Renovation Contractor To Recommend

eternitystar

Hi Folks

I nd to do some minor reno to my hse which i bought, works nd to be done is relaminating of all wall features etc..reno of the 2 toilets as well..

Wld appreciate if anyone can email me their contractors ct to me at [email protected]

Thanks very much for yr kind help ^_^

berrywife

Hi, just wanna share my personal experience.

When I renovated my house exactly a year ago, I hired an interior designer (they do strictly designing, not contractor job) and a seperate contractor. I paid several thousands for my interior designer who very unfortunately did a BAD job (I forfeited his last payment in the end) but my post is not about that so I wont go into details. :p

But very thankfully I found an excellent contractor (thank goodness! If my contractor also screw up then I think I would really be inconsolable!) who not only gave me a reasonable quote (I compared his quote to 8 other contractor's and his was one of the most reasonable and detailed) but also did an overall good job for my house. He is extremely hardworking and hands-on, he personally checked all the work almost daily and would willingly redo any imperfections I pointed out, regardless of how small or insignificant they might be (I was quite particular hehe). Not only that, when my incompetent ID measured some of my carpentry wrongly and the item has been made and cant fit well, my contractor did me a huge favour by sending it back to his carpenter to rush out the right measurements without even charging me an extra cent (we paid in cash and he knew our budget was v tight). And all throughout the reno works, whenever we request for new things to be added, he gave us extremely reasonable prices considering that he could have charge more since partial payment has been made to him.

And the reason I feel compelled to come here to post about this is because just last week (bear in mind that my reno was actually completed almost a year ago), I called him because my bathroom sliding door was slanting a little and he popped by the very NEXT day to fix it for me on his own! And when he saw that my sink area (I'm not sure wat u call that, but its the white sealing part ard the edges) had some mildew mould spots that cant be removed, he actually offered to come by this week (he had a project nearby my place, hence convenient for him) to redo the sealing! And when he was here, he went around my kitchen cabinets to tighten screws and helped me to glue back a small broken (no thanks to my PT cleaner)piece of my veneer cabinet door. Tell me, is this not service that makes me feel compelled to post back here??

Anyway, I need to clarify this- I am in NO way related to him or his company and the only reason I am recommending him is because I feel that its so rare to find such a genuinely nice and responsible contractor who actually takes real pride in his work and not just $$$-faced. If anyone is skeptical, feel free to click on my profile and check up on my past 5000+ posts to know that I am just a sahm who is simply giving due credit to someone who deserves it.

Oh BTW, he actually is a ID as well, he is as as familiar with computer and all techie stuff, but he willingly draws out detailed drawings for customers by hand. He showed me some of his latest works on digicam last week when he came and I only felt regretful that I paid extra to hire an extra ID when he could have done a much better job. From the pictures on his digicam, his design is comtemporary and really unique and classy, similar to the pictures you find on ID magazines.

Dont take my word for it. Give him a call and ask for a quote and some pictures to view (he is not pushy at all, I cant stand pushy people). His name is Andy and hp no is 90010206. Tell him that you are recommended by Chris.

BTW, I might not be checking back here, so if anyone needs further questions answered, please PM me.

berrywife

Hi, just wanna share my personal experience.

When I renovated my house exactly a year ago, I hired an interior designer (they do strictly designing, not contractor job) and a seperate contractor. I paid several thousands for my interior designer who very unfortunately did a BAD job (I forfeited his last payment in the end) but my post is not about that so I wont go into details. :p

But very thankfully I found an excellent contractor (thank goodness! If my contractor also screw up then I think I would really be inconsolable!) who not only gave me a reasonable quote (I compared his quote to 8 other contractor's and his was one of the most reasonable and detailed) but also did an overall good job for my house. He is extremely hardworking and hands-on, he personally checked all the work almost daily and would willingly redo any imperfections I pointed out, regardless of how small or insignificant they might be (I was quite particular hehe). Not only that, when my incompetent ID measured some of my carpentry wrongly and the item has been made and cant fit well, my contractor did me a huge favour by sending it back to his carpenter to rush out the right measurements without even charging me an extra cent (we paid in cash and he knew our budget was v tight). And all throughout the reno works, whenever we request for new things to be added, he gave us extremely reasonable prices considering that he could have charge more since partial payment has been made to him.

