Shangri-la Hotel

zann,

need you ask..? of cos!! thanks in advance..

hi audrey,

i was reading your previous post an u mentioned abt the red wine that shang serve is called
HARDY'S STAMP MC LAREN VALE' . u have any lobang to get it elsewhere cheaper? if so, can pass me the contact?

thanks gal!

Hi zann,

Of course want to see. Thanks.

Hi cin,

I got Eric Tan to do my mother makeup during my bro's wedding. Let me know if u need his nos.

I'm back from my trip to Bangkok, a bit sick now and tmw need to go to work, and I don't want to go on MC either cos I do need to be at work to finish up some stuff.

Pleasance, your CS is really nice. I haven't seen many nice CS that are made in sg. I was thinking of perhaps getting mine done in China some time next year. Pleasance, very sexy CS ah.

I haven't signed the agreement yet, so I still can choose btwn pavilion & waterfall terrace, but I also think that once I have already confirmed....better not think too much lah hor Audrey?
So cin, you feel that the pavilion is wide enuff for the march in? I saw the pavilion the very first time I went to Shang for consultation, the 2nd time then I could see waterfall terrace. When they have events at the venue, no choice cannot see it. Pavilion is a bit far, but I guess perhaps put the time on the invitation card a bit earlier? I think I will take your advice and go down one more time to have a look at both venues (hopefully they are not occupied lah)
cin, can we share what our coordinators have offered for the solemnization package? pls email me at [email protected]

zann, I also want to see your pics can? pls email me (as above pls).

Glad to be home.

hi snoop,

thats my favourite among the WGs too!
yeah, i have two outdoor WG..

chocolate cowgirl,

you've got mail!

audia,

you first time here or did i miss you before?

hi chocolate gal,

yah. pavilion is rather far. but i chose it over the rest becos its more exclusive n we have a private courtyard for the guests.

of cos compare to churches, the aisle is not as wide, but dun worry, still can walk through. just go down n have a look anyday.

not sure if our package is the same cos i took up their lunch package. so i booked pavilion (11 to 1400) for solemnisation, lunch n then tea ceremony. if i m not wrong if u just take up the solemnsation package, the price is diff.

Hi zann,

Must share ur AD WG pics after ur wedding...sure very nice 1. So, have u finalise ur decor yet? Its 3 days b4 ur wedding....excited?

hi germ,

hope so, it will be nice?

yes, finalise over wkend. have to finalise leh if not no time liao keke..will share AD pics with u to see the decor...yeah getting more and more excited :P

Hi zann,

Must also give feedback on the food ok. Relax and enjoy ok....

I will sure share with u but then u will have to wait till next yr aug or sep.

germ,

ok! will have to depend on guests for feedback if i dun happen to get to eat much? heehee

sure! i can wait :P

Sorry zann & cin! I goondu! Gave you a wrong email addy,
, this is the correct one [email protected], correct one I promise.
Pls email me again.
My fiance and I will probably be making a trip down before we confirm our package with our coordinator and pass her the cheque. Anyone feel that weddings are expensive?

cin & zann....hope to get your emails soon.
zann when is your wedding?

Oh dear, missed out some good stuff here, been busy with dealines...

Hi zann, i want to see too. [email protected]
thanks, remember to share with us your AD...

Pleasance, nice CS, sexy... i like it very much.

Hi germ, i am taking the silver menu. How many tables you looking at?
hi choc_girl, ya boy, better decide fast, don't think too much.. hee! Weddings at Shang is really worth the money, so i think it's not too expensive. Most importantly, your guests will be please with the food prepared.

Hi Zann and everyone else here,

sorry I should've introduced myself. I've only just discovered this forum!! Wow there's so much info here! I'm getting married in June '05, and have signed up with Shang. Our banquet will be at the Tower Ballroom
I'm really excited, but have barely decided on anything, so I am getting slightly worried. Anyway, nice to meet everyone!

chocolate cowgirl,

wah...u made me send my pic to who? :P
that hotmail din bounced back leh...is that hotmail previously yr email addy too or someone else?
have sent to your bigfoot addy
yes, weddings are ex..keke
my AD this wkend..

Audrey,

ok, sent!

audia,

oic, welcome!!

So sorry zann. Forgive me.
Viewed your outdoor PS so far, you are quite photogenic! I esp loved the one at the seaside With your hubby and you under the veil....very cute! You have really nice photos! Who was the photographer?

Ok going to be late for work already...gtg!

Welcome audia!

