Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
Hi karen,

Oh, so his price is $100 more than 2007. Well seriously speaking all those threads in the forum are all the high-end ones. Super pricey. But at the ned of the day, every individual has their own priority. Some think its worth it to pay sky-highg price for th PG they like, whereas some think its ridiculous. So make a decison based on whether u think its value-for-money a not!

Dear JoJo,

U r rite. I understand what u mean. After viewing Nelson's website, he is actually pretty good & worthwhile for tat kind of charges. Can i check with u have u met him up so far? How is his personality? Jovial & friendly type? Cos I have a fren whose AD photographer doesnt talk alot & dnt knw how to mingle with the guests. I tink it is impt tat a photographer must be friendly so that the guests feel closer to him. The pics taken wld therefore be nicer & more natural...

Anyway, Jo, thanks for referring me to Nelson. At least I have another choice now... Lucky got you...

Hi Karen,

Hehe.. No worries, tts wat froum is all about. Sharing and contribute views.

Erm, I met up with him once only. So cannot determine how's his personality like. But hv to agree wif u that the rapport muz be there. I also personally like yushin from tinydots. I think his works is quite gd also. But prices start fm $2500. So didn't engage him.

But do arrange n mt up wif him at view more of his portfolio. Cos on d internet, they always oni put the nicest pics.

Jules
from what I understand, Regent will not allow any duty-free liquor to be served.. something about government/laws/etc etc. Joanne was quite strict about this when I spoke to her.

Hey Karen,
Actually I'm not using Hilarion. I'm using Triston. He's the other photographer. It was quite a coincidence, I made an appointment to go down without knowing who was who and Triston was available and we liked him, so that was it. I think I saw Hilarion going out of the studio.
Why we decided to spend a bit more on our photographer is because we didn't do the pre wedding shots. Tri-Angles was the first and last photographer we saw. Hee... We had a list of who to see, but eventually dropped them all after Tri-Angles. That was also because we had the pricelists of a number of the other photographers, and Tri-Angles seemed very reasonable.

Hi lex,
I know, I was just wondering. So sad... Duty paid liquor is so expensive! Heee... And its just a few bottles, so I was wondering if they close an eye or not. Cos I think some other hotels do...

Yo Jules...Ah I see...Tri-angles is also the 1st photographer we see. O. U didnt do pre-wedding shots? How come? Mayb when u find yr BS, u might have to do Pre-Wedding Shots? Unless u specifically dnt want to have pre-wedding shots lah.. Ai ya, so good hor, u taking tri-angles..my mind still struggling...half hearted.. D*mn...

Jules
what they suggest is transfer your duty free into duty paid bottles

Heya Karen, actually now that you've mentioned, Tri Angles wasn't the first one I saw. I saw another before that, didn't think much of their work, so kind of forgot. Haha... But they're very very reasonably priced. They have a good videographer, which is why I went. You should check them out. And no, we don't have intention to do pre wedding shots. Its not a priority. Tri-Angles is giving us a coffee table book of all our events nicely laid out, I think that should be enough. Can save then save lor!

Hey Lex, what do you mean transfer duty free into duty paid? As in take used bottles of duty paid bottles (go rumage in the bins of MOS, St James) and fill it up with duty free liquor??

jules, i think that is exactly what lex meant.

did see some pple selling empty duty paid bottle before.

the other time tried asking our co-ordinator what if we just tear out the DFS logo for the alcohol, she said no........must pay duty....

Jules,
To be on the safe side, best to check about the duty free with your co-ordinator .. mine said it was ok though to xfer:D

Yes, and that is kinda what I meant but I didn't really mean go through people's trash LOL! If you have friends who club frequently or know any friends who own pubs, you can ask them to keep the empty bottles for you. After all, you're not like looking for a lot of them right?

the problem with duty-free alcohol is that the bottle size is different, removing the sticker doesn't work because duty free hard liquor is always 1 litre while duty paid is always 750ml only. One look and the bottle size is all wrong.

