Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
Silentelf
I just had my food tasting this evening. Prior tasting, we confirm number of pax, and my contract is for weekday for 8 dishes. From the standard list, I went through dish by dish if they were what we like. I substituted one from the alternative list provided, the ee-fu noodle for mee sua (not on list), and mostly from the standard list. I ask for an additional dish which we pay to try - braised spare ribs mongolian style. Coordinator then put up a request and confirm the dishes.

Earlier this after, we increased to 7pax for tasting.

Most of the standard dishes tasted great with no change. The cold dish I chose seafood combo, the look was a little pathetic. Chef Goh came out to welcome our comments. While at cold dish, he proposed that we go for 5 treasures which is more "face" and varied taste with famous BBQ piglet. He offered to let us try the piglet - YUM... so we change our choice of cold dish there and then.

Conclusion: food is of good standard!
Jam

Hi Jam, thank u for sharing your food tasting experience. Will u be taking shark's fin or their birdnest? How's their shark's fin? any comments?

hi silentelf! sorry for MIA hahaha.=P anyway, we'll be choosing the jazz theme coz me & my fiance are jazz crazy!! all their themes are very nice so no matter which one u choose, u'll not regret.=) anyway, u can ask evelyn about it and i'm sure she'll be glad to show u what she has!=) meanwhile, don't worry too much!!=P

Hi everyone, would like to share with all of you out there something about Regent.

We just had our solemnization ceremony few weeks back at The Bar in Regent Hotel. It's a very cosy place to have your solemnization. Firstly, the bar operates only at night So when we had our solemnization which was during lunch, the whole bar was closed just for our event. We had a buffet lunch and the food and service was excellent!

All our relatives and friends commented that the atmosphere was great with delicious food and all the waiters had their drinks re-filled and plates cleared from the table promptly.

So guys out there, if you’re looking for a venue for solemnization/ dinner do really consider The Regent! Too bad, for our traditional chinese wedding dinner they’re taken already! If not it’ll definitely be there! :-)

Silentelf, we are taking shark's fin with bamboo pith and conpoy. Taste is great, but the proportion of shark's fin to the other ingredients is low.
Jam

Hi Boing.. Congrats on your successful solemnisation!!

Hi Jam.. good to hear that the shark's fin is good. Im not at the stage of food tasting, selection of invitation cards or wedding flavours yet.. hopefully i would have a good experience. Right now too busy with Bridal shop liao.. ;p

I started a new thread as the old one was closed off and I couldn't post. Is there another one somewhere else?

I've looking into having my wedding dinner at the Capers restaurant, for a buffet spread. Anyone has recent feedback on the service and food? I'm quite concerned about the quality of food as I have picky relatives. Thanks!

Hi Bendi,

Sorry I don't have any soft copy of their package as I went straight to talk to them. But their cost per pax for buffet dinner is 85+++. Lunch is much cheaper, at 63nett.

Perks are quite typical, waiver of hard liquor corkage, complimentary bottle of champagne, chocolates or wedding favours, and one floral centerpiece per table. The one I like is the one night stay in the Bridal suite, with free breakfast, and a lover's dinner or supper in your suite.

I like the ambience at Regent, even though I'm trying to keep it casual (hence the buffet), and since its a four seasons hotel I'm hoping service will turn out to be good.

Hi, I am interested to hold my wedding in Regent. Anyone has the wedding package for 2007 to share? What is the minimum requirement in the ballroom? Any coordinator to recommend?

Hi Vivian,

You mean you heard it is bad? or not too bad? Hehe, quite a big difference between the two. I'm also concerned about this.

Really? I looked through the earlier posts and most comment that the food is not bad by hotel standards. But those were all on banquet dinners, whereas I'm interested in a buffet.

Does anyone find that the exterior of the hotel is a bit run-down? I really like the classy lobby, but when I passed by with my friend the other day, she said the hotel looks old and unimpressive. So confused now!

Hi december07,

Your friend must be bespectacled right? Where got old or rundown? Unimpressive exterior maybe, but the interior is rather glam I feel, and the banquet food is great. However, all these do not compensate for the poor services on the actual wedding day.

