RENOTALK PEOPLE

gaku: i dun think he has corian lah. Most of us using bellus. I know from other contractor's quotation that corian cost a lot a lot more!! His price for solid surface top is already way below what i was quoted by others for Bellus, so i couldnt be bothered also. Anyway, i think he uses 'corian' to refer to solid surface top. Like 'pampers' refering to diapers.

my house got lights liao!! finally! i love my downlights... awww~~~

ya I think what mrspiglet says is highly likely... cos not easy for him to rem all these ang mor names also.

Wah photos le!
Must be very nice

Hihi Everyone..

I'm back.. Getting hooked to this thread. hee..

What's Corian and Bellus? Kinda blur now though i've tried to catch up with everyone..

Roamca - Your place look so cozy.. =)

Corian and Bellus are brands of Solid surface tops. Corian is a high-end brand.. very ex... almost the price of granite. Bellus is a normal one.

mrspiglet: I see. I thought he really has Corian. Glad to hear that you love your downlight. Do show us some photos ok. By the way, I have uploaded my floorplan. If you got time, do take a look.

Felina: We are talking about the solid surface. Corian and Bellus are brand name. Corian is using 100% acrylic so more expensive.

Pet & Gaku70 - Thanks. Solid surface for cabinets? Sorry, still very newbie. Hee..

By the way, do your happen to know who done up Roamca's house. Ah soon by any chance? Thanks once again.

yup the one for the kitchen table top.. on top of the cabinets..

You can choose from a number of materials.. postform, solid surface, stainless steel and granite.

Roamca's house is by Mr Yeak.

Pet - Ah.. I see.. I like Roamca's kitchen. The colour is bright, not too bright. In short, very pleasing to my eye. Haha.

So can i say Both Mr Yeak and Ah soon are very popular hor.. Ah Soon number one? Mr Yeak comes in second? Haha.. (no offence to anyone..)

mm? not so ba. Ah Soon happened to renovate a forummer's house earlier. Mr Yeak only appeared when Rondy got his house renovated... so if they started off the same time they might have gotten as popular as each other ;)

mmm Can I say this? *no offence to anyone* If the house turns out nice.. it's mostly the owner's credit.. cos the owner decided the colours and everything. UNLESS the owner really left the 100% designing all to the ID and didn't decide at all.

Gaku: yupz, saw ur floorplan liao. Almost the same layout as mine. In the end i did not put any dining light cos i still haven decided when i'm placing my dining table. Wanna shift in then see how much space i have.

Day 28 of my reno. Went up during lunch (cos i'm on mc) and saw no one at work AGAIN! Call ah soon n he appeared within 20mins! Check everything, made a few phonecalls to chase/scold pple, say will complete by sat.

Went back to the house again after popping those panadols n napping, and saw pretty downlights finally lit up!

981558.jpg

Laundry system also up.
981559.jpg

WAH mrspiglet! Very nice. The wall colour you chose very soothing and you're so right.. downlights look GREAT! I'm sure this beautiful scene ease your headache a bit. Hope you're better!!!

Felina>> nope. Rondy got his house reno first, the Angel then Roamca.. all by Mr Yeak.

felina: the laundry system works on hydraulics. Need to pull down using a hook they provide, hang clothes then push out. I dun dare to use bamboos and yet i like to stay high floors, so no choice. Haha! Its $670, inclusive of the extension brackets cos my ceiling is a little higher than the rest.

pinkpetter: thk u thk u!! was a nightmare deciding on colors for walls, cos no ID, no 3D pics, depended on gut feelings. At 1st seems a little too dark, then slowly the 'feel' comes when the lights and everything is up! So happy!
Even Jason says we picked the right color combi.

Mrspiglet - Sounds interesting to me. Any website or link i can go to to see how it works? Thanks. It's a little ex though..

felina>> mrspiglet's laundry system is good price liao. when I was looking there were people quoting me $750 - $880. then we gave up finding. Now that mrspiglet has cheaper ones..... hehe *heart itchy*

felina/poisedon: i got them from Ezzi Living at one of the expo home fairs. Promotion was inclusive of brackets, so i didnt ask how much the brackets cost if its not FOC. Its a little ex just to hang clothes, but i think safety more impt ba. Can ref to - http://www.ezziliving.com/slide.htm

poisedon: One contractor quoted me $125pfr for corian (under promotion price) vs $85pfr for Bellus.

haha! pinkpetter, u still looking for ur laundry system ah? U wan i pass u the contacts see if u can jio jio the guy to give u the same offer i got.

felina: forget to add, there r cheaper ones also, those using the pulley system. But downside is cannot hang out of the window, only 'up n down'. The one i got is 'up down in out' all can. Hope u know wat i mean.

mrspiglet: Yes our layout very similar. I think we are living close as well.

Nice bold colour in your living room. You might want to consider putting the dinner table at the area behind the half wall.

Did you change the window grilles in the living room only. Kitchen window grilles are different.

Are those downlight double tube 18W with ballast?

