SG Bridal in JB

w3ngal

thanks everyone hee. now i have a clearer picture. but do u all mean if i take bridal package from sg studios, i can get back all free?

ermmmm since u all took JB bridal package hor, we need to source AD MUA and video and photographer. You all got any recommendations? I am wondering if i add all these costs up, is it still worth to take JB packages. I researched and see that AD MUA rate is about $500 le...

kiddyu15

w3ngal >> Nope, it won't be free.. U'll have to purchase them (hardcopy or softcopy).. U'll only get back those photos you've selected free.

From what I've heard from my friends, their S'pore BS package don't include AD PG / VG. So in that case, u've gotta take up a PG/VG even if you sign in Singapore.. I do remember that during a wedding show in S'pore, one of the packages I was shown included AD PG (no VG) but the package was like SGD4k+ kind.. I was also told that if I was particular abt the end product, like u wanted a particular style (journalistic), sourcing outside is better cos the BSs normally send out the junior PGs for your AD.. I've got a list of PG/VG I talked to on my wedding blog, you could have a look there.. http://www.mywedding.com/zhengyuananddione

As for AD MUA, I think the range is huge, from $500 to $1k++.. Again, it depends on the kind of makeup u like etc.. I took up with SG Bridal themselves as I really like Jenny's makeup..

All in all, if I do not consider AD PG and VG, and I compare the stuff I get with the packages my friends have.. I feel personally, it's more worth it to take up the JB package.. In the end, I paid less and got more.. That's my personal thoughts but of cos, you'll need to visit the BS and also check out the other packages that other BSs have and make a decision on what you like.. Things like gowns, photography style might be appealing to others but not to you.. So it's important you judge based on things like tat and not solely on the price.. =)

I might sound like an advertising board but personally I am really having a very good experience at SG Bridal..

misspiggy81

w3n>> i dont think they will give u all the pictures back for free if u take in singapore. My frens who used singapore bridals have to pay by per photo if they want to top up the photos. For JB Bridals, they go by per page and each page is roughly 3 photos.

As for MUA, VG/PG, it is up to personal preference. the prices for them varies depending if u wan 'famous' ones or not. I have frens who are using singapore bridals but sourcing outside for VG/PG cause they have a particular PG/VG that they like. I still feel taking from JB bridal is cheaper.

w3ngal

thanks so much for the explanation and advices hee.

dione, i heard jenny is good too. what is her charge for AD MUA service?

Do u all source MUA for your mum and mum in law too? when would be a good time to start booking the MUA?

After booking the banquet, i am looking at bridal packages now. after that i seem a bit lost now haha.

weddingjoy

w2n> full day S$800, half day S$400. She does for jiemeis and mothers too. S$80 for makeup only. S$150 for makeup + hair.

I've placed deposit for her service on my AD. She is really good...so even she is abit on the high side, i think she is still worth it.

How about your AD photography? Have you started sourcing? If you need a JP on your AD, you will need to look for one too.

w3ngal

thanks joy. emmmm 800 includes transport, ampoules, accessories like necklace etc? i think now market rate like about this range also.

AD photography need to source myself ba. now i research abit here and there.

yaya i need a JP too. any recommendation? haha i prefer someone more relax and can oke abit de. i am thinking of having a mandarin session but i scare my bf cant read the chinese words hahhaa.

Hello w3n,
Great to see you here. I am also with GPCH! I have signed up with SG Bridal & have gotten my album already. I would strongly recommend SG Bridal House!

marsoos

You can start off now by visiting some of the popular BS websites, so that you can see their photo styles. I signed up with SG because I like their photos most.

weddingjoy

w3n>irregardless if you book jenny's service, you will be loan accessories. Types will depend on design of gown u choose for your AD.

$800 includes transport, ampuole, fake eyelashes. Yes, her price is comparable to most MUA here in Singapore. But if u take her for your photoshoot, you can skip the so-call trial session. Which you may need to do a trial with a local MUA.

As for JP, no i've not booked one yet. My htb is being tasked to do this. I guess i will know whom we are inviting one month before our wedding...hahahaha.

Same as Max, i signed with SG because of the photography style. Even tho i was given much more by another bridal shop in JB, i still go with SG.

kiddyu15

Joy >> Agreed.. =D

I looked thru the 3 more popular JB BSs and was most impressed with SG's photography.. I stepped into SG and signed with them already... Lolx.. No regrets..

w3ngal

yup doubleJ, nice to see you here. yup considering sg bridal after seeing so many good comments here. i cant wait to go bridal shopping hee.

yj81

i have heard from my friends that there is a new rule which we need to apply licence for the songs we use during the march in as well as the songs used during the play of the DVD montage, does any1 knows how this thing goes abt? and how much is the charges for applying the licence? Heard that the fine is 8k for the couple and 8k for the restaurant/hotel.

kiddyu15

YJ >> I heard that most hotels will have the annual licence to play such songs so marchin is fine.. The problem is with the montage / videos whereby there are songs played in it.. These won't be covered by the hotel's licence so the hotels are suggesting the music be played seperately from your video.. Else you'll have to pay the copyright.. I think you can check with your VG on that, not sure if they can buy one licence for one song and share it out with a few couples?

raintan

Just wanna share that I finally signed up SG package!

Basically both my hubby and I feel very comfortable with the sales co-ordinator(Ivy) who serve us.

And i'm glad they provide a wedding planner for us. We discussed our plans with the wedding planner, and he gave us some advice on how we should do. Personally I think that this is a good service and is helpful to people who are clueless like us! hehe...

Im so looking forward to 2011 for gown selection etc etc.... ;)

marsoos

Hi everyone, I have a question.
Am I allowed to bring my own camera during the photoshoot?
I wanted to take photos of my bride during the gown selection, but was told that it is not allowed. Thus I want to know if I can take photos during the photoshoot.

kiddyu15

Rain > Welcome and Congrats.. Good choice in choosing SG Bridal House (Sorry I sound like an advertising board.. Lolx..)

