Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

congrats cindy!

here_cums_ebride, can't compare the bto like that lah...
senja green is so much better in terms of location, near to amenities, future mrt etc. some more it's 31 stories high. dew spring is at such an ulu place. thinking back, luckily i didn't succumb to the 2nd/3rd flr jadespring2. same thing, only really negative thing abt senja green is the rental flats. those at 633b facing the railway if get less than 15 flr, mostly blocked by the rentals. same for those less than 12 or 8 flr in 633b.

pinkmouse, u have to look at the north-south orientation in the maps/ site plan. those facing the road at mostly southwest facing which means will get evening west sun cos sun sets in the west mah..
and depending on which column, you either get the bulk of the evening sun in your living room or bedroom. those facing the blocks are northeast.. i think. not sure abt others but evening sun means by the time you sleep at night, if your bedroom is facing the west (like my unit), your room will be fairly warm cos it will have been baked for the past few hours. but aircon can save the day/ night

thanks hwei fang...
i got a unit at senja green, it's facing senja grand. i hope it won't kena the west sun...but u're right, an aircon can just resolve that.

thanks hwei fang, tats y i agree with stonefish. he did a very comprehensive analysis to explain to me.

i think aircon is only a temporary solution. if a house can have natural air circulating all time is the best or juz have to use an electric fan to have some breeze. sleeping will be exceptionally sound when the room feels cool the moment you step into your house after a long day's work
. furthermore, if can save $$ on electricity is best.

stonefish: I got the 633B unit. level 17 ..
Yes, it is one of our selected unit!

Glad to know i've so many future neighbours here!

Cindy congrats... So morning or evening sun for you ?

by the way, if anyone had recced senja grand, I noticed that, the units have a sun screen at the common corridor, esp for those with the evening sun. Forgot about the other side of the blk if they have the sun screen also.

I doubt the unit owners install themselves as the sun screen on different levels are all identical.

Any SEnja Grand owners care to share why ??

hehe... yes. i think once u are used to it, u are used to it. my present bedroom also has evening sun. i feel perfectly fine in it. but whenever my fiance comes over, he cannot tahan....

i think i've seen the screens at senja grand. it's part of the design i think.

seems like most of you here selected units facing senja grand hor..

Hi guys, I have choosen 633C 13floor..any pple here choose this block too?
any review on this block? you guys really expert..i don even noe how to gauge where is the morning sun or evening sun...

Hi Jing Yuh,

633B # 149 , #147 and 633C #139 , #141 should be bearing most of the evening sun on the rooms' wall.

633B #153 should be having some evening sun too, but mainly shielded by #147. The same goes for 633C #145 / #139.

But do take note, the evening sun will shift as the year progress. While working late in my office, i notice the sunset direction is changing slightly. ANyway # 151 and #143 is the least affected by evening sun.

Hi everybody, new to this forums
I got my flat at 633B, hope to see my future neighbours here :D

Anybody here took any of the the optional components? For me I only took the door, but it seems like the toilet door is also wooden. Anyone took the optional door too? Any reccomandation to prevent the toilet doors to be damage by the moisture & water in long run?

Cheers and Regards

Hi, there is a new BTO - Sunshine Court in CCK... but i think Senja Green is still better bah.. can go see see =)

Hi Fredrick, i not ur neighbour leh.. i gotten 20th floor at 633C =p

I didnt opt for any Optional components cos i find it quite funny to have wooden doors for the common toilet. But then, my friend was telling me this is the norm for condos as the common toilet is in the living room and to make the look more synchronised... this is true.. i visited my friend's place at La Casa (EC @ woodlands), the common toilet door is wooden door and exactly the same for the rooms... but i was thinking of getting opaque glass door instead.

I oso din get the flooring becos my bf think it's not nice and seems slippery..

Nice to see more and more neighbours here. Surprised they will squeese a BTO in that tiny bit of land opp the petrol station and SUnshine place. Need to take bus 303 ,i think ,to reach CCK mrt/interchange. Very inaccessible unless you own a car.

Fredrick, Welcome to the neighbourhood. Actually, the wooden door are coated with a layer of the lacquer for wood. If you are concerned, I think you can try to apply another layer yourself or gave the job to your contractor.

Take note that is not easy to lacquer wood. You need to sand the door 1st before lacquering over the original layer, else it will get messy if you know what I meant.

Another alternative you can choose is, install the fan ventilation in the bathroom, replace the bathroom side windows. This, may draw out some moisture after shower. Hope this helps.

Thx for the Advice Felix & stonefis

ya, was surprise to see the small piece of land is able to build another BTO.

Btw, is there any obligation of changing the bathroom windows, as I know there is a clause to in our terms that we are not to change the windows ourselve as it might affect the appearance of the design/theme of the flat.
Does that apply to the bathroom windows too?

Hi, Happy New Year too...

Fredrick, only found those guidelines for windows at HDB:
The following enhanced window guidelines will be implemented:

(A) Full Height Windows (including 3/4 height and bay windows)

Replacement of full height windows is strictly not allowed, unless with valid reasons, such as badly damaged frame which require a total change of windows.

Click to view examples of full height windows.

If replacement is necessary, flat owners need to engage a BCA-approved window contractor to submit an application for renovation permit to HDB electronically. The replacement must comply with the colour scheme, proportion and type [ie casement to casement, sliding to sliding] with that of the original windows provided by HDB, in addition to existing requirement to engage a Qualified Person (QP) to certify the lateral loading.

