RENOTALK PEOPLE

mrspiglet: Ok I see. If it just changing the pipe material, then no much difference. You can paint the pipe to match your toilet colour. Or you can make full use of the pipe profile. One of my friend has two big money plant growing on the pipe and it looks like Amazon in the toilet.

really cannot catch up.

ANGEL your house is very nice! I love the choice of tiles in the toilet. Really looking forward to more pictures.

hehe Gaku..I think the pipes must change back to the same size. Another forummer.. ponytail and luckyguy had theirs changed.. they wrote about it in their T-blog that time. Apparently.. they will inform upstairs first then they will change it very fast.

yoyo! haha why your jesper so cute one... mm think should be able to ba. Is it very impt to you to finish your reno today? Just curious...

wah one night never read and then so many postings, read until blurr :p

ivyseah,
i will get my keys earlier than you but my contractor still not confirm

Thanks for offering to share your quote, I really appreciate it. But if too mafan, than never mind la

familyof4, fondue,
so did you manage to meet up with ah soon? I called ah soon and he ask me to talk to jason, but jason also busy

fondue,
so i can scan and email the floor plan to erica@hongta*.com is it?

mrspiglet,
Thanks for sharing the aircon lobang. Should I look for anyone in particular?
Your is false ceiling rite? Looks nice with the wall color!! But I think can only install L-Box becos we are installing ceiling fan
Too bad your place so far at Tampines, or else I really want to take up your offer to see your showflat

pinkpetter,
Thanks, but I did not rec'd anything in my email leh? Can pm me again?

Angel,
Congrats! Your new house looks really beautiful.
I hope mine will turn out as nice as yours!

Felina,
You are so young .. since your house not ready yet, can still save up for the reno

Gaku,
I am going to get my key soon too. Have you finalised your contractor already?

Rondy - oh those kind of shower screen ah! hehehee... I think those are mostly plastic bah? I saw at PJ also. But eeee... Confirm will nvr get those. I'll rather do w/out then get those.

Yupz, I saw. And yah, the pic is abit small, so can't really see. But from what I can see, it seems rather interesting.

Christy -
kao_dizzy.gif
How ur gf carry back?! *thumbs up for ur gf man!*

k0k0 eh? never meh? so funny. Can you send me a "hi" email to my email? [email protected] Cos I dun have the details now... then I'm afraid by the time I get home I will forget and this thread is running to fast. hahaha

Figo: 100pfr is too expensive for 3S. Ask you ID why others charge 3S for 75pfr (50% acrylic).

For that amt, I would suggest top up abit and go for Corian or Staron. Depending on the colour, when I last checked Corian price start at 110 and Staron abt 85. Both are 100% acrylic.

The number I quoted maybe a bit outdated as my research was done a few months back.

Angel> Ya la she carry back the railings with her hubby.. if cannot finish one trip than next trip she carry back lor... I really Pei Fu her. Lucky she not the slim size girl else cannot carry one lor and she very "chor lor" one so she dun care how pple look at her when she carry the railings back... I already start joking with her... you want to carry more things back from thailand for me??? Hahahah

Pinkpetter - hahaha, I had a super hard time catching up the posts fr Sun - yesterday! Hee, tks tks! Kinda glad the toilets turned out well. Yeah man, $35-36k for reno is pretty ok. Including furnishing, curtains etc, I tink it's abt $54k.

k0k0 - thanks! I'm sure urs will be very nice as well. How's ur contractor/ID search coming along?

christy - ur gf really very garang. This is the first time I heard someone carry railings back fr overseas!

Koko: Haven't finalised contractor yet cos I just got the key this week. Now no electricity so cannot ask contractor to view. Will be up this weekend. Anyway even confirm also cannot start work. Got decree from the folks to start only after Qing Ming over. How about you, have you started RFQ?

gaku: u may be surprise a single pipe does matters a lot. The current pipe is painted with rockstone. Gives me the goosebumps. Lucky MBR toilet no pipes. *phew.

k0k0: PM-ed u the contacts! I think u can install false ceiling w L-box to hide the ceiling fan trunkings as well. Too far nvm, i'll post pics here lor. Btw, where's ur new place?

angel: $54k for 4 of u and its EM! very gd price leh. My 4rm already costing me close to $40k w all the furnishing. hope i get a gd price from ur curtain lobang.

