Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

I personally feel that getting the doors are fine. But if the floor finishes are not good, it will take a lot of trouble to redo them again. The rehacking also cost $$..

i oso agree. But have u heard from any1 before on whether hdb's flooring are okay? Cos it's way cheaper and can do cpf to pay. But then again, becos it's cheaper, quality might be compromised.

I have heard ppl from other forums complaining abt the tiles cracking or uneven.. there's gonna be a risk. I rather spend more to get a contractor myself.. Btw, i heard that hdb doesnt allow u to hack the floor tiles for the 1st 3 years.. not sure if this info is true or not?

i might be getting the door. need to go see how it looks like on selection day first then decide. flooring maybe not. i like parquet in my bedrooms. so seem like no point doing hdb's flooring.

"Notice that the EDPD for Senja Green is 30 Nov 2013 while it is 28 Feb 2013 for Punggol Arcadia.
A 9 months difference although the Senja Green BTO was launched earlier."

Do take note, SEnja green highest floor 31st. Arcadia highest 16th floor only. 9 mths for extra 15floors, not too long in fact

actually i'm thinking of the optional components too. take note that the toilet doors are the same as the bedroom type and not those bi-fold type. Noticed how small the toilet is in my fren's flat when he choose the default hdb doors. 5 doors@ $1,800, each door cost abt $360.

saw the papers,can find doors @ $199 each, minimum 3 pieces incl installation. add in 2 more bi fold doors for the bathroom, total cost shld be cheaper than $1,800..

Oic.. didnt really go and check on the doors oso. Danny, thanks for the info. If that's the case, then most probably not taking the doors too. Cos will be kinda weird to have the bathroom doors same as the bedrooms. Probably check out the stuff on apptm day and decide again...

I think maybe most pple will go for block b & c bah... =p

Actually for the floor, I had also given it some thoughts. If we opt in, can include the cost into the HDB loan and hence lower the cash outlay for the the reno. If opt out, then will need to include in reno lo.

From what I know, there's a 1 yr warranty on the finishing? Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

Based on my sister's experience, in the event of defects in the flooring, I will rather deal with HDB than pte Reno contractor.

Her flooring tiles cracked and popped up after 4 yrs plus of living. HDB investigated and zeroed in to the cement or tiles and redo her living room tiles for free. Rooms not affected as its wooden flooring. This is a common issue with some SengKang flats of around the same age.

If its pte Reno contractor, if they happen to use the same batch of cement or tiles, do you think they will even bother about you ??

someone mentioned about the Renovation market in spore being a very "gray" area, a statement that I totally agree with. Of course there are some black sheeps among the mass. But this kind of issue can drag for very long and is costly.

I think I will stick to the HDB flooring, and still undecided over the doors.

Actually, west side still got space to build HDB. If you had travelled from Bukit batok road to bukit panjang, you would had noticed that they are building a ITE on the area used by the police/millitary for their driving circuit training.( Across the road from the Bukit batok fire station;Bukit Batok road , and beside the Exxon Mobile along Chua Chu Kang Way) seems like they are giving up that big piece of land.

Not forgetting that, they opened a new road, Brickland road from CCK to Bukit batok road. Keat Hong Camp is now vacant, i highly suspect the piece of land , apart from the ITE, will be used for future HDB developments. But the question is, when will they launch the BTO if they intend to build.

After this Senja green, I think BP area only left about 2 ~ 3 plots of land for BTO, 1 beside Senja Green, 1 or 2 in segar. I believe after BP no more space, that ITE land will be next target for BTO.

how's the selection going on for those who had already gone? it's so nerve-wrecking looking at the numbers in hdb website going down day by day.

obviously there's 2 column in 633B & C that only 1 unit have been taken up each. Mostly seems to be taking up those units with the morning sun , and facing Woodlands road. Have you guys recced the site , and happen to have a train pass by ? If not, try to go before your selection day, and wait until a train pass by to gauge if the noise is bearable for you, before deciding to take those units facing Woodlands Road.

Take note of 1 thing. Those units with West sun, the Master room's wall will be a direct hit. Meaning, at night, the master room will be damn hot. Seems like alot of pple either gave up their Q, or postponed.

There's an additional 5K grant for those couple's whose average combine income for past 24 mths is below S$4,000. Need the payslip or IR8A to submit as prrof. Go dig up the IR8A if you fall into this category.

Good luck.

Just try to share some thoughts about our selection. We have given up the Optional Component Scheme because the living/bedroom tiles are very slippery and also all 5 doors are just Timber doors. We have compared the tiles with other BTO project. Only Senja Green has this problem. Also don't understand why HDB installs timber doors for bathroom. I definitely prefer bi-folder doors to save space. Another thing I don't understand is why no people select unit 149 and 141. Is it fengshui or some other reasons? I think the rental flats can help block some noise from Woodlands RD. Otherwise that noise level is not acceptable at all. For privacy reason we selected the flat facing south. Actually our first choice was unit 159. This unit can provide a very good view to the north, although the quarry is a killjoy. Somebody in this forum also mentioned the wind is from north. Anyway, from my study this unit can only see a very small corner of the nature reserve.

All the time I want to post some messages in this thread. But the server just doesn't send me the activation key.

