Regent Singapore

wlove

Hi Wendy,

Initially it's just small samplings of food, the 2nd wedding show for Regent I went to, they had small buffet spread. Of course the servings are small (aka served in small bowls) but you can taste the quality..

Herman: Nope I choose L'Amour (Black & Pink theme) but now its not available anymore. They extended it for us.
Yeah a thurs but luckily next day (ur AD :p ) is a public holiday.. so not so bad. Hehe. Weekend prices are really too high for us. We broke even too.. Really lucky!

hermes76

wendy: not forgetting for the food tasting or everytime you need to meet the coordinators at Regent, you could ask for their complimentary parking vouchors as parking at Regent is very expensive!

rojak

Herman: is your "crystal" theme the "elegance" one? yar i'm actually expecting ~4-5k deficit.. i'm not inviting that many friends actually.. mainly relatives, and i really wonder whether those bringing their entire families will give big angbaos? you even have a table for planners/PG/VG!??! wow i'm amazed! i will have that too, but tt's because they're going to be my friends! hahaha. the complimentary parking.. wouldn't they be more automatic and give me? sometimes i am so blur.. luckily you pointed it out to me! will definitely ask for tt.. ;p

sweetlove: isn't eve of PH considered weekend? you're so lucky!
they have a new Black+Red theme.. not sure how that would pan out. no roses tho, and i love roses!!! >.<

hermes76

wendy: yup, mine's the Element of Elegance. yah, families with children are 1 reason for the deficits.

I have The Regent's 2011 Themes in .pdf, pls leave me your email if anyone wants it.

wlove

Haha wendy, sometimes discuss until co-ord also will forget mah. so you can just ask if she did not offer to you.
Yes I also request everytime.. haha!

Mine is considered auspicious date by Regent (they ask fengshui master I think) and $30 extra per tbl I think. Then during wedding show the perk is discount $30 per table also. LOL.. Plus the PH on friday was Deepavali, it wasn't confirmed date when I booked

The flowers can be changed if I am not wrong.. U can ask. Better call or sms your co-ord, they are very slow in replying emails..

metro_18

Wow, the thread very active these few days

Hey sweetlove, i think the L amour theme is still available??
Coz my coord has emailed me the pictures as reference

wlove

Hi Metro, the last I heard its not available for Royal Pavilion but for Tanglin and Nassim rooms only.. Which theme will you be choosing?

rojak

herman: hey yes, can you please email me the 2011 themes at [email protected]? Thanks!

Sweetlove: oh gosh you're like ultimately lucky.. no weekend cost because haven't confirmed the PH date! eh that wedding show offer is so good.. i also want! now the wedding show perk is more wine and more beer.. wonder if i can swap that for $30 discount per table =P

the new red+black theme is made up of red lanterns.. i guess lanterns dun really match roses so they dun have any roses.. very eager to see how this theme looks in the tanglin room

metro_18

Hi Sweetlove,
Mine will be held at royal pavillion.
My coord sent me the pictures some time back when i told her I wana check out how the theme look like.
I actually like the L amour theme, quite sad if they really take out the theme. Have not chosen theme yet coz wedding still got 6 mths to go

wlove

Hi metro,

I think you can check with them, maybe they place it back again.. As they removed it due to not enough pink sashes, very easily damaged during dryclean. Thats what they told me lah.. haha. But you can state your interest to your co-ord, if there is any changes to the theme they will inform you immed.

Hi Wendy.. Yah! Haha.. the discount is becos of credit card promo. And the price is booked end 2009! So definately increase le.. Maybe you can check for any CC promo? Btw your co-ord still haven contact you?

rojak

sweetlove: ohhh so it's CC promo.. my coord told me they have no more CC promo anymore! does that mean i cannot have $30 discount anymore? so sad.. i don't think i need so much wine/beer, so discount better for me. hee. yeah my coord is on leave til after CNY.. so she only managed to get her colleague to reserve the room for me.. but need to wait for her to return before we can discuss other stuff and move on with the booking.. btw who was ur coord? mine is natalie.. heard of her?

wlove

Hi Wendy, icic... after CNY settle also ok.. My co-ord is Eunice. I think Natalie is quite new? Nope nv heard of her.. hehe.

