Regent Singapore

noxy

Hi poseidon,

Regent's ballroom is not pillarless. 2 skinny pillars. Not as huge as that in hyatt and hilton

cloudz7

yeps depending on how many tables u have, they'd put at an angle whereby it wun be a problem Poseidon..

Here're finally the actual days photos extrations links from 969 photos...very pek chek uploading so many...

http://cloudz7. multiply. com/photos/ album/49/ Wedding_day_ 27th_Oct_ photos

http://cloudz7. multiply. com/photos/ album/50/ Wedding_Banquet_ 1st_Nov_2007

ceo38

Hi Cloudz/Jo, thanks for sharing your actual day photos.. very well taken indeed. Which photographer u engaged? U look gorgeous.

ceo38

Hi Popeye Gal, y dnt u email to Regent directly for their wedding package? U can find their email address in Singapore Brides.com under venue for wedding banquets. It will be more accurate if u get the wedding package from them. As for the food and service, I wld think that it's pretty good.

lavenderbear

Hi all, Regent hotel is having a wedding workshop as below:

“What’s Mine is Mine, What’s Yours is Mine!†Discover the subject of managing your finances as a couplefrom our Guest Speaker. Allow us to unveil L’Amour ? the latest Miracles Wedding Theme Enjoy Evening Cocktail and discuss your weddingwith the Regent Wedding Planners

Sunday, 13 January 20084.30 p.m.The Regent Singapore, Level III 1 CUSCADEN ROAD, SINGAPORE 249715 “Yes! I’m coming for the Miracles Wedding Workshopâ€

"Let us be your Wedding Planner ! "Joanne LeeEvents Sales ExecutiveThe Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel1 Cuscaden RoadSingapore 249715voice: 65-6725-3137fax: 65-6720-6745e-mail: mailto: [email protected]

Invitation with compliments with prior reservation on afirst-come-first-serve basisLimited to 30 couples only. Closing date of registration is 11 January2008.

ceo38

Wah Joanna, u so lucky hor. Always get featured. Featured on Singapore Brides website in Oct and now in Style Weddings Singapore. So envy. Must b becos u & yr hubby r pretty & handsome & yr photos very well taken. Can I just pry? How they got the proposal story? Did they call u for interview to get the story? Or wat? Did u submit yr photos to style wedding & singapore brides & they chose you? Or they just chose u without u submitting? If u never submit, how did they get the photos? Sorry. I am kaypo. I wanna know cos I wanna be selected to be featured too. Wahahaha

cloudz7

yups emailed them. guess Styleweddings state their details on wat to include in there, so bo pian, have to follow their instructions...

anyway i didn't said "Yes of course" haha...i mumbled a yes...and Mr Cloudz barely heard me :p

ceo38

Dear Joanna, u r such a lucky gal...Yr hubby is so romantic hor... I have a fren whose wedding date is drawing near (Jan 2008) n yesterday, all the Jie Meis & Brothers have to gather ard for a meeting, to delegate roles & duties & discuss etc. It seems that it aint easy to "organise" a wedding & put things together into pieces hor.. I see and hear liao, I nearly fainted man. Wonder if by the time it's my turn hor, i really dnt know if I know how to organise and plan or not...
sigh... Guess have to take things as it comes ba...

cloudz7

heh i tot he's sly...since i planned the venue and all.

Yeps...actually i quite last min emailed my side on wat to do, we never even met up! Luckily everything went smoothly.

Like the common but impt advice, plan properly including details. But come the Big day, just relax and let others run the show. Most impt is be happy and enjoy your day coz it will FLY past very fast!

Internet connection down, hence late reply. @ internet cafe now..sigh

ceo38

No la. He aint sly la. Or at least he bothered to be "Sly" lor. Some guys dnt bother de u know. ;) Ya. The planning is tedious and long and when the day comes, it will fly past as fast as you winked yr eyes. Hehe. Therefore must treasure and cherish every moment of it. O dear. Yr internet connection down..goodness. Very handicapped with no internet rite. Well, at least u got coffee to drink when u are at internet cafe. Keke

luvz17

I am new to this thread. Have confirmed my booking w Regent and will be going down to pay deposit on Wed.

My coordinator said the deposit is $5k, anyone manage to discuss for lower deposit?

I am not sure what I should look out for the contract. Please advice...

janetlok

Hey all,

I am new here and considering the wedding package at Regent. Please advise if there is any good coordinator to recommend and any perks they are willing to throw in?

tunis

My guests complimented Regent for its good food, good wine and good door gifts. A pity they cleared everything before I could even get one for myself.

angelka

Hi, I'm new to this thread and considering Regent beside Grand Corpthorne Waterfront. Can someone share with me views of both ?

Can someone share pics and comments of the dinner food if any ? Any pics of the bridal suite to share as well and do they decorate it up ?