Hi zann

my email: [email protected]

Nope shangri lah did not charge me for any delay. i remember my dinners ends slightly over 11pm. i changed to my C.S as soon as i finished photo taking with half of the tables number. but i did not went up to the room to change, my designers brought my gown to my dinner so i changed in the public toilet. also ur co-ordinating for photo taking must be very fast. My designers and photographers help me with it. i finished photo taking with 32 tables in abt 0.5 hour. after which then i did yam seng with certain tables.

The table number is roughly the same. i asked for 33 tables and 2 reserve. but in total i only have 32 tables. nothing is charged for non occupied tables.

Hi Audrey,

I'm having the min tables. Wat abt u?

Welcome audia.

Hi Pleasance,

In total u only paid for the 32 tables right? I'm glad that Shang is still flexible with the timing.

hi chocolate cowgirl,

thanks! hehe
yeah both my hubby and me like that one too..then the photographer does the blue effect...
my photographer is from my bridal shop~

Pleasance,

sent liao~
32 tables in 0.5 hr?! wah break record boh :P
wei so you mean u told yr wedding coordinator u have 33...but end up u got 32...and they charge u 32?? if like that, quite nice :P

wow.. this thread is coming to live again..

welcome audia! glad you found us too!!

anyway gals.. just hope to clarify some issues.. have been reading the posts but been busy so hardly sent any..

first regarding the min no of tables.. i thot min is 35? pleasance, i know yours 'special case' so they better NOT charge u for extras.. hehe.. but is this true for the rest of us? cos mine's 35 when we signed..

next is the wine.. cin, how come u even asked if we can get it cheaper outside? i learnt that corkage charge is $40 = cost of the wine if bought from shang.. so no matter how cheap, wouldn't make sense to get outside right? or is there a way around the corkage charge..?

kindly advise.. thanks!

zann... all the best for the last 2 days of prep!! so excited for you!

hi zann

Beautiful pictures, beautiful bride.
ur outdoor taken at the tree in sentosa? like the tree where i took my outdoor pic.>.<

yup as long as u meet ur min requirement of 25 tables , the rest unless its occupied else its not gonna be charge. well it happens at least for my case.

Hi ashie
mine is weekday and its at Tower ballroom the min requirment is 25 tables. for weekends i think its 35 tables. for island ballroom i am not too sure. although mine is special case, except for the table rates, the rest of the rules and regulations still applys .

i though the cockage charge for wine is $15-$20 per bottle?

Hi Pleasance,

I thought if we signed for the min 35 tables...u will have to pay for the 35 tables even if u only have 33 tables that nite. Pls advise me if l'm wrong. As for the reserve tables...l'm not sure do we have to pay for them.

For mine, l dun tink the corkage is $15-20 per bottle....l will go check my contract.

hi pleasace,
oh i see.. ok, thanks for clarifying.. yah, mine's on sat so min is 35.

hi germ,
haha.. you quite blur one is it? yes, that's wat pleasance said - we've to pay for the minimum and quote: "the rest unless its occupied else its not gonna be charge."

and... my corkage charge is def NOT $15-20 / bottle!! it's $40...
pleasance, u negotiated is it..?

Hi ashie

i think hard liquor is $40 per bottle but i neg it to be waived, they agreed to be waived if its duty paid liquor. As for wine its orginally to be at $20, but i neg for $15. All these neg took place when i sign the contract b4 they took my 1/3 space area so i think its a standard package.
Bue anyway i took my wine from the hotel more convenient and no-cockage applys.
I suggest u re-confirm with ur co-ordinator.

Zann
how much u paying for wine cockage?

Pleasance,

thanks for your compliments!!
yeah, the fig tree at sentosa, that tree seem very common location for wedding photoshoots keke
my corkage is same as Pleasance b4 she negotiated for 15 leh...i ask for waive of corkage not successful never thought of asking for reduction...:P

i think u referring to wine charges is it..
corkage where got 40?

Pleasance,

thanks for your compliments!!
yeah, the fig tree at sentosa, that tree seem very common location for wedding photoshoots keke
my corkage is same as Pleasance b4 she negotiated for 15 leh...i ask for waive of corkage not successful never thought of asking for reduction...:P

ashie,

i think u referring to wine charges is it..
corkage where got 40?

Hi there all!

cin, I got your email...replied already.

ashie, my wine corkage was neg down to $15 per bottle also. When we were talking about the price of corkage and stuff...my fiance made a face when told the original price and then the coordinator offered $15 per bottle instead. Can you still negotiate a bit more even though contract signed?? *fingers crossed*

zann, all the best for your wedding. Don't forget to rest well. I'm sure all will go well and just enjoy the occasion ok? Anyway you so photogenic, at least you don't have to worry about how you look in photos! Is your wedding and banquet on sat or sun? tower or island? Are you going for honeymoon?

