Regent Singapore

kite~

Hi Grin,

ask u. u calculated ur guests just nice abt 35 tables? how many spare tables r u gg to hv?

btw hv u ever think through that our wedding hold in Dec, alot of guests might not be attending due to gg overseas for holiday, or attending co. D&D and etc. i thot of that. in fact i felt i think too much liao.

grin

hi kite,

Was abt 7+pm when I tried peeping into the ballroom. They mut have thought I was trying to steal the ang pow box!
Yup, will go n view a real setup soon, but been extra bz lately n HB quite off...

Bridal suite actually a bit small but looks nice, cream decor, mini walk-in wadrobe (i think), 2 bathrooms...

Permanent showroom has samples of favors, setup of VIP table, samples of cards n guest book etc.

Hmm, think food tasting is 6 pple. Don think they'll mind more pple, after all chef cook for 6 might as well cook for 10!

Err... actually i never calculated no of guests. Just fixed 35 tables, so can keep it simple. If overshoot then go up to 44 tables lor. (the next most hua no :p) Are you scared you'll overshoot ah? I keep discovering "new" relatives! Anyway evelyn said allowed to have only 1 spare table (abit stingy rite?)

Ya, felt Dec quite risky, that's why we picked 12th n not 19, too close to Xmas. Think 26th *very* risky- alot of pple taking Xmas vacation. Hmm, maybe you should stick to 5th n hold the tea ceremony on a more auspicious day.

kite~

hi grin,

may i know what does HB stands for?

so u intend to bring how many person for food tasting?

huh??? u mean u predict u hv more than 35 tables??? 44 tables u plan to increase to??

hmm mine quite risky cos we calculate we hv abt 35 tables and min requires 35 tables. however agnes cant reduce the no. of tables to 33 or 34 leh. wil try to bargain.

yaloh. that's the 1st thing that comes to my mind that 26th dec is risky in the sense some ppl after xmas partying wil b on vacation n etc. wil consider 5th again but then MIL said 5th is not a good day.

grin

hi kite,

HB stands for hubby

I'm only bringing 4 more pple for food tasting cos his parents are overseas so will just find a couple of replacements. More fun with more pple, but also abit more difficult to organise.

No lah, I not predicting will exceed 35 tables. It's just that "new" relatives keep popping up! Anyway one of our friends is holding his dinner on the same day!! So can't invite so many frens liow...

btw, i tried to bargain down min no too, didn't work. Maybe you have better luck!

Ya the auspicious day thing is quite irritating. See my dinner kena delayed by 2 months!

olive

hiya,

i'm holding my dinner at the regent on 14nov. i must admit that it's not my 1st choice as i was desiring (secretly) to have fullerton, raffles hotel, ritz or conrad for my wedding dinner. but cos my mum-in-law was helping me to do the booking as i'm overseas, she chose regent cos she thinks it's elegant n the food is good.

hopefully, i wont be too disappointed on that day! so can i ask if u all like the wedding favours provided? is the food as good as many pple say?

my wedding co-ordinator is louis.

so when are u all gonna have yr wedding dinner?

meanwhile, happy planning n have a good wkend!

kite~

hi grin,

went down to Regent today. sigh. we didnt sign up cos MIL dont like the location n furthermore, we cant bargain to lower min. of tables n decor oso cant change to wat we like.

most likely will sign up with intercontinental (1 of our shortlisted venue too) cos MIL like e location, near MRT, plus hv tentatively book with intercontinental.

perhaps we still keep in touch n share our military wedding stuffs. i tink u shld go n post at thread "military wedding" under the sun so that we can discuss. hehe.

hi olive,

so u r the one who hv make a tentively booking on 5 Dec initially rite? cos my co-ordinator Agnes told me a couple from overseas has tentatively booked that date. regent is nice, classy and with nice ambience.
gd choice u hv.

grin

Hi kite,

Don worry, intercontinental is a nice hotel too! N if they let you have the decor that you want, that's more impt, after all ur guests are going to spend most of their time in the ballroom.