Our selection done liao. At first wanted to select #149 but went to see the model at hdb realised that that unit very near the neighbouring blk 633A. Thats y ultimately chose #151. I think thats one reason y #149 & 141 not popular, another reason is mayb bcoz that particular unit is between the 2 stairs exit.

Now our only concern is that the % of selection don't make up to the minimum to start building. Crossing my fingers & toes!!

its easy. On your selection day, see the number of units taken up just before your Q. the difference between that and your Q number is the number of pple who either gave up or changed their appointment date. Can't ascertain which case since you are only informed 2 weeks before you are due for selection. Either person may be overseas on assignment, or unable to take leave due to colleagues on leave.

Hi I can appreciate the anxiety of waiting for the truth to arrive. For those looking for an alternative route I got this for you.

I am selling my HDB 4A 100 sq m, corner, 2 lifts for every floor. Below are details.

Zero cash, above 15 floor, close to to 3 mrt stations, City view, near to Suntec. Lease start in 1998. jogging track in a water sport park, near to Fairprice supermarket, community club, hawker centre, wetmarket, swimming pool, child care, kindergarden etc within walking distance.

My house is at high level, gives you 100sqM of clear space, and beautiful city view including Sg Flier. Without bomb shelter no space is wasted, and is at a corner.

The adjacent walls have many windows making it exceptionally bright and airy and yet privacy is preserved since this is a corner.

Dont just take my word for it. See it yourself.

This is a direct sale so no commission. No agent.
Email me at [email protected]. Thanks

Hi Hwei fang, scully we neighbour. lol.147 got privacy. a corner on its own. Can put those wooden low fence for your own "pte garden " lol

hhaha... really? ya, 147 has a bit more space at the entrance. only bad thing abt 147 is got evening sun. too bad by the time our turn, blk 633c, unit 145 high flr all taken up. 145 actually our ideal.

i see.. 147 quite ok mah, wide and pte entrance. 153 / 145 narrower entrance.. but well at least you got a high floor. evening sun can be mitigated by aircon. You just need an inverter aircon to cut down on the electricity bill

ya. i was also telling my fiance abt the entrance and the aircon bit. he was contemplating getting 633d. but i don't like my windows facing another hdb block.

precisely, windows facing another blk, whatever you do, need to draw the curtains, even on a high floor. Which explain the low take up rate for 141, facing another blk, with west sun somemore.

hoho.. danny, now can pm liao. tried to send u a pm, u also havent activated.

r u already married or getting married soon?

hwei fang, hohoho, sorry.. enabled. check ur pm.

wiwiwi, i guess for the masteroom wall, maybe need to check out the effects of heat on the painting works.. although on the external wall there should be a coat of weatherproof paint, I would suggest you check out with the paint shop . I guess you wouldn't want peeling paint on ur internal walls, and get something that will not trap heat..

Anyway I'm just thinking of the possibility. Cannot be sure of the effects until the 4 walls are up and need to see the direction of the evening sun. May not be that bad as we think it might be. Maybe can consider the solar film for your windows. You know, those tinted black/gray windows for cars

Steven: my q no 271, selected on 17dec 12pm.

Hwei Fang: yeah! got the unit i wanted!!

here_cums_ebride: Yea , is so much cheaper! but more units of 4room!

COngrats Cindy. On 17th you still can get ur choice unit ? lower floor or its the 633A or D block? anyway its a huge relief.

e-bride, have u taken a look at the site n floor plans ?

yishun latest BTO is not as convenient as Senja. Yishun or Khatib MRT is not nearby, will definitely need shuttle bus to mrt / bus interchange. The highest floor is 13 only ircc. some blks, 12 units per floor, served by 2 lifts only. And traditionally, yishun resale price is low, hence the BTO price is low. Remember the famous " New flats are priced below mkt price for resale flats in the area. Anything below mkt price is a subsidy"

I also feel shortchanged when I see the price for Yishun, but after seeing the site plans and comparing the resale price for Yishun n BP, and taking into consideration the transportation factors, Yishun is not really attractive. Cheap yes, but I dun see value .

HDB median resale price for Yishun for Q3 is $251,000 , BP is $284,000. $33,000 difference in resale price.

Most expensive unit on the 13th floor in this yishun bto is $238 k . Most expensive unit on the 31st floor in Senja is $271k , difference of $33k again. if u disregard the $33k difference in resale price betw this 2 areas, the price for the 31st floor unit in Senja is actually $238k only.

$238k for 13th Floor in yishun with not so convenient transport or $238k for 31st FLoor unit in Senja with better transportation is a better choice ?

in fact I find this yishun BTO to be overpriced in terms of its value. It terms of price only, yes its cheap...

stonefish,
Thanks for the analysis. I did not take all those into consideration when I saw the price. Now looking at the overall, Senja is definitely much better. So glad I got a unit.

e-bride, you are welcome.

Think we shld feel shortchange when HDB build Senja Ville beside Senja green and offer units at the same level for lower prices, which is highly likely. Given the 30% fall in construction material costs, less than us$50 oil/barrel and slightly further away from the proposed MRT station and being beside the expressway.

That empty plot of land confirm will be another BTO in future. The Qn is how fast they will declare and how much.

Haha, Segar Meadows, Senja Grand, Senja Green, so the next senja project, not much choices, unless go for Senja Castle , or Senja Fortress.. hee hee...

Usually its, Green, Heights, Ville lor...