Shangri-la Hotel

pi88y

Hi all, just started to look for my AD banquet in 2011. Looking at around 70-80 tables. Currently considering Shang, Ritz, and Orchird Country Club. Anyway have any feedback on their bonquet? Currently swey towards Shang =)

doshshirl

I'm a Shang BTB and recently attend a wedding there and the experience was bad. The food and service were bad and we had many numerous hiccups for the keys to the helpers room. Personally, I find that the stage deco for Shang is super plain and there is no sash provided for the guests' chairs. I'm quite shocked at the suite at the Vally Wing. It's so small such that I wouldn't mind downgrading to a normal room. =(

sinplyme

phoebe > i'm not too sure about the service and food, but i remember asking my coordinator about it and was told of the seat covers are without sash for guests.
as for the bridal suite at valley wing, i have been to one before and i thought it was okie for me. (i havent been to the normal rooms at Shang before so i cant compare which is better/bigger but it's definitely bigger than a normal hotel deluxe room)

pinkpeace7

I seen Valley Wing suite room and I thought it is cozy, comfortable yet classy compared to the normal bridal suite room.. The normal one is really a let down in my opinion..

Btw, do anyone knows if Shang can provides Chiavari chair (or similar) for solemnization? Instead of their usual cloth-covered-chairs?

http://www.google.com.sg/imglanding?q=chiavari%20chair&imgurl=http://www.foldingchairs-foldingtables.com/Products/Hospitality/ChiavariChair-Mahogany-HT51-053.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.foldingchairs-foldingtables.com/Chiavari_Chair.htm&h=715&w=500&sz=77&tbnid=EBAYx6dPu_EVaM:&tbnh=140&tbnw=98&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dchiavari%2Bchair&usg=__UCaMWN8G74EUku2IxY5YJUmFGtk=&ei=cfPrS_G1HIyzrAfmqZmyBg&sa=X&oi=image_result&resnum=4&ct=image&ved=0CB4Q9QEwAw&start=0#tbnid=EBAYx6dPu_EVaM&start=0

THANKS!

yomeishu

Hi IsA, I was asking pan pac for my rom last year and the coordinator told us that their banquet are prepared by hai tian lou. But then we went to Shang eventually. =)

I went to haitian lou for dinner before, food wise, l personally think haitian lou still the best among shang, ritz, exquinox, marina mandarin...anyway, equinox suck and ex..dun go there too.

lingz_27

I will be having my wedding banquet at Shangri-La this October and the food tasting is just round the corner.

Any good dishes to recommend from the menu? I don't know which to choose.
Email me at [email protected] if any ex-Shang brides have any comments / recommendations.

Thank you in advance!

doshshirl

I'm a Shang bride in Jan 2011. Kinda regret choosing the hotel cos I dun like the default stage deco and the food is quite bad (for my friend's wedding in June). Any cheap florist to recommend? I'm upset that the hotel only provides chair sashes for VIP tables and not the rest of the guest tables. Any idea where to get cheap chair sashes?

sinplyme

phoebe > me too, regret not because of the food but it's lacking of everything...
5star hotel it is, but lacks in wedding theme (in fact no themes). Look at other hotels, 5star or not, at least they have one.
5star hotel it is, but the invites design loses out to other hotels, 5star or not.

Sorry, I cannot help but complain...I feel so lousy but well... deposit's paid so cannot back out now.

lingz_27

I just had my food tasting last evening and the standard was quite ok. But I am disappointed with what the appointed florist is providing (anything else would require top-ups). Hai...

enimsaj85

Hi PRGR,

Do you mean Sing See Soon? They are one of the top florists in Singapore and hence I suppose they charge a premium for quality.

lingz_27

Hi PRGR / Jassy / Sinply Me,

The assigned florists for Shangri-La are definitely one of the top florists but I am just disappointed with how basic / simple the flower arrangements are (in terms of what is included in our packages / contracts). But I have to agree that the florists whom I met last weekend have the right attitude etc. No offence to the florists but just what we get - If you know what I mean.