The QP is required to submit structural calculations and drawings to Building and Construction Authority (BCA) for regulatory approval via CORENET (COnstruction and Real Estate NETwork). Once the approval is given by BCA, the BCA-approved window contractor is to submit the BCA's "Permit to Commence Structural Work" and approved drawings to HDB for the issuance of the renovation permit.

(B)Windows at Parapet/Balcony

(i) New Developments [new flats handed over from 1 Jul 07 onwards]

For installation/replacement of windows at balcony/parapet, flat owners need to comply with the colour scheme, proportion and type [ie casement to casement, sliding to sliding] with that of the original windows provided by HDB, in addition to existing requirements.

(ii) Existing Developments

For installation/replacement of windows at balcony/parapet, an advisory note will be incorporated into the renovation permit to inform flat owners to comply with colour scheme and proportion with that of the original windows provided by HDB.

(C) Installation of Grilles at service yard/private balcony (if any)

Flat owners will need to install using HDB approved grilles design, which are given during the booking of flat/collection of keys via a renovation fact sheet for the new flats handed over from 1 Jul 07 onwards [see sample renovation fact sheet].

U can go to HDB Webbie > Homw Owners > Renovating Yr Home > HDB Renovation Guidelines..

Seems like no restrictions for bathroom windows.

Wow.. Looks like i have many neigbours here in furture. I Took a high at 149. Sigh.. Kena West Sun.. u Guys think they will bulit as i estimated the applications already hit 70%.

Hi Guoxiong, they shld be building it cos some other previous BTOs havent hit 70%, the construction still proceed.. now, we jus hope that the tender wont be delayed.

Metro, do u mean that they will need to call for tender again? I tot that it's confirmed, just waiting for enough booking to materialise... hm =p I oso hope there will not be any delays too, as i remembered for this BTO, hdb took a long time after closing of submissions to announce the q no.

I guess this BTO will carry on. The takeup rate is more than 70%. If not, they will not release Sunshine court. The application rates for Sunshine is quite high too. Maybe the plot beside Senja Green will be release within the next few mths.

If u check online, there's actually a list where u can see if the BTO already has a contractor tender.. it's under Wikipedia.

Thanks for the lead Metro.

Woah, interesting to know how the "author" compute the average cost. Wondering if able to substantiate the 2006 per unit cost for each category.

With construction material cost falling 30% and falling labour cost, I guess 2009-2011 cost may be somewhere around 2006's cost ??

Extracted from Wikipedia:

" Awarded BTO main contractors tender, each construction costs per 5-room, 4-room, 3-room & 2-room units are likely to be average about $160,000, $120,000, $80,000 & $40,000 respectively. This may also include the cost of sub-contractors and construction of multi-storey carpark, Lifts, Electrical Substation (ESS), Child-care center, Children Playground, Fitness Corner, Linkway Shelter & Open Space landscape etc. Construction Excellence Award - CEA between 2001 to 2006 "

hey.. I've also gotten a unit at Senja Green...

Anyway, visit http://www.gebiz.gov.sg/ and search for the ITT No. HDB000ETT08000450

I believe this is the site of Senja Green. It is now posted for tender, waiting for developers to bid for it. The closing date for the tender is 6th Feb, so most likely within a week from that, we should know if Senja Green will be built or not.

Hi,i get the unit at blk 633D 18 floor,anybody choose same blk as me?I have been trying to apply the flats for 6 time, finally got. Is it bcos financial crisis? I prefer BLK B & C , too bad till my turn left low level,think B & C blk the location is the best right?

Hi Aloha Koh, u mean u trying to apply other BTO for 6 times? did u get any queue number for the previous ones?
As for Blk B and C, might because it is a pure 4-room blk as compare to A and D which shares 2, 3 and 4 rooms.

Hi Future neighbours,i gotta unit at blk 633C,unit 141. I prefer unit 153 or 145 as 141 should be hit by noon sun. But when my turn to choose, the high storey is all taken up.

Yap, stonefish, thanks for the update. I rec'd the letter from HDB informing too. I just hope that the project will start building soon and can be finished faster. =p

Hi neighbours, did u all get the news on the updated additional grant polices? anybody is on additional housing grant scheme? Cos from wad I know we are not affected by the new policy because we book out flat before feb 6 08. Is there anyway I could make an appeal for that? cos the grant amount difference is quite substantial as compared to booking period.

Hi Fredrick, but the press release states very clearly the booking of flats' cut-off date must be on or after 6 Feb 2009. Nevertheless, maybe want to try to contact HDB...

Stonefish & Felix,

U guys got e letter? hmm, not yet received the letter yet.. not sure if i's due to the AHG, cos i made an appeal.. dunno if it's approved or not.

Hi metro, yup, i gotten the letter on sat. But it's just notification informing that the BTO will be gg ahead, and HDB would notify again on the signing of the agreem later. =p

Can anyone help regards write the appeal letter to HDB to get the loan under HDB instead of from commercial bank. Please suggest some ideas for me, thanks very much.

A fren also have this problem. Combined income under 8K when applying for BTO. During booking, just crossed the threshold. HDB officer told him, if its under 8,500 usually its ok. Also depends on factor like how many of the parents are still working / retired etc.

The key issue is, did the applicants crossed the 8K mark when applying, or its like my fren, within the 8k limit during application, but crossed the mark before booking.

I assume you are a 1st timer applicant and do not own any private property prior to this BTO ?

Hi metro, b patient loh. will be in soon, perhaps ur date is later than mine, and they are uploading the dates in batches. Main thing is hope they can finish building faster loh. =p