Shangri-la Hotel

Btw, I think the rates for 2007 is more expensive than what was stated in style weddings mag.

Cactus, your or-ordinator was featured!

Thanks for sharing, pinkiez. I dun read bridal mags... hehe... so am quite out of the loop.. hehe.

Actually, think there's not much to negotiate... think pinkeiz mentioned a few things in the post above. My experience was that they are quite firm on things.

Common things to negotiate for will be:

Xtra Nite Stay in Shang
Xtra Parking Coupons
Request for a day room (If you are not given any)
Waiver of cockage fees(If you intend to bring in on your own)
Ask them to give you a btl of wine for every confirm table(Not sure what wedding package you having)

There can be many things that you can ask for but it doesn't means that Shang will have to give it to you.

At the end of it, your bargaining power depends on how many tables you holding at Shang. The more tables you have(Tower/Island) the better perks Shang can give you.

Hmm.... for mine all those were included from the start except the xtra parking coupons and night stay... think they have factored in these perks in the more recent package...

Saw the huge two pg spread of the new island ballroom in ST yesterday -- looks good!

Pity about the bright blue, red, yellow and grey carpets though...but floor up,the renovations have definately improved the look of the ballrooms!

Ok thanks about the addition stuff to requst. Those are already added so I guess I have nothing much to ask for...The island ballroom is really really very grand n nice.

Hi Twinkle, I'm doing a photoshoot at Shang, but only next year.. just before the wedding dinner - in the late afternoon when weather not so hot.

Hi everybody,

Can anyone send me the banquet package that you all have signed up with Shang? My AD should be somewhere in June 2008. Is it too early to be searching for hotels now? Btw, is there any min number of tables? Sorry for asking so many questions cos i am totally new on this.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Hi gals with Shang,

I have just received the list of florist from Shang and would like to check with you gals on your experience in deciding on which florist to use. Did you gals check out the entire list, or how did you decide? When meeting the florist, what are the things that we should take note on?

Would appreciate if you could share with me your experience with your florist - like how flexible are they, or whether they are easy to work with, or how creative and helpful are they etc...

Also, I will be having church mass so am thinking of printing an insert for the church invitation. Has anyone of you engaged Shang's printer to print your church invitations? What are their prices like and your experience with them?

Hi Precious_ moments

I have just started on my search for the flowers decoration. I think I will be seeing all then decide... I have been to one already but still not too sure actually wat to look out for now. Wondering if there is a thread abt flowers somewhere in this forum?

Is it true that the flowers on the guest tables is very small and pathetic and that it is necessary to upgrade? Any of the Shang brides able to comment? Of the 3 florists recommended, which is the best florist in terms of design and pricing?

Hi Cactus, we were thinking of going to Shang for photoshoot if it got too hazy, but in the end Botanic Gardens was nice with a misty effect.

Yup, pinkygal, which is the third florist? when I was given my list it was only Dolly (JM) and Sebastian. Thanks!

Hi precious moments,
Shang's printer is Lil'Art. They also do invites for Marriott. Saw my friend's invite from Marriott -- classily done. I'm sure they can do church invites - I'm also thinking of doing the same, but haven't gotten down to calling them cos AD only next Mar.

Hi chubbie,
I think June 08 is quite far away. but if you want to book earlier, I'm sure they can accommodate. Usually people book one year in advance. there is a min of 35 tables for Tower Ballroom and 55 for Island ballroom. think the latest banquet package is online at Shang's website.

I think wrt printers, the hotel will contact you. Wrt to florist, I'm not quite sure. Ask your coordinator and then share with us?

Saw some questions here and thought I might be able to help.

CARDS - your coordinator would inform you at the appropriate time. If you need it earlier, just tell your coordinator. She'll ask you to choose from a range of cards available, up to 2 designs (might have to confirm again) and choice of ribbons. If you prefer other ribbons, try asking them. You're required to give details of the invitations and choose certain wordings. If you need church inserts, you can call Lil'art for their quotations separately.

Flowers - you can arrange to meet the various florists as and when convenient to discuss about requirements and stuff. Confirmation of florist can be confirmed even 3 days before the wedding (for Dolly)! The three florists are JM (Dolly), Sebestien and Impact Creative Design (Florence). The former's located near Thomson and the last two at Upper Paya Lebar/Bartley Road. Impact's the latest florist.

Personally I think the standard flowers can be quite pathetic, but it depends whether you'll be having plated service or not. It's a nice to have, but not must have.

The new island ballroom was very beautiful and we were quite glad to be one of the first few couples to use it. Can really feel the "newness" of things.

Surprisingly we didn't require additional parking coupons. No idea why even though most of our guests drove. Wine was ample as we brought our own in. Day room was given, but only the groom and his friends used it.

I think that's about all the questions asked right?

Thanks for sharing Eileen! Hope your day went super.