Pet & Mrspiglet - Since you get it for 670 compared to 750-800 then it's not too bad liao la. Haha. At least got discount. Is it the home fair at expo recently? I think Feb? Can put alot of clothings?

mrspiglet>> haha ya lor. But actually my mother's dream is to have HDB upgrade us and give us a room behind.. which I promise that I would make it into a big washing/drying area for her. LOL she has to dream long long. :P hehe if can email me le.. [email protected] heheh Thanks ah!

gaku: i told u staying in the west? Mine is in tampines. I think since both our houses are 12yrs old, the layout is similar. HDB seems to build in 'batches'.

did consider to put dining table behind half wall, but its gonna be very near my shoe cabinet, a bit yucky leh. I think most of the time we eat in front of TV, so can save the money for time being lah. Haha!

Ur eyes very sharp leh!! Ya, i only chge the grills for those along corridor. The grills were still in gd condition, but safety reasons, we decided to chge to wrought iron fixed grills. Downlights are 2x13W w ballast. Total 12 of them for 7x5m living room.

felina: i dunno how much clothes can put leh. its 6ftx6poles. Not enough to hang just use hanger will do. Middle poles are movable so can 'lengthen', use 2 poles to hang bedsheets. i got it last yr Dec.

Pet - Missed your msg above.. Ah.. Didn't get to see how Rondy's house look like.. But i managed to see Angel's kitchen.. nice nice too..

the laundry system look very interesting.. i also dont dare to bring bamboo pole out of the house..considering that i will be staying at 11th floor..
But it is sooo much expensive that my few pcs of bamboo pole... need to consider my budget..

pinkpetter: mailed u! ur 5I still wanna upgrade? become 5I-I liao lah! hahah!

felina: that's wat forum is for! ask questions! i asked a lot of questions b4/during my reno too ah. The guy says its tested to last dunno how many 10s of thousand of cycles lah, but definitely more durable than pulley systems. Anyway i must highlight its quite heavy to pull down. Must get the hang of it, and find the right method. Hub n me were playing w it just now, trying to figure out how to make it easier to pull. haha!

i 9th floor, top floor. n i scardy cat of heights.

mrspiglet: Right now I'm staying in AMK but moving to Pasir ris soon. You are absolute right. The flat is exactly 12yrs old.

When guest comes, it is better to have a dinning area. According to FS, dinning area is important and should be spacious as well. So when you have $$, do remember to setup the dinner area first.

I am contemplating wrought iron and alu. Was told wrought iron need maintenance as it will rust and alu is abit soft.

Wah felina and poseidon_gal... tell you.. my mom and I haven't taken out the poles before. The first night we stayed here and wash clothes. We tried to hang the clothes outside.. then both my mom and I were stuck halfway out.. we didn't have the strength to put the pole into the holder and couldn't bring it back in. Luckily I was there or I wouldn't know what happen to my mom. Anyway we were stuck for quite a while, not daring to move until my brother who happen to go toilet in the middle of the night saw us and saved us... Now mom doesn't hang outside anymore..

Mrspiglet - Thanks. Hee..

I'll probably be hooked to this reno topic for next 2 yrs plus.. Lol. Till i get my keys.. What is the appropriate timing to contact a contractor? How soon before getting keys should i contact the contractor (should i decide to get a contractor instead of a ID)?

Oh ya, mrs piglet, yours also done by ah soon right? Can't rmb. Haha.Correct me if im wrong..

Wah thanks mrspiglet! Will consult mom about this. ya la.. she say this house is perfect... just no proper washing and hanging area like our old place. lol

gaku: No offences, but i'm not into FS. I would think spending for the right reason and needs would be more useful than buying something that i would need just for FS. Dining table will buy lah, just that dunno when. haha! I do have a smaller brkfast table in the kitchen for quick meals thou.

U chging whole house or just corridor facing areas? Wrought iron need maintenance meh? I was told by both Ah Soon n the window guy that the one i got is non rust and dun have to do anything abt it except normal cleaning. Aluminium is too soft for security reasons..

Pinkpetter: very scary right?! my house bamboo now all super long, at least 8ft long. I see my mum put out i also scare. N there r so many times my neighbour's bamboo fell down n got stuck at my bamboos!

Felina: i suggest u stick ard n see what u want for ur house. 2mths or so b4 u get keys can look ard for quotations to compare price. If really wanna get Ah soon, then maybe 1mth b4 pre-warn him when u intending to start, so he can plan the schedules. Afterall urs is still so long away, prices can differ a lot by then.

Yes, my house also done up by Ah soon.

Pet - Oh my.. YOu mean you never hang out bamboo poles before? Or not in your new place? Sounds dangerous to me ( in your perspective)

mrspiglet>> ya... it was a very scary incident.. WAH yours 8ft.. super scary le! aiyoh... hehe we same same.. dining table put on hold. :P

Felina>> we've never hang our bamboo poles before.. my whole life and the whole of my mom's housework life. (mom only started doing all these the last 10 yrs.) cos our previous places had a washing and drying area and it didn't have windows/grilles. So hanging it within the area still allowed for it to be dry. No need to bring out poles one. Super scary lor. Really at a loss. My first time seeing my mom scared also. :P

Pet & Mrspiglet - Ah.. Understandable.. Then maybe the hydraulic one is better.. I'm considering too.. Don't know if bf will agree to it or not.. Think he'll confirm say Waste $$$ one..

