Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

bigfish

I also havent receive any loan application letter from HDB yet. i'm from 490... and from the website, my status of application is still end of july...

waiting... waiting... waiting...

winnie_gal

Ping, i send u a private msg.. so that u will know my hse unit... u maybe is my neighbour...

hehe ok.. next time i meet u ar... i start doing the electric today..

u start renovation liao mah?

heman

Me too. Mine was on 5th Jun. But I changed it to 4th Jun.

I went to the "showflat" to measure the living room last week. It is smaller than those in stated in the floor plan. I think HDB proposed layout is mission impossible.

prolin_g

Hi HeMan, u mean the actual measurement of the flat is different from our floorplan? Is it out by a lot? Can someone from 488 help to confirm on this thing? Many thanks.

xuan_ting

Hi HeMan

U mean u go to that Blk 488, level 7, that showflat to measure?

If yes, how u find about that contractor? Any comment?

devilboy

Hi prolin

I think it would be better to see for yourself, but I share my views with HeMan, It does looks different and if you have in mind of getting a cozy sofa set (3 seater)for living room and a King Size bed on the masterbed room, I think it will make the moving space literally limited, I do think HDB proposed layout on the furniture is out of scale.

heman

prolin_g: Smaller by 5cm (width) and 5cm (length) for living room.

Xuan Ting: Yes. The contractor gave a lot of reno advice while I was measuring. He was not pushy and even asked us to visit the other "showflat" to compare.

xuan_ting

HeMan

Did that contractor give u the brochure that show the package price & items? I a bit confuse on it, cos there are 2 names printed on the brochure. Not sure is it the holding company name & subsidiary name.

xuan_ting

HeMan: Oic, that mean you should be already in mind of getting own contractor le

Btw, anyone here intend to get that contractor which doing the showflat in Blk 488, level 7?

edwin_teoh

Hi Finn,

agree with you that some having licence revoke and work for others and it is difficult to trace.

Just want to warn fellow sem greeners to have precautions against the reno contractors. I was approached by one, and the price is really good. Curious I went to HDB website to check on his company name (printed on his name card) and find his registered company has been suspended.

Just becareful when you sign on the invoice, because suspended reno contractor are not allowed to reno.

devilboy

Hi Xuan Ting

Here are my view on the contractor. What I like about him is that he does not push a brochure to your face and tell you this is the best he have to offer. He just tell me to go thru and ask questions as he believe everyone needs is different. This is the kind of service I like, whereby he do not FOOL you into taking up the package blindly. But I shall double check his credentials in RenoTalk tonight.

cherylkjh

they say my flat is not ready yet. is it becos i choose the ocs options?? any1 choose the ocs option and received the letter? from 487

xuan_ting

Hi Finn

Thanks for sharing your comment

The contractor approach u is surname Mr Lim, right?

Do u still have the brochure with u? I a bit confuse on it, cos there are 2 names printed on the brochure. Not sure is it the holding company name & subsidiary name.

Do share with me the comments after u have check his credentials in RenoTalk then, thanks

piggylover

hi hi!! jus wanna check if anyone has any ideal tat HDB loan interest is calulate base before or after the 10% deposit from the flat value?

snow_tea

Hi, piggylover, for example if your flat cost you $172,000.

You paid $17,200 (10%) from CPF/Cash.

Then you have remaining $10,000 so they will deduct all of your CPF before giving you the remaining loan which is $172,000 - (17,200 + 10,000) = $144, 800.

HDB will loan you $144, 800.

The loan is given to you after they deduct all your available cash and CPF.

Note: I did not put in legal and stamp fees in the above calculation.

devilboy

Hi Xuan Ting

Did a check in RENOTALK, but no results... surprising there is a company bearing the same name without the word "NEW"... hahaha
Next, I did a check the HDB license number and I found out that the registered company name is Fortuna Renovation & Trading Enterprise and not New Ranger Design and Decoration.

sharonzlj

Hi Finn, take a look at the brochure it stated (Fortuna Renovation & Trading Enterprise) under the text of New Ranger Design. New Ranger Design is not their company name is only a solgan.

steven_junior

Hi Guys, Beware of ALL THE CONTRACTOR there, I thinkis better not to enage them, What happen to my friend , let me tell u GUYS. My friend got a contractor from nowhere, and they promise her so many things, once she sign on the contract and pay the FIRST payment, the contractor DISAPPEAR.... so guys pls beware ( fr 488 )

xuan_ting

Hi Finn

Thanks for your infor

Yup, I did do a check up and result same as you too. Hmm, anyway will go down to take a look again once the contractor finish doing up the 'showflat' in level 7 of Blk 488. If the work really welldone, then might consider to sign it then.