Must be such a relief that everything is over. Now to enjoy the honeymoon!

can i know how much Shang wedding dinner per table? my fren needs to book for min 35 ballroom... but she wanna to do some research first. Thanks in advance for the info

I have some thoughts about angpow boxes. I think there are a secure way to cosolidate most of the APs given to the couple... however, the box does remind me a little of election voting boxes, religious donation boxes.... so I'm inclined not to have any AP box... anyone has any thoughts on this?

haha... never thought of the AP box that way. though now that you mentioned it the one that my friend got provided by swissotel did look like an election box cos it was metal and had a lock.

most other boxes I've seen are really beautiful though, and look like a big gift box so I think it's nice to have.

how do you intend to consolidate the APs then?

i recommend buying your own plain box and buy fresh flowers + ribbon to decorate the box.

i saw my friend's angpow box, absolutely sweet & beautiful. Looks like an ornament instead of an election box.

I've not really decided whether or not to have an AP box... but in the event I choose not to have, I will ask the helpers at the reception to help me keep. Some friends and relatives may also pass the APs personally to us during the wedding dinner as we plan to move around our guests.. Some relatives on my side are likely to pass their APs to my parents...

Hi Trinx, I book the Island ballroom on a public holiday. My min table is 55. I really like the ballroom. Immediately reserve the date after viewing.

may i know if anyone has encountered a situation whereby you cannot meet the minimum number of tables for your wedding?

What happens then? Do u have to just accept the losses or does the hotel allow you to "spend" the un-used tables on the hotel's services and products (e.g buying wine, food and beverage vouchers)?

anyone knows?

Think I replied to you in the thread on Fullerton. Had my engagement party there. Will be holding my AD at Shang. I think the same applies. Cannot "spend" the un-used tables on services and products. Must pay minimum revenue. Can try to upgrade the menu though.

I understand that Paramount, Tung Lok resturant, allows about 2 tables to be "used" on a seperate ocassion if cannot make up the minimum. Not sure if that applies generally though, cos my aunt enquired for my cousin's birthday party. My aunt is a frequent diner there. She spoke with Sebastian, the manager. I think restaurants are more lenient.

hi cactus,

yup saw your post there coz i posted in about 4 separate posts across hotels to see what is the norm...

problem for me is that my maximum guest invite list is about 3-4 tables above the minimum tables required so if some do not show up for various reasons than thats it

Hmm.. usually, whether pple will show up or not depends on a few factors -

(1) weekday/weekend? long weekend?
(2) How close your guests are to you?
(3) lunch or dinner?
(4) auspicious days may see double invitations!

For my engagement party, we issued 121 invitations to close friends but cos it was an extended weekend, only 110 RSVP to say they would come. Only 1 person didn't show up at all on that day.

The wedding coordinator I spoke with told me to expect between 10% to 15% pple not turning up for AD wedding if it's a weekend dinner.

Could be as much as 20% for weekday.

Perhaps you can have a standby guest list to activate if too many pple RSVP to say not coming?

I think you should be pretty confident of meeting the minimum table requirement before booking that ballroom...

for me, I'll definitely make the minimum tables (e.g. 35), but not sure whether I'll make my 'confirmed' tables (e.g 50). There is allowance to add or decrease by 1-2 tables 1 week before the wedding.

Anyone know what if I confirm 50 tables, get the invitation cards based on that, and then only have 45 tables? what happens then?

I don't know about Shang, but based on my experience with Fullerton, we have to confirm the number of tables about 2 weeks before the event. If there are further changes, to notify Fullerton's coordinator at least 3 working days before the event. Between 3 days and the event, cannot change. Fullerton will charge that last notified capacity.

hmm... so i guess my estimated tables for the wedding invites shouldn't matter la hor?

thanks for the info cactus!

here's to stress-free guestlists and RSVPs for all of us!

I think Shang shouldn't have a problem giving us extra wedding invites.. I mean, perhaps 10, 20 more, shouldn't make a differences. AFter all, they do hope we increase our number of tables right? But I must say, Shang is rahter generous at 30%....

Fullerton was okay with giving us extra 5 invites... hmm... we only guaranteed the min of 80 pax.. 5 invites would be about 6% of guaranteed. If your guarnateed is 350 pax, would be about 21 invites? Dun know if it works this way though but I'm sure Shang won't be too fussy though.

Twinkle,
I think it shd be ok. Shang won't insist that u return the cards back to them. For us we estimated based on 45 tables and had 40 tables on AD...

Cactus,

The wedding cards are 70% of guaranteed tables...

the carpark coupons are 30% of attendance...

So count, how was the feedback on Shang on your wedding day? Food and flowers?

Hi twinkle, Thanks for pointing that out! I had thought Shang was rather generous with both wedding cards and carpark coupons... so guess when I was typing about wedding cards, my mind was on the parking coupons!! So embarressing!