I read about them providing musicians. Can advise if regardless whether you take the Royal ballroom, Tanglin or Nassim room, do they provide the musicians free ? Also, what type of songs do they play and do they play throughout the banquet or only at the cocktail ?

ceo38

Hi Angelmara, I cnt share any pics as I do nt have any nw. As for the dinner food, I heard it's good. Regarding provision of musicians, i tink they only provide 2 piece jazz ensemble and they only play for i tink 15 mins only. If I am nt wrong. They play jazz music.

Think for further queries, u shd contact regent directly to get more info.

noxy

For the music, it's one set of 45 mins, heard frm my co-ordinator that you can get them to play during any part of the dinner or the even cocktail. (same thing, double check with co-ordinator to confirm)

I was choosing between Grand Corpthorne and Regent too. As my dinner is to be held on a Sat, we eventually chose Regent.

Reason being, the price difference is not much. (Grand Corpthorne - 999 nett)
(Regent - 109X something nett)

Regent is under 4 seasons group, felt it was a little bit classier, though GWC gave extra perks such as free bottle of wine per table.

The bridal suite at regent is pretty negligible. Just a normal room as they are a business hotel and cater to business pple, so very simple, nothing much. I didn't get to see the suite at GWC

It really depends what are your concerns when it comes to a dinner venue.

Is it the ballroom, does it have to be pillarless?
Is it the beverages, do you need that extra bottle of red wine per table
are you particular about the cocktail area?

janetlok

Hey Angelmara,

I am also choosing between GCW and regent. My worry abt GCW is the food may not be good but i like the grandballroom.

If i go for Regent, i will not have much worries abt it ;)

ceo38

No particular one to recommend. U can go to their Miracles Workshop this coming Sunday. Just register on the link I posted earlier. Then u can get to see their themes and speak to the coordinator there.

faithz17

i'm going for the workshop at Regent this Sun... considering between GCW and Regent also!! on Sat going to recce GCW... i'm actually leaning towards GCW cos my date is on Sun and GCW treats Sun as weekday... and for food wise, my impression of GCW food is better... not much impression of Regent food? perhaps someone can advise? pics if possible? thanks in advance...

my hubby colleague having wedding at Regent soon... then they were talking about how much ang pao to give... then my hubby say at least $100, then his colleagues say Regent doesn't sound so atas so $80 can liao... Grand Copthorne i'm thinking of the grand ballroom high ceiling and pillarless... but i like the many themes at Regent... another one i'm looking at is also Swissotel...

ceo38

Hi faith, my opinion wld be Regent's food shd b better cos their in hse chinese restaurant is quite renowned & famous for their chinese food de. S for Ang Pow, actually Regent is under 4 seasons group, it is nt low class hotel or wat, mybe yr hubby's colleague doesnt knw alot abt hotels ba, hehe. 4 seasons group hotel are all 5 star hotels and their hotels r all reputable n nice n class. Regent is one of the "business" type of hotel whereby alot of overseas business people will stay at when they are here in Singapore for business. Whereas GCW..my view, only my view, nt s classy s Regent. $80 Ang Pow is definitely nt enuf la. Abit on the neow side leh, tink yr hubby is rite, $100 shd be ok.

Disclaimer:- Above are only my personal views. ;)

janetlok

hey Faith,

I also have the impression the Regent food will be better than GCW so i am still thinking about it and comparing it with MM too ;)

My hubby also feel the GCW is not high class enough. When is yr AD?

But i think the perks that they offer are differently like the free flow beer in Regent etc...

luvz17

Hi Faith, Regent is sister of Four Seasons Hotel and it is a 5star hotel. These are my personal opinion. I went to GCW before I went to Regent. My hubby likes GCW due to pilarless, high ceiling ballroom and exclusive reception area. I was quite uncomfortable with ballroom with too high ceiling, it looks empty. The perks that they offer was really good esp since sunday is considered as weekday. Really tempting... Eventually, we went to regent and we liked the ballroom immediately, despite the fact that there are 2 pillars there. We were upset as we couldn't get Intercontinental initially. But looking at Regent, it seems to make my disappoinment disappear. The hospitality of our coordinator also won our attention and eventually, we signed up. We do not regret at this point in time and looking forward for our wedding.

car_hater

just booked regent for wedding in jan 09. would say that the interior is solid lah.... exterior looks old though ....

compared to hotels like GCW, intercontinal etc, i feel that it looks more grand from the entrance in.

we went to more than 10 hotels in search of the "perfect place" and basically for regent, it only lost out to intercon's ballroom (gorgeous black theme) and GCW for its free bottle of wine per table ...

absolutely love the recep with its "cosy corner" and sofas ... co-ordinator was great .... free flow of beer was greatly appreciated plus of cos the 2pc band ... all in all .. value for money
lastly, the best part is the carpark is not shared with shopping centres like bugis and marina .. plus point of being just "outside orchard"

cloudz7

Got married last year 1st Nov @ Regent hotel. The La Dolce Vita theme i chose exceeded my expectations, the food was good, and everything went perfect, with No glitches watsoever. The wedding cake ppl tot was real; they did 'extra' like have bubbles and music during champagne pouring; they allowed for us to use the food allowance b4 the wedding instead of after; gave us free champagne, strawberry chocolates and a real wedding cake in our suite. Our coordinator Gwendolyn was professional and friendly. I'm a satisfied customer.

