Scars on the legs - possible to remove?

qiqi

hello people, wonder any of u got dark scars on the legs? i got a lot, dunno where they come from... but some are from younger days when i was really a tomboy haha climb up and down and now suffering the unsightly conseqence.
friends told me vitamin c oil can help reduce the scars over some time, but useless on me leh! is there any beauty salons that removes scars?? i want something fast

me too...

mostly they are caused by shaving my legs, my skin is quite sensitive, also maybe i never put enough shaving cream, so the abrasion caused some scarring... they've reduced over the years, but still i dun like to wear skirts without stockings... very bare feeling....

Appreciate for advice on getting beautiful legs pls!

hi.
I have my thyroid operated on end feb. My scar is lighten up after I apply mederma everday for 2 months. This cream works quite well on me thou' I have sensitive skin. Initially, I have abit of itchiness and redness. But I tried not to touch it and avoid sun shining directly my neck, now the scar looks like a very thin pink line, even my friends stand 1 arm away from me, they don't notice it.

gals,

Vitamin E may lighten scars, in some cases. YOu can buy the normal capsules, and break it to apply the contents.If you are not sure, better see a dermatologist, not a beauty salon.

Hi :P,

U mean the vit E pills for consumption? Never thought of it, i've tried those skin lightening products off the shelf, but not much effect... maybe i'll try the pills instead, thks!

yup nelly,

the vitamin E in the capsules. Just break one n use it immediately. Dun keep the "extras"- cos it will get oxidised and wont be effective anymore.

BTW, the capsule way is also cheaper n much higher vit E amount than your lotions and creams. Just be careful in use on your face- if too oily pimples may pop out.

i'm trying rose hip oils which is reputedly an excellent scars lightener . but i think u will need to apply conscientiously for 1~2 mths to see the effect. i've got lots of mosquito scars on my leg, hv juz started to use RHO on them.
tigerlily is right, u can use foundation or concealers to cover up, oso try to get waterproof formulas. Covermark has a gd range of concealers which has thick coverage and numerous shades, waterproof too. their concealers r well-known for concealing surgical scars or skin discolorations.

Hi qiqi,
I've posted my answer in another thread. anyway lemme explain again. I bought the RHO for about $13 from my colleague who sells products from a MLM disty called Cosway.

the RHO brand is Bioglo, made in Chile. i have applied for only 3 days but i saw lightening of the mosquito scars on my thigh! not completely gone yet lar, but quite encouraging effects

i intend to apply it religiously, will let u all know my progress! initially i was doubtful of the pdt coz it's so cheap, but wah.. turns out that i was wrong..

ops, sorry i haven;t answered your question yet... this RHO is only avaliable in spore thro cosway, if u want i can buy it from my colleague n pass to u (at a convenient location pls
or u can go down to cosway retail shops at various locations in bedok, jurong etc ...

Hi tomato!
Thanks for the info! Do keep us updated if the rose hips oil really works for u!

By the way, do u know what's the enquiry line for cosway, so we can find out where's the nearest retail shop, then don't have to trouble u to buy for us!

got the following adds from my colleague, but she told me that the outlets only sell to members leh... anyway u can call them to check out the price.

1) Stockist @ Jurong East (opening 15/Apr)
Blk 104, Jurong East St.13
#01-102
Singapore 600104
Tel : 65610288
2) Stockist @ Woodland (opening 28/Apr)
BLK 136, #01-2178
Marsiling Rd Tel : 94757063
3) Stockist @ Bedok (opening 15/Apr)
Block 122, Bedok North Street 2
#01-116 Singapore 460122
Tel: 6 243 5928
4) Stockist @ Ang Mo Kio (opening 28/Apr)
Blk 416, Ang Mo Kio Ave 10
#01-983 Singapore 560416
Tel : 64546645

huh? Exclusive to members only? That's kinda fishy to me... tomato, u got check whether the product is approved one or not??

