Regent Singapore

hunniepot

Hi tougei

Glad to learn that you've had a good experience during your wedding preparation and banquet itself. if I were to have such experience as you with that same coordinator.. of course I would be singing praises about him.. conversely if you have had experienced what I have went thru.. you might feel disgruntled about his service like how I felt.. nevertheless the stressful moments are over for me.. and to be fair.. they did a fairly good job during my wedding itself.. and fortunately, with none of the hiccups experienced by life and jiemei on the actual day..

For those of you who will be holding your wedding at Regent or even any other places.. be firm in what you communicate to ur coordinator and the hotel staff on the day itself.. I strongly believe I would not have enjoyed such a smooth banquet had I not filed a complain about their service to their big boss 1 week b4 my big day.. which REALLY woke them up and set them going..

Anyway.. just to share a pic of the wedding banquet deco with you gals..nice and simple.. received alot of good comments from my guests on the banquet day itself..

349043.jpg

yuki31

Is there any upcoming promotion for Regent package?

Anyone sign their 2006 package? What are the additional perks that we can neg?

silentelf

Hi Hunniepot.. nice pic! Is that Jazz theme?

Hi Tougei.. thanks for posting your pics here, very nice.. wat was your wedding theme that day?

smurfying

Hi ladies, i'm planning for a small AD cum ROM dinner tis coming Oct 06. Possible to share the promo upcoming for The Regent??

And the comments i've read here like quite bad, really no positive feedback?

tou2

Hi there...

Oh dear, I am an old bride liao so I don't know what are the themes now leh... mine was the 2005 Jazz theme but with a little variation so we just called it Summer Jazz haha... I am not sure if there is anything similar in the current package.

Basically we changed the flowers to yam roses and pink lilies and Sunil suggested that we use lilac organza to match. I loved the overall effect and the flowers were lovely and huge. I also asked for a pavilion deco on the stage to "house" the jazz band so that there will really be a garden jazz feel to it

hunniepot

Hi silentelf

Yup that is the jazz theme.. but requested for the arch from chinois theme as well.. liked the idea of the bride and bridegroom kissing underneath the arch during the march-in.. think my guests liked it too..

tansy

Though I have had a bad experience throughout the planning process with my coordinator.. but the end result was satisfying and we received alot of compliments from our guests.. so choosing the right coordinator is very important.. and be firm in your communication with the hotel staff.. and any unhappiness you encounter.. just raise it up to the higher level if needed..

smurfying

hunniepot, I've received the quote of $828nett for wkend, but no free beer, no projector, n blah blah watever oso dun hav. Then best part, not even given bridal suite, but deluxe room.

Whereas i read on Her World brides, wkend package suppose to come w a complimentary video montage w an LCD projector, and a 45min love jazz entertainment, free flow beer, 2 cartons of hse wine, n a nite stay in bridal suite and a nite stay for families/frens.

U mean all these perks gotta negotiate one ar? I gottan the email fr Audrey and another time from a Malay name, can't rem.

yuki31

Hi tansy,

I had met up with the co-ordinator last week and was told that weekend package come with projecttor, video montage and 42min love jazz but for the free flow beer i am not sure. I tot it was either u select free flow beer or 24 bottle of wine?

I don't think you need to neg as it is the basic package.

joy_june

hi Tougei,

Your AD sound like a total success.. I am really very interested to hear more on your theme. Such as the bubble gun at aisle and the song dedication board and pitchers of water with cut strawberries. Does Regent charge you for these?

Please kindly share with us.

tou2

Hi there.

Hi Joy Joy, Regent did not charge me but I bought the bubbles guns myself. The song dedication board is just a flip chart which the florist helped to decorate with yam roses and twines. The pitchers of water is similar to wat they have in their Capers restaurant (at least last time they had that). So I just asked for a few ptichers of that at the cocktail reception. Not for every table lar, sorry I didn't specify clearly ;-p I had suggested the stage and ballroom deco and Sunil brought in the florist to discuss on the feasibility. As there aren't any increase in the amount and types of flowers and just the arrangement of the arches and organza drapes

smurfying

Hi Yuki, the quotes tat i've received fr them did not include projector n the entertainment
Worst, it only comes with one nite stay in Deluxe Rm!! On mag, it states 2 nites in Bridal suite. Grr...double standard. I've emailed back the person and to check on these perks already. Waiting for their favorable reply now.

yuki31

Hi tansy,

I can't remember if the quotes included but I think so coz the co-ordinator was briefing us using the pamplet on the package unless they chg again.

