Shangri-la Hotel

cactus_79

Yah..it's better to see. Perhaps you can ask your coordinator which day has the standard floral arrangement and which day has the upgraded sort? Then you can make comparison.

pinkiez

smallworld,

I have to go back and find my solemnization details 1st.

Have pmed you a rough gauge of the cost though.

Once I find my stuff, I'll pm you the details.

cactus_79

hi smallworld, I enquired with Shang on their solemnization package previously. For 2006, the hi-tea package, (about 3 snacks per guest) for 50 guests is $5k. THis includes rental of a location (ie. including waterfall terrace) for solemnization, a cake, the decoration (floral set up), champagne pyramid, soft drinks for guests, and a 45-min musical band.

I think can top up to make it a lunch/dinner but didn't enquire.

I think the package could be on Shang's website.

xiaozhupigpig

Hi all shang BTB,

I am new to this thread, currently i am looking at shang or conrad but duno which to choose....very confuse & headache ar...

Can anyone of you share with me whether you gals have the same problem before?

I have seen both conrad & shang ballrooms, for shang i will be using tower coz i only have 35-38 tables, so island is out for me althou i love it like mad. But no choice lah.

So can anyone of you pls be so kind enuff to help me here? Thanks thanks!

chendol

I think Conrad is nice too, but they seat 12 on each table right? So depends on whether that's a plus or minus for you. The shape of the conrad ballroom is not square right? I recall that it was not a regular shape.

Not sure how good conrad's service is, but so far shang has been quite alright. free food tasting etc. Heard recently that some hotels charge for food tasting!!

Also, something to note abt shang is that you won't have to pay for inserts printing for your banquet cards - some hotels charge extra for that. but the flowers for the tables are not very impressive. if you're thinking of centre serving then that doesn't make a diff, if you are thinking of individual servings then the flowers might not look very impressive. Alternatively, some brides have gone for the crystals deco instead of flowers, so then the flowers matter less too.

The other thing is availability. if one is available and the other is not on your AD, then the choice is straightforward. When's your AD?

tulips02

Just went to pay the deposit yesterday....saw another couple's ballroom, it amazing ....i mean beautiful....the decor was overwhelming.....every center piece on each table was really very nicely done....

tulips02

To those Shang BTB, as you know Shang has a few florist that they worked with. Do yo ladies go and visit these florist and see what do they provide before deciding on which one to use?

pishako

esther: yes.. each one of them offers different style. You will have to top up if u want a more impressive centrepiece for each guest table

xiaozhupigpig

Hi chendol,

Thanks for ur advice.
So far i hv been to 1 wedding at conrad and overall their service is good, food wise is normal, decor is white & gold theme, but they will remain the centrepiece on every table as they practise individual servings. And they dont remove the centrepiece no matter what. Their decor & flowers are standard roses, orchids & lilies. Other than that you will hv to top up. All these info i got it frm the coordinator as i hv met up with both conrad & shang coordinator once.

Regarding the printing of inserts, do u mean shang will print for us? or we hv to outsource for printers ourself? Yes coz conrad dont provide printing of the inserts.....

And what u mean by crystals deco? i never see before leh.

I have yet to confirm my AD...but it shld be ard Jan08 (i hope)

When is urs btw?

cactus_79

Yes, Shang's printer will do the inserts for us. No need to outsource.

I've also never seen the crystals deco. Does any BTB know which florist offers this option?

pishako

twinkle: I am not tuning the grand piano in e end.. cos the bf decided to do a video of it instead.. (he's worried abt fumbling in public)

cactus: Dolly(JM, one of the shang florist) uses crystal deco.

xiaozhu: Conrad has a very cool & classy black w gold theme too.. anyway, abt the inserts, shang will do everything.

chendol

Pishako, are you going with Dolly too? I think no time to shop around, so won't visit Sebastian.

Ah. So no live performance eh? My friend 'requested' that her fiance play the flute for her church march in. there was piano accompaniment but the poor chap was so stressed! but he did beautifully in the end.
It was so lovely.

tulips02

Which florist do you ladies prefer?
Saw Sebastian did 1 wedding last Sun at the island ballroom. It was amazing...the price was amazing too....every centerpiece was very nicely done with birdcage n roses....

pishako

twinkle.. no. I chose the new florist - impact creative. Correct lo.. no live performance.. hehe..

esther: i saw the birdcage one before too.. very cool but like u said, px was woah.

pinkiez

pishako,

could you pm me the price that sebatian does for the birdcage & roses?