Hi life,

Sorry I didn't make myself clear, her comment was based on us passing by in a car. So it was directed at the exterior being old. Have you tried the banquet food before? From the previous postings on the other thread, it does seem like the good posts (about food or service) outnumber the complaining ones.

hi hi!

i'm considering to hold my wedding (in 2007) in regent.. going for their workshop nx sat.. heard was by invitations only.. anyone going too? pls let me know so that we can meet up tat day.. btw, my pt of contact is we-le ong.. anyone has the same contact with me? i'm going thru a few other hotels too.. wanna hear more on regent.. welcome all feedbacks.. ^_^

Well, december07,

I was a Regent bride. I like the banquet food myself. I don't know abt the guests but my father who's critical about food had good comments on it tho, all except the fish which had the fishy smell to it. I also had intercontinental breakfast at The Capers. I didn't think it was great. Very common stuff.

Wele was one of my coordinators. He's nice and polite.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend my own friends or sisters to hold their wedding there. A lot of obvious booboos during the banquet (what can be a worse time than this?). And I mean A LOT. The hotel does come across as inexperienced in weddings.

Want to hazard a guess why the previous thread was taken down?

Hi life,

what type of booboos are u refering? can quote a few examples since there're so many? u mean wanna take out names if u're scared that the person may visit this link.. i feel it's good to pen it down and warn the other regent-brides-to-be.. also, if the regent staffs read ur msg, they may improve too! tat benefits all of us ya! ^_^

hi all.. the old thread still works.. i think ur saw the line 'Closed: New threads not accepted on this page' tat's why ur tot the thread was closed.. But, tis line is refering to the achive msgs.. not the existing one.. i just did a testing post.. ur can go over to check it out! ^_^

Hi Jenn,

If that's the case, then other potential regent brides can go read the old thread. Booboos included music cue not timed properly resulting in cold moments at different junctures - not just once. Music stopping at the wrong note. Coordinator saying didn't know what to expect for the march-in - but of course, because it's a different coordinator at the banquet, one I hadn't met before. In fact, I didn't even know that he's the coordinator. Awkward moment after couple toasting and having coordinator asking us to "wait" while we stood on stage looking clueless. Colour theme changed without informing us. The promised decor that didn't take place. Is that enough for you? I think it's more than what I could bear.

O, I remember, there are more:
No dry ice effect for the march-in;
Our wedding invites were sent to the hotel but we were not informed until I called up the printer to check. The printer was shocked that I was not informed.
These are the booboos I could recall.

hi life!

wow.. tat's a fair bit of booboos already.. i'm going for their workshop nx sat.. think i'll highlight all those b4 i confirm... thanks for the advices... ^_^

i was told that this thread was closed so.. i done a testing post.. hee..

anyway, i just went to the workshop last sat.. both me n my hubby loves the place alot.. the cosy-ness is what we love best! we were on the verge on confirming on sat itself but we can't cos my MIL summon us to change the date again.. sianz.. anyhow, just to share abit on the workshop..

they have a new theme called the new jazz. it's an improved version from the std jazz.. they used pink range of flowers for the centerpc and stands + flower balls.. nice combinations.. cosy feeling..

the ballrooms is BIG! got 2 pillars but not very big.. i dun even notice them when i walk in.. so.. it's under my acceptable range..

the suite & helpers' room are ok.. like the walk-in-wardrobe concept in the suite.. .small but enough!

wedding favours are those norms.. not very fancyful. range is ok only..

last but not least, the wedding cards & guest book.. they have 5-6 choices for cards & 3-4 choices for book. there's even a matching set for cards n book..i personally like the concept alot but the ribbon tying part can be quite tiring.. hee..

my contact pt is wele ong.. he seems like a very polite guy.. anyone knows more about regent? pls share with me can? thanks..

Hi Jenn,
I am new to this thread. Heard a lot of good comments about Regent esp their food. Do you mind sharing with me the price range of their dinner package? I am looking at about $800 per table.

hi christina,

with ur budget at $800 per table, am sure regent is a good choice for u.. can u send me ur email address? i will email u what the sales sent to me.. i just went to sign up & place deposit today.. nego a few things, which are they ok with but they are quite rigid for room stay & wine.. so... be prepared!! the reason why we still go for it is the embience & service are fantastic! my sales contact, wele explained alot of stuffs to us which we felt very comfortable in.. did u tried calling anyone? if not, u can look for him! i can send u his contact via email too! btw, if u confirmed booking with them, we can use the referal way to ask for more perks! good deal ya! ^_^

Hi Jenn,
thanks so much for your reply. Pls send the details to: [email protected]

Heard a lot about their food but rarely about their ballroom. My hubby and I also thinking of going there to take a look at their ballroom. Perhaps we'll shortlist a few more places before deciding. Btw, any idea if they are having any show in 2006. Was told that more attractive perks usually offer during the show. hee...

SO when is your AD huh? As for me, we are targeting on Oct 07. Do you think it still too early plan?

