Rendezvous Hotel Singapore

wanderfool

Miss Heng,

U cannot please everyone. There are bound to be complaint for foods etc...it is not your fault
furthermore everyone expectations are different.
chin chai lah...dun be so fussy. enjoy your marriage life

Mascherano (wanderfool) ,

i tried to be chin chai and NOT FUSSY. i just post here to share with everybody what had happened and for those wedding coming soon to be extra careful with what might likely happened .

Learn from the mistake, Not to let the same mistake happened twice!

Banga, Have u tasted ur food tasting?

YQ, When is ur food tasting? Can tell me whats ur plan or any special thingy for ur wedding so that i can share which part u have to be very careful. U can drop ur email for me and i reply u.

banga

MissyHeng,

Food tasting not yet and haven even arranged wor. My banquet date is towards end of July. My coordinator just left Rendezvous and was told that Eileen would take over from him.

Normally how many mths before the AD pple would go for the food tasting? 2 mths ? 3 mths? From there, then uall discuss about the printing of invitation cards, right? Do they have any sort of checklist of when to prepare n such. Do they also provide emcee speech?

Their DVD players able to play mp3? or must we bring CD in wave file format? If we were to bring our own laptop for the photo montage, don't they have the audio cables to plug into the laptop's audio jet n play the music directly from the laptop and not from the CD player? In this way, I guess they wont mix up the march in and the montage song liao, right? Maybe to prevent the same thing that happened to you during march in, we can arrange to station our own coordinaotr (frd) in the the AV room during march in only.

supergal

Hi Banga,

If I'm not mistaken, your songs collection to be played on your AD must either all be in mp3 format or in CD format...but not to mix both in a single CD. That's the advise given to me by Sharon.

Also, for your photo montage, there will be an external audio cable to be plug into your laptop and the music/songs played will be amplified by the audio system that Rendezvous will be providing.

banga

Hi Supergal,

Thanks for your advise. So I think for me its better to convert them all to wave file. I've more wav files than mp3.

hi banga,

What i have done is burn the march in song into CD. 1 track one CD, to advoid mistake. But no use , still make mistake.

There is external audio jack for ur laptop. For ur info , They will ask ur photo or video montage co-ordinator to lower down the volume and then rendezvous staff will played the march in song . For my observation during one of the wedding which i went into the audio room to see how the march in , then the rendezvous staff nearly forget to change song... lucky....

so... need ur brothers to ensure all this dun crop up...

if still need help can mgs me... or post here

banga

Anybody here opted to use their inhouse inserts printing provider? Recommended? Do they only do gold/silver ink type of printing or they also let you choose hot staming (this option will cost more I guess).

As for the cards, are there diff designs to choose or there is only 1 default type?

hi banga,

If u have time , u can try to do it at JB because cheaper. I designed my own wedding card therefore i cant help u much. Hot stamping will cost more.

banga

Wah, you designed your own card. Is the shop u mentioned called T&T at City Sq? Saw others mentioned abt this shop. The cards provided by Rendezvous not nice and thats y u intend to design your own? Or u already have this plan in mind liao.

li7

saw this thread and got a bit worried. Am thinking of having our AD and banquet at Rendezvous March 09, now thinking I should probably look at other options.
We're having our engagement ceremony end of Nov 08 there. Have spoken to Eileen, so far she's been very prompt to reply emails and queries. Anything else I should know about?
Wouldn't mind to hear from BanGa(banga) and YQ (yanqiu) about their functions! pls help thanks

clarissa

Hi Lyana and Mascherano,
I will be having my AD there mid of next mth... haha, i oso hope everything will go smoothly.. will update u all abt it... =)

supergal

i just had my rom at rendezvous last friday..my frens commented that the food was quite nice! even though ours was a small affair, it gave my frens a cosy feeling and felt that it's a nice place to have private functions there

clarissa

Hi Mascherano, sorry for late reply.. quite busy lately... haha, nv check this thread... I used their invitation cards... the gold one and the ivory one... found them quite nice... which one did u select? I am finding the songs for march in now.. and angbao box is underway... seating arrangments almost done too... actually, i am not very sure wat else needs to be done.. just taking a step at a time.. kinda worried cos my jiemeis seem to b very busy.. dunno if they have time to prepare what they need for gatecrash... haha... worse, my colleagues commented that I look very "qiao cui" and not like a "rong guang huan fa" bride to be. sigh... how?

supergal... r u lirong? saw ur rom photos in my multiply... very nice! congratulations to u and happy preparing for ur AD next yr... r u gng to hold it at Rendezvous?

wanderfool

Hi Clarissa,

no problem..i have been busy with my house reno too thank god everythings are in place.
I'm using the gold wording with ivory insert & the print work is in progress.
It not difficult to find a song for march in
most probably i will stick to the original wedding tune for march in...