Max >> We brought our camera during our PS too, they didn't forbid us from using it but then, most of the time, we didn't get a chance to take except when we were in the car or when we were dressed and made-up and waiting for our turn to take pictures..

So I guess the answer is yes you can, but then you'll probably have little chance to do that.. =)

misspiggy81

Hi Max,

me too i brought camera for my PS but hor, I placed in my bag and my bf locked the whole bag in the locker. In the end I only had 2 photos, both taken in the car on the way to desaru. lol!

marsoos

Thanks, Dione and Angie!
Great, that's what I hope for. It will be good to capture moments for memories.

weddingjoy

Hi Max,

To add on, i had initial plans to take loads of candid photos outdoor. However, during the shoot, my boyfriend put it in his pants but when its turn for him to take couple shots, the assistant ask him to remove coz can see the shape. The assistant helped us to keep in his pouch. And we decided to forget abt the candid shots in the end

weddingjoy

U can consider taking shots of each other during your indoor photoshoot. Before u go into the studio for shoot, u can take quick shots. I regret i didn't keep my camera with me...it was kept in the locker...haizzz

kiddyu15

Joy >> Same same here.. We felt abit paiseh to keep asking the assistant to take in and out.. He was already bz enough doing stuff for the photoshoot itself..

During indoor also, my bf took the camera and placed it into the locker.. =|

So yea, max, keep the camera with u during indoor shoot and take quick snapshots.. Hehe..

w3ngal

they are okie if we take own pics using digital cam ah during the photoshooting? how about when we try the gowns?

during indoor, if we dont place the cam in the locker then can out where?

kiddyu15

w3n >> Yea, they don't seem to mind if we use our own camera during photoshoot.. But for gown fitting, they are very strict abt no taking of photos..

Ermz.. Carry along with u, when u are taking photo, place it somewhere outside your backdrop.. Just don't forget abt the camera and leave it there when you are done.. Hehe..

kiddyu15

After you exit the Malaysia Customs, go straight.. U will see a Shell on ur left (alot of SG cars go there to top up petrol).. Keep to the left and continue on (if u keep to the right, u will be driving up a bridge - wrong way)

At the traffic light, turn right.. Go all the way straight.. After a few mins of drive, u should see an Esso on ur left and Plaza Pelangi on ur right (shopping mall).. Turn into the row of shop houses just after Esso then go straight all the way... SG Bridal is towards the end of the shop houses..

When are you heading in?

weddingjoy

Dione: You are very precise...i wanted to help w3n with directions but don't know how to direct w/o confusing her..

W3n: There are many other bridal shops within Taman Sentosa area. U can see Venus and Fables diagonally across SGBridal.

kiddyu15

Joy -- Lolx.. I think she might still be confused though.. =P

w3n >> I heard not all BSs in the Taman Sentosa area are trustworthy (dunno whhich ones) but the ones Joy mentioned -- Venus and Fables are another 2 more popular JB BSs with Singaporeans.. They are both actually under the same boss..

weddingjoy

w3n: Tho i've never heard of any scary stories of other bridal shops in JB, my concern is the size of shop. If its a small shop, perhaps gowns maybe limited too. Backdrops and props maybe fewer as well.

Ive seen u in other JB Bridal threads, so im sure you had already found out quite a fair bit of each shop's pros and cons. The only thing left is prolly experiencing and negotiating. All the best!

w3ngal

thanks joy and dione. yup i intend to bridal shop at one go (like check out sg bridal, venus and fables) so if they are within reach hor is easier. i roughly can imagine how to go but i hope if really lost, the iphone can help us too =) thanks thanks! with this is so good already, at least a rough idea hee.

i would be heading over most likely in early May, still waiting for my leave to be approve =(

w3ngal

btw ni men de photoshooting photographer is who ah....i saw the sg bridal blog, the work from kevin is very nice leh especially the outdoor shoots. indoor wise i think i find sg bridal de abit dark for my liking.

kiddyu15

w3n >> Mine's Kevin.. =D He's the one who won an award in Germany.. I think most of us here requested for him.. The other one is Kenneth and he has good works as well..

Yea, their indoor's feel is kinda dark for some of their backdrops.. But for me, it gives a good contrast.. Got 2 different 'feel'.. Hehe.. Check out those 3.. They are very near each other.. =)

tayy0003

We just did our indoor photography at SG Bridal too. Will be popping by in May for the outdoor shoot. Overall wonderful experience so far. Girls be prepared to be pampered like princesses. Very different. =) Looking forward to another session. Glad that it was postpone in fact so that i can experience it all over again. 4 Thumbs uP!

weddingjoy

Karen: Good for you!
i missed my photo session. How I wish i can go through it again...
Hahahaha

Misspiggy: Didn't see you for awhile..how's ur retake session at Turf Club?

weddingjoy

w3n: u can't do both on the same day if u are going to desaru/kota tinggi. timing is too packed.
For me, i schedule both consecutive days, so i can save on my mani and pedi. First day i start at 10.30am and ends 9pm (outdoor). 2nd day also start at 10.30am and ends 7.30pm (indoor).

misspiggy81

Hi joy,

Haven retake yet, its in may.. 2nd of may. but these few days keep raining so i'm keeping my fingers crossed again. sigh.

Hi w3n, me same as Joy but my 1st day ended early as it was raining thus the turf club photoshoot was postponed.

weddingjoy

Angie, i will keep my fingers and toes crossed for you...u must be waiting eagerly to see ur photos also.
Don't worry, 2nd may is 2 weeks from now...probably the weather would have cleared up by then