RENOTALK PEOPLE

hhehe congrats nottimonster!.. collecting pictures time! mm ya i'm thinking of getting that folding thing too.. mm. do your clothes dry easily?

hi kaikai! thanks... will check it out later..

gaku I'm not sure.. sorry le.. can you show me what yours look like then i tell you if mine's the same.... I've ever been to a masionette rented out to foreign talent... where the 2nd floor was leaking to the first, window panes MISSING, some wall tiles in the toilet missing, bedroom door rotten and the whole house stank! :P

Hi everyone! I'm back! :D

Shifted in on Sunday and was on leave till yesterday. Was not able to log on as I still dun have internet at home. Think todae or tml Starhub will connect it to my new place.

We're still left with some stuff unpack, so after everything is done, I'll take pics to show k? Now still rather messy, paiseh to post. :P

All my furniture was delivered on Monday. On Tuesday, hb & I went to collect our free gifts fr Audio House. So far everything so good. Love the house. Sometimes still can't believe that we're shifted in! Was giggling to myself when I walked to MRT this morning.

roamca! Ur kitchen looks very funky! The colours are very nice. I love ur gal's wardrobe doors. Tml handing over right? Congrates congrates.

mrspiglet! There's lights! :D Wah.. good to read that ur reno is going very fast now. Did Ah Soon say when it'll be completed?

zonkkie! congrates on starting ur reno, and ur foyer tiles are very nice.
how's ur purchases?

rondy! hee... tks tks. Haha, only the staircase looks like landed lar. Nowadays landed's design looks soooo polished and cool.

felina, harlow! my house is also by Yeak.

If I've missed any of ur postings/queries, pls forgive me and ask agn k? There's just tooo many posts to go through.

fearnone, ur place handover liao? How is it? congrates congrates! When will u be shifting?

lawry, wah... ur ID reali power at tai chi.. Hope that everyting will be rectified soon.

ponytail! hee... soli, no internet at home leh. We only rem to change our add on Mon. So gota wait till today/tml then will have internet at home. haha..

zig, u got email! Hee.. like wat pinkpetter said, Yeak is really very chin cai as well. He did lots of stuff for me FOC. I like that he's very initiative. He came over on Monday to fix some minor defects, and he lent us his electric drill in case we need to do anything ourselves. And we didn't even ask for it. My MBR carpentry got 2 tiny cracks and one little chip the size of half of my pinkie nail. He minus off $100 off the balance just for that, and even plastered it to hide the little cracks. I would have just taken it as it is, but it was reali nice of him to give discount. No regrets signing with him.

Oh ya. In the end, my final quote for my EM is $35,700. And I had lotssss of carpentry.

gaku: no prob! thks for sharing too, now i gotta go n find a pc of magnet liao.

any pic of ur current place? it sounds in a really bad state

nottimonster: congrats! u'll be eagerly waiting to the 1st appt, then 2nd... then reno!

The system is quite heavy to pull down. There's another similar system by Tames but the poles are more filmsy so i didnt get that. u'll have to double check if the windows' got the centre bar for the casement window panes to latch on, it may be in the way of the system. I didnt chge the kitchen grills too, so i had my contractor to saw away the bar and did some modification to accommodate the laundry system.

Btw, my kitchen used to be open concept but i sealed it back. If u wan island then must access if the kitchen is wide enough?

Angel: u r back!! Yes, finally got lights! they fixed it up last wkend but didnt connect the electricity. Ah soon say will complete this sat. i'll wait n see wat miracles he can come up with. :P

Quickly post pics for us leh... we were all waiting for u to come back!

ivy: thks! its all shades of grey. the dark wall in the living is ICI Granite, light walls are Snowfield. Hub got a shock when he 1st saw it, love it but scare i scold n say too dark. But its turn out well under lightings.

Mrspiglet - Hopefully my new place will have the laundry system that you mentioned. Haha. *keep fingers crossed*

Ah.. Icic.. So laminates are like something that determines the colour of my cabinet la.. Got it liao.