Yap. Hope they give u a favourable reply.
Good Luck

vixen

Nice pics!

Hi tougei,
Did you get to choose the color for the flowers yourself? (on the table, on the flip-chart?) are there any additional cost? Do you have any pics on the table settings for both VIP tables and normal tables?

Hi hunniepot,
Is yours jazz theme too? is there any additional charge for using the arch? what was your color theme for that nite?

Thank you very much for sharing your pics girls, very nice!

By the way, is there any one out there with the candle themes? Or other themes? can share your pics too?

Your sharing is much appreciated.

Cheers!!

smurfying

Hi Yuki, gotten their reply. They said tat those perks advertised are for 30-40tables kind. While i'm looking at less than 20 tables, tat's the perks given.
Not much room for negotiation.

hunniepot

Hi tansy

Mine is the jazz theme yes... my colour theme huh? Cant really remember actually
But the flowers and purple and shocking pink.. and the rest of the colours are gold and cream??

I negotiated very hard for the following items:

1. free upgrade from seabass to garoupa
2. free 2 barrels of beer (think it is 2 barrels.. cant remember exactly) --> it comes in the package BTW
3. 2 free cartons of wine
4. Part of the amenities.. I chose extra night in bridal suite and the jazz band

There is no additional charge for the arch..

smurfying

hunniepot, how many tables did u hav? I may need to increase the no. of tables now already. Cos my parents hav got many relatives to invite

joy_june

Hi Hunniepot,

Seem like you got a good deal. I have signed my package during last year wedding show. They only throw in free flow of beer and one night stay in bridal suite. When I ask for second night, they refused to give. Unless I top-up another $100 + (can't remember though) to change the day-room for helper to one more night in delux room. I think I should go back to bargain for more.

tou2

Hi Vixen

Yep, I chose the colour ... the yam roses matches my bouquet colour as well :) There weren't any extra charge as there weren't much increase in the quantity of flowers used. They threw in the flowers for the dedication board for free as well
The pic I put up is that of the VIP table.

yuki31

Hi red088, i think they charging 758 for the ballroom wedding and min is 25 tables.

They do have smaller function room.

yuki31

Hi tansy,

Frankly i feel that Regent is quite stict with their perks so far they are not willing to give me anything extra

smurfying

Red088, min tables for wkend 35...and the price is now $1068-1188nett.
Jus received new quotes fr them...

Yah yuki, they're v strict w their perks, but i did manage to request for free ROM set up. Hav not place any bookings, cos need to go down and see the place 1st. They dun cater to 25-30 kind of tables leh, cos it's either i take the Tanglin Rm of 20tables max, or the main ballroom of min 35tables.

joy_june

Hi Tansy,

You will have to negotiate with them. I have book minimum 25 tables for the main ballroom. But I can't go lower than that. So in other words, you got to ensure that you have 25 tables of guests. I do agreed that they are very strict in their perks, so far I did not manage to get mnuch from them too

smurfying

joy joy, u mean fr a min of 35tables u get to neg to 25 tables ar?? Hmmm... will try to meet up with Patrina and discuss then. But there's diff for 35tables n 20tables. 35 is $1068nett per table while for 16-20tables is $828nett leh, but much lesser perks.

silentelf

Hi .. agree that Regent is very strict in giving extra perks.... however if there's anything u dont want from the perks they provide, u could try to ask for exchange to things u need more.., as your last resort i guess....

vixen

Thanks tougei...

By the way, do you know how long in advance will the coordinator call you up to discuss about details for your AD? 1 month or 2 months before-hand? What about the food tasting?

