Think my sis in law was saying they clear the dishes for the tables too fast
even b4 the food are finished. Will have to get further feedback from colleagues/friends
on other areas. i went to europe for honeymoon.

cin,

even if you do rsvp early hor, think still possible you get response/changes
last minute. i also feel more stressed than excited b4 the wedding haha..
no, i didnt do any speech, i leave the speech to my hubby. For me, i was
so nervous esp during the first march in, i think my facial expression changes.
Can't smile liao hahahahah!!

hi zann,

yah, i have written my speech. but i m still deciding whether to give a thank you speech? hmm.. why r u so nervous in your first march in? i thought shd be excited? u r the star of the nite, the chioest n the most jude? :p

u just came back from europe? was it very cold? i am not sure to go during feb or april cos i heard winter will not be as fun as spring. n the thoughts of layering myself with clothes make me feel sian already.

Hi Cin,

u r not the only one...i was late for the collection of my ROM cert and i had to 'sweet talk them ' to letting me collect and my wedding was the next day..'phewwww'

hi Zann
U r back !!! hows ur HM? hope u have enjoyed >.<.
my AD pix uploaded and sent to ur email liao.

Hi cin,

Must drink lots of water and rem to take vit c.Relax and dun stress 2 much....

Hi zann,

Is it very cold in Europe now &amp; which part did u covered? U used Yam color roses...very romantic,did u top up any on the decor? Can u share with us which dish ur guests prefer.

Hi Pleasance,

Can share your AD pics?

Ashie,
my AD will be on 27 Feb.
sure, will share the AD pics once it's done.
I just selected my PS pics n will only get it next month.

Hi pleasance, can you pls send me your AD pics too? [email protected]
Zann pls share your AD pics too.

cin, I will be going down to shang this sat to sign my contract in the late morning...wonder if your set-up at the pavilion will be ready by then for me to peep. I'm sure it will be beautiful. Don't stress, no matter what, it is your big day, you are the star.

hi germ,
he's cute n funny? hmm.. hope so! anyway, im thinking of popping by soon too.. he's first on my list of BS to visit! hehe.. but i do know we wont get to see him on first visits. act tt's why a no of my frens gave him up for their weddings.. they said it's impt to be able to 'click' with designer.. dunno how also.. me bit blur blur abt evthg still.. heh

hi cin,
2 more days!! SO excited for you! hmm.. stress huh.. just do the best u can then actual day leave it to ur wedding coord/bestman to handle it. tt's the advice i got from my frens who've gotten married. they said some things will surely go wrong.. but choose not to dwell on those hiccups n just ENJOY THE DAY! will be praying for you.. commit evthg to Him n enjoy!

..n drink lots of water n take oranges - rich in vit c. hope u'll recover in time..

hi pleasance,
can i have a look too?!?

hi zann,
hiyah.. clear dish fast/slow in the end is a small matter.. most impt thing is the night was beautiful for you!! really happy for you.. *big hug*

Hi Pleasance,

Tink l forgot to give u my email add [email protected] . Thks.

Hi ashie,

Yup, u are rite abt not being able to meet him before ur 1st appt. I do receive feedback from friends that says the rite BS is to be able to click with the designer...l believe there will not be a prob with communciating with TW after gettin advise from ex TW brides and friends formally from TW. Tink the most impt ting is u must like his existing design b4 even goin down to visit.

Hi cin,

I will be popping by tmr evening as l will be having dinner at Shang. Here wishing u a blissful marriage.