Shangri-la Hotel

Hi snoop,

Waterfall terrace....very nice. Me love the decor during shang bridal show. If l have not ROM yet..l will sure take up waterfall terrace.

Hi ashie,

Tink that is a hard 1...how wil l know my coord is 'zhai'? I'm with TW. Wat abt u?

Hi zann,

Which prawn dish did u choose?

hi germ,

is sauteed prawns and cashew nuts served in deep-fried yam basket. for yam basket hor, we would have thought is those basket wall made of soft yam hor? no leh, this yam basket quite different from those i try b4 in other frens' wedding. This yam basket crispy one. The overall comment: this dish nice.

hi germ,
oh.. dunno also.. maybe someone u have worked with before.. like in church? someone u noe can handle contingencies.. basically someone u can trust to handle YOUR WEDDING

TW = ted wu? wow. heard he's one of the top in spore. i havent really looked ard yet.. but haf to depend on my htb also.. he quite vain one.. hehe. btw does TW design for men?

Hi zann,

My choice is between Sautéed Prawns with Chilli, Garlic and Mango or
Wok Fried Prawn Tails Tomato Infused Capital Style. Dun know which 1 is nice? Maybe l shd ask whether can change to your choice.

Hi ashie,

Have to tink hard on the choice. Well, l still hve 1 ys to tink abt it. Yes, TW does mtm suit for groom. U hve any BS in mind that u like to visit?

Hi germ,

u got how many tables? must be a lot huh..

i din try those 2 so can't comment leh. But for us, 10 of us find our prawn dish nice.

Anyone else here who have any of the 2 dishes got comments boh? i wonder if Pleasance is still checking into this thread? maybe you wanna ask her whats her prawn dish she also dec bride like me so maybe gone for food tasting also? Pleaseance, yooohoooo :P

germ,

not going against u...just my own personal preference...for me hor, i dun prefer TW cos i find their fabric for all designs quite standard...is the golden embroidery thing near the edges etc...maybe is their trademark but i find it a bit uniform...to use same kind across all designs of gowns..maybe i dunno how to appreciate lah..hehehe...

Hi biba,
yes i saw their suite, smaller compared to other hotels. my AD is in feb 05. can u let me know ur email so i can email u divine's package?

Hi ashie,

i hope so too... i didn't really get divine's romantic signature style cos it's too grand for my luncheon affair. instead i got a detachable train for convenience. i heard they have a new range of gowns coming out soon, more glam kind which u might be interested but definitely more costly.

You have mail!

hi germ,
well, am thinking of silhouette, bridal veil, divine.. (any oth suggestions?) havent really seen TW's gowns, but ive a feeling he's beyond my budget.. er, can share with me wat ur package is like? [email protected] thanks!

hi snoop,
i got it! thanks soooo much.. have always wondered how their package is like, cos i also like the fairy fairy kind, which divine seems good at! will def check them out. wah new collection more costly then maybe not.. htb says not to spend too much on gown.. i poor student, so bo pian. hehe.

hi zann,
me me..!! i tried the prawns in deep fried yam basket at my cousin's shang wedding recently.. its really nice! tho the mango prawn that germ mentioned sounds nice too.. i know mango can really enhance the flavor for chicken.. so if it works with prawns, then... yum yum *salivate*

Hi zann,

Me only have the min tables for the Island ballroom. Wil keep at that nos of tables. So, have u choosen ur theme yet? Wat color of table setting did u choose? Are u excited?

I chose TW is becuz of his embroidery. I guess tat is his signature.

hi snoop,
sad that their garden suite is small,well, that's the trade off if we like to hv shang then. My email is [email protected], thks 4 sharing the divine package wif me.
Ashie,think we can go 2 divine & check it out next yr!!
Btw snoop, ur AD on feb 05, so u got the theme already?

so..who's having the silver Menu here? I wonder can we change 1 or 2 dishes? Silver menu does come wif any 'yam basket' dish like sauteed chicken wif cashew nuts in yam-basket that i'd love to have, thot of swopin the other chicken dish wif this.wonder can this be done at no additional cost?

hi biba,
yes! i dont mind.. hopefully they have some wedding show or promotion soon too. heard there was one in oct but i let it pass cos figured it's really too early to even go look.
erm, as for dishes.. wendy said can made changes between the silver n gold menus as long as the cost of the dish is equal. like prawn dish can change for prawn dish but cannot change for abalone dish.. *wink*

Hi ashie,

If u like lace, u may wan to try Kai Couture. U like the mango with prawn 2....l'm tinking of that 2. But the toehr prawn dish sound interesting also. Will send u an email regarding TW package.