I have emailed to my coordinator and even called her up to make enquiries but she did not respond to both my phone calls and emails... getting a little annoyed with them for not responding.

Just want to know from you girls, how fast is their response to your emails and phone messages? and who are your coordinators?

tou2

Hi vixen

Err... actually i think we couldn't wait and ended up calling our co-ordinator 2 months before the wedding to arrange for the cards ... our food tasting was done about then too due to parents' travelling schedule. But that was abit early so you should do your tasting abt a month before the wedding. I think it is better that we take the initative to call the co-ordinator rather than wait for them...

smurfying

Hiz all, jus met up w Patrina, quite a nice lady, but well, not much negotiation. Anyway i'm going for either Nassim or Tanglin Room cos i've less than 20 tables. While main ballroom requires min of 40!! Gosh...

Anyway my feedbacks, the ceiling height is pretty low, and too longish a layout. Meaning if i were to hav 20 tables, it'll be such tat 10 tables in a row on both sides, and the march in path is v v narrow.
slightly less than a metre in width. Thinking hard to sign up with them anot now.

ja_ja

Hi Fudgecake, my coordinator is Ginny too. Regent by now we all know is standard practice, we are satisfied with things we get in standard package.

My wedd will be in May. Ginny emailed and called me to view the miracles in Jan so that we can decide on theme; Then emailed me cards to choose in Jan, and she emailed and called me again end Feb to decide on cards. Then she reminded me my food tasting, which she said she will remind again. Don't have any problem so far. In fact she helps me keep my time which I really appreciate.

When she knew that I may want to make changes to themes, she recommended me Lora the florist. When I told her about my thots for real cakes, she brought me to the bakery to speak to someone. She told me she will arrange for me to speak with pastry chef once I am ready.

So far, ok. Of course I believe it is also our responsiblity to be on our toes of the progress as well.

Gook luck to you! Jam

fudgecake

Hi Jam. Thanks for the prompt reply. Good to hear positive comments on the Regent and Ginny. I am quite keen on Regent but FH says it is too expensive
Sigh... I would definitely try to change his mind on the wedding dinner. Your AD just 2 months away. Must be really exciting.

joy_june

hi jam,

I will have mine in June. have you decided what theme to use? I have not see any other theme then the last time I saw in the bridal shows. Probably will have to arrange for time to view the actual set-up of different theme.

To date, I have not decide what theme to use, food tasting and card printing. Am i a little behind time?

What is need to do? I have do nothing but put some names in the guest list?//

ja_ja

Hi Hi sorry for replying late. Am overseas and just done with 3 days of meeting, 1 more internal meeting to go

Fudgecake
Regent dinner is expensive? Yours is at weekend?? If so, yes but compare to similar std no diff. I got weekday pacakge, find it reasonable.

JoyJoy
Mine is likely Chinois, haven't seen a real one set up except tranquility. You can collect your cards already, I haven't printed though. In 2 weeks should be ok. I have not done food tasting, likely in a 2 weeks time.

I have only gotten all gown, and PS done. Collected cards... err nothing yet. I think Ginny more gan cheong than I am. Yah, think guest list can start building. My initial and my final (not really final,more imagniery) are quite different, esp the bit on invite only friends or include also colleagues, ... contrary to earlier thots, I decided include for "Face". If you have anything special - special cake(s),flowers, ...

Maybe you share with me... anything else huh?
Jam

fudgecake

Hi Jam,

You are correct. I just taken a look at their weekday packages and they are indeed very reasonable. In fact, almost similar in all aspects to the weekend packages bit. Maybe, I need to sound my parents on the option of having a weekday dinner again. In fact, I feel like going with Regent leh except my hubby is more of an accountant than me. Ironical becos I am the accountant and he is an engineer. Should have planned my wedding much earlier. sigh

sofi

me too actually confirmed with regent but only signing contract tml. still got chance to consider. Is regent really bad? My sales liaising person is Sunil (director of sales). Is he good? Are you all talking abt him of the bad experiences? My other alternative is Crown Hotel which their package real attractive.
How How? Pls advise me.

asap today possible?

bo_chap_bride

Jennifer,

i would advise you to really thikn twice about Rengent. i had my wedding held there last nov..their service was really terrible.