But thanks a lot, for taking the trouble to give us info for the 4 outlets!

har,fishy? no lar... it's juz a MLM company... by the way MLM(multi-level marketing) is officially legalise in Spore liao, sort of like network marketing. if u wanna enjoy better price, be member lor. if u juz wanna be a normal consumer like me n dun mind paying a higher price, then just buy from someone who's a member.

or u can purchase it online from the net,not necess this brand, i'm sure there r other so called "non-MLM" brands ard. Try a search in Google.com under "Rose hips oil" and that should throw up a few companies selling it...hope tis helps

Thanks, I'll visit the outlets first! But wow, u reply really fast!

btw are u the same tomato from the thread abt toilet seats down or up? Heehee, very entertaining thread u started... i almost flipped when i read abt blush's hubby!

heehee... ya i started that thread juz for fun
....blush, alhana & a couple of others have reali comical tales to tell...

that shop opposite nike, is it?
ok i will check it out!
actually i have been applying mederma, recommended by my doc, so hope it works too...

nelly,

It's a bottle of lotion, can be apply on face and body, any part. I use it on my nipple and the color lightens - serious. Apply the lotion directly or use the "paper" provide. It's like those transparent candy wrapper, apply lotion first and stick the paper over the area, it help to retain the lotion on to our skin, so that the results will be more effective. $148 per bottle.

qiqi, yes it's the shop opposite nike and i had the same scar problem like yours and its much much beta now.

Hello Jeanne,

How many days did you applied the spot eraser lotion before colour lightens? Do you know whether the colour/scar marks will turn darker when we stop using the lotion?

Camomile

Hi Camomile,

I used it for about 2 weeks and it did lighten the scar. Stopped using it for quite some time and the scars did not turn darker.

Better stop shaving our legs though, don't want the scars to come back again.

Jeanne

Hi Tomato,
I am interested in the RHO, where can i meet u to get this? me have the same problem as qiqi, and the spot eraser too ex for me liao...would like to try RHO, how long does it take to see results leh?
Pls reply at email: [email protected]

jeanne,

can it help in lightening pigmentation? i am very tanned and have very even skin tone. wud like to lighten the skin tone on my body.

Vitamin e does not help to lighten scars. There is actually no scientific evidence and definately eating vitamin e to lighten scars is going to be a pure waste of your time

I've been using Spots Eraser for about two weeks now. It helps, but you need patience too.
Other options I've used for lightening scars:
- AHA gel (I used Alpha Hydrox brand which is from the US. Cheap and good.)
- lemon juice (cheap AHA from your kitchen! but pls dilute if you are using for first time or have sensitive skin. This is not an option for everyone.)
- Hansaplast Scar Reducer (for raised or coloured scars, but this is the slowest. Available at Guardian).

I don't find Vit E helpful at all. Never tried rose hip.

hi everyone ~
this is my first time here and i realised that everyone here is so helpful and genuine in giving advice..well, i have the same problem of scars on my legs.thanks to mosquitoes! haha

i'm thinking of going to the National skin centre to consult medical help but i wanna try some really useful and fast products cuz i've an important function to attend next monday.. =(

any help? thanks in advance!

it is definately not possible to remove all .. but it is true tat the cosway cream ..can bioglo will help to lighten! ..... mi too got tis problem since secondary days.. pls try it, it is worthwhile.. i also got it from my malaysian colleague

hihi everyone,
i m new here. i have this problem that my legs itch v much and rashes (like mosquito bites) will appear everyday. I tried my best not to scratch but most probably at night when i sleep i unconciously scratch and have all the marks around.

Really hope to lighten all the marks. Can i use the cosway cream?

Hi all, I bought Miracell 6 weeks ago to help my fresh wound heal. Then also use it on my old scar. I use it every day and night after bath. The scars on my legs now are going to vanish soon. I'm very satisfied with the results. I also scrubbed twice a week and I guess it does help too. Maybe you all should try it. ;)

The marks left behind by bites, falls are common in asian skin. This is known as PIH or post inflammatory hyperpigmentation. U can bleached them away if they aren't too dark but I think over the counter bleaching agents tend to be fishy and weak in concentration...
I saw National Skin Centre last Dec cos my legs were covered with marks left by sandfly bites.(swore never to visit Bintan again in my life!) I was prescribed with this cream called TRILUMA. I did an online search and consulted few aesthetics clinics over the phone and this cream seem to be THE golden standard for such scars.
I'm now seeing Dr Toby from WEN & WENG medical. In addition to Triluma, he gave me a PCA depigmentation bar (use like soap) and did laser on my scars. I'm into my 4th session and I can confidentally say I'll be able to bare my legs in my mini cheongsum for my photo shoot next month! Yippee!

