Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

young_jes

Mine cant even flush, very sianz. Anyone has the contact number of our BSC? I wanna call and check if our toilet bowl has any warranty, cos we can't be fixing it everyday...

cherinet

Hi Jes,

My MBR toilet bowl also can't flush. Dunno what has happened. Only starts to break down recently. Who should we inform for the problem of this toilet bowl? STC or the HDB contractor (Chip Eng Seng) below our blk?

young_jes

Hi Cheri,

Think i'll go down to BSC this sat, and leave it to them to delegate.. I think there are some QC problems as both toilet bowls are having the same problem.

cherinet

Hi Jes,

I only saw one guy pasted his leaflet on the lift. Named Tony for doing the storeroom shelves. But he want to charge me $20 for coming down to do the measurement and he charge me quite ex. He sounded not very sure what i want.
Sian.. still unable to find someone to do my store room shelving..

young_jes

Hi HeMan,

I didn't go down to BSC in the end, cos my hubby fixed it.

Hi Cheri,

u fix your storeroom shelving already? I think you can get the shorter shelve so that you can put the 4tier cabinet at the side???

cherinet

Hi HeMan,

I also didn't go down to BSC. My hubby fixed it too. He said is the screw that losen out.

Hi Jes,

Not yet done the storeroom shelving. But already confirmed with our ID's recommended contractor to do. We doing U-shape with 2 levels only. Cost at $350. I find it abit ex. But never mind, cos CNY coming, wanna to clear my hse asap. When it is done, i will post up the photo to show you.

nichiyobi

Bay window plaster cracks totally....

Hi pp, those who have bay window... FYI... the contractor uses plaster to level the surface of our bay window... due to sun heat and pressure (due sitting or heavy objects) on the bay window because there is air beneath the plaster or its improperly plaster or the plaster is not of good material at all for baywindow..... it eventually start cracking up... the BSC guy have no choice but to knock away all the plaster which is almost same thickness as floor tiles and uses better material like cement to redo the surface of my bay window.

I strongly suggest all those who have bay window to use something hard to knock gently on your bay window to see if there's any hollow sound or difference. Its better you get them to cement it before the whole bay window crack up and you got to fix it yourself.

cherinet

Hi Nichiyobi,

That sounds quite serious. I have Bay Window also, must check it out already.

Btw, anyone out there experienced the HDB's window grilles got the "cracking" sounds in the morning around 10am or through the out the day when there is Sun shining in? Cos my living room window grilles always got the loud "cracking" sounds in the day time which always wake me up at that time during the weekend when i supposed to wake up later. It seems like the window grilles are expanding due to the heat from the sun. But those window grilles that done by our own ID, does not have this problem.

cuddly_miumiu

Gosh, I need to check my Baywindow liao..

Cheri_evo, yes. My HDB window grills not only has the "cracking" sound under the Sun, sometimes even when under the air-con it also contracts & we can also hear the noise.

Haiz... mayb poor quality material were used, as my own Window grills do not have this kind of problem too.

cherinet

Hi miumiu,

haha.. at least i'm not the only one got this problem. Seems like HDB are using bad quality of the window grilles. Told our ID also. Those made by our own contractor sure no problem.

piggylover

Hi Nichiyobi, Thanks for sharing! Mine i did not do anything yet, planning to do cushion. gotta reconsider again...

Hi Cheri & miumiu, i did not notice the sound at the window grills. think gotta start monitor during wkend as sound come during day time rite?

nichiyobi

hi all pp... the cracking window sound only happen during sun shine directly or hot day.

as for your bay windows.. i really suggest you all to use something to knock on the white horizontal plaster to see if they produce any hollow sound. you can easily compare the sound by knocking against your vertical wall which give a good solid fill sound. anyway mine was redone with cement so now all the cracking sound no more. i also notice the skirting have small gap at the bottom which ants can move around. i am going to buy fillings and fill then all up so not a single chance for ants to crawl around in my home.

piggylover

hihi, i was on mc yesterday. whole day at home, didnt hear any cracking sound at the living room window.

hi Nichiyobi, hw is everything nw? hav it been fix yet?

nichiyobi

yes they knock off and cement the whole 'sitting' area at the bay window. The original plaster is abt 1cm thick or tile thickness. Its gd that i discover the hollow cuz its nt obvious at first since there is paint over it. Very fine hair line crack if u go close up. I tried to paint over it cuz i tot is the paint issue but the original paint came peeling then reveal the crack more. I must stress that if you knock it and it sound dif from the wall then it will mean its not properly plastered.

piggylover

Happy Lunar New to All! =)

Nichiyobi, i tried knock on the wall.. got no hollow sound. we didnt do anything on top, jus paint over with the colour paint only.

nichiyobi

487ers, did u pp always hear someone playing the piano loudly? and its always the same music from day till nite sometime! And also quite a few times i hear pp shouting nonsensically early morning. And also i would like to warn all that there is some imposter bangla carrying a tool bag try to come in my hm. He showed a paper with our blk n unit number claim want to do checks n work in my place. My mum didnt knw why and forbid him to come in. I checked with building service they say they never send any1 and frm my understanding they only do repair on sat and will give a call first! My repair works was completed 2wks ago! So tat guy is likely a robber!

cuddly_miumiu

nichiyobi, yes.. i can hear the pianist most of the time. not the same music la, sometimes there is some Chinese pop tunes. ha ha

