Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date

Thanks....

I'm a newbie. Regent is one of my shortlisted hotels. Fell in love with it once i walked in the door.
They have a new package for 2005 - the package for weekday is much more attractive but the prices for weekends went up.
My main concern is alcohol. Any of you managed to bargain for free beers and wine? If yes, how many barrels? Can see from the thread that they are not very flexible :^(

By the way, anyone opt for the altv to sharks fins?? They have this interesting bird nest soup dish (not dessert) Have anyone tried??

hi kismet

sorry for the late reply. well u still hv evelyn to handle for u. mine is agnes but she had left so i do not know who is handling my case. do you have any muslim guest? how do you go abt it?
i have no theme yet.. any idea u have.

I'm going to sign with Regent.... will be getting wines from them.Their min. requirement for their house wine is 3 cartons which i find is too much so managed to bargain down to 2 cartons. yup agree that they are inflexible in giving away free perks.

Hi okie,

It's wise to get wines from them cos their in house wines quality are REAL GOOD.

Morever,corkage charge is almost the same as 1 bottle of wine.Might as well purchase from them,save all the hassles.

We negotiated for 2 cartons too but due to popular demand,we end up purchasing 3 cartons.
So make no difference.

Should at least allow an estimation of 1 bottle for 1 table.

Hi Dor,

Muslim guest are served individually for their food.

so you can actually arrange your muslim guest to sit with 10 chinese guest which means 11 guests for that table and the muslim get to be served individually.

However, you have to pay extra 1 pax for that particular table.

Hi Tougei,

It's better to sign up during their Wedding Show to enjoy more attractive perks which means more savings.

We did not opt for alternative cos it's the common practice to serve shark fins during wedding dinner.

You can opt for it if you seriously want to save the sharks.

Jessica.

Hi Jessica,
Do you have the brand of wine that you buy from Regent cos they gave me a wine list but there's so many dunno which to choose... Juz wondering ..did u try playing burned CD during ur AD ? cos my co-ordinator told me not to use burned CD cos their audio system will have problem...and she ask me to bring all original CDs.....

Hi Okie,

The brand of wine is Hardy Stamps Shiraz 2001 if I am not wrong. It's an Australian red wine.

It is advisable to go down for a pre testing on your burned CD and any Photo Montage two weeks before your AD.

All march in songs are from original CDs whereas the feasting songs are from burned CD.so fa, so good. We have went down for audio testing before our AD.

Hi Jessica,
oh okie Thanks....

The only complain i have is they refuse to waive for the projector so bo bian have to pay $400 bucks for it .... and the new package only charge $350 for the projector !!!!

We paid about $300 for rental of projector including +++.

Your $400 including +++??

So they have increased the price liao???

You can bring in your own projector if you have any.Maybe can check with your videographer.Most professional videographer have their own projector and if you taking any package with them,they can waive the rental.

It should be 400+++

I guess watever that can increase price on they will do so ... 2005 packages is even more expensive..compare to 2004... they took out quite a lof of things and put them in complimentary stage acts which you can only choose 3 out of the whole list...

okiedockie

when is your AD?

I called them recently and realised that Nicole the Director resigned as well...my goodness.

Most prob Evelyn will take over. There is this admin Lakshmy who has been answering alot of qns from me : ) Her DID is 67253134.

Jessica

Can you use burned CDs?

They said I must use Original ...sigh...

Which printer did you go to? I am wondering which wedding favour to pick, there are so many....

Yes.I used burned CD for feasting songs.

But to play safe,it's better to use the original ones lor.

Our printer is Smartstripe Marketing.

Yap.Agree that they have too many choices of wedding flavours.

We chose chocolate cos it's more pratical.

They provide lindt chololcate.

Very nice.It just melts in my mouth.

My guests have great praises for the cholcolate too.

Hi Jessica,
2005 pkg is 698nett(8course), 768nett(9course)
weekend(fri) 798nett(8course), 868nett(9course)
weekend(sat,sun,PH) 888nett, 988nett both 9course

Iluydia,
my AD 11th Dec 05 still long long way to go... when's urs?

Hi all.
Okie and Jessica, I'll be going down to Regent on Mon to negotiate. May I know what perks did you get from them? Both of you didn't sign up the new 2005 package izit?

By the way, is Nicole the Director of Catering Sales? Cos last week I called and liaised with a man, Sunil, who is the Director of something...But he very friendly too.