Mrspiglet - Thanks. Will stick around and see what exactly i want..
Hee.

So all you need is tell ah soon what you want la. E.g. For kitchen cabinet, say you want red and white then he'll find for you and do it up? or maybe he got some pictures to show?

mrspiglet: No worries if you r not in FS. It's good you have a small breakfast table.

Initially thought don't have to change and save some $$ but after got the keys and checked, there are some faulty windows and grille with missing key. Kitchen windows cracked. So bopian got to change everything.

It's good to check it yourself if the grille will rust or not. Try sticking a magnet onto it. If it stick, most likely it will rust. My current wrought iron of 5 years already show sign of rusting.

Mrs Piglet,

What type of ceiling is your living room? I like ii's like everything concealed,no holes or gaps. Is it called box-up or L-box? I dont really know the terms. Btw is it strong enough to support a chandelier? Or i can only use flush lights?

gaku>> if it's just the lock that has problems you can just change the lock. I did it for my house. The keys were missing and the lock was rusty... so Ah Soon changed all the grille locks for me. And if it's a bit hard can just oil a little to maintain.
Grilles around the house will cost $1000+ - $2k.. depending on type you want ba.

I'm also a regular renotalk visitor until it went down recently. I'm in the process of setting up a forum as an alternative to renotalk until it comes up (if it does come up). Will let you all know when it's ready

pet: The locks that you had are held by screws or rivets. Mine think is the rivet type and if I yank it out, think the alu will damage as well.

My casement windows confirm have to change so guess it makes more sense to change the grille than reuse. I will check with Ah soon if can savage.

Any idea how much it cost to change window to sliding type?

pinkpetter: eh? i tot u have a high table for dining liao? Not the final one? But u can always replace that area w a dining table since u already have the 'light' abv it. Get a laundry system safer, if my mum buys my idea i dun mind getting 1 for her. I rather be safe than sorry, kiasi kiasu mentality. haha!

felina: if ur bf says waste of money, then ask him to wash clothes himself n hang them out! LOL! its ur safety at risk leh, unless u got those muscles. ur house is BTO? nowadays new flat comes w laundry system leh, at least the one at Bedok does.

use these 2yrs to search for all the pics of things u want, then show them. They can replicate the similar if not exact! u can decide colors but still gotta choose laminates. Contractors dun usually decide the color combi for u thou they can provide decently gd hand-drawn pics.

Gaku: wah! wat did ur prev owner do to the windows? Windows rarely crack one leh, my current place 24yrs still going strong.

Wrought iron is still iron afterall leh, i think still will attract magnet no matter what. Just get the powder coated ones to play safe ba. If really rust also no choice right? my prev grills are aluminum and still in gd condition, so the next level up can only be wrought iron.

enivi: its just false ceiling, looks exactly like a normal ceiling. no L-box no cove lightings (my pic a bit misleading becos of my centre beam). basically just use to hide the cable trunkings n install downlights. i think shd be ok to support chandelier, they have metal structure inside.

mrspiglet - My house is BTO at punggol. eh.. What is laundry system? I've got no idea lei..

Laminates? For what?

Thank you everyone for their patience in answering my questions.. Very much appreciated. =)

Laundry system = anything to hang the wet clothes, like my hydraulic system. My fren's new flat in Bedok comes w the pulley system and some horizontal bars outside the flat to hang clothes.

U got me thinking how to describe laminates leh! Hmm, its the thin piece of wood that they will piece together with the thicker wood to form ur cabinet (is my description gd enough?). This one will determine if ur cabinet is white/green/red/black... etc.

mrspiglet: prev owner did not stay there. It was rented out to "foreign talents". That is why I couldn't believe a 12yr old flat could be that bad.

No problem. Just want to share with you metal that attracted to magnet will likely rust. So next time you can verify.

Aiya...the forum move so fast cannot catch up anymore...I only free late at night to read the forum...

Just signed the option to purchase 3hrs ago! Now have to start planning!

Mrs Piglet: Is it difficult to pull the laundry up down in out? Heavy or not? Windows need to make wider so can push out? I don't think I'm changing my existing windows cos still looks new.

Pet: I also never hang bamboo poles out before. Scared also. I use folding clothes stand (big one) and also got foldable clothes frame mounted just below the kitchen windows in my current flat.

I've created a temporary forum for renotalk users suffering from withdrawal. The url is http://reno.mySgSite.com

I hope that you all find the forum useful and enjoyable to use. Feel free to let me know if you have any comments and suggestions.

If this is not an appropriate place to post this, pls let me know and I'll remove the link. Thanks.