Hi Sun San... since young, I have those mosquitoes and scars caused my my scratching. Are them almost the same as yours? Did your laser work in the end? Because by now Aug, you probably went back for few more sessions? Could you tell me more about the laser? I want to go try also. How much money?

Hi to all, there is a way to remove the scars..check out secretstogetridofstretchmarks.com and you'll have scar free lifetime... you may also use shea cocoa butter for starters...

I have been using Vitamin E cream from the chemist for two dark scars I got in my chest area

For a small tube it cost me $18.00 which is cheap....its working slowly but it wasn't instantly noticeable. I guess the postive thing is that its much cheaper and painless compared to laser.

Hi GiGI

I also have your problem. Very difficult to remove those black spots once your got yourself scratch and hurt. It get more and more. After i tale ovine placenta plus 2 capsules a day. It take me about a year for all those black spot to become brownish again and scars almost disappear. Bought 3 x 100 caps from extremewellnessgroup at $264.00.

Hi Rafizah
you can try Dr Vanessa Phua - I took laser and some treatment to remove the darken spots on my legs with her...end up same price as one of the quotes from a salon. Results are fantastic! I can wear mini-cocktail dress for my actual day now :D

However for my scars caused by my roller blading fall, she advised me to leave it cause it was caused ny thinning of the skin and laser or any other aesthetic treatment will not help much. wasnt that obvious anyways...

She helps me to save $$ and still look good :D

my sister used to have chicken box scar and some ugly scar bitten by mosquitoes left on her legs and body...all i know is that she applied Allano Hand & Body lotion and the scar has lighten so much after a couple of months. The lotion actually stimulate the growth of new cells...

Hi all, can i ask how do you use the rose hip oil? Do you just use the oil directly or to mix it with your body lotion?
I am also facing the problem on have post mosquito scar on my leg and dare not be wearing short skirt for my wedding :(

If it's brownish marks, you can use abit of rice flour mixed with fresh milk and make a mask, apply on your legs, leave it on for about 30 minutes, it will dry up. Before you wash it off, moisten your palms and rub it off to remove any dead cells. Then wash. Its very drying so make sure you have a very rich body cream to apply immediately after that. Nivea whitening body creams are good.

I have some little tips... my own routine. Just sharing...

Do not pick/scratch at the wounds or scabs (Not Even Once!) No itchy fingers. Be very patient.
Apply antiseptic cream/healing cream from doctor on those small sting/wounds. Give them time to heal.

In the meantime, take daily vitamin supplements like E, C etc. Take more fruits and veg. Drink more water.

My best tip: Drink pure Aloe Vera juice or apply the flesh of aloe vera on the affected areas.
I got a bike accident burn where I was taught to apply fresh aloe vera flesh on the wound. I diligently did for 6 months and miraculously the scar healed really well. Burnt Skin recovered near 85%, as good as my own natural skin. I am contented and grateful.

After the hard scabs have formed. Apply a Vit E cream religiously. Continue all the vitamin supplements, water, fruits/veg diet. Wait for scabs to fall off naturally. Avoid the sun if possible! Apply a reputable scar fade cream diligently. Nothing miraculous will ever happen over night or days... Take months!!!!
When outside, put on sunscreen especially on those darken / scarred areas. Cover with sunscreen and concealer to prevent UV rays. I always STAY AWAY from the sun All the time and managed to do so for a good 10 years now after my decision to stay fair and spotless.

Lastly, consult a good dermatologist if you can afford frequent beauty treatments.

My little routine for good skin, old and new wounds.
Healing takes time (years) just be very patient. Do be very diligent and careful of course! ;)