Hi Tougei...
I'm going to sign the 2004 package which is cheaper for weekends than the 2005 pkg(except that i didn't manage to get them to give me the Projector and ensemble)
Didn't really negotiate much...cos not possible to get waivage of corkage for wine or free flow of beer from them. I only ask for parkings to up to 25%(tried 30% but they refuse to give me), might swap one or 2 dishes (hopefully no additional charges).. thats all...

How many tables are you looking at ?? cos if more tables you will have more bargaining power...

Hi Tougei,

Read from the above thread that Nicole has resigned.

My wedding was over liao.

Can negotiate for more parking coupons like what Okie did lor and increase the no of persons for food tasting if they only allow 6,additional nite stay if they are offering only one.

seem like the experienced pple has left. early this wk, i called up n enquire on my muslim guest menu. i m so pissed off with one of the lady who does even know how to answer my qns. Do you guys know that the muslim menu is not halal? cos i am asking her whether the food is halal as i assume that muslim has to eat halal food, izzit. correct me if i m wrong. she told me the food is no pork,no lard. if my guest is very particular whether its halal, then i cant invite them. I dun see the logic to this. they can jolly well get a caterer to do that portion.
well, i m still not satified w her answer, so i called again getting someone to answer me. It Sunil who answered my enquiry and i think he is very pro in answering wat i wan. so i hope they can train the pple there 1st b4 answering our demanding qns. think he is Director of Catering.He has another assisant, Lakshmy. But wher are all the sale/wedding co-ordinators???

Hi. I was not given the choice of the 2004 package. Too late :^( But personally I am very keen on the music thing - tot would make my wedding more special.

Okie, i was hoping for a waiver of corkage but think very hard cos I have only 33 tables (abit more than minimum requirement) But will still ask lar.

Dor, I also have muslim frens. Tot most hotels are like that - no pork, no lard. The Intercontinental lady explained that it's cos' the utensils are shared. The food is still prepared by muslim kitchen, but if your Muslim frens are v. particular then they can't even use chinese utensils.

no pork, no lard doesn't mean it's halal. 'cos the meat (eg. chicken) must be halal also. I think there's some special way of slaughtering the chicken dat makes it halal. So.. if meat is included in the dinner, then I think it's not v. good to feed your muslim guests non-halal food. Or at least inform them abt it.

I just went to take a look at a wedding in Regent.
The cocktail reception is at an open non exclusive place where the lift is.
I personally tik its not very nice. The ballroom has pillars, so for 30 tables abt 2 tables will be blocked.
However, Sunil is very nice & willing to be more flexible which is what I like. Let u guys know again after I talk to him.

talked to sunil last wk... he's very flexible in terms of perks... and he is very nice... maybe cos' they are very eager/excited abt their new themes for 2005.. jazz and chinois... both sound exciting...

but as Jaime says... its the cocktail reception area lah.. a bit open...

Hi.
Yup, agree that the reception area's not very private and cosy. First time I encountered a ballroom on the ground floor though. But i don't mind it very much since I tot not many ppl will mingle cos' EVERYONE will be late anyway :^P

Hi again. Went down to Regent yesterday. Sunil agreed to add in the projector leh. Mayb cos' I signed up for the 2005 package. But haven signed the contract yet so will confirm again later. Actually tot they have one mounted in their BR so why are they asking for rental fees *blur*

Tougei,
I thought in 2005 pkg the project is already in one of the complimentary stage acts you are suppose to choose from (3 out of the whole list )??? So if Sunil is giving it to you FOC is it consider as one of the complimentary stage acts you will be choosing??

Hmm... I'm going down soon to sign my package but looks like the co-ordinator I'm toking to doesn't give away perks so easily ... thought of approaching Sunil instead...seems to me that Sunil is more approachable in negotiating the perks...
But i dunno how to tell my current co-ordinator...it will be mean if i go behind her back and negotiate with Sunil instead...
Anybody has any suggestion .......??????

Hi okie, think the projector is on top of my 3 wishes (But I better double check that, dunno if he wrote it down) But I tried asking for free wine - didn't work hehe...

Err...agree you have a dilemma. Problem is I don't think Sunil will follow thru with us cos' he's the Director. Scarly he passed you back to his co-ordinators then it might be awkward...Think best you don't go behind her back. Just tell her what perks you want, and if she says no then suggest that perhaps you can talk to Sunil (politely of course)

But look on the bright side, the 2004 package is more worth it than the 2005 package
So you have $$ savings already which beats getting $60 dinner voucher, digital portrait, etc.