Hi choc_girl, zann, hey, that's unfair, my coordinator charged me $20 nett for corkage fee, are yours $15+++... better check with my coordinator, how come the rate can differ from one to another, hmmm...

Hi zann, very nice pix you got there, beautiful you ;P

Hey germ, i am having the minimum too 35 for weekend, but might go up to 40, cos tower ballroom can hold till 55.

Hi audie4, welcome.

hi zann/choco cowgal/pleasance,

thanks for all e info.. but mine's really $40.. it says "corkage charges for all hard liquor, wine and/or champagne brought into the hotel is chargeable at s$40.00 per opened bottle"

that's why i've NEVER ever thought of getting my own wine outside!! boohoohoo.. seems like i got the worst deal...
hey, seriously huh.. how come contract can differ so much one..?? n it's not just 5 or 10 bucks difference.. its MORE THAN DOUBLE all your prices!!

sigh. nmind la.. guess we'd just get our wine from them.. tks again, gals, for all your help! at least now im aware..

hi zann ..can I see your cheongsam ? It sounds really lovely !!!
[email protected]. Sorry to butt in ...hee btw have you girls watched the chinese movie 2046? I really really love the cheongsams that zhang ziyi was wearing!

ashie..mabbe u can talk to your coordinator. tell her u know that other people are paying much less lor and you feel cheated. maybe she can waive a certain number of bottles.

ya ashie, perhaps you can talk to your coordinator again, see if she can help you out? Who is your coordinator?
Corkage charges for duty paid hard liquor are already waived in the original package I think.

In any case I think most of us lazy ones here (me too...heehee...unless fiance really want to go thru trouble to source own wines) will be getting wine from the hotel.

Don't worry ashie, wedding is not meant to be
, if you can get anything more just think of it as a bonus lor.

Hi ashie,

I had checked my contract and it stated $20 per bottle ( not nett ). U may want to consider calling ur coordinator and ask for a reduction?

Hi Audrey,

What are the charges for a bottle of house wine? I'm trying to keep the nos of tables to the min... its very stressful to have too many tables.

chocolate,

thanks!! :P

Audrey,

why unfair leh...mine also $20++ leh
thanks for your compliment!

ashie,

is is really 40...then is really not cheap...
u talking abt wine corkage tio boh?

hi Snippy Snappy,

u spying us huh :P
u no see my CS b4? yr nick looks familiar..
or maybe i spy u somewhere b4 haha..
i din watch that show leh..

germ,

i heard that the current charges for a bottle of house wine is $40?

I'm going down to Shang tmw to have a look at pavilion &amp; waterfall terrace with my fiance. Zann, is your wedding tmw? All the best!

Off for lunch now.

hi snipsnap, choco cowgal, germ, zann..

thanks for all the advice &amp; concern gals.. *hugz* im really very touched..

think we prob wld just purchase wine from them la.. since contract alr signed n as choco cowgal said, less hassle to get from them too.. just tt my initial reaction was 'how come contracts can differ by more than 100% in price?!'

maybe this discussion will help those who pop by next time before signing the contract.. then more aware of wat to look out for..

zann,
yah.. one bottle of house wine is 40bucks... unless someone is gonna tell me ive been over-quoted again...

hi germ,
yah.. me trying to keep my tables to the min too.. want it small &amp; cosy so more personal.. but relatives side v hard to control.. esp groom's side cos his mum seems to want to invite anyone she knows.. sighz.. hey urs in tower ballroom too?

Hi zann,

Yup, my contract also stated $40 per bottle..l'm glad we have that in common.

Hi ashie,

I'm having mine in Island ballroom. My parents is goin to invite close relatives and friends only. As for my hubby side, tink that's wat they are goin to do also.

chocolate cowgirl,

no leh. not tomorrow..

ashie / germ,

not over quoted...is just new package are this price for house wine...

i went to meet my coordinator yesterday.
Want to ask ur opinions on selecting wedding favours... We are allowed to choose a max of 2 items. Which will u choose?
- paper weight + card holder
- suede photo frame
- ceramic photo frame
- tube of rose bud tea
- tube of lavender tea
- pot of rose bud tea
- pot of lavender tea
- pair of bears
- fruit cake

Personally I really love how the little pots of tea look....I will probably choose the rose bud tea in a pot and since can choose a max of 2 items (maybe can alternate favours on each table?) I would choose something different for the 2nd item, maybe the bears? so that the children and teddy bear lovers are not left out.

When is your AD?

Hi chocolate cowgirl,
me thinking of getting the rose bud tea and the ceramic photo frame... yap going to place alternate favours on each seat.
my AD is 27 Feb.