I'm sure you wun't wan your big day turned out to be a "memorable" day in the negative form..

I've feedback to the person in charge and am still waiting for them to revert to me..imagine from lasy nov till not..still waiting..

The service they rendered to my wedding dinner was really disappointing..many of my relatives complained..

Not worth the money you're paying for..

just sharing my experience i had with them..

ja_ja

Hi Fudgecake and Jennifer
I guess you should decide based on your comfort level.. if you don't feel confident about it, don't take it or it may really be self-fulfilling prophecy.

Do your homework. Know what both of you like and I am sure you find a hotel that suits your needs. During discussion, find out if there is a match of expectations... if it doesn't don't take it. Just note though, whatever is said, only contractual agreement holds even if they say "I will try..." or "We agree in faith.."... there is no such thing in the business world. Make sure whatever is agreed verbally is on contract.

Other than that, just be nice and cool! You will find wishes come through ;p
Jam

ja_ja

Hi Mei2 I was introduced to Lora during wedding show by coordinator... initial discussion only, on what can and what cant be replaced in decor, what needs to add money etc. My actual discussion should be out soon.

Jam

polarkai

Hi, I see that there have been several grievances on the service which they have received from Regent. Allow me to share ours..

Our wedding in Dec 05 was also at the Regent. We had started our preparations early (from mid 04), and thus was able to settle many of the items ahead of the wedding, and not leave things to the last minute. My advice is to do likewise, or else problems will occur, regardless of which hotel you choose.

For Regents' part, I must say they have been professional, at least, if not wonderful. Our coordinators went thru numerous discussions with us, over the small little details which we would otherwise not have thought about. Let me list you some examples:

1. The banquet manager was briefed the sequence of events, in our presence by the coordinator, so he's completely aware of what to do, and how we like our wedding to be. He helped me time our AD dinner, and prompt us on the things to do. He even advised us on how to pop the champagne bottle!

2. Our wedding coordinators were great, not only for certain patches, but I felt good in their overall handling of the event. We have little perks like he will call us up to ask if we need anything, and he will offer and he did get complimentary snacks, as well as drinks delivered to our bridal suite! We were also advised on how to open the beer barrels and wine serving to minimise on wastage etc...we feel that they are really on our side.

To conclude, I will like to add that in order to have a pleasant wedding, you will need good, and well thought-through preparations. You may like to have a good pal/sibling as your wedding coordinator (for the dinner), and other friends to help out if you have any special events (like I've got someone to coordinate my military wedding). On the whole, Regent has helped us a lot in making our wedding a pleasant one.

My personal opinion for your considerations, please...

winn

hi!! i'll be holding my dinner at regent too.=) this oct.hahha. really looking forward.=)

anyway, my coordinator is evelyn and I think she's good! though heard alot not so good comments about her being aloof or business like, me & my fh actually quite enjoy having her as a fren. =) we are not so particular about perks and discounts coz all we want is a happy wedding. Our love wedding. so we left everything to evelyn to coordinate and we are enjoying really!=)

silentelf

Hi Jwwl, she told me she will contact me in Aug for choosing of invitation cards.. but im already getting nervous now.. seriously dunno what we are suppose to do..:p

Have u view any of their wedding themes? I'm hoping to see the Dreamz theme but i dunno whether there will be any wedding coming up with this theme.. do u have any idea?

ja_ja

Hi JWWL and Silentelf, the timing is about right. My wedding is in May, Ginny emailed me on invite card in Jan, chased me in Feb. Have been chasing me for food tasting and confirm menu. Oh yah, I haven't confirm them too - going for Chinios_maybe check if I can colour of roses

silentelf

Hi Jam.. may i ask you whether u choose your 8 or 9 dishes before the food tasting or they let u taste the standard dishes from the menu first? If u dont like any dishes then change but cant taste again? Sorry ah..i dunno.. :p thanks thanks..