Hi Jenn.. congrats on your confirmation with Regent! May both of us have a wonderful experience.. I cant wait to choose my invites in august..

Hi Christina.. if u have not look around.. think its good for u to look at a few hotels.. cos i think u have more than enough time

hi christina,

you've got mail!

our AD is 19-Sep-07. i prefer to start early. in actual fact, i'm on time now.. our fittings for MTM gown(s) is scheduled with Jul'06 - Jan'07 (longer time is needed to ensure the right choice is made), PS in Mar'07, album collection in Jul/Aug'07, send invitation cards + RSVP in Jul'07 (to avoid lunar 7th month) and finally our AD.. our schedules now are ok esp both my hubby & i will travel regularly.. also, early schedules means lesser miss-out.. it's up to individuals.. u see how la!

hi silentelf,

ur wedding is Aug'06? which theme u choose? who's ur sales contact? excited huh... ^_^

Hi BenDi,

Pls send me ur email address.

hi bendi,

you got mail!

hi christina,

forget to tell u abt the workshop thing.. they recenly have this workshop@ 27-May. it's by invitation only.. happened i called them one week before the workshop tat's why i managed to squeezed in their schedules. dun think there'll be any workshop or wedding fair in due course.. suggest u call, make an appointment & pop by.. save time n ur no need to make the decision on the spot afterall... i heard 13 couples (incl me) signed up after attending the workshop.. quite good response ya! ^_^

let me know if u need more info la..

Hi jenn.. my wedding in Nov06.., choosing my invites in Aug..
My coordinator is patrina..
ya lor.. excited.. but i'm sure i will be very kan cheong when come to guest list! hehe..
i have not choose the wedding theme yet.. but from the way they describes, i like the dreamz theme.. hoping to see a wedding with that theme..
and i think tranquility is pretty interesting too, disadvantage is tat the stage would be quite bare. :p

hi silentself,

wow.. ur's is drawing near wor.. i'll only MTM my gowns in Nov.. long way to go but seems to be coming soon.. hee.. relaz relax... dun kan cheong ya! whatever it is, we hv to go thru it.. let's make this day the most meaningful day of our life without any hiccups ya!

both my hubby n i like the summer jazz theme most.. we will go ahead with that.. i saw the dreamz theme when i went down to sign up on tues. it's very nice.. but green was never my favourite so.. i'll give it a miss. didn't witness tranquility but saw the main table set-up during the workshop.. it's very unique.. it's up to u babe! happy choosing! ^_^

Hi Silentelf & All considering/decided on REGENT,

I had my wedding at Regent 3 weeks back, could only say the whole experience was really good. For photo effect, we chose Chinios and it turned out nice (not obiang!). We viewed the theme with candles and decide against it, it was plain and made the ballroom "bare".

The food was better than food tasting,somehow the portion too, our parents thought so too. The jazz band was simply great and a number of guests commented. Look out for the new favours_we chose pink heart SALT&PEPPER set, very presentable. The service was great, great surprises, somehow there is always a banquet staff who just appeared at the RIGHT time to assist me, feel like a princess!

So enjoy and ... the key is to communicate and make sure you have a good chief coordinator (a very trusted friend) leading a group of efficient and trustworthy team.
Jam

we went to Regent for a site inspection over the weekend. We kind of like the ambience however it seems kind of incovenient.

We cant decide between Sheraton and Regent. Any suggestions for us?

Hi Jam, do you have any pictures on the Chinios decor. I'm having my wedding in Oct at Regent. Choosing the theme set up now. I miss a chinios wedding last weekend, din get to see the set up.

You can send me the photos to [email protected]

hi aegean,

do join us at the other thread named 'Regent Hotel' without the "II".. there're more info there...

anyway.. for ur questions between Sheraton & Regent.. i personally like Regent firstly bcos of the ambience & the ballroom size.. Sheraton's ballroom is L-Shaped while Regent's one is rectangular with 2 insignificant pillars.. then again, u need to see how many tables u're looking at.. if it's gonna be more than 25, u should seriously look at regent.. if less than 25, u can consider sheraton cos they may not use the whole ballroom and half of it is comfortable enough.. talking abt convenience, both locations are about the same.. except sheraton has a mrt nx to it.. unless u're certain >50% of ur guests are going via mrt, not cab.. if not, this shouldn't bothers u alot.. ^_^

hi jam,

can share more with us pls.. we are all worried abt regent's service.. but it seems to be once or twice in the blue moon when they hv big problems.. i'm getting good feedbacks from lotz but not many are willing to write on this thread... funny hor..