Gaku - So metal things that can be attracted to magnet is very likely to rust? Even gates? Any kind of gates that will not rust?

Nottimonster - Congrats on your purchase. Open concept sounds good. Can free up space and looks nicer... I'm thinking about that too cos my kitchen is so tiny lor.. But don't know if bf will agree anot.

Angel - Email received with thanks. Looking forward to see more pictures from you. Haha.

mrspiglet - wah this sat is just 2 days away! That's very cool. Hee... okok, I'll try to unpack fast and post pics. Now left mbr abit only. Will try to take some more pics tonite. :P

Felina - hee.. will try to post some after unpacking. If not, lots of unsightly boxes everywhere! :P

Felina: Most ferrous material attracted to magnet will rust.

Metals that do not rust usually require high content of chromium to inhibits oxidation and prevent rust. Example stainless steel.

One way is to choose non-ferrous material like Aluminium,composite materials or stainless steel.

mrspiglet: Will try to put some picture in my website maybe Saturday or Sunday when I see the flat again. Will let you know by then. Yes it is in a bad shape. Im looking forward to your pictures as well. So remember to take some pictures for us this Saturday.

982040.jpg
982041.jpg
982042.jpg

982043.jpg
982044.jpg

Some pics that I have with me now. Will post more with furniture, lights, etc.

From top left: Foyer, Balcony, MBR toilet, MBR wardrobe, living room set fr Furniture Club

Gaku - Ah.. Okay. Cheem.. Haha.

Angel - Your MBR wardrobe is so NICE!!! It's equivalent to how many door cupboard? 4 doors? or 5doors?

For your foyer, are those shoe racks? or? correct me if im wrong..

Looking forward to more pictures.. Haha.. No hurry, take your time..

fondue - tks tks! We love coming home to this.
My hb is gg to do a little water feature with orchids there as well.

Felina - thanks! it's 8ft long, so should b abt 4 doors bah. For my foyer, the lower half is shoe rack (see those little slits? that's for air circulation), top half is storage.

Regarding the Kitchen Solid Top Surface, my ID given to me the brand called "3-S"....may I know how is the quality??

hi angel, keep us updated then. your pics really make me look forward to mine too ;)

as of yesterday electrical is up.

very sad that the aircon trunking in the wardrobe room is on the biggest piece of wall. can't paint my special tiffany blue and wall decal on it le.

see diagram, fushia is aircon, the brown line is the trunking. bright blue is the wardrobe.

982146.jpg

Hi familyof4,
Thanks! It's been great staying there so far, including the unpacking headache etc. hehehe..

How's ur reno coming along?

Hi fondue,
Sure will! But I think it'll take awhile, cuz we're still searching for a nice water feature. Any recommendations?

Wah, tiffany blue would look great in a room. Too bad aircon can't be painted hor?

felina: u can slowly take these 2 yrs to convince n brainwash ur hub that ur safety is more impt than anything else! :P

Gaku: ur reno only can start end April, but confirm contractor already not? Sounds to me ur to-do list will be long.

Angel: ur foyer very big leh! n the foyer lights very romantic!

Hi mrspiglet,
Hee... We love the light too! At first wanted to put it at balcony, but scare that the false ceiling that the previous owner did buey dahan the weight, so placed it at foyer loh. Didn't regret in the end, cuz can come home to this light. heheeheheh

Fondue - What is trunking?

Angel - Oh ya. I rmb liao.. So forgetful. Haha.

Mrspiglet - Yeah..Will try to convince him and we have budget to consider as well..

How do your pay off your reno payment to Ah soon or Yeak? Saved up over last few years or took loan from the bank? Any advise?

Cos i don't think we can save up let's say 25k for reno and another 10k or so to pay off remaining 5% of hdb downpayment in 2 yrs time..

hi felina, i took a flat rate promo package from rhb bank at 3% for 24k. so far the best rate, hitachi credit/capital no longer offer reno loan

trunking is for the concealed 410gas/pipings for indoor aircon unit. The reason we put there at wardrobe only biggest wall is because we wanted mbr's aircon to be trunkless.