Have you seen Hyatt? (the one along scotts rd) Went to a dinner (not wedding tho) in the grand ballroom few days ago, v elegant!! Dark green panelling, lots of mirrors... Classy! Only prob got too many pillars.

btw, my hubby in army. Yours?

hi olive,

hey, someone else in this thread!

My dinner is in Dec next year. Took the cheapest package, think it's classic. Yup, favors r included. There's a selection to choose from. Did your parents-in-law go to the wedding show in Sep? I saw a middle-aged couple there.

looking forward to sharing our plans!

kite~

Hi Grin,

aiyo. right now PIL and parents might want regent again. Alamak, making us headache. right Now hvnt confirm anything yet, still deciding between intercontinental and Regent.

Yes my FH is in army. hehe scarli they r from the same camp.

Hi Olive,

yup classic is e cheapest one. if i sign up w regent, i will oso b getting e classic one.

olive

hi kite & grin,

yep, another new threadie
i was reading the regent forum with interest cos my wedding is on 14nov n i'm still stuck down under! ;-( i'm panicking ok....... hai.....

kite, i'm not the one who signed up for dec tentatively cos it's confirmed liao.... on 14 nov. but guess wat? the chinese version of the cards stated the wrong day, sigh..... but dun have time to change, so just have to stick to it.

my co-ordinator is louis. according to my MIL, he seems pretty nice. but i never met him. all bookings n arrangements are done by my family n MIL n wedding planner back in spore. i just hope n pray that no major disaster will happen on the wedding day cos i've no idea abt the planning.

actually, kite, i did have hotel intercon in mind too as likewise, i thot it's convenient for the guests. also, it's a cosy, nice boutique hotel.

heeheee... no lah grin, the middle-aged couple isnt my parents in law. but how was the show? did u enjoy it?

wow! yr wedding is next dec, n u already booked the room? mine was booked sometime in jan this yr.

kite~

hi olive,

btw i m abit confused. urs is 14 Nov 2003 or 2004? :p

Grin n my wedding will be in Dec 2004. That's y i mixed up with someone who tentatively booked in Dec 2004. We hv to be kaisu else all gd dates snapped up. hehe moreover, we are not Kiasu enough, out there, there are ppl who even book 1.5yrs earlier. so scary. Anyway dont worry, regent hotel can be trusted since it's considered very high class hotel.

btw u n ur hubby are overseas now? studying? coming bk soon?

grin

hi olive,

Don worry, your MIL will make sure everything runs like clockwork ;-)
The show was not bad, but v crowded so spent a long time waiting to discuss package instead of looking around.
Thought I was being kiasu when I tried booking for next Oct. Then I found out that the dates we wanted were gone or had long queue! Panicked after that... :p
btw, are you getting ur gown here or in Aust? Which photographer etc did you hire?

hi kite,

any closer to deciding which hotel?

olive

hi kite n grin,

to answer yr questions, my wedding is actually 14nov 2003, which is like 3 wks away! <scream> u wont believe this, but i havent even gone for fittings yet.

oh my gosh! u mean pple book so early for wedding dinner?

i got my gowns in australia as i wont have time to get it in spore. supposed to go back on 11oct but then cant lah.... cos of my studies :-( i'm coming back on 9 nov, which is like 5 days b4 my wedding!!

my hubby is working here n i'm studying, otherwise, bored to death, especially when i'm not in a big city like sydney, but a small city/town.

for photographer, i've engaged ray ong of photolanguage. what abt u both? any ideas who u wanna engage? wat abt yr bridal gowns? have u both thot where u getting it fm?

do keep me posted on yr wedding prep ya?

kite~

Hi Olive,

oic! ur wedding is just ard the corner! wow. congrats congrats! oh so hv u engage makeup artist for makeup n hair?

yup in SG, the brides here are very KS (kiasu). So as to get our hot dates, we must book early in advance. in fact i m quite late as compared to others. hehe.

wow u got ur gowns from australia, must be very nice n modern.

hmm for me i hvnt engaged any photographer for actual day cos wedding still a long way. hehe.

dont worry! Regent is very grand, very very high class (esp when u enter the hotel and the lobby). It's fantastic!

grin

hi olive, hi kite

Congrats olive! Can start counting down to the big day!