Hi biba,

If it is an exchange between 1 chicken dish to another, l dun tink there shd be any additional cost.

hi ashie,
me too thot its too early now to commit on BS. now, we shall go ard looking 4 ideas n packages. dun forget 2 count me in if there's any bridal show or u find anythin interesting. i'm always open to options....;p yeah
dat's great if i can swop b/w dishes..phew but kinda lost as dunno which one taste better s once we went for food tasting,no way we can change thereafter rite?

germ,
thks for ur advise, do keep me update on ur dishes chosen...yummy...

ashie,

i agree. mango seems to taste quite nice with prawns dish huh? ever try such mango with prawn dish somewhere. so i not the only one feelign this way..i still thought i feel this way maybe cos i like mango?? haha!

germ,

no leh i havent selected the decor. still trying to arrange to visit them. one of them seem busy leh. only have time mid nov if not early dec but i dun want so last minute discussion. think maybe will be more excited in dec after gowns selection and decor selection all done? kekeke...

biba,

i think after food tasting can still change leh..but of cos if u taste for dish A...u decided no good wanna change dish B (within same price)...u wont get to food taste dish B lor...just change to dish B on banquet day itself nia

hi germ,
got ur mail! thanks so much *big smile* just curious.. then ur HTB's suit how?
im not very into lace.. so dun think will check out kai. plus i read somewhere their package is 8k plus.. that's beyond my budget.. heh. tks anyway! =)

hi biba,
sure! think we're abt the same pace huh.. the oth brides in the dec 05 forum all prepared alr leh! at first i read alr v stress.. now i think it's good for me cos im v last min person.. we'll keep each oth posted on upcoming shows ya? =)

hi zann,
i like mango too!! sigh.. but i like yam just as much.. *pull hair* i think the mango one will be more special.. whereas the yam one will be more 'safe', esp with e older pple.. hehe.. u got to decide

Hi zann,

Which florists are u meetin? Do we get to choose the color of the table cloth ( is there a proper name for it )?

Hi ashie,

My hubby alrdy hve a few new suits which he hve not wore b4. Tat's why we do not need any mensuit to be included in the package. But if his suit design doesn't go well with my gown, then he will hve to make/buy 1.

Hi biba,
i've not decided on the theme yet. will meet up wif coordinator prob in late dec. U've got mail!

biba n ashie,
sounds gd, u two can visit the bs together. how old are u two? ashie, u still studying?

Hi germ,
yes i was told we can select the table cloth.

hi ashie,

the yam basket my hubby asked to change wan..cos he want yam basket...if i din remember wrongly he was telling me yam basket suppose to be more ex kind of dish...(at this time our image of yam basket is the normal wall with yam in it).

germ,

i KS..likely meeting 3 and then choose hahahaha!!
the hotel did mention b4 can choose table cloth...

hi germ,
wah.. ur hubby got few suits alr! hehe.. let my htb noe he'll be soooo envious. ur hb quite vain one is it? cos my htb also.. dats why when choose bs need him to approve also.. hehe ;p

hi snoop,
no la, me not v young.. doing my postgrad in nus. will turn 24 soon
you working?

hi zann,
oh is it? hmm.. come to think of it.. it is more work to prep e yam basket.. think ure right. anyway i'd most prob haf the yam one cos my family all love yam.. n the older pple may not be used to mango taste in prawns too! hey.. u must be SO excited - 1 more month to go!! =)

Hi snoop,

I have seen a couple uses a light brown color table cloth and gold for VIP, it looks very nice. Have u ask Wendy wat are the colors avail for selection?

Hi zann,

I'm gettin very interested abt the yam dish...maybe l shd go to Shang Palace and order 1 to eat. Hehe...U must let us know ur feedback on the florists ok.