Ask yr Hb to share the burden and arrangement.
my WTB is busy with work so i will try to settle and handle if i can...some of the things i need to do before the AD.

1)Prepare neccesary stuffs for GDL etc cake,pim jin
2)GDL & pray to ancestor( distribute cards)-Date fixed
3)Ang Chuan(get my nephew to sleep on my bed)-date fixed
4)Prepare Ang Bao(get $2/10 note)
5)Food tasting (yet to arrange)
6)Searching for VG
7)Party(3 days before actual day)
8)Hire caterer for AD(buffet)
9)Order Wine
10)???

Started to get nervous & anxious when i think of all these things...

clarissa

haha, he is doing most of the work... while i m just helping with the simpler stuff n see to the small details.. oh ya, looking at ur list... i haven prepare angbao... n haven order wine too.. lol... u still have time..so, can relax a bit... while i shld be the 1 panicking... cos it is next weekend... haha.... u collected ur album?

wanderfool

wow haha congratulation...usually the guy will do more things..so not to worry. My AD is end of next month & will collect album by end of Nov.
did u take the max 24 table at rendezvous?

clarissa

hee, thanks... eh, we only took 19tables... n 1 reserve... dun have much friends n relatives... how abt u? my coordinator eileen says if dun max up to 24tables, the tables won't be block by the pillar... who is ur coordinator?

wanderfool

me too...more friends than relative. going for 20 tables + 1 reserve. Might ask for 2 reserve when date get nearer. My coordinator is sharon.
Think the pillar only block 1 table..shld be ok

clarissa

I just checked with Eileen, she says cannot have 2 reserve tables... sigh, i m having a headache over planning the seating arrangments.. dun feel like splitting my friends up... but not enough to form a table too... vexed...

supergal

hi clarissa, yup yup that's me! i've just added you on multiply

i won't be doing my AD at rendezvous cos me and hubby wanted a different feel in another hotel..also, we are looking at slightly over 25 tables..so rendezvous ballroom don't quite fit this criteria of ours!

your AD going to be soon rite?

wanderfool

hi Clarissa,

so sorry to hear that...maybe i will ask for 21table plus 1 reserve...but not too sure need to pay for if never use the reserve table

clarissa

Hi all, my AD was over yesterday.. Phew... I would like to say Hotel Rendezvous is quite nice. Altho the ballroom is small, but it is cosy... Certainly, for every wedding, there will be glitches here n there.. but luckily, I feel that the glitches are minimal...some are human error (our helpers and my hubby), and the only flaw that night was 1 vegetarian was not served her food. Luckily the banquet manager was very flexbile in allocating a portion of vegetarian food from another vegetarian table. The lighting and sound system worked well... overall, I would say this is a great experience for my hubby and myself... My guests commented that the food was gd too.. Oh yar, I am not a person who is very picky about everything, so this is just my personal opinion. All the best to you Mascherano!

wanderfool

Hi Clarissa, congrate on yr big day and glad u have a successful AD.
Will be going for my food tasting soon...hope everything will turn out well. Btw, did u get someone to help out the AV system or it was provided by the hotel.

Did you take up the max table of 24 & is the stage small. Would u mind to share any picture of the stage during yr wedding..
thank
u can drop me at [email protected]

clarissa

thanks a lot... i have some pictures in my multiply a/c. do u have 1? u can add me and see the AD photos. ID is clarissagoh. AV system... 1 of our friend was dng it.. bcos my hubby was afraid the hotel dunno when to play wat... and no, in the end we only had 20tables.. and we set up 1 more screen projector near the stage...

kv24

Hi, i am thinking of gettin HR for my AD in oct 09. seem there is mixed opinions abt this -place?? but still... is it more good fedback then bad (1/2 person suay experience w HR only??) i din not racky at all.. just get all the wedding packages(costs is the main consideration..we at first tot of restnt..but no bridal suite tied unless we get it separately with another nearby hotel at walk in rates??) i see from UOB that HR has promotion fair this coming 7 Dec and tot of just signing up with it so as to get extra nite stay at their premium hotel + 1 free table + $38 net discount per table. Although per table rate is still mcuh hihgher then restnt but if we can reduce the no. of table (HR mini table is 18 only) then we can "save" and reduce high loses on AP..more money left for bigger honeymoon..and reduce the inconvenience of have a separate bridal suite..