I haven't done anything except book the hotel; still long time more... Yah, brides here quite KS. Only 52 weekends a yr and not all of them auspicious, so big rush once the almanac comes out!
Heard ray ong is good too. Was thinking of going to see his portfolio when I'm freer. How did you pick him?
What's ur gown like? I can't decide what gown i want- one day ballgown, another day mermaid... V fickle right?
Will be going overseas tomorrow, so will miss this forum for a week.
Ciao ya all!

kite~

hi grin and olive,

Wow grin! u r gg overseas tmr, for holiday? hehe
hey u must share w me once u select ur bridal studio ok since both of u gg thr military wedding. i prefer those embriodary gowns, sweet sweet kind loh. even makeup n hairstyle, i hope to opt for the sweet n natural kind.
thought of engaging ponnie hsu but heard alot of bad comments abt her. for photography on actual day, i was thinking of monica eng cos u know she oso went through military wedding. hehe i knew her abit from there.

Olive!!!

which part of aus u staying now? hmm, this dec i m gg to aus too for a holiday trip.

olive

hi grin n kite,

good to be chatting with u 2 brides 2 be!

glad to know that regent is nice n classy, altho my mum didnt really have a good impression on louis the co-ordinator. he seems quite 'bo chap' when she was there. but anyway.......

yes, i heard ray ong is good n also, u shld check out his website, it's great man!!
makeup- leon lim. actually marjorie teo but din really like her ROM makeup but prefer her trial!! also, she's very expensive, so i decided to go for leon lim as he's more reasonable, i think.

have u both have any slightest idea who u wanna have?

my gown is very simple cos u know lah, the aussies arent as frilly as the americans nor as contemporary as spore. but i got it quite cheap, compared to spore. over here, pple normally buy gowns, not rent.

kite, i'm staying in newcastle, which is near the hunter valley vineyards n not too far fm sydney. but moving to canberra next yr

oh! so where u gonna for yr holiday, as in which part of aust? who knows? maybe can even meet u.....heehee... or at least give u some good ideas.

hope u have a good trip, grin! hope to see u in 1 wk's time.

kite, i'm sure u'll enjoy yr aus holiday

talk to u all again soon!

kite~

Hi Olive &amp; Grin,

i will be gg to Melbourne.
u been there b4, any comments?

wow u getting leon lim as makeup. how much does he charge?

olive

hi kite,

yes, been to mel for a short wkend getaway. it's lovely there. how long u going there for?

u shld go to the 12 apostles, heard it's beautiful. din get to go there cos went to philip island instead, which was quite a disappointment :-( it was too cold for the penguins to come out.

leon charges 1100 for day, photoshoot, nite n trial.

kite~

hi olive,

wil b gg there for a week. yup driving up there to great ocean rd to see e 12 apostles. yaloh i oso thot gg to the penguins parade, heard that the little penguins are soooooooo cute n adorable.

olive

u'll have a good time kite..... enjoy yrself n take lots of beautful pics!

i think u shld be able to see the penguins now that the weather is warmer now.

have fun!

grumpy

Hi, I was looking for some feedback on Regent and I came across this thread. Just like all of you, I simply love the classy, cozy and most importantly, peaceful ambience of Regent. However, I am still considering as there is another couple in front of me on my prefered date.