Despite of ppl saying they dunno the hotel enuff (it's up to you to spread that it's under 4 seasons grp and a 5 star), the location (there's a straight bus 36 fr Orchard).

Here're some photos from the banquet, and after the banquet at our bridal suite
http://cloudz7.multiply.com/photos/album/50/Wedding_Banquet_1st_Nov_2007

http://cloudz7.multiply.com/photos/album/39/Regent_wedding_night

angelka

Hi Noxy,

I already email you the pics for your comparison and soon advise, if possible before this Sun's Regent's bridal workshop. Manhy thanks.

luvz17

I am just glad that this thread is alive again.
Inviting all ex-regent brides and regent bride-to-be to share your experience here. =)

noxy

Hi Angelmara,

Replied! Didn't see any overall view of the suite. Regent's suite, the room is split from the living room. Not very big.

For me, my priority was the banquet, cos as for the suite, i think most likely my partner and i will KO, so matter how nice oso wun get to enjoy it!

Hi Luvz, were u an ex regent bride?

luvz17

Hi noxy, I am Regent BTB. DO I sound like ex-regent brides?? ahahha... I just find that opreviously there wasn't much discussion going on in this thread. was worried coz I have little info about Regent.. As it is becoming more active each day, I have more input to prepare myself. When is your wedding?

noxy

hi luv, great! sama sama, i oso worried how come the regent thread so quiet, macham no one choose regent for the banquet.

my partner and i had recently secured 17 jan 09. how abt urs?

the only info i had on regent was that my frn's sis had her wedding there. seems like everything turn out pretty fine and well.

but one thing abt regent is that it grows on u. didn't really found it factastic at first, but the more i think abt it, the more i grow to love it day by day.

Now need to count down to the big day!

luvz17

Hi Noxy, ours will be on 27 Dec 08. Well, at least you still have got fren's sis for some inputs. But so far, I heard quite a gd review abt them. Hope it will be... I attended the workshop yesterday and I saw the drink server dropped its glass a couple of time. One happened to fell beside my hubby. Kinda worrying if it will happen when they served my guests...

faithz17

hmmm, thanks for all your opinions!! interesting how we're all looking at the same thing, but come up with different opinions...

went to the Regent workshop yesterday, still dunno anything about the main food itself, but base on all your feedback sounds good...

dun tink we'll be having it at Regent though... one thing is the ballroom ceiling a bit low... one of my hubby's must-have criteria is that ceiling must be high to give that "grand" feeling, so he felt Regent ceiling too low... i guess it's true if too high can look empty also? for me, one of my compulsory criteria is that cannot have pillar and royal pavillion got 2 pillars...

also, from the exterior the hotel looks a bit old as well? and the lobby quite dark, not grand enough... according to my hubby logic, people give ang bao according to the "grandness" of the hotel, not according to food... hahahaha... so his logic is as long the food not absolutely crappy, decent ok liao... Regent is also quite a business hotel, so relatives might not be so familiar with it...

but the wedding themes were really refreshing, and can tell that the wedding planning team quite onz and thoughtful... think Regent BTBs will be quite happy there... good luck!!

luvz17

Hi faithz17, if high ceiling is one of your criteria, thn hotels like Swissotel, GCW, Sheraton Towers will be more suitable for you. Anyway, good luck to you too =)

noxy

Hi fatihz17,

Thank you so much for posting a picture of L'amour setting!

Muacks, that's the theme that my htb and I intended to have. never regretted signing regent. heheh after seeing this photo. must say ur photo skills good too!

ok, my pov for what you've commented.

pple normally pack ang bao in advance, so in order to feel grand, you will need to find a hotel with a grand name, example, shangrila, raffles hotel, ritz carlton, fullerton, blah blah blah.

The look of the hotel will not affect ba, as I don't think guest will reach the hotel, see the hotel, not nice and grand then unpack the money in the ang bao they had intended.

Grand ballrooms, i can only think of shangrila, ritz carlton. (I think fullerton doesn't feel quite grand) But in my personal opinion, the nicest and grandest ballroom is intercontinental BUT many pple think intercontinental is not a 5 star hotel even though each table costs from 1k to 1.3k

luvz17

I dun think I can choose L'amour, our parents are not open to black theme. I managed to take this pictures, thought not very clear. But just for reference.

597920.jpg
597921.jpg

pekkle

Wow, finally this thread came alive.. I a regent BTB on 20Aug. I love the L'amour theme but can't deny that interscon has the nicest ballroom in town. But price really ridiculous. I was sourcing for hotels with black themes and found regent. But as for the VIP table, choose the long table setting. It's much nicer than round table, cos saw a wedding lunch b4 using this theme with the round table setting, not so nice.