Regent Singapore

thanks rcyk... can send me the list of perks as well? [email protected]... thanks!!

luvz17

rcyk, we are thinking of elements of emotion + summer jazz / la dolce. almost similar to u...i may end up going to ur dinner to see the actual set up. =) coz i have been going there to see the actual set up. I need to confirm colour theme coz i am preparing my bridesmaid dress colour. l'amour is definitely no-no...

ceo38

Hi there, anyone there can give me opinions? I am also trying to prepare my bridesmaid dress colour inorder to blend into the L'Amour theme leh... anyone can tell me their opinions on wat colour will go nice with fusia pink & black??

ceo38

Hi luvz17, u mean pastel purple or pastel pink to go and blend in with the fusia pink n black isit? Nice... Thanks ;)

Any other suggestions? Wld like to have more idea... Thanks gals

xaverielee75

Hi Jules...

Yes...it Joanna HuiHui...I have her name card, if I not wrong, it printd as Manager, but the card is not wif me now, got to check with my FH....

I like the theme, which have a big flower ball hanging on at the middle of the ceiling...I cannot remember what is the name of that theme...

So u mean that we can mix & match the theme???

luvz17

karen, yes that's what i mean. personally, i don't think should get the same fuschia..coz it blend too well with the theme, nt nice to have bridesmaid dresses to be the same as the table cloth..lighter colour will be a better option, even colours like green apple/ ivory...that is my personal view, dun get offended =)

firedove

Hi Luvz17,
Think I've finally settled on my theme after discussing w Laura and Michaela for almost 2hrs! Chose L'amour in the end cos apparently you can do a cream tablecloth version. And even if u choose black, they place pink table toppers on top of the table cloths. So in the end, the black of the table is limited to the floor ends, and actually u see mostly pink. If budget permits, I'll also add pink ribbons to the chairs, and the gazebo fr La Dolce Vita for the aisle. U can defn come look at our setup if u want! Hopefully it turns out well.

Hi Karen,
I agree with Luvz17 -- with the L'amour theme, I'm probably getting my bridesmaids to wear cream-based dresses with a dash of olive green (eg. ribbons or sashes).

Hi Happiest Bride,
You're welcome! Hope you enjoy the wedding show!

Hi Pinky X,
You can mix and match aspects of themes to some extent. Discussed with Laura the possibility of making the Chinois theme less Chinese by taking away all the lanterns n the floral arch, and replacing with the aisle "trees" from Elements of Emotion. She said that'd be ok. For mine, I wanted a forest effect, so she proposed adding the gazebo fr La Dolce Vita to L'amour (subject to extra $$) instead of the current aisle design, and hanging vines and flowers down from the drapings.

In the end, you have to talk to Laura to see what is possible. She's quite concerned that we don't anyhow mix the themes and the colours till it looks like rojak too.

xaverielee75

Hi rcyk...

Ya, i hv called up Joanna...we can mix & match, but got to discuss wif Laura, coz if we anyhw mix, the result might not be gd....

I noe the theme that i wan liao....LA DOLCE VITA...I will hve rose petals spread on the table, and it cost additional $2 per table...

lexilicious

Hi rcyk
thanks for that! I really wanted the L'amour theme but the black was a big no no! Now you've solved the issue for me.. heheh I might take pink and gold instead though... but now it's such a huge relief...

firedove

Hi lex,
Haha, no problem! I had a huge issue with l'amour too cos my mum was quite against the black. Still not sure whether I'll go w the cream though, cos I think the effect might be a lot sweeter but less impactful compared to the black.

Princess, you can refer to cloudz's posts earlier on. She had links to her blog with photos of the bridal suite.

luvz17

Hi rcyk,
my coordinator asked me to contact Laura directly for the theme coordination. She din mention that she will arrange/ be around when we are discussing this.
That is gd news for you and I can consider that too..hahha...definitely must go down n see ur actual set up...maybe u will see many forum couples crowd around regent on that day...hahaha..

anyone getting more that 2 rooms (for special price) as mentioned in the contract? I rem I told my coordinator I need at least 5 rooms, I realised contract still write 2 rooms.

me_jules

Hi Luvz17, I asked Joanne for room rates and she quoted me some rates which she said will be extended to all guests. But the rates aren't that fantastic anyway. Its about 300plus. And I did tell her that I was expecting about 20 rooms.

ceo38

Hi Luvz17, wah... 300plus per nite per room..tat's kinda steep wor... considering the fact that we are holding our banquet there, they cnt give us any cheaper rates meh?

luvz17

how come the same price as public?

Jules, did Joanne say she can extent special rate to all of your 20 rms? Really cannot work out any discount even though you have so many??

I asked fm the reservation personnel,quoting exact date needed and she replied me as follows:
Deluxe
S$285.00 ++ (single occupancy)
S$315.00 ++ (double occupancy)

xaverielee75

Hi Hi....

I am now the official BTB at The Regent!
Paid my deposit yesterday....

I oso ask for 2 rooms, but the rate for 2009 will not be out, Joanne will update me again, but hor u got soooooo many room, how come still the same rate as public ley?

me_jules

hey, did any of u receive an email from Joanne giving you the banquets theme schedule?

And yah lor, when I received the email with the rates, a bit disappointing leh. Summo the package mentioned special rates will be extended, valid for 2 rooms only. Thought how special...

me_jules

yah lor, so disappointing... Hmmm, I think I shall tell her that the rate she is offering me is the same rate as what a cold call to the reservations office can get. Bleh

luvz17

i have sent another email to the reservation grp, asking them how much special price can i get since my wedding will be there.. i replied using the same email that she stated the price, so, she cnt possibly give me $300+ rate anymore..hahaha...now she is verifying with the wedding team if i will be holding my wedding there. i got to know this coz she accidentally sent the email to me, instead of the wedding coordinator...

xaverielee75

Hi luvz17

Oh...u mean the reservation grp send to u, instead of Joanne? hehehe....so careless...