Metro, Oh pink is my fav too! If not you can use the "crystal" theme, it has pretty pink lampshades as well..

xiao_ma

Hi SweetLove

Can you add me to FB? [email protected]
Looking forward to see your pics, the comments were so great on your big day!
am considering Regent for the dinner, will be meeting them soon for discussion! :D

wlove

Hi Xiao ma.. I tried searching for your account but no results shown.. Hehe.

Go their wedding show! On 20 Feb

metro_18

Hey Sweetlove, btw i did MTM for my EG. And it's pink!
Haha, i wonder if really got Lamour theme will it be too much pink tgt with my EG??

Hi girls, for those who has never attended any wedding at Regent, perhaps can attend their wedding show to get a feel of the theme. I have been there twice &amp; i muz say the ambience is really nice &amp; cosy

wlove

Hi Metro, I also wear pink gown for my EG but it's send off gown. Anyway it doesnt really clash. The L'amour theme is black with dash of pink so the pink is not really overpowering. U can refer to my pics hehe!

Ooh wanna see ur MTM design! Muz be very ex to do MTM rite? I heard some BS ask u to top up for beads, sequins etc..

choco_ice

Happy Chinese New Year!

wendy, my friends held their wedding at Tanglin Room. I think the march in went well. Furthermore, they had 22 tables! It's a bit tight, but I think it went well

maow

Happy new year to all! I just had my wedding at The Regent. Didn't regret my choice at all! Their ballroom is grand, their wedding theme are one of the best around, their service was close to excellent and most imptly, their package is quite reasonable for a four stars hotel! For those who think the wedding themes are one of the most impt factor in considering the hotel then i think The Regent is definitely a good choice! They even provided a room for solemnisation for us free of charge. However, for those who are thinking of singing or playing instruments in the ballroom then u gotta take note that they do charge for the cordless mic as well as amplifiers.
Metro: I think if you haven't chose your theme then L' Amour is really not availble for the ballroom alr. Cos i recalled receiving a email around sep last year informing the brides that L' Amour theme will no longer be available in ballroom. If u really want it then u gotta let the coordinator know by a certain time which i think now has alr passed their deadline. But i think if u like pink, u can still choose the Seasons of love theme. The sash for VIP chairs is fuchsia. The pots of flowers they have hanging from the lamp post also have pink and fuchsia roses. And the centre piece for normal table also has dark pink roses too! And the stage is so nicely decorated that it became a best background for pic taking!
Wendy: Initially i got the tanglin room too as i couldn't meet their minimum quota. But i was really sad about it. Cos though the aisle is very long and good for march in, it's really narrow too. And bcos of that, I'm limited to really slim cut gowns. So maybe u can take that into consideration too. But of cos if u all along knew u are gonna wear a very simple gown then i guess it's ok.
Also u might wanna ask if your coordinator will be able to do the Seasons in the park theme for u for the tanglin room. Cos for that theme, there're a lot of roses. However, u can't expect those lamp post in the tanglin room though cos i think tanglin room is too small for that. Good luck! ;)

rojak

Gong xi fa cai to everyone!!!

Latte: oh really? That's nice to hear! 22 tables.. didn't know they'd even allow that!

Maow: yar the gown cannot be big.. my EG definitely is ok, but my WG is a little poofy.. Hmmmm. Yeah! i am currently considering between Seasons in the park and Opulence (red+black) themes. I've seen pictures of seasons in the park, and it includes all 4 seasons.. but do you know if we have to choose 1 season from the 4 or are all 4 seasons going to be in the same room!?

coriela

Hi Wendy,

You do need to choose one of the seasons. They use different colours and elements for each of the four seasons.

maow

Wendy: yup u need to choose one of them cos they use diff colours and diff flowers for each seasons. But the good news is that u can actually choose one season and then tell them which colour of flowers u would like to have more. U can play around with the colours. I've seen one wedding where the bride chose all yellow flowers ( I think her fav colour must be yellow! Lol)! Personally I think the summer colour is the best. And it makes the whole place like a garden! My guest enjoyed taking pic with the flowers!

choco_ice

wow, I did not know that there's season in the park theme for Tanglin! I will take note of that. Will ask my wedding co-ord about this.... hopefully I can have that theme!

pingsparkle

Happy Chinese New Year! I'm also an regent BTB.
Just want to check for those who held their wedding in Regent, which bridal did you guys went to? I'm went to some, but those i don't fancy. I having my wedding in Nov, don't think i have much time.

wlove

Hi PingSparkle,

Maow and I are from La Belle Couture. Their gowns are very nice and so are the photos too.