Hey kite, just be careful with the driving in Melbourne. The road to the 12 apostles is winding and narrow. Leave early and I mean real early. Try to leave at around 6am. You should reach Apollo Bay just in time for lunch. You should then have enough time to reach the 12 Apostles at around 3pm. From there onwards, all the awesome rock formations (Razorback,Loch Ard, Mutton Bird Island, Bay of Islands etc.) are just minutes of each other. You should be able to finish all of them before sunset, then you can double back to 12 apostles for the sunset which is simply awesome. I stayed over at the Youth Hostel at Port Campbell for the night and went back to take pictures of 12 apostles at dawn and the pics are just stunning.

If you are taking the highway through Colac on the way back, follow the speed limit strictly. I was going at 80km/h over a bridge in Colac (limit was 60km/h but I did not notice the change fom 80->60 at the bridge) and was pulled over by the police who are stealthly deployed at the end of the bridge. That cost me A$210. On the way to Philip Island, my bro was caught on the traffic camera for going 3km/h (can u believe it?!) above the limit, cost: A$150.

Schedule an entire day at Philip Island. You will only see the penguins in the evening, so spend the day taking bush walks on trails around Cape Woolamai (or something similar), or visit the Pyramid rocks, or spend the afternoon on idylic Churchill Island (off Phillip Island) taking a stroll around the island and u will meet some cows along the way.

Sorry for babbling on and on but I just love Melbourne (despite the hefty fines), been there twice but don't mind going again. Oh yea, nearly missed that out, there are roads within Melbourne city which are off limits to car during office hours, make sure u know which roads these are... mostly near the city center. I was pulled over (again) but the police let me off as I guess I look really low morale on thinking that I will be reaceving my 3rd summon.

Have fun. Enjoy.

kite~

Hi grumpy,

ypu agree tat regent is very classy. btw when is ur wedding n what is ur preferred date?

thanks for so much info on melbourne. btw i m quite active at melbourne topic n u might want to help those ppl n contribute ur experience there at "Melbourne Anyone" topic.

hmm dont tink hv time to go to pengiun parade though i luv to. cos 3 days at melbourne city (1 day tour to yarra valley n puffing billy), the rest i wan to eat n shop. hehe

another 3 days, self drive to great ocean rd. hmm now abit worried whether is it dangerous to drive up there. we intend to start driving at noon fr melbourne city to apollo bay, stay 1 nite, then next day proceed to warnnambool n stay 1 nite there then last day, drive bk to airport. do u know which particular area of great ocean rd is dangerous to drive? thanks

oops i tink i better stop here now. cos this is regent thread, dont wan go out of topic.
hehe

angel

I had my wedding in Capers, Level 2 in Regent Hotel on 7 Sep 03 and it's fantastic! Although I didn't get to eat much, feedback from ALL friends and relatives that the food is very good, service is also fantastic. My cousin even wrote in to the forum pages to compliment on their service and they published her article. My closer friends who are very critical on good service also raved about the service in Regent.

My wedding consultant, Agnes Chan and banquet Manager, Weill Liew did a wonderful wonderful job making my wedding dinner a very successful one.

Therefore, don't worry.. you have made a right choice by choosing Regent.

Please dont' misunderstand that I am a staff from Regent therefore I am attaching the link to my wedding dinner photos

http://www.photoaccess.com/share/guest.jsp?ID=AB951128299&amp;cb=PA

olive

hi angel,

i'm having my wedding in abt 2 wks time!!! scary cos it'll be quite a 'crowded' wedding wif prob 1/4 guests whom i havent met b/4.

yr wedding sounds wonderful!!! how many pple did u have at yr wedding?

will view yr photos soon!

thanks for yr nice comments abt the regent cos i feel less anxious now...

kite~

Your photos are very nicely taken. gd works of his.
btw i hv been to Capers to view b4 n it's very nice with gd ambience.
gd choice. btw u look nice in the photos. which bridal studio u with? thanks.

angel

Olive

We had 22 tables (including 2 VIP) in Capers. Didn't want to have a big wedding, small intimate with close friends and relatives. I haven't made most of my husband's relatives too as most are from Malaysia. They arrived on the evening of 6 Sep and thus gotta serve tea before commencement of dinner on 7 Sep. Don't be scared, you are queen of the day and everyone will go ya ya over you... hehe