Hi ashie,

Vain...l dun tink he is...maybe he is juz more particular when it comes to dressing formally. At least ur htb is giving u some opinion regarding ur gown. Some guys juz say ' anything lah '.

ashie,

thats what i heard leh. hmm i think i will be more excited in dec after having selected the gowns and decor etc...now all these havent done..keke..

germ,

sure! will feedback after that :P

hi germ,
aiyah no la.. he also nothing to say.. he only has somethg to say abt wat HE's gonna wear. dats why he warned me beforehand i shd bring my mum or a friend to help me with gown selection! haha.

hi zann,
ok.. keep us posted! btw, which bs u wif? hehe.. sorry if i asked u before.. so far only rem snoop wif divine n germ wif tw

any of u gals checked out Dang? or silhouette? heard they're quite good.. oh, n can i ask if u hired an AD photographer? im just wondering if i can change PS in the packages to AD photography.. u heard of this before? sorry sorry.. so many questions.. cos gonna check out BS's soon.. so thot i better seek bit of advice first.. tks a million!

hi germ,
aiyah no la.. he also nothing to say.. he only has somethg to say abt wat HE's gonna wear. dats why he warned me beforehand i shd bring my mum or a friend to help me with gown selection! haha.

hi zann,
ok.. keep us posted! btw, which bs u wif? hehe.. sorry if i asked u before.. so far only rem snoop wif divine n germ wif tw

any of u gals checked out Dang? or silhouette? heard they're quite good.. oh, n can i ask if u hired an AD photographer? im just wondering if i can change PS in the packages to AD photography.. u heard of this before? sorry sorry.. so many questions.. cos gonna check out BS's soon.. so thot i better seek bit of advice first.. tks a million!

hi ashie,

No, you havent asked me before

i am with Julia Wedding News.
i heard Dang's CS nice. Silhouette i dunno.
What do you mean by change PS in the packages to AD photography?

Pleasance,

wei, yr wedding early dec still havent food taste!! so when huh?

hi zanny,

oh i see..
erm, i mean we dont want PS so wondering if can change the deal to AD photography instead? just wondering if u heard of anythg like that before..
hey, do share wif us after uve gotten ur gown + chosen the decor k! uve a theme in mind alr?

ashie,

i think so possible leh? some people like they not happy with certain thing instead of giving refund those shops might let you exchange for something else.
err...i went to visit the ballroom decor last wkend at Shang..tower one is fresh flower and candles...island one is crystal and tea candle...maybe can mix this two kind? still considering..

hi zann,

oh really? hehe.. dats good then. i'll try.. tks for telling me!
wow.. the decor sounds sooo lovely! act im thinking of candles too.. n flowers def must have. but crystals? how to decor using crystals??
act i'd a fren who used tea candles + flowers for her wedding.. n it was really nice! except i felt the effect of the candles not really there cos ballroom was too bright.. i dunno how to solve this also.. dim the lights? mayb u wanna think abt it.. =)

ashie,

is actually crystal hanging on stands...or crystal container for tea candles..

i look at the effect at the ballroom on sat...is was good enough...so shouldnt need to worry for shang's ballroom? or did yr fren hold it there as well?

oh wow.. that sounds so pretty! no.. my friend's wedding wasn't at shang.. i guess we need not worry then. hey i think u shd go for it.. flowers with crystals n candles sound ok to me - flowers are like ur basic background; crystals + candles is ur special theme for the evening.. wow, i think it'll be really romantic..

Hi zann,

Does the ballroom look bare or juz nice. Wat abt the decor on the stage? Is there also crystal container decor on the stage? Wat abt the table cloth color? Does shang really hve a them for their decor?

Are u taking red wine from Shang?

ashie,

yeah i agree, need to have flowers as basic

germ,

The decor doesn't look bare. It looks just nice to me. Did you went down to see last wkend?
As for the stage from far it looks ok, actually what is on the stage is some stands with leaves of crystals hanging not container. I can't see the crystal decor on the stage cos is too far to see. I am standing near the entrance and they are almost starting the event, not really nice for me to go to the front. keke..
The container for tea candles on stands is more for guest table centrepiece.

But I managed to catch a glimpse of how the crystal hanging stand on the stage look like when i was at the florist at JM (The decor last Sat was done by JM). she sort of pointed to me what stand i would see on the stage when i go down.

What abt the table cloth? i saw b4 a few decor they use gold as the cloth for their cocktail table quite nicely done but i havent thought abt what colour for mine. Not sure when all these will be discussed, maybe after my discussion with Shang nearer my wedding date, can tell more.

i think they have or used to have? i remember last time b4 we sign up they did show some pics of their different theme decor. In fact, if you go down to green acres, you would also be able to see the theme packages which i dun think is a lot.
And if u wish to replace the flowers in the standard package with some other flowers, only restricted to certain flowers. If u wish to choose some others, the lady at green acres will tell u is chargeable. .