Sob, i was thinking if I can do a feature wall to cover up the trunking in the wardrobe area.

angel: its a gd choice! I think will be lovely w ur hb water feature.

felina: save every cent u can? I think most of us here gotta really squeeze the pockets a bit and find bargain buys for the house. How come u need to pay 5% cash to hdb? Bank loan ah?

i also short of $ when the power combi of reno+wedding comes together. In the end take loan lor, from mama

Fondue - Icic. How many years you need to repay the 24k to the bank? I still don't understand the trunking thing lei. Any picture? Hee.

Mrspiglet - Eh. Cos ours is a new flat. Already paid 5% downpayment last year to hdb. So when collect keys, need to pay remaining 5% to hdb lor. That's how they work.

Seems like getting a loan is inevitable for my situation. Don't even wanna think about wedding. Haha. Headache..

SO all the RT ppl are here... keke...

Angel: ur hse is finally done! So nice!! I like ur masterbedrm wall colour. very cosy feel. Dunno u still rem me, but in RT i told u i am getting my hse soon in JE area and now, i am in the mist of reno-ing it! Oh ya, wanna check with u are you the one who bought a oval shape basic for ur toilet? Can I know where u get it from? =p

Figo: Sing Solid Surface (3S) material very soft. Very low acrylic content (30-50%) depending on the price range.

mrspiglet: Yes you are right. To-do-list will get longer when I view the flat this weekend. Right now only plan on paper. House no electricity yet so after work cannot see. Have not finalised contractor yet because I stopped for a while. This week just go key and will restart again but will definitely got to finalise before Qing Ming over.

Felina: Reno loan now getting difficult. Best to save as much as you can and outstanding get loan from parent if possible. For me, parent & sibling wanted to give gift, I ask them for cash instead. Haha..

Fondue - Icic.. Thanks. Rougly know what is it liao. All the so called pipes connected to the aircon? (sorry ah, using all layman's term). Haha. 5 years sounds reasonable..

Mrspiglet - Already saving as much as i can. Just graduated from poly and starting work full time next month plus babysitting as part time job.. Slogging my way to save up $$$ for my flat and reno.. Hee..

Bye people.. Gotta go babysit now.. Shall catch up with everyone in the evening..

Have a nice day!!! =)

Gaku - Oh my. Why is reno loan getting difficult?
I don't think i can get a loan from my parents or anyone else.. All poor and hardly got enough for themselves.. So in my situation can only depend on ourselves... =)

Felina> Loan is getting difficult as the economy is not good and the bank are afraid that we are not able to pay up. So bank will look carefully on who to loan the funds to lor..

Angel> Wah your reno is 37K only?? My gf did up her EM at 60k... really can faint ah I see your reno cost and her cost... Did you do the flooring??

gaku: if have to do means gotta do, bo bian lor. else shift in do already then decide to touch up, it will even bigger headache. Heartache now abit... no choice. like now, i sort of regretted not changing my common toilet big pipe.

Felina: the remaining 5% can also be paid by cpf right? Unless u dun have enough then the remaining gotta be cash.

When u do ur reno, do it within ur means. Somethings r gd to have, while some r essential. reno is just part of the expenditure. still got furniture and other accessories to buy, n that could easily cost the same amt as reno. So gotta plan wisely.

just graduated from poly!! so young...envy!

Felina: Now getting loan will be subjected to more stringent checks. eg if missed some credit card payment, you will have a record with the Credit Bureau and more difficult to secure a loan. If really no choice, then do the essential. Later got $$ then do the more luxurious stuff.

mrspiglet: Totally agree with you. That's why got to increase the budget. Toilet big pipe can change? Maybe you can box it up.

gaku: can chge, but gotta do it before tiling. Now i finish tiling already, too late. Cannot box up either cos its just next to the shower area, bound to get wet.

just gotta make do w it now.