And the reason I feel compelled to come here to post about this is because just last week (bear in mind that my reno was actually completed almost a year ago), I called him because my bathroom sliding door was slanting a little and he popped by the very NEXT day to fix it for me on his own! And when he saw that my sink area (I'm not sure wat u call that, but its the white sealing part ard the edges) had some mildew mould spots that cant be removed, he actually offered to come by this week (he had a project nearby my place, hence convenient for him) to redo the sealing! And when he was here, he went around my kitchen cabinets to tighten screws and helped me to glue back a small broken (no thanks to my PT cleaner)piece of my veneer cabinet door. Tell me, is this not service that makes me feel compelled to post back here??

Anyway, I need to clarify this- I am in NO way related to him or his company and the only reason I am recommending him is because I feel that its so rare to find such a genuinely nice and responsible contractor who actually takes real pride in his work and not just $$$-faced. If anyone is skeptical, feel free to click on my profile and check up on my past 5000+ posts to know that I am just a sahm who is simply giving due credit to someone who deserves it.

Oh BTW, he actually is a ID as well, he is as as familiar with computer and all techie stuff, but he willingly draws out detailed drawings for customers by hand. He showed me some of his latest works on digicam last week when he came and I only felt regretful that I paid extra to hire an extra ID when he could have done a much better job. From the pictures on his digicam, his design is comtemporary and really unique and classy, similar to the pictures you find on ID magazines.

Dont take my word for it. Give him a call and ask for a quote and some pictures to view (he is not pushy at all, I cant stand pushy people). His name is Andy and hp no is 90010206. Tell him that you are recommended by Chris.

BTW, I might not be checking back here, so if anyone needs further questions answered, please PM me.

rachbear

Hey Berry,
do you have any idea if Andy also charges a reasonable rate of painting of entire unit? I am actually sourcing for cheap, realiable contractor to paint my entire flat. Maybe also waxing of my paquet floor.

oldman

Personally i think it would be best to find a renovation contractor which is recommended by your trusted friends. No point employing interior designer or wat.

Learn from my experience....My ID pratically did nothing much but just draw some 3D drawings and did some dimensions for the furniture and thats abt it. Most of the time, he won't be around to oversee my house progress. Only turn up or look for you when its time to pay $. Other than that....pratically no contribution...

Thus....morale of the story... dun pay ID just for their bullshit talk on design....... When come to the actual construction work, they disappear and let all the subcon handle everything....and then the only person you can really liase with is the sub con working in your house.....

olengjuz

Contact Mr Tan @ 9191 6633. Have seen his carpentry works and designs not bad. Been in this biz for the 29 years.

He brought me to view his other clients' houses at carious areas and I had spoken to them, abt 5/6 told me that his prices are really reasonable and dun over-charged!

His client bases are mainly by words-of-mouth. Met up with him recently and got to know that he's actually bought his shop from the govt and dun need to pay rental hence can charge cheaper.

Most of the quotes given to me are basically material costs and some/minimal labour costs.

He got his own team of plumbers, technicians, titlers, electricians, carpenters. It's a one-stop service company.

His package even throws in reasonably priced cooker & cooker hub, air con and FOC toilet accessories. In my package, he also throws in FOC labour for lighting points & wash basin. Of course there's more into it.

Im also introduced by a forumer here and am so glad to get to know Uncle Tan.

He's a very friendly, middle-aged man who goes dealing biz in traditional way. Thus, he would be doing up his company webpage soon. Currently his company website doesnt have heaps of info.

Of the comments I have received from his customers, most of them went back to him after comparing quotes from outside contractors/ID..one of them even compared 15 quotations before signing up with Mr Tan. his quotes are generally 5-10% cheaper than other companies.

His company is registered and can be found under HDB's list of registered contracting companies. He even opens up a sister company in order not to let clients pay for the GST.

Not trying to help him bringing in more biz but trying to share what I know about Mr Tan. Hubby & I are in the midst of finalising the details and will be signing up with him this week.

PM me if you want to know more info abt Mr Tan's works. Thanks.

olengjuz

I dun mind sharing with you, Andy but I will only finalising the details with Mr Tan this wkend. Not sure to do air con at living hall or not cos my parents might want to move our living hall's big air con to our new hse.