So did any of you go with an external florist in the end or just with the hotel florist? I am in a dilemma.
Kindly email me at [email protected] if you do not want to disclose the details here. Thank you and have a good day!

sinplyme

lingz > I'm trying to work within their standard package. If it works out, I'll stick with them, otherwise I would consult another florist.

wedee

Hello, anyone can recommend a good external florist? Also i find that Shang does not provide any theme, very funny...

lingz_27

Wedee > I think there are many good florists out there, so it's hard to recommend unless you know your budget / who you feel more comfortable working with etc.

Sinply Me > Same lor but I am still trying to work things out. If not I might use the appointed florist and an external one. Mine is in October!

sinplyme

hi lingz,
(if you are not comfy sharing publicly you may PM me) that's fast, your wedding is coming up really soon! You've a theme? or do you already have sthg in mind?

I'm not really a flower person, so whatever grace (I guess you spoke to her too) showed me, I'm okie with it.

I mean, to be honest, for me, it's a plus point to have a "wow" floral deco but how many times during a banquet does a guest really go admiring the flowers, at least I didn't/don't. The last wedding dinner I went was in Mid-June and I don't even remember taking special note of the guest table floral decor!?!? I am not saying the venue decor or floral centrepiece for the guest tables are lousy or what but I look at bigger/more visible things like the floral stands along the march-in aisle though I do agree the floral centre pieces at guest tables do take part in creating the ambience one wants. :x

lingz_27

Sinply Me >

Yes, October is real close and I am so dead lor. Haha... We have no theme in mind for the decoration because we (my husband and I) are not flower people too. So we sama sama lah! Hmm... Grace met you personally ah? I met up with her assistant I think so now it makes me wonder if we were shown the same thing.

I agree that the floral stands on the aisle and stage are more important but I feel that the centerpieces should be of a certain 'standard' / size in order to make the ballroom look good ("wow" is of another standard le).

enimsaj85

Hi ladies, I suppose if the floral arrangements were more complex, the table price would increase as well? So maybe it's better this way. Those brides who are okay with the floral arrangements can take the package as is and those who want more can top up more. But I've seen their work and it's really quite top notch (like variations of the colour palette and a variety of flowers as opposed to just say one colour and one type of flower).

sinplyme

lingz > I guess we are shown the same thing.
Maybe you can ask your hotel coordinator when got wedding (with standard flowers) then can go down and see?

Eh, you know what, just as I suggest to you on the above, I realised (if I rem correctly) I actually saw one such setup last weekend when I was at the hotel meeting my coordinator but I totally didn't note down the floral arrangement at the guest tables cos I was secretly attracted to their wedding montage (how un-flower person am I!!!). But I did note the floral stands and stage though. Looks normal to me but I think with the effect of the intelligent lighting, it should be fine to make good (rather than just normal).

sinplyme

jassy > I guess we are just ranting about why the floral decor itself in the std package is a tad little for making the ballroom outshine.

It's nothing wrong with the florist and no doubts on their works.

lingz_27

Jassy > Don't get us wrong. We are not complaining about the florists or their works and I totally agree with you that their colour palettes and the varieties of flowers that they use are worth our compliments.

Sinply Me > I was at Shang last Saturday afternoon but did not see a "standard" set up. Hehe, the florist showed us a set up which they did for a wedding in the evening and the couple topped up $XXXX to get the whole ballroom done up so nicely. That gave me a "wow" feeling but I don't need that. Maybe I should just try to convince myself to accept whatever is in my package.

sinplyme

Lingz > me too! I was there last Saturday afternoon.
Thought the top-up was for a corporate function in the partition-ed Island ballroom?
The other one at tower ballroom also top-up? I can't remember actually but I like the snippets of wedding montage I saw!

enimsaj85

Sure ladies, I totally get what you mean because I met with Sing See Soon for the same thing (to attempt to get my flowers upgraded) =p

Although I must admit that the biggest draw for me would have been the ballroom heh :D

lingz_27

Sinply Me > I saw the corporate function set up at the partition-ed Island Ballroom but the florist did not mention anything about the cost. The one I saw at Tower Ballroom was the top-up but nice wor! Which ballroom will you be using?