Morning, I went to Regent yesterday to view the actual set up (elements of emotion). I found that the candles are a little limited, it looks quite plain. The room light wasnt dimmed, maybe it din bring out the effect..At least we have the rough guide of the space between tables. 35 tables can fit with lots of space in between, Will take a look at another theme (La Dolce Vita) either today or this saturday.Have any of you know which theme you choose?

How about wine? Where are you getting them?

I went to checkout La Dolce Vita the last time. Saw the candle theme once in the lobby when I was going for dinner. It looked nice on the outside, dunno about inside. I haven't chosen any theme yet, my wedding still long way more to go!

Dunno where I'm getting my wine but I'm getting both red and white. Probably about 150 bottles each. Hopefully it'll be enough

*nod nod* i was told the same thing as what Lex mentioned, about 1.5 bottles for every 2 tables? And I dun think I will get white wine as many as red wine. Jules, how many tables are you having?

Hmmm... then maybe i am over planning? Think I listened to the wrong person. My mom who's an alcoholic told me to set aside 4 bottles per table. 2 red 2 white. I think she reckons all the guests are like her.
So its 2 bottles per table or for every 2 tables?
I'm having 70 tables, hee hee... No, I don't know 700 people. I think his family intend to stand at the void deck and distribute invitation cards like flyers...
So people tend to drink more red than white? Hmmm... I didn't know all these. I always thought it's the same amount. oh dea oh dear. I think to rethink the amounts again.

jules, most wine distributors say set aside 2 bottles of wine per table should suffice. Cos some tables may have children who will not take wine.

Further more, regent is providing free flow beer, you may take into consideration that, some guest may turn to beer.

luvz17, I've mailed you abt the list of things. I hope i am not shortchanged!

Hi gals, anyone has any idea what is the "itinery" of the wedding dinner at regent? I am trying to so call "plan" the events/itinery.. but have no idea wat is gg to take place given the fact we will have a 45 min jazz ensemble..so i guess after the jazz ensemble will be the 1st march in?? Anyone has any idea?? Please help... Thanks

karen, i've emailed the jazz ensemble and the timing they gave me was 830pm to 915pm.

Initially I thought the timing was flexible.

Dear Noxy

Thanks so much for helping out. We are having our solemnization during the wedding dinner, so we need to plan the events. Tis is giving me headache. Initially we dnt wanna have the solemnization at the dinner itself but then if we book another venue we have to incur more $$

So we decided to have the solemnization at the dinner itself. Meaning I guess, dinner MUST start punctually at 8pm, first march in, solemnization till 8:30 pm then jazz ensemble comes in... 9:15pm maybe can start asking my frens to go up stage and sing...wah..I tink shd be like that la hor...

I tell you hor, I am starting to have headaches and nightmares liao...thinking and thinking abt the planning of the wedding... can die man..

karen, i'm having solemnization at the dinner itself too. But frankly, starting at 8 is abit too late.

I went for a frn's dinner with solemnization before the dinner. She indicated on the card there will be solemnization and all guest turned up promptly by 730.

Starting by 8 will be abit too late, all the hungry guest may become grouchy.

Did you discuss with your co-ordinator? Sometimes they will plan for you.

You need to list down exactly what you have

example:

(1) Solemnization
(2) Band
(3) Frns to sing
(4) Photo Montage
(5) Video Montage
(6) First cake cutting
(7) champagne popping, thank you speech
(8) Dance if any

You need to list it down, then think carefully how the flow should be like. Stay calm and relax.

I'm pretty sure your co-ordinator will be able to help, since alot of dinners are pretty much the same.

Dear Noxy
Thanks a zillion really. U r so kind. My AD is in Nov so my co-ordinator has nt been in touch with me yet. Mayb it's 2 early or mayb I'm just 2 kiasu. Can I just check with u, u have dance? as in 1st dance? I dnt engage band but I wld love to have a dance with my FH. No idea if it wld b odd or not. & that means, I have to put in the invitation cards that solemnization starts at 7:30 so as to "force" all the guest to be punctual and early lah... cool..