Personally, after talking to those florists, i think JM Wedding is more flexible and sound like they would try to do it the way u feel like having and try to keep within the budget. She wont like little bit will tell me need to charge. And her varieties more than Green Acres who seem to only have the standard packages.

So far, thats my impression. After everything finalised then can confirm if my impression right or wrong haha :P

abt the wine, havent order from elsewhere. Might get from Shang if there is no change of mind later.

hi girls..
just curious.. u all din get corkage waiver also right? then to get wine from outside, isnt it gonna cost super a lot?? thot i rem wendy telling us the charges are like 30bucks per bottle.. n if ure getting quality wine.. then.. *faint*

ashie,

i saw the price list...cheapest wine i find on their list 30+ bucks lol...(i assume yr 30bucks mean price of wine or do you mean corkage?)actually if you get from outside ...is suppose to be cheaper..just that with corkage charge, it may not come out to big difference afterall..a gf calculated for me...is abt 60+ diff or so..

Hi zann,

No, me didn't go down and see last wkend. So, the crystal container is on the guest tables, which means there is no flower centerpiece?

Cuz me didn't know wat are the color avail for us to choose. I have not seen any pics on shang theme b4. U mean Wendy actually shown u some pics b4?

I'm thinking of gettin wine from shang 2...juz that the quality of the house pour is normal...not very gd wine.

Hi ashie,

Ya, no corkage wavier. Shd be gettin from shang so as to cut down the cost on wine.

hi germ,

is actually a stand of two holders to place the crystal containers for the tea candles. u can choose to have flowers centrepiece also. or alternate of flowers and crystal stand.

u can see the pic at Green Acres but as the ballroom is already renovated,the picture is not consider up to date also u see

hi germ & zann,

yah.. i did some mental calculations n also realised wine's gonna cost a lot with the corkage charges. will be getting mine from them too.. their wine's pass-able la.

zann,

hey alternating flowers n crystal stands sounds like a good idea!

hi germ / ashie,

Some pics on the two ballrooms' decor during that wkend to share with you. The lighting at the moment of "click" will also affect the atmosphere in the pic heehee. The stage decor of island ballroom looks very nice and grand

Tower Ballroom

hi zann,

thanks for sharing. yep agree with u the stage looks grand. but my personal opinion is that the guest centrepiece is kind of small.

any idea which florist actually did that ballroom? jm or green acres?

have u ladies decide which florists to choose?can to share your experience wuth me?

hi cin,

is JM. I went down to visit all 3 one wkend and JM was the one who told me i can go down to see their sample decor on sat. Green Acres did have a decor on sunday but i did not bother to check out after my meeting with them. I might choose JM cos find Green Acres not as creative (seem to go by the standard decor) and not very flexible (like every little thing she talked abt additional costs). Whereas for JM, she told me if i have any idea can share with her and she will try to incorporate and certain things if she can, she will put in, she said she don't every little thing talk abt $. My opinion is JM seem more flexible and i find they have more varieties. For the SSS florist, the guy i called forgot to inform his lady colleague i going down and i made a wasted trip. The lady colleague mentioned they would mail me last week but i think they have forgotten. keke..

hi zann,

share a pc of advice with u. never choose a centrepiece that is too high for the guest tables.my frd had her wedding at fullerton was having some problem when she went round n took pictures with her guests.the tall centrepiece block the views that the helpers n photographer got to remove them aside during the table photoshoots.so its actually more work for them in the end.

hi cin,

thanks for sharing! we haven't decided on which decor. Not sure if you can ask them to do the stand shorter if you decided to pick the crystal container? keke...but b4 we went down Shang to look at that wkend's decor, JM did told us there are other themes so you will have a few to choose from. Or maybe can get the waiter to remove the centrepiece once food gets served?

hi zann,

for me i feel that it is a waste to ask the waiters to remove the flowers when food gets served cos the flowers r beautiful!
i will ask for a smaller n rounder centrepiece.
yep, i m going to shang to see jm's work later on in the afternoon. dolly from jm seems like a very nice n friendly lady when i converse with her through the phone.

hi cin,

i see. But so far those dinner i attended before, i don't remember the centrepiece is still around when they serve food. Actually removing the centrepiece creates space for those plates of food. But of cos is still your choice

Hope you have a nice session with JM!