When will ur curtains be up? take pic take pic!

mrspiglet - Hee.. Should be cuz we didn't do the whole house's flooring and also 2 of the toilets din do much bah.
U changed lots of tiling leh.
My curtains were fixed up on 24th. MBR is chocolate brown and the other 2 bedrms are goldish in colour.
I'll post the curtain's pics together with the rest. hehehe

pinkpetter: I didn't see the T-blog for ponytail and luckyguy and RT is down. But I think I will just leave them alone.

mrspiglet: Wah the previous owner uses rockstone for the pipes! I have not seen any one using rockstone paint in bathroom. Maybe see any contractor got ways to remove it.

Anybody knows if cork flooring is available in Singapore? It also comes in click & lock system like laminate flooring. Cork flooring more environment friendly cos no need to kill trees.

Anyone stay in old 5'S' HDB? Mine has a corridor from main door leading to living room. Any idea if corridor wall can be hacked? If possible then I can have open kitchen maybe big enough to put island countertop.

wah k0k0 u need to do more homework loh.. not much time left. Frankly if you already have ideas and have flipped sufficient ID mags hor, uncle ah soon is a good bargain, but of course his package comes with "aeroplanes" and him being super busy lah.

give and take lor

ivy: Thanks for the effort. You type sure clearer than scan. Which areas of the house do you have to hack? Your kids so cute...how you manage 4? I only got 1 die liao...LOL

pinkpetter,
really don't have leh, but i saw one from mrspiglet

But it is ok la, i saw the one posted by ivyseah liow, should be enough for some planning

ivyseah,
thank you so much for your effort .. i am going to print it out for my reference

ya, i know we need to buck up .. so far, i only got 1 picture of the ikea kitchen to show
if got websites with nice kitchen pics, pls share with me ok?

i also scared uncle ah soon being so busy and being fly kite leh, becos my hubby will be unhappy

angel,
so far i only contacted ah soon and another contractor, still thinking whether to check with yeak as your reno quite a good deal
but seems like he is also quite chin chai hor .. kekeke
does yeak speaks english har? sometimes my mandarin cannot make it .. hahaha

mrspiglet,
Thank you, i got your pm. My place is on the west side, on the opposite end of the island.
If install ceiling fan on false ceiling, will it be not secure?
My friend's place hor, the false ceiling fell down after 10 years leh, so scary, lucky no one hurt lor

Gaku,
Me? I am very slow *like tortise* .. but without key a bit difficult right?
Once we get the keys and confirm contractor, I think we will start liow, nevermind if it is qing ming or what

By the way, how long then the PUB can switch on the electricity and water?
I am not going down to collect my keys on the second appt leh, my agent says he will do for us.
So I also dunno how to apply that PUB thing, anyone can tell me?

koko: Apply water and electricity is within the same HDB hub. After getting my keys, I went straight to apply. Can activate the next working days but have to take leave. So I choose Saturday where I don't have to take leave.

Wah you good leh can do immediately start reno after collect key. Envy you.

Ivy: Thanks for the typing out the itemised quote. Think yours much better and clearer. I cannot read what he wrote (chinese) in the footscap paper.

k0k0: dun worry, convince ur hub that he's busy becos he's value for money! I tot my hub will give up after he fly our aeroplane a few days. But end up we are still have very gd comments abt him till now.

ur fren's ceiling fan sounds so scary! Actually i also got phobia for ceiling fans, so i took down the existing one and make do with a normal standing fan. I always dread those days in sch when the fan goes a bit wobbly.

As for ur PUB thing, we applied right after 2nd appt. There wasnt any turn on thing or watsoever. Was told that 2 working days later, they will read the meter and officially we will take over the utility account. No need for us to take leave also. So my house all the while had water and electricity.

huh?? i where got 4 kids??? 2 only leh. 2 boys. uhmm i think my blog title may have misled all of u :p K=kenji (younger son) I =Ivy (me) D=Declan (1st born) S = steve (my ah lao).

nottimonster - i am hacking living, dining room floor, kitchen floor, and hack floor/wall of toilets and a small potion of wall at the kitchen entrance.

folks no worries, when i was sourcing quotes, I met alot of helpful people in renotalk who share their quotes with me as well.

mrspiglet: Is it because your the previous owner transfer the account to you and so you do not have to be around.

When I applied I was given an appointment time which I have to be present. Strange!! Can it be bcos the flat got no water, electicity for more than a month already?

I have applied in person and quite sure it can be turn on the next working day.

Mrspiglet : hahahahha u sotong!!