I dont knw if it's too early to contact the co-ordinator now to check and ask or not...

Btw, anyone engaged any videographer yet? I am looking for one now but I dnt want to spend too much on one. My budget is not more then 1k. Any one has any recommendation? Good and cheap de..haha

Karen,

I haben tot abt the dance part yet. hehehe sitting on it still (my ad in jan 09) if u want a band u can engage the one that regent has. lemme noe if u want the contact, i got it off my co-ordinator.

Well, when you send the invitation card out, you can inform them personally and emphasize punctuality. My frn closed the door once the solemnization started. When you RSVP, you can then remind them again. For relatives portion, remind your parents to remind the relatives :P

This is what you can do Karen, just email your co-ordinator and ask. No harm asking now, just tell them nicely, you are trying to sort things out and need their expertise

Be cool, you need to be a pretty bride minus the wrinkles! *breathe in breathe out*

Hi Noxy

U can give me the contact for the band lor. It's the 2 piece band rite? need to check with them how much. Yr AD is Jan 09 huh, at least u got more time then me. Haha. I kan cheong spider..

I tink I will email my co ordinator lor. Thanks thanks... I will breathe in and breathe out as much as I can...

Hi Karen

My AD is in Nov too. My coordinator says she'll only contact us 2 months before the AD.. but we want our invitations earlier so we will meet her earlier too.

HI Ballerina, I tink I shd contact my co-ordinator earlier la..given the fact I have so much questions in mind... sigh

Yrs is Nov which date? Mine is 21st.

Karen,
I'll be doing the solemnization plus dinner together too
I'll be asking Joanne if I can have the band at reception instead as I am looking into getting a wedding band.

jules,
BTW are you sure about the 70 tables? Because I remember Regent's max capacity is only 50-52 at best... Did you check with your coordinator before you confirmed with her? o.O (oh wait - i forgot yours is spread out over 3 days! hehe)

BTW 4 bottles a table is really -a lot- LoL... Yah like mentioned, beer is included and I've noticed that quite a fair bit of folks drink beer too.

I'm opting out of offering white wine I think - because I find it difficult to expect the hotel to chill so many bottles of wine.. but I think it about it again

Heheh I feel like I'm slacking since my AD is 12 Oct and everyone in Nov seems more gan cheong than me!

HI Lex, do share with me yr package for wedding band if possible ok? Cos I am considering all sorts of things...damn...too much on my mind.. u gals think wil it be funny to have "1st dance" if there is no wedding band and/or no dance floor? That means just play the song from a disc and couple dance their so-called 1st dance..

Hi Karen,
Have PM-ed you.

hmmm i don't really think there is anything wrong with dancing to a CD.. I mean as long as you feel it's all right...

Hey Pinky, I am also doing solemnization cum lunch!! Its at The Bar, buffet style. Think it was 78 per head. Min 50pax, max 80pax. Although Joanne advised that it would be squeezy for 80pax.

Hey lex, we can't go for the show anymore right? Since we've already signed up...

I like to enquire if anyone has seen the Tanglin rooms. I'm having problems finding a hotel to fit 20 - 25 tables and thought to reduce to max 20 tables if I'm unable to find a suitable hotel.

My concern is, if I don't remember, Tanglin room is longish and somehow it won't be nice to hold dinner right?

i am not sure how many tables it can fit. but, yes, it is longish area. think the stage u can put either at the end or centre.

Yah, luvz is correct, its longish. Aisle might be a bit tight for 2 to walk down together if your gown is a bit big. You can always pop down to check out the rooms!

hi i'm a new BTB... just starting my preparations... quite keen on regent hotel as my boyfriend's colleague had his wedding there and food was good and everything was generally pretty smooth... any one has any co-ordinator to recommend?? thanks in advance!

