Rendezvous Hotel Singapore

Hi polaris and jonny,

Have got the dates from my geomancy. Should be around late Feb. As what I wanted. Ha!! Think should be calling denny the next few days for a site visit.

So both of you got your bridal package liao?

odae , sorry for the late reply. Have been moving my things into my new place. Wah now one room is filled with my boxes... it's like a walk in store room like my hubby describe it. hahaha... My goodness I also don't know where to start unpacking from. And plus my gdl everything also not yet prepare... aiyo...odae where you print your cards ? can I have the number again I think u have emailed to me but I seem to have lost it sorry....

wow, Jonny, that's fast. (bridal studio)
my AD is on 22Dec.

Hi jonny,

Actually I'm also quite interested in Golden Horse Awards leh. So how's your package like? Can share share?

Hi Deremi,

My package is $4088.(abit expensive hor?)

Photo album make touch up in Taiwan(as told that they will sent there).Not the same as those normal design.They show us the magazine type album.

-32 photos (standard size)
-with makeup,car and all those standard package should hav.Can't remember the details....U can walk in and check with them.They also have the normal packages range from $2988 up to 5K.

Depend on yr budget and don't over spend on this.After a few month,all the photos would be in the storeroom :p Right?

Hi poloaris,

Will be going down over the weekend to have a look loh... Ha!! Hope everything goes fine and I can be settled on the banquet issue liao. After which will proceed to find Bridal Studio and photographers. All need money....

Hi jonny,
Wow! $4088... quite expensive for me leh. Probably is because of your number of photos and the way the photo album will be touched up. Probably I will not spend much on the photos loh. Like what you said, after a few months, the photos will be in the storeroom liao.... HA!!

Hi impulse41,

from what I know from my email with them, their 2006 pricing are not out yet. So if I wish to book for 2006, they will use the 2005 pricing. But these details will have to be confirmed when I meet them up over the weekend.

Regards.

Hi polaris,

You know when will their bridal show be?
Because they just held their show in Oct. So I think probably they won't hold it so soon loh.

hi deremi,

are u meeting danny this sat? he told me that he has an appointment before me..

i'm meeting him this sat also. any comments about the food? how is it? kind of worried if i serve lousy food. my parents will grumble at me for a very long time.

Hi Deremi,
i have met up Shirely who is another coordinator (though i didn't sign up with then) and she mentioned that in June, there might be a Hotel Rendez bridal show but subject to changes. Maybe u want to wait as more perks will be offer during the bridal show.

Hi impulse,

Yup. Will be meeting up with him this Sat loh. I'm also worried about the food loh. But am willing to take a gamble if the package is good loh. Budget constrait lah. Ha!!

Hi Jo,

Because my AD is in around Feb, so am afraid that when the bridal show comes, my date are unavailable liao....

Hi Deremi

think you still can afford to wait for the bridal show.
if not try to negotiate with Denny on the perks. he is quite easy going.

deremi you can do a tentative booking first. remember to leave them with your number than at least if there's someone else interested in the date, they will keep you posted.

just went to meet Denny today. Quite a friendly guy. Didn't negotiate a lot since before I try to negotiate, he has given me those things I want. Just one problem, the projector screen is at the back loh.... But in conclusion, value for money loh.

hi deremi,

went to hotel rendevous with husband to view actual day set-up. actually we more or less will be going with them. but plan to try the food at tang court before deciding. cos, very scare the food will not be nice.

we saw a 16 table set-up before. very nice. nothing is wrong. husband mention that the LCD projector has terrible colour. but i think it's a small thing...can get them to change the bulb.

i personally feel that 24 tables might be a little cramp. maybe something about 20-21 will be a comfortable fit. try not to maximise the capacity cas if the guest might feel very squeeze.

Hi impulse41,

I also went to see the 16 table set up on Sunday. Think the other couple is your husband and you lah. Ha!!

After viewing the 16 tables set up, we are really very very afraid that it will be very very cramp with my 23 tables + 1 spare. My partner keeps mentioning that the place will be very cramp loh. And according to Denny, the stage will be smaller and the rostrum will be on the floor with the smaller stage.

So now have second thoughts liao loh.

hi deremi,

u are right...heehee. i was there with husband but didn't see u...i was too preoccupied + rushing off to somewhere.

i think 23+1 will be quite cramp. for any ballroom, if the space is maximise, it's will be quite cramp. what is your no. of tables?

actually, husband and me felt that the march in is pretty small but since it's only a few min. i think we can live with it. just walk closely with one another.

the stage will be 2 pieces instead of the 3 pieces we saw that day.

Hi girls!

I thot this thread is warming up.. really hope to hear from you all soon..
so that we can share comments and ideas about this hotel....