Can all help me to advise.. rstn VS hotel,which restn /hotel to recomm tat can save overall costs (interms of table??) yet still reasonable good svc,food,amphience and very nice bridal suite..

I am scared of regrets..

clarissa

Hi Kervin, i dun have the bridal suite photo... forgot to take... but i suggest u make an appt to go down n see the ballroom and the bridal suite... this step cannot skip 1... haha... cos apart from the cost, the ballroom, setting are all impt factors as well... for ballrm, try to go down on a day tt there is a wedding to see the setting... as for reviews, well, food is always a problem... bcos there will b some guests who have higher expectation of food. Most of my guests have no complaints... except for a few... well, we can't please everyone, can we?

kv24

Clarissa, We are going down to see the balroom today. This sun will be going to their fair and see if can get to see their room before signing up..at least can get extra nite stay and $38 discount per table if sign at the fair. Btw is the ceiling really very low in the ballroom?? my fortune teller who went there before told me tat poping champange is a disaster if do it in HR?? how abt you??

clarissa

Haha, really leh... we did have a hard time popping the champange tt time... dunno y oso... but well, ok lah... not a BIG issue... ceiling wise.. it is ok for me.. it is not tall but not too low for us.. maybe bcos we are short... haha... but this is very subjective... wat i feel is ok may not be ok for u... so best is to see for yourself if u r comfortable with it... =)

arieswolfy

hello all,

i am gg to sign up with HR tml for my banquet (Sep 09)

signing up on the wedding fair as they give quite a fair bit of perks..

went to see the ballroom set up, and we are happy with the setting.. din get the chance to see the bridal suite thou..

kv24

hi aries, i am at HR also at 7pm to meet w Denny.So are you there to see the site too at ard 7.30pm?? Seem there is some confusion with the date that i wanted to booked..it has recently been "tentatively" booked by another bride in Oct 09. I not sure how to settle this but i will be going over to the Fair too tomorrow. IF you see this msg..maybe you can give me a sms at 91280624 and we can exchange "pointers" hee...

kv24

Clarissa..the ceiling is ok for us too.. not tat Very tall tall type (Those normally in the Grand ballroom only) but since HR ballroom is only catering to max 24 table so i also din expect it to be too grand..anyway i wan a less formal wedding.. that place is good enuff.. just hope tomoorrow i can get the date I wanted as i do not wan to change the date if it is unavailable... (bless miiii)

kv24

btw..the stage seem small n shakey.. how many ppl can it accomdate actually... Denny steped onto it and the champage glasses keep "tingling" ard.. scarely man.haha

clarissa

Yar, the stage is not v big... but usually only immediate family members n the couple go on it... if ur family members nt a lot.. can add on ur xiongdis and jiemeis... for my day, we manage to squeeze ard 18 ppl up the stage... lol...

clarissa

If ur date has been tentatively booked by another couple.. u can only juz pray hard tt they dun wan... cos if they do, priority will b given to them... gd luck and may u get ur preferred date! =)

arieswolfy

hi kervin, sorry just saw ur post now.. i went to sign the pkg just now. did u?

yar, clarissa is rite. if the date u wan is tentatively booked, u can only get the date, if the couple let go.

which date are u considering?

kv24

Clarissa, Aries, YES i have got the date..the couple got tentatively booked the date that we wanted but they din go to the fair today..so Denny Aw/sharon call them and the bride ok to let go the date for us.. so we confirmed our bookin also le..

Stage wise..see how ba..as long as the champage glasses are not on their tiers.. then wont be so dangerous lookin le ba.. pass them the glasses first b4 they move up the stage..

Aries.. which couple are you?? when is your AD?? mine is oct 24.. we got won the 3rd price in the Lucky draw..how abt u??

wanderfool

Hi Clarissa,

thank u very much for sharing your wedding photo.
Your husband must be a happy man..
btw, how many table u had for the AD..probably i will g o for max 24 that mean have to contend with a smaller stage..