Hi, Im new to this thread. Im quited interested in getting Regent as my venue for my wedding next yr. Can anyone advise whether is Regent generous with their perks?
Anyone have their solemnization on their AD just b4 their dinner? I need some advise on whether Regent can provide a place for solemnization b4 the dinner.

anyone knows which florist does regent use?
I tried asking my coordinator if i can change the colour og flower. She din give me a straight yes or no, bt just tell me vendor choose this colour because the rest wun turn out nice.
does that mean i am forced to follow that colour theme??

Hi luvz17,

I don't think you are forced to follow a certain colour scheme. I remember someone earlier in the thread mentioned that she changed the flowers in the L'Amour theme from pink to red, and had red ribbons too, though the ribbons were subject to an additional charge.

I've also asked my coordinator (Michaela -- she's been lovely so far!) if I can change the colour of some of my tablecloths so I get alternating table colours, and she's helping to check if there're sufficient table cloths of the colour I want. In general, they seem quite accommodating.

Regent's florist for all the themes except Dreamz is Laura from Gnomes Theme Designers. I'm actually meeting her to discuss mixing and matching different aspects of different themes. Perhaps your co-ordinator is just a bit worried to commit to what can be done as he/she isn't personally responsible for the themes. Cos when I first told Michaela what decor I wanted, she was concerned that the hotel wouldn't be able to deliver too, and didn't let me sign until we'd talked to Laura and Laura said it was fine.

Thanks rcyk!

How long before ur wedding did u start discussing w Michaela abt ur decor? I wanted to decide theme soon so that i can match the colour theme to the rest of the arrangement. But it seems that regent will only start to do it 3 mths in advance. I am afraid it will be too rush

Hi Luvz17,

No problem. I'm really concerned abt decor too
I mentioned my theme to Laura before I signed the contract last year, but only started discussing details w Michaela two weeks ago, and my wedding's in July. So tt's about 3-4mths in advance. I'm finding it a bit tight cos I'm gonna be out of the country for a month or so, but otherwise it should be ok.

Maybe if you let them know that you want to do additional decor, you could talk to them a little more in advance? I'm getting my florist from church to bring the flowers from the church ceremony in the morning to the ballroom at night, and my friends to help put up some additional stuff too. I told Michaela that I needed to co-ordinate the themes for both ceremonies and the additional decor, so I needed to start discussing a bit earlier and she understood.

Hi Jules...

Sorry for the late reply...

I have gone down to Regent to meet Joanne (the manager), she is a very nice lady...me and my FH fall in love will almost all the theme, the L'Amour is the new theme of this year, with dark pink and black, very unique...their theme very very very nice....

I will be having solemnisation cum wedding lunch (7-course sit down lunch)....

i see..
rcyk, what regent theme do u choose?
yeah, better inform my coordinator that i want to discuss with the florist earlier. SO, they will give u the contact and you have to contact them on ur own , or the other way round?
similar to ur idea, i am thinking to decor a little of the bridal suite as I will be having my tea ceremony there..and then using some he flower to the ballroom at nite, for reception area.

Hi Pinky! Is Joanne the manager? I thought she was just the coordinator. Its Joanne HuiHui right? I like the theme with candles and the other one with scents. Can't really remember the name. Think I'll have them both! Hah! The only benefit of having 2 dinners.

hi will be heading down to the wedding fair on 20 April... will try my luck and see which co-ordinator i get since it seems all the coordinators are pretty good... is Regent generally pretty cool with perks??

Hi Luvz17,

Actually, I'm a bit undecided abt theme (but I need to tell Laura and Michaela tmr when I meet them!). I wanted L'amour, but strong objection fr parents. Tried to compromise by having alt gold n black tables, but friends n sis think it's still too un-weddinglike. So now I'm thinking a mix of Elements of Emotion and Summer Jazz, and doing a lot of diy. What abt u?

I asked for the florist's contact, but Michaela also helped arrange a meeting with the florist and herself. Think that's quite useful as the hotel has some restrictions. Recycling decor is defn a good way to save $$

Hi Happiest Bride,
Happy hotel hunting! Regent is ok with perks. I compared the published perks for 10 other 5* hotels. For those Regent fell short, I asked them to top up to the level of other hotels, and they were generally quite willing.