Kite
Thks for yr compliments. I sign up with Golden Horse Awards. I read that you wanted to sign up with HI. Initially, I signed up with them too in 2001. My wedding was postponed to 2003 and they kindly allow me to transfer my package to my bro-in-law who will be getting married in Dec 03. Viewed the ballroom, loved it very much but we let go of the HI package cos we wanted something more casual as compared to a ballroom setting. So good choice in HI too!

kite~

Hi angel,

may i know how much u paid for ur bridal studio?

if possible, can i view ur indoor n outdoor studio shoots?

thanks for e compliments on HI. at 1st i m not sure to choose regent or HI. cos regent lobby is very grand whereas HI is not that so. But then prefer HI ballroom.

angel

kite

I paid 3388 for the bridal package. The weblink to my photos are as follows but note that the resolution is not clear as I scanned it myself with a lousy scanner. Intend to bring negatives to a film shop for professional scanning.

http://www.photoaccess.com/photo/album.jsp;jsessionid=9DFAE46DC49F4478D6F1615396A10EA6?cb=PA&amp;svr=web5

The HI ballroom is beautiful, very colonial-styled and intimate. Nice Nice. The lobby is simple but private and I think the best thing is, you start your march-in at the end of the ballroom (balcony) after the curtains are drawn.

However, I don't regret choosing Regent instead of HI because of the great experience I had. My banquet manager even look into the tiniest detail such as providing me with a straw for my water glass.

four_seasons

Just like to check with you the table cost per table at Regent ? Any bargaining power ? How long ago you made the reservation? Does package incl anniversary dinner and 2 nites stay in suite ?

Did you order the wine from the hotel ? Costs ?

How's Regent compared with Four Seasons Hotel ? Guess the latter now expensive and renowned ? Ever considered Four Seasons ?

kite~

Hi angel,

how come i cant access to your photo link?

Hi fourseasons,

Do u know there is a promotion that end til 31 october? 1 complimentary table for every 10 tables and min. need 35 tables. and oso 1 free bottle of wine per table. Wkend is $788+++. wkday i cant remember.

I didnt sign up regent anyway.
but regent is a gd choice. the co-ordinator i met is Agnes, very professional.

Four seasons i guess is much more expensive than regent?

grumpy

Kite, may I know the reasons for not taking up Regent? I am still waiting for Agnes to get back to me as I am on the waiting list for 21st November 2004. My other option is Marina Mandarin, which is cheaper but I like the ambience of Regent much better.

Fourseasons,
Bargaining is quite limited with Agnes as she is pretty sure that she has an attractive package on hand.

kite~

Hi Beary,

Hmm hope no offend to the ppl here. I have chosen HI over regent bcos MIL dont like the location, say not convenient, furthermore there is not much choice of the decor, only 1 choice to stick to. Agnes is nice but on the other hand, she is very firm.

Which ballroom at regent are u looking at? do u know there is a promotion that ends today? I was looking at level 1 ballroom that time on wkend. u?

grumpy

Kite, HI is Holiday Inn? The first thing that came to my mind when u mentioned HI is Hostelling International as I backpack quite a bit... :p

HI don't seem too accessible either, if compared to some locations like Marina Mandarin, PP where the MRT is just 5-10mins walk away.

I was looking at Hilton for a time but the few dates that I am looking at are all booked. I was looking at the main ballroom as both of us have many relatives and friends. We are estimating >40tables so the ballroom looks suitable.

btw, I changed my full name as I was not aware that it gets displayed and my name just looks so long and cumbersome on the postings. :p

kite~

hi Beary,

Sorry HI is not Holiday inn, it's "Hotel Intercontinental"
It just besides bugis MRT n love the ballroom, they hv 3 different decor theme for e ballroom that y i choose Intercontinental over regent.

grin

I'm back

Wow suddenly so many pple on this thread!