For interested parties, kindly Pm me cos I hardly follow this thread. Thanks.

everyone reccomends theirs, why not try read thru the forum can try contact the contractors/id yourself and arrange meeting with them, i'm sure all reccomend have their standards, its who you like to talk to, and comfortable with, we can reccomend but it might not be your likin, i search starts by jotting the reccomend wan and call to them, they will sure ask, why don fax them your floor plan and require works, next, you wait for their quote, they will give you their first impression, some will come with hidden cost, cost that you dono that you hav to pay for doing things that need but you donno that need to do.. some will be thorough enough.. arrange meeting would be best.. if you hav prob meeting them and need start asap... there are so many contractors out there surviving without reccomendation lo.. if you find hard to arrange meeting and getting to discuss, then your reno will usu be delay, out time is tight or his is tight.. made sure that your time and his can meet, else headache lo :p good luck in your search, i take 17 quotes before settle with one, i'm not the only one with 17 lo.. :p

octo79

Hi BERRY (berrrywife),
thanks so much for posting Andy's contact here!

i had some minor touch ups for my resale flat.
1) Fixing new basin
2) Re-Wiring a power socket
3) Main Door Lock and Handle
4) One Window (couldn't close it completely)
5) Toilet seat (thought my original one was spoilt) - Andy actually fixed it back immediately!

Met Andy last Saturday and even though its just a minor project, he agreed to do it for us. The price was very reasonable too!

He finished the job today. I too, was compelled to post his services here. ;)
He was really very professional, very hands-on and definately takes his time to make sure he does a good job.

Dear Forumers, if you're looking for a trustworthy Contractor / ID (he does ID as well!)
you would want to consider Andy.

hehe..(managed to see some of his photos)
very nice! :p
almost ask him to redo my kitchen..

Cheers! Happy Renovating! Mine's almost done.

olengjuz

No offence here...but I feel Andy is one of the few contractors who seems to be less proactive..I even needed to Q him for advice on my house reno when meetup at my house (before I signed with my contractor). Also quite difficult to get him give some ideas on my house reno/designs on the spot.

His quotes also somehow on the high end (as compared to quotes received from other ID/contractors).

However, am also happy for those who have engaged him and are satisfied with his service. He's also the only contractors who has got pictures of his works ready to show you instantly.

octo79

Hi eload72,
nope..just his number.
I called him on a saturday morning and met up on that same afternoon to check out what he could do for my reno..

his no. taken from Berrwife's post

bugsfire

I can recommend a contractor. He is very reliable. I recently used him for my office renovations and all my family used him for home renovation. Personally think he is very reliable and cost is ok.

Overall I think his paintwork plus tiles laying is superb. Very good workmanship.

If need his contact, email me at [email protected]

sunny_bear

Hi SK,

Would like to know more about Mr Tan's works. Appreciate if you can share with me details on the reno work u b engaging him to do and quotation? Mine will be a major re-haul (basically everything)!

Oh btw, what's his company name? My e-mail is [email protected] Thanks a lot!!!

As my home-to-be needs major reno, would appreciate also if any of you have done or is doing major reno for yr hme and can share some of yr contractor/quotations with me??? Any pics?

Anyone used/using Andy's for major reno also? My e-mail is [email protected] Thanks very much!!!

karenchansecret

I can recommend a contractor. He is very reliable. I recently used him for our new house Personally think he is very reliable and cost is resonable.

His paintwork, laying is super. Very good workmanship and well info.
Want to have his contact you can email [email protected]

pinkicon

Just to feedback, I read the postings here and told my hb to give Andy a call, based on the recommendations here. When he told him the stuff to be done, he became quiet and rather hostile. My hb sensed that he was not interested to come down to look at our house, he left Andy his number and ever since then Andy never even bother to call back to fix appt with us. Its been more than a week.

He must be getting so much biz based on the recommendations that he became hao lian lor. Ours is just minor reno, if small biz also not interested, then how to trust and rely on such ppl. tsk tsk

The other guy my hb contacted is Mr Tan based on the above postings. Another hao lian contractor, told my hb he's too busy, then my hb said never mind no need to rush cause ours small reno. Left his number with Mr Tan, whats new hao lian ppl dun call cause they are very busy and rich they dun need to do small biz.

kikotecho

Hi Pink Pink

You r right. Sometime recommendation are good. But must find out more lor.
If can, go check their background first. Eg. License thing..
if can, go to their sales office and talk to them better.
feel comfortable before signing any contract. And get a dateline from them.
After bad experience, black and white is very impt. and last make sure they provide what they mentioned in their package or leaflet.

dan008

Cannot try Uncle Tan from Eagle Design / Hoon Hoe Bros.