Do look out for those bridal fairs where there are many bridal shops participating, go down there and compare prices/gown design/photo quality. Yes better to confirm soon!

choco_ice

hi PingSparkle, I take my gown from Divine Couture

Btw, I have asked about Seasons in the Park for tanglin hall. Not allowed because that theme is only for Royal Pavilion. So sad.....

bbg1223

Hi i just joined the forum,me and my htb have decided to hold the banquet on the 23rd Dec 2011, we did not get any master to calculate the date but just decided on the date on our own.
i have shortlisted Regent as the hotel to hold my banquet too and will be meeting up with the coordinator, Natalie tonight.
hopefully we are able to get a good package, but if it ends up to be too overwhelming, then i might just be looking for an alternative =)

ps: does anyone know what is the usual deposit Regent will be looking at? i saw someone posted $8000 and that's alot of deposit!

rojak

Laetitia+Maow: Thanks girls, will keep that in mind. Though it seems seasons in the park isn't available for the tanglin room.. Any idea by when we need to decide on the theme?

Pingsparkle: i'm with Le Grand. Gorgeous gowns, nice photography, just a little more ex

bbq1223: My coordinator is also Natalie! tell me how ur meeting goes! if i remember correctly deposit should be $5000.

bbg1223

wendy:eek:k i will let you know later =)

pingsparkle : i am considering blue bay and will be checking out a few other bridals. am a little clueless by the procedures involved in this whole wedding thing so its mainly through word of mouth from friends for me.

maow

Pingsparkle: yea I'm with la belle. Quite happy with their service. Gorgeous wedding gowns and great photography. And price is reasonable too! ;)
Wendy and Latte: for my time seasons inthe park is only for the ballroom too but my coordinator said she can try to do it for tangling room too. Just that we can't expect the green carpet and lamp post we get for the ballroom since tanglin room is smaller and the ceiling is lower. Maybe they realized it's difficult to put that theme in tanglin room that's why they decided to take it out? U can ask if they can try to do smth similar?
Bbg1223: my deposit was more than 8k too cos mine was at the ballroom. But I only have 25 tables so if u have more then it'll be more than 8k.

bbg1223

Meow: is your dinner on a weekday? We were told about the 8k deposit.( subjected to gst )
Ballroom looks good as its spacious but it seems like the path for march in is a little short. Just wondering if the march in will be grand enough?

bbg1223

Wendy : the meeting went ok, package sounds reasonable. Let me know what you wish to know because I'm not sure which are the things to highlight. Heheh

maow

Mine was a weekend. Yea after watching the video I did realize the march in was kind of short. But it was ok with us since both hubby and I were even too shy to march in in the first place. Haha. But don't worry it'll still look grand as they will switch off the light and then shine the spotlight on u with smoke effect. My bridesmaids and groomsmen who marched in with us find it grand too. ;)

metro_18

Hi all, was sick the past few days &amp; the forum is still very active!
Maow: Thanks for ur info, its great that u had enjoyed ur wedding at regent

Hmm, i think i will worry abt the themes when the time is nearer bah
Btw, my deposit was also $8k thou i have 35 tables. Maybe for 2011 package, the deposit has changed??

bbg1223

Hi Maow,
i am a little torn between oriental singapore and the regent now.
upon hearing that i only went to regent, my horrified friends told me to go to a few more to feel for myself the options that i have.
and me being the kinda person who doesnt really like to shop for this kind of things, i only chose one more to see , which is oriental.
both have its plus points i must say!!!
the thing about oriental is that the fan shape looks odd but other than that, the little details and personal touch which they provide are very attractive. i particularly like this little powder room at the side of the ballroom which will make changing very easy for me.
its also large enough for my helpers to stay in with me.
as for the other perks, regent is able to provide a more attractive package in terms of carpark coupons, alcohol but i think those are things i can compromise on.
both coordinators are nice too.
i think the decor in regent is nicer too!
but the colour themes in oriental ( for the ballroom ) is better as its entirely in cream while regent has alittle of brown in them?
oh ya , only diff is that oriental needs a lesser deposit but we are going to pay for it anyway and the diff is 3k so its not really like a super big diff.
i'll have to revert by monday. need to discuss a little more with my htb.

wlove

Not maow, but I suppose you should compare both to see what perks they have. Having alcohol and parking coupons etc could make a huge cost difference.