Jassy > I did not bargain with SSS because I don't think anything will make them agree to "free" or "cheaper" upgrade. I love their ballroom too and I will be having mine at the Island Ballroom. So when is your AD and which ballroom will you be using?

enimsaj85

Hi Lingz, I was thissssss close to booking the Island Ballroom (because I seriously love the chandeliers) but because of the price, we decided to go with Fullerton instead (fiance says we will spend on a more awesome Europe honeymoon so okay lor). Met with their florist, who was quite nice but the table arrangements seem to be very standard - all 10 blooms red roses or pink roses etc.

lingz_27

Jassy > Fullerton was one of our choices too but I don't like the stairs. *fears of falling down* Hahaha... When is your wedding? We want to go Europe for our honeymoon too but haven't plan anything (now too busy with house reno and wedding prep).

enimsaj85

Hey Lingz, yeah I don't fancy the stairs too much (not as grand as Shang
() but I've paid the deposit so oh wells. My wedding is March 27 next year.

One thing though, I dont like Shang's wedding cards.

lingz_27

Jassy > We have the same thinking, yah? Hahaha... I also feel Shang's wedding card designs cannot make it but I convinced myself that the invites are not THAT important because they will go into the rubbish bin eventually. Hahaha... Next March! Still got time - All the best for your preparations. I only have 2 months left. *emo*

enimsaj85

Awwww. That's great Lingz! All the best!

Hopefully you'll get all your wedding planning finalised. The wedding is once in your life time so don't sweat too much if you need to top up a bit to prettify the ballroom.
Show us photos when your wedding is over!

lingz_27

Jassy > Seriously I can't wait to get the whole wedding thingy over and done with. Haha... It's getting me to stressed up.
All the best for your preparations too!

sinplyme

Lingz & Jassy > agree with the CMI invites!! That's why my rants in one of the above posts, albeit being 5stars, everything loses out! Glad that they still have customer service to do the recovery.

Actually, I haven't been to enough wedding dinners and everyone is raving about the grand ballroom and chandeliers of Shang... but personally I feel nothing for the ballroom.. *weird, ain't I? or perhaps, Shang wasn't my preferred choice.*

Lingz > what time were you there the other day? Is it the first consultation with the florist or..? weird, why do they meet you "on site"?
Oh, then maybe I got mixed up, I remember one was a top-up, maybe you are right, it's the tower ballroom.
I'm using the Island ballroom too!

lingz_27

Sinply Me > Yes, that was our first consultation session with the florist but the lady said to meet there because she can show me the actual set-up that she did for her couple. I was there at 4 plus! You? WHAT?!!! Shang wasn't your preferred choice? Then why are you holding your wedding there? Hehehe... ;)

sinplyme

jassy > nah, none of the above, wrong guesses...

lingz > what's that lady's name? or you got namecard from her?
thanks lingz, I often get forummers mis-spell my nick so it didn't bother me this much but thanks for highlighting it on my behalf.

Well, since deposit's paid... don't want to elaborate further. Am holding it there because my preferred choice is taken.

enimsaj85

ooooppppsss *paiseh* =p

Sinplyme (triple checked =p)... i'm learning that ultimately the most important is always the guy you are marrying so whichever ballroom, whatever floral arrangements is kind of a bonus
all the best for your wedding prep too!

sinplyme

Lingz > at your own comfort & discretion! I'm not badmouthing so I'm good! In fact, we are crediting and marvel-ing at their works! ;p

Jassy > nah, no worries on the spelling mistake!

mllee

yea agreed on the plain deco.. but the food is pretty good and is individual served! Not sure about the valley wing.. I thought all the packages come with one night stay at horizon club premier room, tower wing.. the room is spacious. view is superb!!

Just gotta spend some $$ on deco