No time to go down and check them out yet.

chendol

oh Impact creative... did you choose after checking out all the florists?

They are using fresh flowers? also 3 blooms? thanks!!

pishako

twinkle: yah.. i checked out all 3. It's more than 3 blooms.. abt 6, i tink.. but i chose it cos there's 1 theme which i liked..

chendol

nope, not having a dance floor. are you going to be waltzing in, esther? or thinking of dancing after the dinner is over?

chendol

I don't think there's an additional cost... unless you need much much more space for the dance floor?

I went for a friend's wedding in Shangri-la KL, and they had a first dance with the couple and their parents leading after the dinner.

can't imagine my parents dancing haha.

chendol

Hi Shang brides... how is everyone doing?

wedding season is picking up again, after CNY. Anyone going down to view wedding decor?

I went to visit Dolly and she said that she's doing a wedding on 24 Feb. Dun think this is yours Pishako, since you chose impact. Maybe it's on the same day but different ballroom.

cactus_79

Hi twinkle,

How's your wedding prep? Yours is in April right?
I prob won't visit wedding decor. Will just visit the florists and ask them to show my husband and I their portfolio...

chendol

My wedding is in 3 weeks!!

wondering whether to make another trip to check out Impact. Yours is not so soon right? So prob you haven't gone to see them...

cactus_79

Yah, mine in September. Still long time more to go!! I think it's a good idea to check out Impact if you have not already done so! Good luck with your wedding preps!

chendol

have sent out all the dinner invites, so waiting for a week or two more before calling those who haven't confirmed. People keep asking me whether I'm excited that the BIG DAY is coming soon. Can't really say I'm really excited, since we've been planning for so long... maybe the excitement at being centre of attn will come the night before the wedding.

cactus_79

Hi twinkle,

I think I'm at the same emotional stage as you. Have been getting the same question about whether I'm excited! Cos I've been through engagement dinner planning, solemnization dinner planning... and this year, I had a birthday party, and am planning my mom's birthday party, and planning my parents' wedding anniversary dinner... so I'm a bit numb when it comes to my own wedding! I guess I'll be really excited the night before the wedding though!!

chendol

Wow - that's a lot of planning to do cactus. Already just planning the wedding feels like a full time job for me.

Although I must say for some reason I never tire of looking at bridal gowns. Was contemplating buying the recently launched Style magazine, but then figured it would be no use to me at all, apart from being eye candy.

pishako

twinkle.. yah.. there was another wedding at Island. It was so funny.. we had a few Island guests coming over to our reception table..

chendol

Hi Pishako, how was parking that night ah? cos when there are two events usually parking is very tight.

On my AD, there won't be another wedding but there'll be a conference in Island, so expect the parking to be just as bad.

pishako

twinkle.. i honestly have zero idea abt the parking.

cos on your big day, no one's gg to come whinning abt can't find a parking lot. hehe..

when guests have the chance to get to you, they will be too bz congratulating & taking pics..

tulips02

Hi Ladies, just checking if you decide on the color theme for ur ballroom first b4 choosing ur gown?

Anyone using the black table cloth setting?

pishako

Feedback on Shang's latest florist

- they may overlook some stuffs, hence, please always remind your coordinator to double check

chendol

ooh I REALLY liked the black table cloth. but no-go for relatives.

I'm using the gold crinkly organza. My gowns were sorted a long time ago, so that came first.

Pishako,

thanks for feedbk. which floral theme did you use?

wedding_girl

hey Shang brides,
have confirmed Shang for my AD next year, just waiting to sign the agreement!

was also thinking about the table cloth setting and how to match my gown. actually i saw the actual black setting, and it looked a little silver-ish rather than black. i wouldn't rule it out, especially since i'm thinking of a gold gown.

hi again twinkle! ;)

wedding_girl

hi esther,
my AD is over 2 days, 28 & 29 June, but banquet on 29 June. yup, i've actually booked it quite early, cos i'm limited to a few dates only, and need to secure a date first.
but actually you'll be surprised how many dates next year are already taken up. i've friends who want to book Shang in April but date already taken.
all kiasu! haha.