Hi again. Was thinking, will it be better if i tell Sunil and ask him to call you instead? When are you signing the contract?

I'm going down tomorrow.... it's true that the 2004 sure save up more money (think it worked out to be abt 3K)...agree that if Sunil don't follow me thru and pass me back to the same co-ordinator then sure will be awkward.. tsk tsk !!!!!!! Well guess i have to accept my co-ordinator....dun really want to cause any unpleasantness also...
Thanks Tougei.

HI

i might be signing up with regent. am also considering M hotel. Okiedockie, who is your coordinator?

i am trying to bargain my another day stay for bridal suite

Hi I have met up with sunil. I'm not sure if my package is the 2004 or 2005 package. because i am not taking the ballroom, but the function room

I'm also considering intercontinental hotel

I'm having my wedding dinner at Tanglin room in Regent Hotel this October. Just went down to see a wedding dinner held there last saturday and collected my wedding cards.

The cards looks very English style. When you opened it, there's a pocket for you to insert your printing. My parents in law and my husband all thot it doesn't look very nice : P

The wedding decorations in the tanglin room look quite nice though. The bridal tables are decorated in gold, with flowers on the table.

Any recent brides who had their wedding dinner in Regent? Pls share your experience ie wedding flavours, which decoration you chose, which menu etc. BTW, I had a friend who attended a wedding dinner there recently and commented that the lotus leave rice is no good.

I gathered from this forum that most of the comments about regent is that food is good, hotel is classy. Heard a lot about Agnes, the coordinator. But she has resigned. Staff service is also good.

Any of you who have signed up for regent package, pls tell us your experience. : )

Hi Folks

Am considering Regent. Met up with the coordinator, not so willing to give away perks... the package seem expensive....

Can anyone share their negotiating experience... very tough leh...Also Can we get to choose the 2004 package now that the 2005 package is out?
Pls advise.

Hi jazzygal, who are you talking to from Regent? Are you looking for weekend or weekday package? Err...Tot their package quite comprehensive? My main grouse is the alcohol though. What kind of perk exactly are you looking for?

My experience is that the more tables you have the more willing they are to negotiate. But I guess that's the same for all hotels. Also, if you are able to bring along a friend who's also interested in signing, they may also be more accomodating. Mine's a long story lar, if you want I can just PM you

Personally, if I'm the businessman, I won't want to sell you the 2004 package also hehe...must make more money mah
Actually all the hotels add an inflation of 3-5% for every year. On the bright side, the 2005 package have the ensemble which the 2004 package doesn't have.

Hi jazzygal,

i also tink their package not bad, juz tt they refuse to budge when it comes to waiving corkage for wine n free flow of beer.. so no choice lor, hv to buy the wine fr them.. n pray my frens dun drink too much beer

i tink the weekday package is quite reasonable
dunno the price difference bet 2004 n 2005 package though..

Hi tougei,
wah, u mean there will b ensemble for 2005 package regardless of which package u takin? tts nice!

i will b hvin ensemble for my 2004 package bec we r taking elegance package.. cant meet min. of 35 tables for sat, tts y cannot take classic package.. sigh.. anyway, my FH likes the idea of hvin ensemble..

Hi Ng Kim Ling,
my AD also in oct, will b using royal ballroom... goin for food tasting soon, dun like lotus leave rice, so replacing tt wif noodles..
haven met the coordinator yet, so haven chosen my theme, weddign favours etc..
will tell u whether the food is nice after my food tasting
its supposed to be great..

u dun like the wedding card? i tink its quite nice n elegant leh.. n no need to tie the inserts, save trouble for me.. hehe..

Hi girl,
actually, agnes was 1 of the reason y i signed up wif regent.. i m very sad to see her leave
personally, i prefer her working style.. but so far, everything still okie, they r very professional..

Hi all, i;m also considering regent. my coordinator is Sunil and i find him very negotiable.

i should be having my dinner at Nassim room since I only have about 100 guests. i think the function room is not very fantastic but I love their service! anyone has any comments about this restaurant called Ristorante Teatro at esplanade?

Hi Chubbyrain

When's your AD? Yup, the ensemble is one of the Wish list for choosing. But I think we will choose the jazz one instead

The 2004 package got option for ensemble too? Do you have to pay extra? Sorry I don't know much abt the 2004 package cos' Sunil only showed me the 2005 one. But I heard from a frenn that the 2004 package is cheaper for the weekends.