Hihi, i'm thinking of booking HR..(have yet to drop by to take a look)
Haven't heard much on the food quality. any more people who has tried and tasted their food? any comments?

wow! That's great! at least I have someone to share comments and experience with..so when are you having your AD? Hw many tables are you having?
Sorry for imposing so many Qs..

my AD will be sometime in Nov. Haven't fixed yet. Tables will be around 20. I'm trying not to maximise the ballroom. how about u, li ching?

hahaha... me near the counter 8 plus a baby... there were 3 tables that day I think. Yeah quite okay but changed one dish... still pending whether to change the prawn dish... what about yours ?
are you sitted on my right ? Quite a few of you also right ?
Did they gave you the wrong prawn that day ? which menu did you take ? the teo chew or cantonese one ?

Bells,
i having the 8 dishes menu. how about u? that day i tasted
braised sharkfin with crab meat (cantonese)
Deep fried crispy whole chicken (teochew)
Steamed Seabass (cantonese)
pached live prawns with chinese wine (teochew)
braised garden vegeatbles with sliced abalone mushrooms (cantonese)
braised ee fu noodles with shrimps (cantanese)
sweetened yam paste with pumpkin (teochew)

how about u?

impulse your wedding in nov you go so early to test your food ? mine in first week march I only testing mid feb... hahaha... Looks like I m the dily daly bride... hahaha...

nope lah. i pay for the food tasting cas i heard from some friends that hotel rendevous cannot make it and my mum keep telling me that she wants nice food. cannot serve lousy food. my parents not really in favour of hotel cas they want good food.

hubby want hotel cas he doesn't want the wedding in a resturant. i'm like caught in the middle. "sian" so no choice. pay for my food tasting. i will have another one complimentary by the hotel.

i thought only 2 group of ppl doing their food tasting. i'm sitting right at the sofa side. with only hubby and mum. so 3 of us only. nope, they gave me the right prawns. maybe because there is so few of us. (3 only)

i mixed the menu around since i will have a chance to try again. must try different food so i know which one is better. my prawns is the teochew prawns. very nice. i like. but hubby prefer friend prawns. so haven't decide.

so yours is entrance come in the extreme left ?
there's two long tables. one's mine another group beside ours.
I thought the group besides us was quite a big group.. anyway..
Yeah I was dead worried of the food cause my dad keep nagging about hotel food... they wanted me to do at restaurant too.. but to me i still prefer hotel ambience loh...
the table next to mine actually changed the prawn cause it was wrong prawns served to them. Ours was deep fried... but I think they took the steam ones.

yes, u are right.
i only saw one long table. extreme left after entering the place. mine is near to the entrance. theirs is right at the end.

did your dad fine the food okie. how was the deep fried prawns. not nice. planning to try that for my next food tasting. but hubby mentioned that the prawns is quite small. after deep fried may not have much meat left. prawns quite small hor?

yes, u are right.
i only saw one long table. extreme left after entering the place. mine is near to the entrance. theirs is right at the end.

did your dad find the food okie? how was the deep fried prawns? not nice? planning to try that for my next food tasting. but hubby mentioned that the prawns is quite small. after deep fried may not have much meat left. prawns quite small hor?

actually on the contray they did something to the prawn.. hahaha.. they wrap it with some chestnut and some paste... honestly speaking I didn't like the fried prawn but my parents like it.. so I will consider leaving it as that. It's one prawn to each person but the fried prawn already have some goodies wrap around the prawn.. hence looks quite big but one to each person loh..I heard steam prawns at the actual day may not be fresh... so that's why I want to know whether it taste nice first...

I think you saw another group.. not mine... mine is near the counter entrance come in directly to the end...
with one prominent female kid about 2-3 years old near the payment counter...

So happy that both of you are back! impulse41 & Bells!

wow, impulse41..dun mind me asking, so how much u pay for the food tasting?
I thought of doing that too..so my parents won't grumble at me...
I'm having 16 tables, AD will be in Dec.

Hi Bells,
so what theme are u using for ur BIG DAY?

Li Ching... you know something.. your name is my chinese name.. hahaha.. just that your "i" is my "ee" hahaha.. what a coincidence.
Actually I havent choosen a theme and mine is next week.. hahahaa.. hmm... I till I m just too lax..

Would like to check on the food quality and service of the banquet at Hotel Rendezvous. I heard they will be stopping the services of their regular banquet caterer and hiring an in house banquet chef. Will that affect the quality of the food? Cause food quality is quite important to me.

Hi Bells,
so coincidence..kekeke..maybe we are having the same chinese name leh...:P
huh? u mean ur AD is on next wk and u hv yet to choose ur theme? wow..u very 'zhai' leh..

Hi Artemis,
wanna find out where u get this info that they are hiring their own hse chef? any idea when this will be effected?

hi Bells, Sorry didn't really notice your group. cas all along, thought only one other group is doing the food tasting.

Li Ching, i paid about $40++ per person. 16 tables is nice, not too many. the ballroom can't take that many tables also.

hi Artemis, what i understand from the hotel that in the event that they changed their regular banquet caterer and hired an in-house chef. we will have the choice to choose between the regular banquet caterer or the in house chef.