I suspect its some crazy youngster shouting in the morning. Damn stupid lor, some ppl are juz such public nuisance.

piggylover

nichiyobi, me too heard piano sound during wkend time. hmm... loudly?? actually i heard not very loud, i still told hb so nice to heard ppl playing.. lolx.. but recently especially at nite before slp, always can heard ppl talk n shouting. seem to be from below..

huh.. bangla go into ur hse?? most impt u hav anything missing mah? our is new blk so seem alot of unfamiliar faces..

nichiyobi

for u all info the piano is almost play daily. I can hear it quite clearly. Dont know is it my luck? Always hear the same tune. I pity the unit above below or next to it cuz if you are hm and listen to same tune daily, it might be like nightmare! Sory but we are living in hdb. Maybe the owner should consider getting sound proof curtain? Yes stupid bangla never manage get in cuz my mum refused to let him in

young_jes

anyone from 488 can smell a very strong stench at night? I can smell it everynight near my kitchen windows, and it gets really strong on certain nights!

jascmy

Ya, I agree, the haze smells like Indonasia forest fire hazy smell. Its so strong till I can't breath. Not sure where this smell comes from?

jascmy

My house have lots of ants this few days. Yesterday I went home early and notice that they are actually here to get the dead bodies of the insects (spiders, flys etc.)that are dead in my house. 90% of the ants will go away after they are done with the shifting of dead insect out of my hse to their hse. But some will left behind looking for new food (dead insect). Sian, have to go buy those ant poison this weekend liao.

navajo78

Anybody going for the so called block party??

Btw for blk 490 did anyone notice the tap water taste a bit weird unlike normal tap water. It comes with slight smell too even though it has been boiled. Is it me or the water is contaminated??

raynard

I noticed that the water that came out from all our taps is slight yellowish (the 1st 1 second run of water) too, but it's ordourless..

puikiah

Maybe you try to put the adv on the notice bd near the lift? The bd was prepared by town council and every 1st & 15th old adv will be removed.
BTW, a gd pc of news for ppl working at Changi Biz park. There is one new premium bus#740 pickup time 7:40am(FWD) outside Blk 405 (near the Vari Nice eating hse), passby Blk 354, OPP MRT, Blk 311, Sem Shp Ctr, 114, 101...then Yishun then Khatib...expressway then to Changi. Return trip pickup timing 6:15pm. Fare at $3.50 per trip; can pay by ezlink card. Can call this guy-Louis Loh for more detail. HP: 96284743.

rocco3107

is there a block party? i didnt know. Yes i stay at blk 490, i noticed that the kitchen toilet's water seem a bit yellowish but after second run it is ok already. but kitchen seems ok.
Raynard > which unit you staying? i am staying at 101.

cherinet

Hi RoCCo,
Yeah! There is are Block Party on 1st May. My husband & I didn't join their games, cos it seems mostly are for the childrens, so we just took the dinner package from them and go hm eat then go down again to wait for the luck draw and I won a 2nd prize of NTUC vouchers.. Haha.. So lucky..

rocco3107

oic, aiyah i missed it, didnt receive any news on the bulletin board or whatsoever. Was it a private event? I was thinking of organizing one by posting bulletin board etc. My neighbours aint veri friendly
. think should make more friends in the estate. Cheri_Evo which block are you staying at?

cherinet

Hi RoCCO,
I'm from Blk 487. Raynard is just living one level of mine. So far, my this block, i only seems to know 2 neighbours.

young_jes

Hi Rocco,

let me know if you organise one!

so far I only know 1 neighbour, and I only got to know her because she helps deliver yakult to my place every week!

rocco3107

yeah lor! think we should organize one more, but where? Bbq pit there ar?
or is there a room we can use downstairs? there are some like 'shops' right? or we can just gather at Milkk cafe.

they will surely be pleased to receive us. haha.

young_jes

maybe if we have enough ppl we can organise pot luck bbq? every body just bring abit of food lor.

5 ppl bring 20 marinated chix wing each
2 ppl bring 1 tray of fried bee hoon + 3 packet of hotdogs each
3 people bring other types of food for bbq

otherwise zi char at milkk cafe sounds good too!

Think RC will subsidise some money if we organise a floor party, but must have 80% of your floor neighbours.. abit hard leh.

cherinet

haha.. Jes, i remembered last yr we supposed to have a BBQ gathering for all of us, but was called off. After that no news liao.. Seems like you have pick up the mood again.. Yeppie.. Count me in if the gathering is confirmed and let me know if we need to bring in any foods.

young_jes

haha. abit hard to organise a big one, if small one ok lah. must have a few of those "sure come" attendees so that we can at least confirm that the bbq is sure on.

Those "sure come" attendees will bring those main food like bee hoon, chix wing, hot dogs and satay. so even if the tentative ones can't come, we can still proceed.

if we have any "sure come" attendees pls raise your hand! we need at least 5 such attendees..

Date will be set once we have enough sure-comers!

rocco3107

There is also mini buffet also. For confirm coming attendees, can make payment first, its about $10 per head.

Any indoor locations? Just worried it will rain. Are most of you working office hours? Then most likely will be held on a Sat / Sun evening.

cherinet

Hi Jes, me and my hubby will join in the fun.
So are we going into BBQ or Buffet? Cos this few days kept raining. So BBQ might not be a good idea liao. If mini-buffet, maybe we can try hold it at the small compound area nearby our blocks? so planning to gather how many ppl?