I kanna already. Very slow in work progress and workmanship is only 60%. I've askem them to do some wiring work not even re-wiring took 3 weeks and till date not completed. Very rough job. If you ever ask the workers or the coordinator all will rpely you one ans thats "I dont know, you better call MR TAN"........And the chemical wash is only those 2 dollars per bottle bought from any shop (brown color) so pls check with your contractor on this issue. Dont get ripped off.

dan008

Cannot try Uncle Tan from Eagle Design / Hoon Hoe Bros.

I kanna already. Very slow in work progress and workmanship is only 60%. I've askem them to do some wiring work not even re-wiring took 3 weeks and till date not completed. Very rough job. If you ever ask the workers or the coordinator all will rpely you one ans thats "I dont know, you better call MR TAN"........And the chemical wash is only those 2 dollars per bottle bought from any shop (brown color) so pls check with your contractor on this issue. Dont get ripped off.

sleepygal79

Anyone heard Thiam Yew Seng b4? Are they good? Jus got the keys to my new house. Still sourcing for the good contractors and ID. Was tinking abt DIY for the renovations but we are worried about the co-ordination for each one of them.

Normally how many quotes do you guys get before confirming which one to take? I have 4 quotes now. Was wondering necessary to get more? Thanks.

sullivan

Strategic Design at Ubi - DO NOT PATRONIZE THIS RENOVATION COMPANY
ID is a liar! Everything is possible and smooth sailing before signing the contract/invoice. Their service and attitude change after the signature. Just to name a few how bad their service was: Poor workmanship, Lousy service,Bad Painting & Poor Materials/Parts

Str*tegic D*sign at Ubi advertised their service on 18 jul and 23 may 2008. promising well train supervisor, handover on time, good materials, etc. these are all b*llsh*t, all lies...they took 3-4 months to handover to us. and furthermore, we need to push n push for it then they handover. otherwise, all the reno work will be stagnant. the supervisor M*lvin T*n is worst! never even bother to come and look at the progress till we complain to him. painting was not done and wanted to handover to us. pen ink can still be seen all around the place. good material is also another lie. my tiles colour is starting to fade within 4 months..and they charge extremely high, no lowest price at all. do not be cheated by all their gimmicks!!!
And why they have a brand new showroom because they close down another branch which they can?t afford to maintain. In fact their business is not good therefore, they will charge very high. They used to have financial issues which can checked out with their boss Jos*ph

sullivan

Hi there, so coincidentally that i just met a couple recently and they used Str*tegic D*sign at Ubi as well. and they share the same sentiments as us. and heard from them they like to use the trick of filing a complaint and made you pay extra that we as the consumers do not know till we suddenly received a letter. at the same time they can save up the effort of after sales service therefore the warranty of 1 year is a lie since they already on bad terms, consumers will definately won't approach them anymore, right!!!

bubble_min

Hi June, u did not activiate ur PM.

If u r interested in contactor, i can recommend u this guy call Mr Goh.
U can pm me and i can give u his hp and email.

taurus_adeline

If anyone who wish to engage a designer, pl....se do not approach this ID, named I-BRIDGE interior design. They have very poor attitude, poor service, materials, response, and also worst of all poor sub-con. Very superb lousy workmanship too.

I had my reno done recently. It was terrible, they had broken my homogenous wall tiles, without replacing new one!!! Water leaking 7-8 times, sub-con got to come back again and again. Toilet floor tiles smell sting. Water flooded in the kitchen area, did not flow well, got to sweep each time I wash the kitchen floor. When making last payment, we pay half only bcos, they promised to hand-over in 3 weeks time, now 3 months liao, still not done yet!!! Why? cos they suppose to do my toilet floor grouting, I everyday sms and call them, they dun response to any of my sms and calls. I so angry so have to give up, and do grouting on our own liao. At first, I tot John Koa and John Tay like that, my god, their boss, Alwin Ho also like dat, no professionalism, and responsibility. I-BRIDGE ID, never engage them.

cola25

Hi Adeline seen the ID got no reponse then call they big boss up and tell how to recommend friend if they're sevice like that .
If the problem still cant settle maybe can ask my ID see can help or not .

lingzicy

Hi Adeline, I am in the midst of shortlisting IDs to reno my hse.. Actually consider of using I-Bridge and would appreciate it if you could let me know which ID you are referring to? I actually spoken to 1 seems ok but haven see any work yet la..

Would appreciate it if there are recommendations on IDs.. Tks in adv