Olive, wedding vvv soon ya? Don't get too stressed.

Kite, so your MIL finally decided!

olive

yup, grin, it's next fri!!! i'll be going back to spore this sunday. cant wait!!!

hope u had a good trip overseas!

hopefully, all will go well on 14nov

kite~

hi grin,

welcome back! how's ur trip?

haha yup we decide to choose HI though, gg to pay deposit within these 2 weeks.

Hi olive,

U must b an excited n happy bride. Remember to share ur wedding photos with us if u dont mind. Cheers.

dor

hi kite
so wat extra things that have been given to you? care to share... u can email me too

olive

kite,

good choice to go with HI. who did u deal with? i remembered this guy fm banquet, sylvester fong, who was really nice.

well, i'm excited but more stressed at the moment cos of guest list fm my mum's side...sigh.... :-(

yep, dun mind to share the wedding pics if they turn out well. havent even lose the extra 5 kg i'm carrying!! oh dear, so u might be seeing a chubby bride.... oh no!!!

take care u gals!

kite~

hi dor,

sorry been busy, wil reply to ur mail later.

hi olive,
i dealed w Anja. Sylvester has already left long ago.
Heard he is very nice n accomodating.

hmm my wedding wil b end of next yr, stil a long way to go.

dont get stressed up. i tink u r bk in SG liao rite, try to discuss w ur mum on the guest list.

iluydia

For those who sign up with Regent, care to share the amount you paid? Whether it is weekday/Sat/Fri&amp;Sun? And what kind of promotion was that ( 10 tables, 1 table free etc? )

I am getting all confused with the different pricing packages and wanted to be clear before I sign up with them.

And I am not sure why some of you posted and said that Regent is a 3 to 4 Star hotel.

Basically in Singapore, most of the hotels in Orchard/Marina area are 5 Star. As you can see there are differences say between Oriental and Conrad ( no offence ) but they are both 5 Star...don't ask me why though. I am puzzled as well.

3 or 4 star hotels will be hotel asia, royal etc...

kite~

Agnes called me up recently to inform me there is a 2004 package promotion. Wow the promotion package is very attractive. In fact it's $100 difference from the normal package. For weekend, sunday, it's 688+++ which is $800 per table.
Agnes is very nice n friendly, she even call me up after i told her i decided to pass Regent. Anyway she is real kind to ring me up n inform me. Regent is fortunate to hv a great co-ordinator like her.

iluydia

Hi Kite

Do you think the package is attractive? Even though you have signed up with HI?

When is your actual day?

Yes, Agnes is very nice. She is the only co-ordinator who has been following up with me since I last met her in September!

kite~

hi iluydia,

what a unique name u hv!

well i met agnes during my shortlist between regent n intercon. Well, i choose intercon bcos of the date i want. else if regent has my date, i wil definitely take regent. cos intercon's coordinator not as warm n as gd as agnes but no choice. agnes is professional n great! thumbs up.

iluydia

this thread is soo quiet. are there no regent brides? so many dates have been booked for weddings but why so quiet....

agnes has resigned
what a pity, she was 1 of the reasons why I signed up with Regent.

dor

hi iluydia
i agree w u that this thread is really quite. havent been in for awhile after i signed up. i think e rest r busy with e preparation on gowns, ps etc. hv u done urs?
i also came to know agnes has resigned as she rang up to inform me yesterday. well, dun worry, the turnover rate is high in this industry. so when is ur wedding date.. mine is in Jan 05 so i m not that panic if she resigns now.

iluydia

dor

mine is in Oct 04. yeah...i am about to finalise on my BS &amp; PS soon.

what about you? have you decided? guess you still have plenty of time : )

I took about 2 months to decide on the hotel...always like to take my own sweet time :p

most prob I will take off the rack cos I am a very indecisive gal. can't imagine taking MTM.

but it is quite fun trying on gowns, I have been to about 10.