Btw, anybody here, have any idea how much it cost to do up the kitchen cabinet? Some contractor code $4K, but some just code $3K, and the materials are the same. Really confuse :S

bigfish

I've received the loan application letter already. (from 490)... Must send in by 8th june. so if based on most of your experiences of application and key collection, i should be getting it in early july then... super exciting...

btw, i went up to see see look look at 488 yday. went up to the level 7 and then on the way back, we decided to jus walk around and was 'invited' in by one on level 5 (an unit not facing the garden - which is the actual layout of mine) and had a look. well, am surprised by some stuff but also am glad for some stuff. but being able to see the actual layout is good. can visualised better than based on jus the floor plan..

btw sharon, think we met your hubby on the way out from level 5. chat a bit.. interesting! now we're starting to meet up our own neighbours. =)

raynard

Hey azumaboy, prob u can check your HDB login, mine is reflected that we have to submit our documents yesterday.

Xuan Ting, when you are comparing the kitchen cabinet, did you ask them if they are using the same door hinge and whatever system included to prevent anti-slam? Cause i actually gotten a quote from an ID before and he included this, hence the quote difference was quite huge..

young_jes

Hi fellow 488ers,

anyone reported defects already? The toilet seat cover in my common toilet is broken, but haven't got a chance to report it as i went to check on Sunday and the BSC is closed.

devilboy

For the Kitchen Cabinet, it's quite easy to understand.
1) 1 Feet of cabinent usually cost 100 or below (Avg). If you are doing top and bottom, and your kitchen length is 2.5 meters (8.2 feet)
Therefore your price should be around (8.2 + 8.2) *100 = 1,640 (Provided the top and bottom is equally required)
2) Then you will need to add in work top for the bottom unit, which is depending on the type of material you want, if you want solid acrylic which around $80, than it will be 8.2 * 80 = 656.
2) From most contractors, they will create a base platform for the bottom kitchen to sit in, that one usually cost $200

These are basic prices. So the basic price of your kitchen is $2496

Next, You will want basin, hob and hood. Let's say the entire package of all the 3 is $1,000 (Quite avg), no worries, contractors will install it for you FOC.

Than your kitchen will be $3,496.

And if you want aluminium rackings for your bottles and other stuff, you need to pay extra or buy yourself and get them to install for free.

Basically the Kitchen Cabinets comes with standard wooden drawer knobs and normal hinges... if you want sliver aluminium handles, anti slam or child safe then you will need to pay extra for it.

xuan_ting

Raynard, paisei, I dun really know much about the renovation, now step by step learning :p

My friend only told me that kitchen cabinet must use solid plywood & lamination with ABS trimming. Table top used solid based. So, both contractors which quote me the price all base on this requirement :p

If I din remember wrongly, u are from Blk 487, level 7, right? I also from Blk 487, level 6
Up to now, not yet rec'd HDB letter for asking remaining balances payment.

xuan_ting

Finn, thanks for your breakdown
really appreciate it

Hmm, that mean the contractor which doing the 'showflat' for level 7 Blk 488, his price is really low, anyway will see his end result after he had completed that unit.

devilboy

Hi Xuan Ting

I only know after I get fed up with the hidden cost and go around asking ID and contractors... every session I spend 1 hour with them demanding to know this and that... hahahaha... Infact, I have to be frank after I seen 3~4 contractors, their material is basically the same, even for the work top.

devilboy

Hi Xuan Ting
To be frank, his prices are pretty average. Definately, you can find cheaper one available. Despite the fact the contractor have given me a very good impression, he is not my first choice. I am still very keen in getting the services from HO BEE.

xuan_ting

Hi Finn

Thanks for your comment
HO BEE is at Ang Mo Kio, right? Do you have a package list from them? Can email me? As currently, I stay in Ang Mo Kio, quite near to this contractor, heehee.

winnie_gal

Bigfish: i know u meet my hubby ytd.. hehe.. he told me he meet big fish frm sg brides.. hehehe....

ya next time when we move in then we can meet up at garden...hehehe...

raynard

Xuan Ting, u can call up HDB and ask about yours, then the next instance you will realise that your HDB's HLE portion will be changed.. haha.. anyway, I'll emailing mine today so that it will not cause any delay in the key collection, hopefully..

princesspig84

i finally rec one quotation contractor!LOL, the rest no time to meet.. gotta schedule another time..

Gotten letter from HDB to ask to collect keys! Yeah! One more week!
Any kind soul just summarize to me what to bring on that day (im apply loan from HDB)?

What does it means "all cabinet door panel in ABS trimming, all cabinets internel using white PVC finshes"

Thk u!

rainnerainne

chance upon this forum. Went to 488 yday and saw Level 12 showroom. The contractor charged basic reno at 9K. I was asking him to email me the things he include for the 9K.

Is it possible for reno just to be 9K?

devilboy

Please give Ho Bee a call to get your standard qoutation, as mine is customized (totally different from standard package), it might not work from you. Base on price comparision, Ho Bee is not the cheapest but they ain't expensive, the only reason I like them is because my friend's house was done by Ho Bee and they did an excellent job.

devilboy

Hi Rainne

Highly possible, there are companies charging only 7K for basic reno but when you start choosing the quality of the product... it starts to change.

cherylkjh

we are hoping to do simple renovation for abt 11-12k..

1. painting
2. kitchen cabinet
3. raise up platform
4. wiring n lighting
5. window grills