BTW, can let us know the rate once u gt the reply from them...thanks!

luvz17

Hi Pinky,

Yes, the price was given to me by reservation grp. But Jules asked the same qns to her coordinator and the price is the same as wht quoted to me by the reservation grp. That's why we are questioning the special rate that they mentioned.

me_jules

do we hv to pay rental for use of the AV equipment?

hah, luvz17, u bery good neh... Think we shud remind Joanne that there is something called forum...

me_jules

But its like their ROM at the Bar as well. When you sign up for the wedding banquet, it says a special rate for ROM. I don't think we got a very special rate leh. Its like their regular rate.

And no, I didn't know that they have a workshop today. Anyway sign up for banquet oredi, no need to attend workshop anymore bah

luvz17

actually i feel bad doing it...
abit unethical..but then kinda left with no choice coz my coordinator seems to be busy with something else. or maybe i am too early..
because of forum discussion, we have a small 'discussion' over the package..this one only noxy knows...hahaha.. better dun discuss here. in any case, noxy got what she wanted.

btw, noxy, long time no hear. where are u?

me_jules

heh heh, but if not I guess this sort of takes away the usefulness of the forum right? Anyway, then I think if they want to avoid such issues, they should be upfront with everything.

noxy

luvz luvz, me here me here, was rotting away in my BS thread :p

I totally didn't to anything else to my banquet prep. Just waiting for the time to pass and i finally got my Pre-wedding PS booked, AD PG, AD VG booked! Finally got my measurements taken, waiting for my BS to make magic with my gown muahahaha

Hi to all fellow regent btb!!!!!

luvz, how's ur prep n everything? lemme see, u guys checking out on the special rates thingie?

The only understanding i haf with the rates, is that they can only confirm the price very very close to the banquet. I guess, they still sorta gif priority to real hotel guests.

luvz17

hi noxy... *wave wave*

i din really do much for wedding preparation. been busy sourcing for house reno, estimated to get our keys in end may or early jun. so hope to be able to confirm reno id before we got the keys..so that we can move in asap, before 7th lunar mth..

u got to see the EG design already? how is it?? when is your PS?

yeah, we are checking the special rates coz we need them for our guests...it doesn't make sense if they give priority to real htl guests. it will make our guests stranded somewhere..thn what is the point of special rate there..sigh..no reply from them till now..

regent btb, will you all be choosing the video montage or card printing? anyone has any idea how much card printing cost in average?

noxy

luvzzzzzzzz *huggies*

we are looking into reno too! bd said wanna do up current hse and live in. another big headache. bleah

I saw the design in drawing, but cna't conceptualize, think gown should have the basic done up in one month's time. PS ah, to be confirmed after my gowns are completed. my PS PG wanna see the gown then conceptualize wad shoot to do.

one thing i 'think' abt regent is that they are a business hotel. I guess they have some ways of managing the rooms which results in alot of ping pong for the rates and availability of the rooms. anyway, it's just a speculation. I believe they will provide more details closer to the date. so dun worry k? just need to push them to say u need to confirm cos of ur guests flying in.

I will be choosing card printing. video montage alot of pple can do at affordable prices

over_the_moon

Hi hi...
Can i just ask what is a nice theme in The Regent?

My mum objected to L'amour so in the end i had to choose La Dolce Vita...
But it seems that lot of pple changed to Elements of Emotion..

I'm lost

anyone can advice me?

me_jules

I've already chosen the printing of cards. Then I don't have to think about it. I thought all these montages come with the videographer? Anyway, I replied to Joanne saying her room rates are very unspecial. Heh heh, she hasn't replied me yet.

faithz17

haha not much time to reply during office hours but try to squeeze in here and there when at home lor... ;)

between card printing and video montage, personally i will choose cards also... cos the video montage is like bride and groom give 15pics then they montage to show story... not like they come and film you or something... like that i might as well use powerpoint create my own slide show, which is FOC... whereas alternative for card printing elsewhere must still pay more money...

jules, you might want to consider calling reservations like wat luv17 did and tell them about ur 20 nights... for so many rooms you might be able to get a better rate... i heard regent's wedding guests room rates not that much of a discount one, like not 50% off kinda thing... though they usually come with breakfast...

personally i also like la dolce vita cos it looks very rich and ornate... but elements is unique cos it's candles and not many hotels have candles... usually decor is just flowers and more flowers... really up to your personal preference...

noxy

over the moon, just choose a theme u like can already. all the themes are nice. just find one u like can already, u seem stressed over this.

over_the_moon

noxy.. I think all their themes are nice..
But it seems tat alot of pple are changing their theme from La Dolce Vita to other themes so it kinda get me worried..
Thought something happened to La Dolce Vita.. that's y pple opted out eventually..

Thanks for the assurance

noxy

over the moon, your welcomed. we are all individuals, with different tastes, different characters. we are all unique. choose one u like, ur hubby like and voila! a happy wedding dinner! Don't stress yourself up over this. If all regent's brides start setting up their own theme, then u have something to worry about. they seem to be changing bcos, theres simply too many choices (which is a good thing of cos!)

pekkle

Any idea are we allowed to throw confetti or flowers during march-in??? Bcos I run thru the contract and didnt read anything that mention about that.. But hv read from this thread b4 that its not allowed. Can anyone here confirm??