I was also interested in Oriental before booking Regent, however the price difference is quite a lot! By the way Regent has a huge reception area for your guests (the tea lounge) before the start of your banquet (for Royal Pavilion ballroom only). That is very good too! Plus their themes are very wide in range and one of the best around!

I believe most couples will need to save cost, so do calculate and see which one you will be able to afford comfortably.

Discuss with your htb and let us know your decision! Hee..

choco_ice

Maow, my co-ord said it's not possible for seasons in the park to be used in Tanglin. Tomorrow will see the decor on Elegance. I think it's grand too

About the deposit, I only deposit $3k for 16 tables. But I think it's perhaps I take Tanglin instead of ballroom?

The adv of tanglin is the long march in. Though we do not need long march in. heheee

Btw sweetlove, what did you use as your theme?

metro, take care yah... it's seasonal change, so it's easily to get sick nowadays. cough is in the air....

pingsparkle

thanx everyone, will seek out these bridal packages soon...
I'm also taking the tanglin room, will it be hard to march in with a ballroom gown? Not sure if it is wide enough?

Latte: Does divine couture have their in-house photography? Are your photography ala carte?

wlove

Latte, my theme is L'Amour (Black + Hot Pink) theme which is not available for Royal Pavilion, only for Tanglin &amp; Nassim Rooms I think.

choco_ice

PingSparkle, divine has their tie-in photography. But I chose to engage other photgrapher. My friend engaged him before and I like the result

sweetlove, oh, L'Amour is nice! I think it's romantic. But.... our parents sure complain. haih... today I saw Elegance theme decorated in Tanglin. I think it's nice too...

pingsparkle

Latte: which photography are you engaging? By the way, are your gowns ballroom, princess, mermaid or tulle? Will it be wide enough to march in?

rojak

sweetlove: does the parking coupons actually matter that much? they give only 20%.. what happens if it runs out?

latte: i'm Tanglin too! when's your AD? actually, next sunday there's a showcase at regent.. they will put up multiple themes too.. you can check it out to see everything at one go

wlove

Hi Wendy..

I think per parking coupon is dunno $10 or less (super not sure about this as I dun rmb, do check with ur co-ord!), if you have many relatives or friends who drive then this will amount to a high cost.

Btw can nego for 30% what, esp if alot of your guests will be driving :p at this stage couples should have their guest list around 80% ready, thus you will be able to gauge how many coupons you require. From there you can discuss with your co-ord how many coupons you require. If you need more, just pay for per additional pc..

choco_ice

PingSparkle, I haven't decide on what to wear! Oh nooooo... I change my mind many times between ballroom gowns (with cancan) and evening gown... so vexing... I think my HTH already bo-chap. ehehe.. my friend last time marched in in her wedding gown, still can pass. I think you can take your time to march in as it's a bit narrow. I am thinking to zig zag-ing the table, so that it will be wider enough (at least I think so... hehehehe)

wendy, my AD is 15 May. When is yours?
Do I need to pay to see the theme?

I get another problem... I have not found MUA for me and my mum and my sisters yet! Not to mention my MIL and SILs... anyone can help me in this?

rojak

sweetlove: i always thought if the parking coupons run out then no more for the guests ler.. guess i will have to do some calculations then..

latte: that's soon!! so exciting! mine's 92 oct.. still some time to go (but alot of things unsettled!) i told my coord i wanna see the themes, so i received compliementary entry (suggested by herman and sweetlove
) the coord made it sound like it's normal.. so i think you can do so too! i have also not found MUA for my mum/MIL for the AD too.. dunno where to get.. still asking around.. will share with you if i find a good one!

rojak

oh, anyone here has tried requesting for additional mikes / setup of instruments for the banquet? are any additional costs required? thx

choco_ice

ya lor... the date is approaching fast. hahahaha... Oh, then I will ask my coord whether it's possible to get complimentary entry. Thanks wendy

I don't know about additional mikes etc because I do not think that I will need any. hehee

wendy, I think I will use my MUA from photoshoot (though I have not done my PS yet, but based on my friend's experience, she's good) for me and few sisters. The rest, I am still looking. Currently have shortlisted 2 MUAs
I will send you pm if you want to have the name and contact and price

PingSparkle, good choice!! The service is really good. And we are having same ballroom and same bridal