Diana : mine is a old time 5 room flat. It's a 5"I". got 3 toilets bcos there is 1 bathroom and 1 toilet in the kitchen and another 1 toilet at MBR.

ivy: hahaha! Yalor, i'm so blur. must be the reno making me losing my head! :P

Gaku: the prev owner did not transfer to me. They also dun have such thing as transfer ba. He just terminate n i just apply, both on same day (mon). But effective only 2 working days later (wed). My agent also say just apply can already, no need to be present or watever leh. Strange.

Hihi Everyone, I'm back!! So much to catch up.

Christy - Icic. Sad, sad, sad... Think die die then go bank hopping till get a bank loan lor..

Mrspiglet - Can pay by cash and cpf. Need to plan my reno and furniture very carefully lor. No choice. I'm not very young la. Haha..
I wonder how does your pipe looks like.

Gaku - Thanks for your advise. Qing Ming from when to when?

Kaikai - Maybe we should just stay here and move to RT when it is up again. So are you going to get a ID or contractor?

Rondy - I wonder how does your place looks like. Any pics to show.

Angel - You're not old la. Haha. Just how "old" are you?

Koko - What aircon lobang are you discussing with mrspiglet (if i didnt rmb wrongly). Why is everyone saying that im young.. lol..

Ivyseah - Thanks for the link.

Phew.. Finally replied eveyrone. Haha..

Felina>> Aiyah in time to come the price of the laundry system will probably drop and you can tell your hubby.. Last time.. 800+ then.. 600+ now 400+ LEH! Good buy!

Gaku>> When my electricity was suppose to be turned on, HDB also sms me to be present at time. I was already on block leave so I went down.. I was in the house THE WHOLE AFTERNOON with no chairs... 2 hours AFTER the appted time I called HDB, the guy asked me to try my water and electricity... GOT LIAO! So the FELLOW came and left without me knowing AT ALL. so irritating.

Felina: Qing Ming starts 27th Mar and ends 25 April.

Pet: Exactly. I was asking if I have to be present and the guy at SP told me yes. If known earlier will ask them to turn on the next day. But think ok lah no hurry.

Felina >> sure can. lol and ya you seem young la. that time mrspiglet say I'm young.. now we find a younger one! woohoo!

gaku>> yes.. and they still tell you that you need to bring some identification to show that you're an owner right? I felt so silly waiting for a guy who has left. hmph.and I asked my dad.. my grille locks are held by rivets.

Pet - Haha. Who knows, maybe we might have someone younger soon. Haha..

Gaku - Wow.. One whole month.. Seventh month also another month.. Two whole month cannot open doors and renovate..

Felina: Yes two months cannot do any renovation. If you do not believe in FS, or your folks are ok, then doesn't really matter. Can renovate any time.

Hee Hee.. Finally someone reply.. Haha..

Gaku - I don't believe but then again, if it wouldn't kill me, why not. Haha.. Better be safe than sorry.

felina: busy watching my TVB drama. haha! ok, my pipe, its digusting rockstone. Eh, i dunno how to describe to u. its just like small stone all over the surface.

As for reno, depends on ur belief ba. My FIL super pantang but nvr say cannot reno in QingMing. Esp when reno halfway cannot stop also right? Everything will be left there halfway. To him, more impt is Dong Tu/An Tu/shift house cannot be in that 2 mths ba. For us, we simply just shift base on our convenience.

*sidetrack* pardon me for the sidetrack but cos I know you all ma... hehe can trust you all. If you all have good MUAs whom you know work freelance can tell me? I intend to have a photoshoot (non-wedding) one and want to look for one.

Mrspiglet - Ah.. TVB dramas... nice nice.. I like it too.. Haha.. Ah.. Small stones all over the surface? Your pipe got pimples? Haha.. Anyway i've been reading this, so what is dong tu/An Tu? Cheem...

Pet - No lobang.. Maybe you can go the wedding section there, sure got good recommendations. Haha..

pinkpetter: try the brides thread? There shd be quite a lot of info there.

Felina: Haha! i catching the 80+ eps drama now!

my pipe is not pimple-ish. Its full of acnes! Dong tu is to pray for safety during reno, telling the tu-di-gong that u are gonna do reno. An tu is thanking the god and 'stabilizing' the tu. Disclaimer: the above is explained base on my half bucket knowledge, haha!

ya but it's confusing man. I found one there.. an Angeline... seems ok. hehe tot you all will have nice lobang... trust you all ma

Mrspiglet - What show are you watching? Haha.. Sorry ppl, side track a little. Haha.. Poor acne pipe of yours.. Oh my, Dong tu, an tu, seems so much of a trouble..

Pet - Haha..Photoshoot with? hubby? family?