Looks like all still here in this thread. No one goes to my temp forum. sob sob.

Anyway, I'm getting the keys to my 4-room flat next month. Going around to visit various ID firms to get ideas. Now that renotalk is down, can't do much research. Sian...

Rondy - nope, I bought that mirror from IKEA and asked Yeak to glue it there.

Mrspiglet - tks! Hope that we can find the stuff for the water feature soon. Any recommendations? So far, lots of places v x, or nt nice.

Canny - Harlow! I tink i agar-agar bah. But can't rem JE whh area liao. Izit st21? Yupz, I bought the oval shaped basin. It's from Poh Joo (Lavender branch). How's ur reno so far? Isn't it such an exciting period? :D

Christy - Hee.. It's $36k actually. But this excludes furnishing, electrical appliances, toilet stuff (WC/basin). The only floors I did were at the foyer, balcony, kitchen, MBR toilet and common toilet (overlay). The rest are marble, and I kept them.
Maybe ur gf did everything, or her $60k includes furnishing etc?

Felina - juz grad fr poly?! wah... young sia... *now I feel old......* :P

Angel> I think its reno for the whole house for her EM. What I think is causing her reno cost so high could be her parquet floors from the staircase to the all the 2nd floor of the rooms and hallway ba. She mention to me that she did plastering for her whole house. Lots of hacking cause the ex-owner are a old couple and their house is like those 30yrs back design... big big major project. I got a little freak out when she told me the cost of the reno...

harlow..jesper refused to post in this forum cos he thinks dis is a BRIDES' forum keke..so no choice i've to take over here...

anywae tml is Qing Ming and we havnt finish our reno yet cos there's stil a few loose ends outstanding...hopefulli everythin can b done by todae and i can post some pic of my completed hse soon ya...

angel, ur place is v nice..do post more pic ya

Very nicely done up lei,angel!!!
Your reno include the partition in the shower room ah?Too bad my bath room cannot do!

mrspiglet: Toilet pipe think got two sizes. One very big like 8" dia. and the other smaller, maybe 5". The bigger pipe has lots of turnings here and there.

When you say change do you mean redirecting it somewhere or change to smaller diameter. Actually I was thinking how to change. If someone upstair doing business, wonder what will happen to the contractor changing the pipes.

yoyo: i heard from Jason ur house shd have completed yday right? Aiyo, SGbrides doesnt mean only brides can come in mah... =/

gaku: my toilet pipe is one straight big pipe. i wanted to chge it to PVC pipe, not chge of position or anything. I think ponytail mention b4 that they have to inform all the neighbours upstairs n downstairs not to use the toilet. Anyway for my case was easy, top floor so i can just chge without informing. But too late liao.

Hi christy - wah.. 60k excluding furnishing, etc ah? That's alot! But from what u mentioned, I can imagine why that huge amt. Changing the staircase alone will cost lots liao!

Hi yoyo - thanks! I'll post more after I clear up all the ugly boxes. Hehehehe.. now still abit messy.
Aiyo.... jesper... hahaha.. maybe he can write to the moderators to change it to Singapore Brides & Grooms.

Hi rondy - yes, the shower screen is included in the quote. So how? Have u shifted in liao? Or still taking the place as a family chalet?

Gaku: My ID charge me 100 bucks per feet.....seems to be expensive hoh....any problem will go back to him since he gave 2 yrs warranty of workmanship.

i tot its something like the mirror u buy and get him install.this kinda partition i saw it in the toilet showroom before!it could be done this way one!
better still if its included in the quote!very nice!
Did u see my lighted curtain,does it looks weird?
too small to post it here,wait till RT resume then post there...
actually RT got some ID buy to advertise and we keep introducing our own ID,i donno if this is the cause for it to close up.haha...

Angel> Ya lor ex sia her reno. Oh changing or redo the staircase ex ah... no wonder... She totally change the railings of the staircase.. she got the railing from thailand and carry back every few trips. *Faint Sia*